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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTfilt'f"c,;9p~J. E v-~""· 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Administrative General Order 2012-04 GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
DISCOVERY MOTIONS IN ALL 
CIVIL CASES BEFORE 
MAGISTRATE JUDGES KELLY H. 
RANKIN AND MARK L. CARMAN 

AMENDED ORDER 

This Amended Order reflects the addition of Judge Mark L. Carman to the original Order 

filed by Judge Kelly H. Rankin on June 22, 2012. 

In an effort to avoid potentially unnecessary discovery disputes, parties in all cases assigned 

or referred to the Honorable Kelly H. Rankin or the Honorable Mark L. Carman shall follow the 

following procedure prior to submitting any written motion for discovery. 

First, most discovery disputes, especially those dealing with (1) scheduling or calendaring 

issues; (2) the number, length, or form of oral or written questions; (3) the responsiveness of answers 

to oral or written questions; and (4) the mechanics of document production, including protective 

orders and the proper method of raising claims of privilege, should be resolved by counsel without 

court intervention. Therefore, parties are to strictly comply with Local Rule 7 .1 (b )(1 )(A) and shall 

confer orally in person or by telephone regarding any discovery dispute. In the event that the parties 

cannot settle the discovery dispute on their own, then counsel shall jointly contact chambers for 

approval prior to filing any written discovery motion. The Court will attempt to resolve as many 



disputes as possible in this informal manner. If the Court determines that the issue requires the 

formal filing of a motion and briefing, the Court will permit the parties to file a written motion. No 

written motions on discovery disputes will be considered unless this process is followed. 

~ 
Datedthis 23 dayofJanuary,2014. 

~e::=?:: ~ 
~n 

Chief United States Magistrate Judge 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
FlL;::::O 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING J.8. DISTR1CT '-' URI 
DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

I 1 3 /U t 

Stephar i-mn ;3, Clerk 
Cheyen11e 

ORDER ESTABLISHING COLLATERAL FORFEITURE SCHEDULE 

FOR INDIAN COUNTRY IN THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Pursuant to Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 58 and Local Criminal Rule 58.2 

of the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming, the Court hereby designates the 

misdemeanor and petty offenses for which collateral may be posted and forfeited in lieu of 

appearance by the person charged and establishes the amount of such collateral that may be 

posted for offenses committed in the District of Wyoming that occur on Indian Country as 

defined by 18 U.S.C. § 1151(a), (b) and (c). See Schedule I attached hereto. 

IT IS SO ORDERED this 12_ day of ~2014. 

THIS ORDER SHALL TAKE EFFECT IMMEDIATELY AND SUPERSEDE ALL 

PREVIOUS COLLATERAL FORFEITURE SCHEDULES FOR THE WIND RIVER INDIAN 

RESERVATION IN THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING. 

NANCYD RE ENTHAL, CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED S ATES DISTRICT COURT 
DISTRICT OF WYOMING 



Mandatory 
Appearance or 
Forfeiture of 
Collateral 
Amount for 

Offenses Penalty 
Optional 
Appearance 

Simple Assault (Indian victim age 16 or over) Penalty: $5000 Mandatory 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152andl13(a)(5)) &/or 6 months Appearance 

Reckless endangering (Indian victim) Penalty: $1000 Mandatory 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-2-504) &/or 1 year Appearance or 

1st offense:$200 
2nd offense: $400 
3rd offense: $600 

Arson (setting fire with criminal negligence to any Penalty: $750 &/or Mandatory 
woods, prairie or grounds without permission of the 6 months Appearance or 
(Indian) owner or to anything on any woods, prairie 
or grounds which is the property of another (Indian), 1st offense:$200 
or allowing a fire to pass from the owner's woods, 2nd offense: $400 
prairie or grounds to the injury or destruction of 3rd offense: $600 
another (Indian)). 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-3-105) 

Leaving fire unattended on tribal land Penalty: $5000 1st offense:$200 
(18 U.S.C. § 1856) &/or 6 months 2nd offense: $400 

3rd offense: $600 

Willfully and knowingly hunting, trapping or fishing Penalty: $5000 1st offense:$200 
without lawful authority or permission on tribal land &/or 90 days 2nd offense: $400 
(18 U.S.C. § 1165) 3rd offense: $600 

Property destruction (knowingly defaces, injures or Penalty: $750 &/or 1st offense:$200 
destroys property of another (Indian) without the 6 months 2nd offense: $475 
owner's consent where property is valued at less 3rd offense: $750 
than $1000) 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-3-201) 

Unlawful cutting, injuring or destroying trees on Penalty: $100,000 1st offense:$200 
tribal land &/or 1 year 2nd offense: $400 
(18 u.s.c. §1853) 3rd offense: $500 



Mandatory 
Appearance or 
Forfeiture of 
Collateral 
Amount for 

Offenses Penalty 
Optional 
Appearance 

Littering (placing, throwing, scattering or depositing Penalty: $750 &/or $150 
garbage, debris, refuse or waste material, objects or 6 months 
substances, including abandoned or junked vehicles, 
upon the property of another (Indian)) 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-3-204) 

Criminal entry (knowingly entering a building, Penalty: $750 &/or 1st offense:$200 
occupied structure, vehicle or cargo portion of a 6 months 2nd offense: $400 
truck or trailer, or a separately secured or occupied 3rd offense: $600 
portion of those enclosures, owned by an Indian, 
without authority) 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-3-302) 

Criminal trespass (entering or remaining on or in the Penalty: $750 &/or 1st offense:$40 
land or premises of another (Indian) person, 6 months 2nd offense: $60 
knowing he is not authorized to do so, or after being 3rd offense : $120 & 
notified to depart or to not trespass) Mandatory 
(18 U.S.C. §§ 1152 and 13; Wyo. Stat. §6-3-303) Appearance 

Theft (knowingly taking or carrying away, with Penalty: $100,000 1st offense:$200 
intent to steal or purloin the personal property (of an &/or 1 year 2nd offense: $400 
Indian) where property is valued less than $1000) 3rd offense: $600 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 661) 

Theft from a tribal gaming establishment on Indian Penalty: $100,000 1st offense:$200 
land of less than $1000 &/or 1 year 2nd offense: $400 
(18 U.S.C. § 1167(a)) 3rd offense: $600 

Buying, concealing, or receiving stolen personal Penalty: $100,000 1st offense:$200 
property (of an Indian) valued under $1000 &/or 1 year 2nd offense: $400 
(18 U.S.C. §§1152 and 662) 3rd offense: $600 

Destruction/removal of Indian Country boundary or Penalty: $5000 $100 per sign 
warning signs &/or 6 months 
(18 U.S.C. §1164) 
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Mandatory 
Appearance or 
Forfeiture of 
Collateral 
Amount for 

Offenses Penalty 
Optional 
Appearance 

Destruction/removal of signs in Indian Country Penalty: $5000 $100 per sign 
indicating that hunting, fishing or trapping is not &/or 6 months 
permitted thereon 
(18 U.S.C. §1164) 

Unauthorized excavation, removal, damage, Penalty: $1000 1st offense:$200 
alteration or defacement of any archeological &/or 1 year; 2nd offense: $400 
resource located on public land, or tribal land $100,000 3rd offense: $600 
without a permit (item valued less than $500)(1 st alternative fine 
offense) 
(16 U.S .C. §470ee(a)) 

Trafficking in archeological resources by selling, Penalty: $10,000 $100 
purchasing or offering for sale, purchase or &/or 1 year; 
exchange any archeological resource when it was $100,000 
excavated or removed from public land, tribal land, alternative fine 
or an Indian allotment without legal authorization or 
in violation of a federal law, regulation, rule, 
ordinance, or permit (item valued less than $500)(1 st 
offense) 
(16 U.S.C. §470ee(b)) 

Knowing or intentional possession of a controlled Penalty: Not less $150 
substance without a valid prescription (1 st offense) than $1000 nor 
(21 U.S.C. §844) more than $100,000 

&/or 1 year 
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U.S. ~,, 

IN THE UNITED STATES D~f'~lJiT:~QM,l.eLERI\ 
CHeYENNE 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Administrative General Order 2013-02 GENERAL ORDER SETTING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL 
PRETRIAL CONFERENCES FOR 
CASES BEFORE THE HONORABLE 
NANCY D. FREUDENTHAL 

In an effort to better utilize the Initial Pretrial Conference, the Honorable Nancy D. 

