You are here

Court Info

About Wyoming and This District

Although Wyoming is the country's ninth largest state in geographic area, it is the least populated. In 2019, the Census Bureau estimated Wyoming's population at 578,579 persons, which means there are 5.8 persons every square mile, compared to the national average of 86.8.

The United States District Court for the District of Wyoming has been in existence since the founding of Wyoming in July of 1890. There are currently three Article III judges in the District:

  • Chief Judge Honorable Scott W. Skavdahl
  • Honorable Nancy D. Freudenthal
  • Honorable Alan B. Johnson
  • ¬†

The three judges listed above are only the 5th, 6th and 7th Article III judges in the history of the District. The other judges are, in order, Judge Alan Riner (1890-1923), Thomas Blake Kennedy (1921-1957), Ewing Thomas Kerr (1955-1992), Clarence Addison Brimmer (1922-2014) and William F. Downes (retired).

There are 2 full time magistrate judges in Wyoming:

  • Chief Magistrate Judge Honorable Kelly H. Rankin in Cheyenne
  • Honorable Stephanie A. Hambrick in Mammoth

The District has part time magistrate judges in Casper and Lander.

The Clerk of the US District Court for Wyoming is Maggie Botkins. Our main office is in Cheyenne and we have satellite offices in Casper and Mammoth Hot Springs, Yellowstone National Park.

Pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. Section 955, Clerks and Deputy Clerks are prohibited from giving legal advice.

This Court is a member of the 10th Circuit. Our contact information can be located by following this link.