You are here

Judges' Info

About Wyoming and the U.S. District Court for the District of Wyoming

Although Wyoming is the country's tenth largest state in geographic area, it is the least populated. In 2019, World Population Review estimated Wyoming's population at 572,381 persons, which means there are 5.85 persons every square mile, compared to the national average of 86.8.

The United States District Court for the District of Wyoming has been in existence since the founding of Wyoming in July of 1890. There are currently four Article III judges in the District.  Please refer to the links on the left to access all judges' chambers pages.

  • Chief Judge Honorable Scott W. Skavdahl
  • Honorable Nancy D. Freudenthal
  • Honorable Alan B. Johnson
  • Honorable Kelly H. Rankin

The four judges listed above are only the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th Article III judges in the history of the District. The other judges are, in order, Judge Alan Riner (1890-1923), Thomas Blake Kennedy (1921-1957), Ewing Thomas Kerr (1955-1992), Clarence Addison Brimmer (1922-2014) and William F. Downes (retired).

There is one full time magistrate judge in Wyoming:

  • Honorable Stephanie A. Hambick in Mammoth Hot Springs (Yellowstone)

The District has part time magistrate judges in Casper and Lander.

The Clerk of the the U.S. District Court for the District of Wyoming is Margaret Botkins. Our main office is in Cheyenne and we have satellite offices in Casper and Mammoth Hot Springs, Yellowstone National Park.

Pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. § 955, Clerks and Deputy Clerks are prohibited from giving legal advice.

This Court is a member of the 10th Circuit.