Freudenthal has implemented the following requirements for all Initial Pretrial Conferences set on 

or after July 1, 2013: 

1. Case Management Report 

The parties are directed to meet and confer at least 10 days before the Initial Pretrial 

Conference as required by Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(f). At this meeting the parties shall 

develop a Joint Case Management Report, containing the items listed below. Please address the 

items in the order in which they are listed. Parties should skip those items that are not applicable 

to their case. 

1. The names of counsel who attended the Rule 26(f) meeting and assisted in developing the 

Case Management Statement; 

2. A list of the parties in the case, including any parent corporations or entities (for recusal 

purposes); 



3. A short statement of the nature of the case (2 pages or less), including a description of the 

claims and defenses; 

4. A statement describing the basis for jurisdiction and citing specific jurisdictional statutes. 

If jurisdiction is based on diversity of citizenship, the report shall include a statement of the 

citizenship of every party and a description ofthe amount in dispute. The parties are reminded that 

(1) a corporation is a citizen ofthe state where it is incorporated and the state of its principal place 

ofbusiness, and (2) partnerships and limited liability companies are citizens of every state in which 

one of their partners or members resides; 

5. A list of any parties who have not been served, and an explanation of why they have not 

been served. Also a list of any parties who have been served, but have not answered or otherwise 

appeared; 

6. A statement of whether any party expects to add additional parties to the case or otherwise 

amend pleadings (the Court will set a deadline to join parties or amend pleadings at the conference); 

7. Whether there are dispositive or partially dispositive issues appropriate for decision by 

motion or by agreement; 

8. The nature and type of discovery each party intends to pursue and, whether discovery is 

an issue and whether the discovery should be limited in any manner; 

9. The status of related cases pending before other courts or other judges of this Court; 
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10. Proposed specific dates for each ofthe following, keeping in mind that trial should occur 

within nine (9) months from the date of the Initial Pretrial Conference, unless there are unusual or 

unique circumstances. Parties should be prepared to address any issues that require additional time 

at the Initial Pretrial Conference. 

a. Dates for full and complete expert disclosures under Federal Rule of Civil 

Procedure 26( a)(2)(A)-(C); 

b. A deadline for the completion of fact discovery; 

c. A deadline for filing dispositive motions; 

d. A date for a dispositive motion hearing (the parties may choose not to have 

a hearing); 

e. A date for the final pretrial conference; and 

f. A date for trial. 

11. The estimated length of trial and any suggestions for shortening the trial; 

12. The prospects for settlement, including any request of the Court for assistance in 

settlement efforts; and 

13. Any other matters that will aid the Court and parties in resolving this case in a just, 

speedy, and inexpensive manner. 

The parties shall electronically file the Joint Case Management Report no less than 

seven (7) days before the Initial Pretrial Conference and shall also provide an electronic 
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version in word or word perfect to Judge Freudenthal's chambers at 

wyojudgeNDF@wyd.uscourts.gov. For the parties' convenience, the Court has attached a form 

Case Management Report (Attachment A) to this Order. The form is also available in word and 

word perfect format on the District Court's website under forms, then under Judge Freudenthal's 

forms. It is Plaintiff(s) responsibility to initiate the Rule 26(f) meeting and preparation of the Joint 

Case Management Report. Defendant(s) shall promptly and cooperatively participate in the Rule 

26(f) meeting and shall assist in preparation of the Joint Case Management Report. 

2. Initial Pretrial Conference 

Counsel who will be responsible for the trial for each party, shall appear either in person or 

by phone and participate in the Initial Pretrial Conference. Counsel shall have authority to enter into 

stipulations regarding all matters that may be discussed. At the Initial Pretrial Conference, the Court 

and the parties will: 

1. Identify the principal factual and legal issues in dispute; 

2. Identify whether the case is suitable for reference to a magistrate judge for early neutral 

evaluation, settlement conference, or trial; 

3. Review the parties' compliance with their disclosure obligations and consider whether to 

order additional disclosures; 
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4. Determine whether early filing of any motions might significantly affect the scope of 

discovery or other aspects of the litigation, and provide for the staged resolution, or bifurcation of 

issues for trial consistent with Fed. R. Civ. P. 42(b); 

5. Set deadlines for completion of expert disclosure, discovery, filing dispositive motions 

and dates for the dispositive motion hearing (if any), final pretrial conference and trial; 

6. Discuss the anticipated length of trial and any suggestions for shortening the trial; 

7. Discuss whether it would be productive to have a short status conference prior to the filing 

of dispositive motions; 

8. Discuss the settlement possibilities ofthe case, including any requests for Court assistance 

in settlement efforts; and 

9. Discuss other matters as any party considers conducive to the just, speedy and inexpensive 

resolution of this matter. 

3. Special Procedures for Non-Prisoner ProSe Cases 

The Court will not set an Initial Pretrial Conference, and does not reqmre a Case 

Management Report, for cases where either party is acting pro se, unless specifically requested by 

the parties. Rather, after all defendants have answered, the Court will review the claims and 

responses and will enter a Scheduling Order setting forth the applicable deadlines. Additionally, in 

all non-prisoner pro se cases, the Court will automatically set a settlement conference before a 

magistrate judge. 
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4. Initial Pretrial Order 

After the Initial Pretrial Conference, the Court will enter an Initial Pretrial Order. The form 

of the Court's standard Initial Pretrial Order can be found on the Court's website at 

www .wyd. uscourts. gov under Forms, then under Judge Freudenthal's Forms. The Court fully intends 

to enforce the deadlines in the Initial Pretrial Order. The parties should plan their litigation activities 

accordingly. 

Dated this -:IJ___ day of May, 2013. 

(i 
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vs. 

Plaintiff, 

Defendant. 

(ATTACHMENT A) 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Case No. 

FORM OF JOINT CASE MANAGEMENT PLAN 

(PLEASE SKIP ANY QUESTION WHICH IS NOT APPLICABLE) 

1. The names of counsel who attended the Rule 26(f) meeting and assisted in developing the 

Case Management Statement. 

Response: 

2. A list of the parties in the case, including any parent corporations or entities (for recusal 

purposes). 

Response: 

3. A short statement of the nature of the case (2 pages or less), including a description of the 

claims and defenses. 
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Response: 

4. A statement describing the basis for jurisdiction and citing specific jurisdictional statutes. 

If jurisdiction is based on diversity of citizenship, the report shall include a statement of the 

citizenship of every party and a description of the amount in dispute. The parties are reminded that 

(1) a corporation is a citizen of the state where it is incorporated and the state of its principal place 

ofbusiness, and (2) partnerships and limited liability companies are citizens of every state in which 

one of their partners or members resides. 

Response: 

5. A list of any parties who have not been served, and an explanation of why they have not 

been served. Also a list of any parties who have been served, but have not answered or otherwise 

appeared. 

Response: 

6. A statement of whether any party expects to add additional parties to the case or otherwise 

amend pleadings (the Court will set a deadline to join parties or amend pleadings at the conference). 

Response: 

7. Whether there are dispositive or partially dispositive issues appropriate for decision by 

motion or by agreement. 

Response: 
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8. The nature and type of discovery each party intends to pursue and, whether discovery is 

an issue and whether the discovery should be limited in any manner. 

Response: 

9. The status of related cases pending before other courts or other judges of this Court. 

Response: 

10. Proposed specific dates for each of the following, keeping in mind that trial should occur 

within nine (9) months from the date of the Initial Pretrial Conference, unless there are unusual or 

unique circumstances. Parties should be prepared to address any issues that require additional time 

at the Initial Pretrial Conference. 

a. Dates for full and complete expert disclosures under Federal Rule of Civil 

Procedure 26(a)(2)(A)-(C); 

b. A deadline for the completion of fact discovery; 

c. A deadline for filing dispositive motions; 

d. A date for a dispositive motion hearing (the parties may choose not to have 

a hearing); 

e. A date for the final pretrial conference; and 

f. A date for trial. 

Response: 

11. The estimated length of trial and any suggestions for shortening the trial. 
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Response: 

12. The prospects for settlement, including any request of the Court for assistance in 

settlement efforts. 

Response: 

13. Any other matters that will aid the Court and parties in resolving this case in a just, 

speedy, and inexpensive manner. 

Response: 

Counsel for Plaintiff( s) Date 

Counsel for Defendant( s) Date 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRIC~,COU,l}!:_LE.~ ". 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF wyoMi;~<f' ,;., ., ,,-,QURTi 

DISr~~CT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL oRri~~ H~l~INB T'trE19 

ASSIGNMENT <3:rr~S~&iE~RIS. CLERK 
Administrative General Order 2013-01 UNITED STATES SEN~~~N@lCT 

JUDGE CLARENCE A. BRIMMER 

The Honorable Clarence A. Brimmer, Senior Judge, will take assignments of cases as 

follows: 

(a) 	 Ten percent (10%) of criminal cases on a random basis; provided, however, that 

in the event any criminal matter assigned to Judge Brimmer requires a trial, the 

case will be reassigned on a random basis to another district judge for completion. 

(b) 	 Fifteen percent (15%) of civil cases on a random basis; provided, however, that in 

the event any civil matter assigned to Judge Brimmer requires a trial, the case will 

be reassigned on a random basis to another district judge for completion; or in the 

alternative, the parties may consent to trial before the magistrate judge. 

(c) 	 Judge Brimmer will be assigned probation/supervised release revocation matters 

in criminal cases previously assigned to him. 

This order is effective immediately upon signing. 

Dated this J day of February, 2013. 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURfiE-: 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
Administrative General Order 2012-06 ELECTRONIC FILING OF 

PRESENTENCE INVESTIGATION 
REPORTS 

Beginning August 1,2012, IT IS ORDERED that presentence investigation reports 

(PSR) and related materials prepared by the United States Probation Office for the District 

ofWyoming, as well as objections to the reports submitted by counsel, shall be electronically 

filed through the Case ManagementlElectronic Case Filing System (CM/ECF). Objections 

to the PSR shall be filed electronically by counselor through the Clerk's Office. 

Additionally, all letters, comments, and other supporting documents provided to the Court 

by friends and family on behalf of defendant, unless they are too voluminous or too difficult 

to file, shall be filed electronically by counselor through the Clerk's Office. The PSR shall 

be deemed disclosed for all purposes upon electronic filing in the CM/ECF system. Unless 

otherwise ordered by the Court, access shall be limited as follows. 

The designated Assistant United States Attorney, counsel for the specific defendant, 

Chambers, the U.S. Probation Office, and designated Clerk's Office personnel shall be 

granted access to the original PSR, addendums to the PSR, any revised PSR, objections to 

the PSR, PSR findings, and the supporting documents and letters. Access to the Sentencing 



Recommendation is limited to Chambers, the U.S. Probation Office, and designated Clerk's 

Office personnel. 

The U.S. Probation Office is authorized to provide a copy of the PSR, addendums to 

the PSR, and any revised PSR, without the Sentencing Recommendation, to defendant's 

appellate counsel, counsel for defendant in revocation proceedings, and to another federal 

probation officer without further order of the Court. 

Please see the attached Electronic Filing of Presentence Reports for additional 

information. 

Dated this 2nd day of August, 2012. 

IIa- .9;l~ 
NanciW'Freudenthal 
Chief United States District Judge 
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ELECTRONIC FILING OF PRESENTENCE REPORTS 


Beginning August 1,2012, the U.S. Probation Office in the District of Wyoming will electronically file all 
presentence reports (PSR) and related materials through CM/ECF. 

Access to viewing these materials will function very similar to viewing transcripts. However, presentence 
reports and their related materials will never be made available to the public through PACER. 

When the PSR and related materials are filed electronically, attorneys in the case will receive a notice of 
electronic filing (NEF). However, only the parties that are granted access will be able to view the attached 
document. Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, the specific filing events, as well as the definition of 
the access granted, is outlined below: 

Original Presentence Report 
Access will be granted to Chambers and designated clerk's office personnel. Access will also be 

granted to the Assistant U.S. Attorney entered in the case and defense counsel for the specific defendant 
entered in the case. 

Addendum to Presentence Report 
Access will be granted to Chambers and designated clerk's office personnel. Access will also be 

granted to the Assistant U.S. Attorney entered in the case and defense counsel for the specific defendant 
entered in the case. 

Recommendations to PSR 
Access will be granted to Chambers and designated clerk's office personnel ONLY. Counsel will 

not have access to view this document. 

Revised Presentence Report 
Access will be granted to Chambers and designated clerk's office personnel. Access will also be 

granted to the Assistant U.S. Attorney entered in the case and defense counsel for the specific defendant 
entered in the case. 

Presentence Report Findings 
Access will be granted to Chambers and designated clerk's office personnel. Access will also be 

granted to the Assistant U.S. Attorney entered in the case and defense counsel for the specific defendant 
entered in the case. 

Presentence Report Supporting Documents and Letters 
Counsel is required to file all supporting documents and letters, unless they are too 

voluminous, either electronically or through the clerk's office. Usc the event under Other 
Documents/Presentence Report Supporting Documents and Letters. This will be treated as an ex-parte 
document, and the filer will select who gets access to view the document (select the Assistant U.S. 
Attorney and defense counsel for the particular defendant). Do not submit these separately to U.S. 
Probation, they will now receive them electronically through CM/ECF. Chambers will receive a NEF and 
have access to the document. 

Objections to Presentence Report 
Counsel is required to file all objections to the presentence report, either electronically or 

through the clerk's office. Use the event under Other Documents/Objections to Presentence RepOlt. 
This will be treated as an ex-parte document, and the filer will select who gets access to view the 
document (select the Assistant U.S. Attorney and defense counsel for the particular defendant). Do not 
submit these separately to U.S. Probation, they will now receive them electronically through CM/ECF. 
Chambers will receive a NEF and have access to the document. 

PLEASE NOTE: If the entire case is sealed, NEFs will not go out. However, access will be granted to 
the attorneys, and the attorneys will be notified by some other means that there is a document filed that 
they have access to view. 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
Administrative General Order 2012-05 INITIAL DISCOVERY PROTOCOLS 

FOR EMPLOYMENT CASES 
ALLEGING ADVERSE ACTION 
BEFORE NANCY D. FREUDENTHAL, 
CHIEF DISTRICT JUDGE 

The Honorable Nancy D. Freudenthal is participating in a Pilot Program for INITIAL 

DISCOVERY PROTOCOLS FOR EMPLOYMENT CASES ALLEGING ADVERSE 

ACTION, initiated by the Advisory Committee on Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (see 

"Discovery protocol for employment cases," under "Educational programs and materials," 

at www.fjc.gov,) The Initial Discovery Protocols will apply to all employment cases 

pending in this court that challenge one or more actions alleged to be adverse, except: 

I. Class actions; 

ii. Cases in which the allegations involve only the following: 

1. Discrimination in hiring; 

2. Violations of wage and hour laws under the Fair Labor Standards Act 

(FLSA); 

3. Violations of the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA); 

4. Violations of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). 

http:www.fjc.gov


Parties and counsel in the Pilot Program shall comply with the Initial Discovery Protocols, 

attached to this Order. If any party believes that there is good cause why a particular case 

should be exempted from the Initial Discovery Protocols, in whole or in part, that party may 

raise the issue with the Court. 

Within 30 days following the defendant's submission of a responsive pleading or 

motion, the parties shall provide to one another the documents and information described in 

the Initial Discovery Protocols for the relevant time period. This obligation supersedes the 

parties' obligations to provide initial disclosures pursuant to F.R.C.P. 26(a)(1). The parties 

shall use the documents and information exchanged in accordance with the Initial Discovery 

Protocols to prepare the F.R.C.P. 26(f) discovery plan. 

The parties' responses to the Initial Discovery Protocols shall comply with the 

F.R.C.P. obligations to certify and supplement discovery responses, as well as the form of 

production standards for documents and electronically stored information. As set forth in the 

Protocols, this Initial Discovery is not subj ect to objections, except upon the grounds set forth 

in F.R.C.P. 26(b)(2)(B). 

Dated this ~ day of July, 2 
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INITIAL DISCOVERY PROTOCOLS 


FOR EMPLOYMENT CASES ALLEGING ADVERSE ACTION 


PART 1: INTRODUCTION AND DEFINITIONS. 

(1) Statement of purpose. 

a. 	 The Initial Discovery Protocols for Employment Cases Alleging Adverse Action 
is a proposal designed to be implemented as a pilot project by individual judges 
throughout the United States District Courts. The project and the product are 
endorsed by the Civil Rules Advisory Committee. 

b. 	 In participating courts, the Initial Discovery Protocols will be implemented by 
standing order and will apply to all employment cases that challenge one or more 
actions alleged to be adverse, except: 
I. Class actions; 
ii. Cases in which the allegations involve only the following: 

1. 	 Discrimination in hiring; 
2. 	 Violations of wage and hour laws under the Fair Labor Standards Act 

(FLSA); 
3. 	 Violations of the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA); 
4. 	 Violations of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). 

If any party believes that there is good cause why a particular case should be 
exempted, in whole or in part, from this pilot program, that party may raise such 
reason with the Court. 

c. 	 The Initial Discovery Protocols are not intended to preclude or to modify the 
rights of any party for discovery as provided by the Federal Rules of Civil 
Procedure (F.R.C.P.) and other applicable local rules, but they are intended to 
supersede the parties' obligations to make initial disclosures pursuant to F.R.C.P. 
26(a)(I). The purpose ofthe pilot project is to encourage parties and their counsel 
to exchange the most relevant information and documents early in the case, to 
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assist in framing the issues to be resolved and to plan for more efficient and 
targeted discovery. 

d. 	 The Initial Discovery Protocols were prepared by a group of highly experienced 
attorneys from across the country who regularly represent plaintiffs and/or 
defendants in employment matters. The information and documents identified are 
those most likely to be requested automatically by experienced counsel in any 
similar case. They are unlike initial disclosures pursuant to F.R.C.P. 26(a)(l) 
because they focus on the type of information most likely to be useful in 
narrowing the issues for employment discrimination cases. 

(2) Definitions. The following definitions apply to cases proceeding under the Initial 
Discovery Protocols. 

a. 	 Concerning. The term "concerning" means referring to, describing, evidencing, 
or constituting. 

b. 	 Document. The terms "document" and "documents" are defined to be 
synonymous in meaning and equal in scope to the terms "documents" and 
"electronically stored information" as used in F.R.C.P. 34(a). 

c. 	 Identify (Documents). When referring to documents, to "identify" means to give, 
to the extent known: (I) the type ofdocument; (ii) the general subject matter ofthe 
document; (iii) the date of the document; (iv) the author(s), according to the 
document; and (v) the person(s) to whom, according to the document, the 
document (or a copy) was to have been sent; or, alternatively, to produce the 
document. 

d. 	 IdentifY (Persons). When referring to natural persons, to "identify" means to give 
the person's: (1) full name; (ii) present or last known address and telephone 
number; (iii) present or last known place of employment; (iv) present or last 
known job title; and (v) relationship, if any, to the plaintiff or defendant. Once a 
person has been identified in accordance with this subparagraph, only the name 
of that person need be listed in response to subsequent discovery requesting the 
identification of that person. 
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(3) Instructions. 

a. 	 For this Initial Discovery, the relevant time period begins three years before the 
date of the adverse action, unless otherwise specified. 

b. 	 This Initial Discovery is not subject to objections except upon the grounds set 
forth in F .R.C.P. 26(b )(2)(B). 

c. 	 If a partial or incomplete answer or production is provided, the responding party 
shall state the reason that the answer or production is partial or incomplete. 

d. 	 This Initial Discovery is subject to F .R.C.P. 26( e) regarding supplementation and 
F.R.C.P. 26(g) regarding certification of responses. 

e. 	 This Initial Discovery is subject to F.R.C.P. 34(b)(2)(E) regarding form of 
production. 

PART 2: PRODUCTION BY PLAINTIFF. 

(1) Timing. 

a. 	 The plaintiffs Initial Discovery shall be provided within 30 days after the 
defendant has submitted a responsive pleading or motion, unless the court rules 
otherwise. 

(2) Documents that Plaintiff must produce to Defendant. 

a. 	 All communications concerning the factual allegations or claims at issue in this 
lawsuit between the plaintiff and the defendant. 

b. 	 Claims, lawsuits, administrative charges, and complaints by the plaintiffthat rely 
upon any ofthe same factual allegations or claims as those at issue in this lawsuit. 

c. 	 Documents concerning the formation and termination, if any, of the employment 
relationship at issue in this lawsuit, irrespective of the relevant time period. 
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d. 	 Documents concerning the terms and conditions of the employment relationship 
at issue in this lawsuit. 

e. 	 Diary, journal, and calendar entries maintained by the plaintiff concerning the 
factual allegations or claims at issue in this lawsuit. 

f. 	 The plaintiffs current resume(s). 

g. 	 Documents in the possession ofthe plaintiff concerning claims for unemployment 
benefits, unless production is prohibited by applicable law. 

h. 	 Documents concerning: (I) communications with potential employers; (ii) job 
search efforts; and (iii) offer(s) ofemployment, job description(s), and income and 
benefits of subsequent employment. The defendant shall not contact or subpoena 
a prospective or current employer to discover information about the plaintiffs 
claims without first providing the plaintiff 30 days notice and an opportunity to 
file a motion for a protective order or a motion to quash such subpoena. If such a 
motion is filed, contact will not be initiated or the subpoena will not be served 
until the motion is ruled upon. 

I. 	 Documents concerning the termination of any subsequent employment. 

J. 	 Any other document(s) upon which the plaintiff relies to support the plaintiffs 
claims. 

(3) Information that Plaintiff must produce to Defendant. 

a. 	 Identify persons the plaintiff believes to have knowledge of the facts concerning 
the claims or defenses at issue in this lawsuit, and a brief description of that 
knowledge. 

b. 	 Describe the categories of damages the plaintiff claims. 

c. 	 State whether the plaintiffhas applied for disability benefits and/or social security 
disability benefits after the adverse action, whether any application has been 
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granted, and the nature ofthe award, ifany. Identify any document concerning any 
such application. 

PART 3: PRODUCTION BY DEFENDANT. 

(1) Timing. 

a. 	 The defendant's Initial Discovery shall be provided within 30 days after the 
defendant has submitted a responsive pleading or motion, unless the court rules 
otherwise. 

(2) Documents that Defendant must produce to Plaintiff. 

a. 	 All communications concerning the factual allegations or claims at issue in this 
lawsuit among or between: 

1. 	 The plaintiff and the defendant; 
11. 	 The plaintiffs manager(s), and/or supervisor(s), and/or the defendant's 

human resources representative(s). 

b. 	 Responses to claims, lawsuits, administrative charges, and complaints by the 
plaintiff that rely upon any of the same factual allegations or claims as those at 
issue in this lawsuit. 

c. 	 Documents concerning the formation and termination, ifany, ofthe employment 
relationship at issue in this lawsuit, irrespective of the relevant time period. 

d. 	 The plaintiff s personnel file, in any form, maintained by the defendant, including 
files concerning the plaintiff maintained by the plaintiff s supervisor( s), 
manager(s), or the defendant's human resources representative(s), irrespective of 
the relevant time period. 

e. 	 The plaintiffs performance evaluations and formal discipline. 

f. 	 Documents relied upon to make the employment decision(s) at issue in this 
lawsuit. 
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g. 	 Workplace policies or guidelines relevant to the adverse action in effect at the 
time of the adverse action. Depending upon the case, those may include policies 
or guidelines that address: 

1. 	 Discipline; 
11. 	 Termination of employment; 
111. 	 Promotion; 
IV. 	 Discrimination; 
v. 	 Performance reviews or evaluations; 
vi. 	 Misconduct; 
vii. Retaliation; and 

viii.Nature of the employment relationship. 


h. 	 The table of contents and index of any employee handbook, code of conduct, or 
policies and procedures manual in effect at the time of the adverse action. 

I. 	 Job description(s) for the position(s) that the plaintiff held. 

J. 	 Documents showing the plaintiffs compensation and benefits. Those normally 
include retirement plan benefits, fringe benefits, employee benefit summary plan 
descriptions, and summaries of compensation. 

k. 	 Agreements between the plaintiff and the defendant to waive jury trial rights or 
to arbitrate disputes. 

l. 	 Documents concerning investigation( s) ofany complaint( s) about the plaintiff or 
made by the plaintiff, if relevant to the plaintiff s factual allegations or claims at 
issue in this lawsuit and not otherwise privileged. 

m. Documents in the possession of the defendant and/or the defendant's agent(s) 
concerning claims for unemployment benefits unless production is prohibited by 
applicable law. 

n. 	 Any other document(s) upon which the defendant relies to support the defenses, 
affirmative defenses, and counterclaims, including any other document( s) 
describing the reasons for the adverse action. 
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(3) Information that Defendant must produce to Plaintiff. 

a. 	 Identify the plaintiffs supervisor(s) and/or manager(s). 

b. 	 Identifyperson(s) presently known to the defendant who were involved in making 
the decision to take the adverse action. 

c. 	 Identify persons the defendant believes to have knowledge ofthe facts concerning 
the claims or defenses at issue in this lawsuit, and a brief description of that 
knowledge. 

d. 	 State whether the plaintiffhas applied for disability benefits and/or social security 
disability benefits after the adverse action. State whether the defendant has 
provided information to any third party concerning the application( s). Identify any 
documents concerning any such application or any such information provided to 
a third party. 
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MODEL PROTECTIVE ORDER 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Court that the following restrictions and 
procedures shall apply to certain infonnation, documents and excerpts from documents 
supplied by the parties to each other in response to discovery requests: 

1. D Counsel for any party may designate any document, infonnation contained in 
a document, infonnation revealed in an interrogatory response or infonnation revealed 
during a deposition as confidential if counsel determines, in good faith, that such 
designation is necessary to protect the interests of the client. Infonnation and 
documents designated by a party as confidential will be stamped "CONFIDENTIAL." 
"Confidential" infonnation or documents may be referred to collectively as 
"confidential infonnation." 

2. D Unless ordered by the Court, or otherwise provided for herein, the Confidential 
Infonnation disclosed will be held and used by the person receiving such infonnation 
solely for use in connection with the above-captioned action. 

3. D In the event a party challenges another party's confidential designation, 
counsel shall make a good faith effort to resolve the dispute, and in the absence of a 
resolution, the challenging party may thereafter seek resolution by the Court. Nothing 
in this Protective Order constitutes an admission by any party that Confidential 
Infonnation disclosed in this case is relevant or admissible. Each party specifically 
reserves the right to object to the use or admissibility of all Confidential Infonnation 
disclosed, in accordance with applicable law and Court rules. 

4. D Infonnation or documents designated as "confidential" shall not be disclosed 
to any person, except: 

a. D The requesting party and counsel, including in-house counsel; 
b. D Employees of such counsel assigned to and necessary to assist in the 

litigation; 
c. D Consultants or experts assisting in the prosecution or defense ofthe matter, 

to the extent deemed necessary by counsel; 
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d. D Any person from whom testimony is taken or is to be taken in these 
actions, except that such a person may only be shown that Confidential 
Information during and in preparation for hislher testimony and may not 
retain the Confidential Information; and 

e. D The Court (including any clerk, stenographer, or other person having 
access to any Confidential Information by virtue ofhis or her position with 
the Court) or the jury at trial or as exhibits to motions. 

5. D Prior to disclosing or displaying the Confidential Information to any person, 
counsel shall: 

a. D inform the person of the confidential nature of the information or 
documents; and 

b. D inform the person that this Court has enjoined the use of the information 
or documents by him/her for any purpose other than this litigation and has 
enjoined the disclosure of that information or documents to any other 
person. 

6. D The Confidential Information may be displayed to and discussed with the 
persons identified in Paragraphs 4( c) and (d) only on the condition that prior to any 
such display or discussion, each such person shall be asked to sign an agreement to 
be bound by this Order in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A. In the event such 
person refuses to sign an agreement in the form attached as Exhibit A, the party 
desiring to disclose the Confidential Information may seek appropriate relief from the 
Court. 

7. D The disclosure of a document or information without designating it as 
"confidential" shall not constitute a waiver of the right to designate such document 
or information as Confidential Information provided that the material is designated 
pursuant to the procedures set forth herein no later than that latter of fourteen (14) 
days after the close of discovery or fourteen (14) days after the document or 
information's production. If so designated, the document or information shall 
thenceforth be treated as Confidential Information subject to all the terms of this 
Stipulation and Order. 

11 




8. 0 All information subject to confidential treatment in accordance with the terms 
ofthis Stipulation and Order that is filed with the Court, and any pleadings, motions 
or other papers filed with the Court disclosing any Confidential Information, shall be 
filed under seal to the extent permitted by law (including without limitation any 
applicable rules of court) and kept under seal until further order of the Court. To the 
extent the Court requires any further act by the parties as a precondition to the filing 
of documents under seal (beyond the submission of this Stipulation and Order 
Regarding Confidential Information), it shall be the obligation ofthe producing party 
of the documents to be filed with the Court to satisfy any such precondition. Where 
possible, only confidential portions of filings with the Court shall be filed under seal. 

9. 0 At the conclusion of litigation, the Confidential Information and any copies 
thereof shall be promptly (and in no event later than thirty (30) days after entry of 
final judgment no longer subject to further appeal) returned to the producing party or 
certified as destroyed, except that the parties' counsel shall be permitted to retain their 
working files on the condition that those files will remain confidential. 

The foregoing is entirely without prejudice to the right of any party to apply to the 
Court for any further Protective Order relating to confidential information; or to object to the 
production of documents or information; or to apply to the Court for an order compelling 
production of documents or information; or for modification of this Order. This Order may 
be enforced by either party and any violation may result in the imposition ofsanctions by the 
Court. 
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EXHIBIT A 

I have been infonned by counsel that certain documents or infonnation to be disclosed to 

me in connection with the matter entitled have been 
-----------~-----------

designated as confidential. I have been infonned that any such documents or infonnation labeled 

"CONFIDENTIAL - PRODUCED PURSUANT TO PROTECTIVE ORDER" are confidential by 

Order of the Court. 

I hereby agree that I will not disclose any infonnation contained in such documents to any 

other person. I further agree not to use any such infonnation for any purpose other than this 

litigation. 

_____________________________ DATED: 

Signed in the presence of: 

(Attorney) 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRI<srE~9URT .. ,j, :.~~~,1K
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FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING

Administrative General Order 2012-03 GENERAL ORDER ALLOWING
PERSONAL DATA DEVICES FOR
EMPANELED JURORS

ORDER

For all cases in the Federal District Court for the District of Wyoming, the Court has

determined that it is appropriate to allow empaneled jurors to have access to their personal data

devices during jury service, subject to the following restrictions.

IT IS ORDERED that all empaneled jurors shall be permitted to bring their personal data

devices, including cell phones, notebooks, laptops, electronic readers and other portable devices into

the courthouse and the petit jury room. Jurors will not be allowed to bring their personal data

devices into the Courtroom. No personal data devices are allowed in the jury room during

deliberations. When jury deliberations commence, all jurors will be required to relinquish their

personal data devices to the Bailiff or to secure these devices in the storage lock boxes.

This General Order shall apply only to empaneled jurors, not to prospective jurors.

Dated this )

Freudenthal
ited States District Judge
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRIMI~QURTl). C:;~._i:K 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 


Administrative General Order 2012-04 GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
DISCOVERY MOTIONS IN ALL 
CIVIL CASES BEFORE KELLY H. 
RANKIN, CHIEF MAGISTRATE 
JUDGE 

ORDER 


In an effort to avoid potentially unnecessary discovery disputes, parties in all cases assigned 

or referred to the Honorable Kelly H. Rankin shall follow the following procedure prior to 

submitting any written motion for discovery. 

First, most discovery disputes, especially those dealing with (1) scheduling or calendaring 

issues; (2) the number, length, or form oforal or written questions; (3) the responsiveness ofanswers 

to oral or written questions; and (4) the mechanics of document production, including protective 

orders and the proper method ofraising claims ofprivilege, should be resolved by counsel without 

court intervention. Therefore, parties are to strictly comply with Local Rule 7. 1 (b)(1)(A) and shall 

confer orally in person or by telephone regarding any discovery dispute. In the event that the parties 

cannot settle the discovery dispute on their own, then counsel shall jointly contact chambers for 

approval prior to filing any written discovery motion. The Court will attempt to resolve as many 

disputes as possible in this informal manner. If the Court determines that the issue requires the 

formal filing ofa motion and briefing, the Court will permit the parties to file a written motion. No 



written motions on discovery disputes will be considered unless this process is followed. 

Z -,dZ
Dated this ~ day of June, 2012. 

Ce2~~ 
Kelly H. Ranki~ 

Chief United States Magistrate Judge 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTR1Cs,<E~lYR.T CL~. K,.'-l 
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FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL ORDER DIRECTED TO 
Administrative General Order 2012-01 APPOINTED CJA PANEL 

ATTORNEYS REPRESENTING 
CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS IN THE 
DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

ORDER 


For all appointed CJA panel attorneys representing criminal defendants pursuant to the 

Criminal Justice Act of 1964 before all judges in the District ofWyoming, the following rules shall 

apply: 

1. Attorney Fees: For all non-capital felony cases that do not require case budgeting, 

immediately upon anticipating that attorneys fees will exceed the current attorney case compensation 

maximum, currently $9,700.00, appointed CJA counsel shall file an ex parte notice with 

documentation and explanation that this amount is expected to be exceeded. 

2. Costs and Services: For all cases that do not require case budgeting, immediately 

upon anticipating that costs, such as copy, fax, phone, research and postage, will exceed $300.00, 

counsel shall file an ex parte notice with documentation and explanation that this amount is expected 

to be exceeded. Similarly, immediately upon anticipating that services, such as investigative or 

http:9,700.00


interpretive services, will exceed $800.00, counsel shall seek the required court approval, providing 

documentation and explanation for why this amount is expected to be exceeded. 

3. Capital and Non-Capital Mega-Cases: For all capital cases and all cases where 

counsel anticipates total expenditures will exceed $30,000.00 for appointed counsel and for services 

other than counsel on behalfofan individual CJA defendant, the Court will require case budgeting. 

Counsel shall submit a proposed initial litigation budget for court approval, subject to modification 

in light ofdevelopments that emerge as the case proceeds. All case budgets shall be submitted ex 

parte and sealed. Recognizing that investigative, expert or other services may be required before 

counsel has an opportunity to submit a case budget, or the court to approve it, the court will act upon 

requests for services where prompt authorization is necessary for adequate representation. It is 

expected that counsel will use cost saving measures, such as paralegal time and investigator time 

where appropriate. Counsel should contact John Lang, 307-433-2130 or go to 

www.uscourts.gov/ForrnsAndFees/F orrns/CourtForrnsByCategory.aspx, under CJ A F orrns and 

Instructions, for assistance in developing and submitting a proposed initial litigation budget for the 

Court's approval. 

4. Neither the ex parte notice nor case budgeting shall affect the obligation ofattorneys 

to comply with CJA voucher requirements, nor does it guarantee payment ofCJA vouchers. Failure 
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to follow this Order may result in a notice from the Court of non-payment of CJA vouchers for 

attorneys fees, costs and/or services pursuant to the District ofWyoming's Criminal Justice Act Plan. 

Dated this Lday of May, 20 2. 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DI~r~CT :S9lJ~tLE. ;\ 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 


Administrative General Order 2012-02 GENERAL ORDER CREATING THE 
DISTRICT DETENTION 
COMMITTEE (DDC) 

ORDER 


This matter is before the Court based on the need for a District Detention Committee 

to address remote detention issues. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that a District Detention Committee (DDC) is created. 

The Committee shall be composed of the following members: 

1. The Honorable Alan B. Johnson; 

2. The United States Marshal for the District of Wyoming or his designee; 

3. The Chief Probation Officer or her designee; 

4. The Federal Public Defender for the District of Wyoming or his designee; 

5. Terry Harris, representing the Criminal Justice Act panel attorneys; 

6. John Lang, representing the Clerk's Office. 



The Committee shall meet to assess, prepare for, and respond to current and future 

remote detention issues. The Committee should consider local efforts to reduce the costs 

associated with remote detention ofpretrial defendants. 

Dated this -1-- day of May, 2012. 
A 
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FILED 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUR.~tt;S. DISTRICT COURT 

TIISTRICT OF WYOMING 

DEC 20 2011FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING i,·l<:; /?/4 £ 
Stepnan Harris, Cferk 

Cheyenne 

Administrative General Order 2011-08 GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
DISCOVERY MOTIONS IN ALL 
CIVIL CASES BEFORE NANCY D. 
FREUDENTHAL, CHIEF DISTRICT 
JUDGE 

ORDER 


Until the appointment of a Chief Magistrate Judge for the District ofWyoming, effective 

December 19, 2011, non-dispositive civil matters will be handled by the district court judge assigned 

to the case. In an effort to avoid potentially unnecessary discovery disputes, parties in all cases 

assigned to the Honorable Nancy D. Freudenthal shall follow the following procedure prior to 

submitting any written motion for discovery. 

First, most discovery disputes, especially those dealing with (1) scheduling or calendaring 

issues; (2) the number, length, or fonn oforal or written questions; (3) the responsiveness ofanswers 

to oral or written questions; and (4) the mechanics of document production, including protective 

orders and the proper method ofraising claims ofprivilege, should be resolved by counsel without 

court intervention. Therefore, parties are to strictly comply with Local Rule 7.1 (b)(1 )(A) and shall 

confer orally in person or by telephone regarding any discovery dispute. In the event that the parties 

cannot settle the discovery dispute on their own, then counsel shall jointly contact chambers for 

approval prior to filing any written discovery motion. The Court will attempt to resolve as many 



disputes as possible in this informal manner. If the Court determines that the issue requires the 

formal filing of a motion and briefing, the Court will permit the parties to file a written motion. No 

written motions on discovery disputes will be considered unless this process is followed. 

Dated this ~;)O day ofDecember, 2011. 

1 i .'
;1 1~t:71.,/ 

. f" / l1/j 
.. 

~ / ' 

Nancy 
Chief 

2 




Us FILED 
DISiR?6~TB~CWTCOURT 

YOMING 

SEP 06 2011 
Stephcanh Harris, Clerk 

eyenne 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 


FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 


ORDER TO INCLUDE ADDITIONAL FINES IN COLLATERAL FINE 

SCHEDULE FOR THE BUREAU OF RECLAMATION 


It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to include additional collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedules for the Bureau ofReclamation, and being fully advised in 

the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the attached list comprises those statutes and regulations that shall be 

enforced by the Bureau of Reclamation. Included herein is the applicable collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, which shall be understood that ifnot 

governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused violator into custody; (2) 

allow himlher to forfeit collateral; or (3) to merely issue a warning shall be within the sound 

discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator appear before a United 

States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or imprisonment or both, up to 

the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

Three types ofoffenses are listed throughout this schedule and the procedures which follow 

shall govern each: 

(l ) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some ofthe offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District Court 

to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United States 

Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the interest 
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ofpreventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused violator 

may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is intended to 

insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation notice and is not 

forteitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be placed in proper 

custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bail or is released by the 

Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule these offenses are denoted by a required appearance and bail 

amount has been set. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail Is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, the 

violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated on the 

violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before the Magistrate 

Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law enforcement 

officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the United States 

Mail in the presence of said officer. 



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference has 

been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact the 

United States Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124 or the United States 

Attorney's Office in Casper, Wyoming, at (307) 261-5434, or the United States Attorney's Office 

in Lander, Wyoming, at (307) 332-8195, for advice and consultation. 

DATED this ~ day of ~2011. 



FINE SCHEDULE 

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR 


BUREAU OF RECLAMATION 


Statute (43 CFR Parts 423 and 429) 

(Penalty Section: 43 CFR 423. 71-fine pursuant to 18 
U.S.c. § 3571 (up to $500.00) and/or can he 
imprisoned for not more than 6 months - Class B 
Misdemeanors) 

Fine Schedule 

Interference with Agency Functions and 
Disorderly Conduct 

423.22(a) 
Threaten, resist, intimidate, interfere with a 
Government Employee 

$500 

423.22(b) 
Violate lawful order 

$250 

423.22( c) 
False Report! False Information 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 

$125 

423.22(d) 
Interfering, impeding, disrupting authorized users 

$250 

423.22 (e) 
Disorderly conduct 

$250 

Abandonment and Impoundment of persona 
Property 

423.23(a) 
Abandoned Property - must not abandon personal 
property of any kind in or on facilities, lands, or 
water bodies 

$150 

423.23(b) 
Unattended Property - cannot store or leave 
unattended personal property of any kind 

$100 

Trespassing 



423.24 
No trespassing on facilities, lands, and!or water 
bodies 

$250 

Vandalism, Tampering and Theft 

423.25(a) 
Tampering or attempting to tamper with, move, 
manipulate, operate, adjust, or set in motion 
property not under lawful control or possession, 
including but not limited to, vehicles, equipment, 
controls, recreational facilities and devices 

$250 

423.25(b) 
VandalismlTheft - must not destroy, injure, deface, 
damage, or unlawfully remove property not under 
subject's lawful control or possession 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 

$110 

423.25(c) 
Throwing items on!into facilities - must not drop, 
place, throw, or roll rocks or other items inside, 
into, down, or from, dams, spillways, dikes, or 
other structures and facilities 

$200 

Public Events and Gatherings 

423.26 
Public Meetings! Assemblies - must not conduct 
public assemblies, meetings, gatherings, 
demonstrations, parades, and other events without 
a permit 

$250 

Advertising and Public Solicitation 

423.27 
Advertising/Soliciting - must not engage in 
advertising or solicitation on Reclamation 
facilities, lands or water bodies except as allowed 
on valid contract 

$75 

Memorials 



423.28 
Memorials - must not bury, deposit, or scatter 
human or animal remains, or place memorials, 
markers, vases, or plaques on Reclamation 
facilities, lands, or water bodies 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 

$250 

Natural and Cultural Resources 

423.29(a) 
Damage or Remove Government Property - must 
not destroy, injure, deface, remove, search for, 
disturb or alter natural resources or cultural 
resources including abandoned buildings or 
structures, on or in Reclamation facilities, lands, 
or water bodies 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 

$250 

423.29(b) 
Introducing Species - must not introduce wildlife, 
fish, or plants, including their reproductive bodies, 
into Reclamation lands and water bodies 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 

$500 

423.29(c) 
DamagelDisturb Natural Features - must not drop, 
place, throw, or roll rocks or other items inside, 
into, at, or down, caves, caverns, valleys, canyons, 
mountainsides, thermal features, or other natural 
formations 

$250 

423.29(d) 
DamaginglRemoving Live Trees or Parts - must 
not damage or remove any live tree or part thereof 

$250 

423.29(e) 
Walking/Climbing on Cultural Resources - must 
not walk on, climb, enter, ascend, descend, or 
traverse cultural resources on Reclamation lands, 
including monuments or statutes 

$250 

423.29(f) 
Unauthorized use of a Metal Detector - must not 
possess a metal detector or other geophysical 
discovery device, or use a metal detector or other 
geophysical discovery techniques to locate or 
recover subsurface objects or features 

$110 

Weapons, Firearms, Explosives, and Fireworks 



423.30(a)(I) 
Possessing Weapon at a Facility - must not have a 
weapon in possession when at or in a Reclamation 
facility 

$300 

423.30(a)(2) 
Weapon Use Not Compliant with Special Use Area 
Regulations - must comply with any prohibitions 
or regulations applicable to weapons in a special 
use area 

$150 

423.30(b) 
Illegal Discharge of a weapon - must not discharge 
or shoot a weapon unless authorized 

$200 

423.30(c) 
Explosives - must not use or possess explosives, or 
fireworks or pyrotechnics of any typed unless 
authorized 

Mandatory 
Appearance for 

Fire Suppression 

$200 for 
Possession 

Fires and Flammable Materials 

423.31 (a) 
Unattended Fire - must not leave a fire 
unattended, and it must be completely 
extinguished before departure 

Mandatory 
Appearance for 

Fire Suppression 
or 

$200 

423.31(b) 
Improper Disposal of Burning Material - must not 
improperly dispose of lighted smoking materials, 
including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, matches, or 
other burning material 

$150 

423.31(c) 
Burning Toxic Materials - must not burn materials 
that produce toxic fumes, including, but not 
limited to, tires, plastic, flotation materials, or 
treated wood products 

$250 

423.31(d) 
Improper Transportation of Fuel - must not 
transport gasoline and other fuels in containers 
not designed for that purpose 

$50 



423.31 (e) 
Noncompliance with Applicable Fire Regulations-
must comply with all applicable Federal, state, and 
local fire orders, restrictions, or permit 
requirements 

$300 

Hunting, Fishing and Trapping 

423.32(a)(I) HuntinglFishingffrapping in a Closed 
Area - subject to restrictions of § 423.30 in specific 
areas 

$100 

423.32(b) 
Noncompliance with Area Restrictions - must 
comply with any additional restrictions 

$100 

Camping 

423.33 (a) 
Camping Regulations in Special Use Area - must 
comply with any restrictions, conditions, 
limitations, or prohibitions on camping 

$100 plus fee 

423.33(b) 
Exceeding 14 Day Limit - must not camp on 
Reclamation lands at any single Reclamation 
project for more than 14 days during any period of 
30 consecutive days 

$100 

423.33 (c) 
Improper Campsite Reservation - must not 
attempt to reserve a campsite for future use by 
placing equipment or other items on the campsite, 
or by personal appearance 

$75 

423.33(d) 
Leaving Camping Equipment - must not camp on 
or place any equipment at a campsite that is posted 
or otherwise marked as "reserved" or "closed 

$75 

423.33(e) 
Digging at Campsite - must not dig in or level any 
ground, or erect any structure other than a tent 

$75 



Sanitation 

423.34 (a) 
Improper Disposal of Refuse - must not bring or 
improperly dispose of refuse on Reclamation 
facilities, lands, and water bodies 

$250 

423.34(b) 
Littering Campsite - campers, picnickers, and all 
other persons using Reclamation lands must keep 
their sites free of trash and litter during the period 
of occupancy and must remove all personal 
equipment and clean the site before departure 

$200 

423.34( c) 
Improper Latrine Location - must not construct a 
latrine within 200 yards of any Reclamation water 
body, or within 200 yards of the high water mark 
of any reservoir 

$150 

Animals 

423.35(a) 
Pets in Public Buildings, Public Vehicles or 
Sanitary Facilities - must not bring pets or other 
animals into public buildings, public 
transportation vehicles, or sanitary facilities. Does 
not apply to properly trained animals assisting 
person with disabilities 

$50 

423.35(b) AbandoninglHarassinglEndangering or 
Unauthorized Collecting Animals - must not 
abandon any animal on Reclamation facilities, 
lands or water bodies, or harass, endanger, or 
attempt to collect any animal except game you are 
attempting to take in the course of authorized 
hunting, fishing, or trapping 

$250 

423.35(d)(1) 
Prohibited Wild or Exotic Animal - following 
animals are prohibited and are subject to removal: 
captive wild or exotic animals including but not 
limited to cougars, lions, bears, bobcats, wolves, 
and snakes 

$500 



423.35( d)(2) 
Prohibited Vicious Threatening Pet! Animal ­
following animals are prohibited and are subject to 
removal: any pets or animals displaying vicious or 
aggressive behavior or posing a threat to public 
safety or deemed a public nuisance 

$100 

Swimming 

423.36(a)(I) Swimming/DivinglRaftingl Jumping 
within 300 Yards of Dam Works - may not swim, 
wade, snorkel, scuba dive, raft, or tube within 300 
yards of dams, power plants, spillways, stilling 
basins, gates, intake structures and outlet works 

$250 

423.36(a)(2) no swimming, diving, rafting, or 
jumping within in 100 yards of buoys or barriers $250 

423.36(a)(3) No swimming, diving, rafting, or 
jumping in canals, laterals, siphons, or tunnels $250 

423.36 (a)(4) 
No swimming, diving, rafting or jumping at public 
docks, launch sites and designated mooring areas 

$100 

423.36(b) 
Failure to display diving flag while engaged in 
underwater activities 

$100 

423.36(c) 
No diving, jumping, or swinging from dams, 
spillways, bridges, cables, towers, or other 
structures 

$250 

Winter Activities 

423.37(a) 
No towing persons on skis, sleds, or other sliding 
devices with a motor vehicle or snowmobile unless 
otherwise authorized 

$50 

423.37(b) 
No ice skating, ice fishing, or ice sailing within 300 
yards of dams, power plants, pumping plants, 
spillways, stilling basins, gates, intake structures or 
outlet works 

$250 

Operating Vessels on Reclamation Waters 



423.38(a) 
Must comply with Federal, state, and local laws 
applicable to the operation of a vessel or other 
water craft on Reclamation waters 

$100 

423.38(b) 
Must not operate a vessel in an area closed to the 
public 

$500 

423.38(c) 
Must observe restrictions established by signs, 
buoys, and other regulator markers 

$100 

423.38(d) 
Must not operate a vessel, or knowingly allow 
another person to operate a vessel, in a reckless or 
negligent manner, or a manner that endangers or 
is likely to endanger a person, property, natural 
resource, or cultural resource 

$250 

423.38(e) 
Must not operate a vessel when impaired or 
intoxicated 

$250 

423.38(f) 
Must not occupy a vessel overnight unless 
otherwise authorized 

$100 

423.38(g) 
Must not use a vessel as a place of habitation or 
residence 

$200 

423.38(h) 
Must not place or operate a vessel on a 
Reclamation water body for a fee or profit unless 
otherwise authorized 

$250 

423.38(i) 
Must remove vessels from Reclamation lands and 
waters when not in actual use for a period of more 
than 24 hours, unless securely moored or stored at 
special use areas 

• $75 

423.38(j) 
Must not attached or anchor a vessel to structures 
such as locks, dams, regulatory or navigational 
buoys, or other structures not designed for such 
purposes 

$250 



423.38(k) 
Must display an international diver down, or 
inland diving flag in accordance with State and US 
Coast Guard guidelines when operating a vessel 
involved in any underwater activities 

$100 

423.38(1) 
May engage in towing activities, including but not 
limited to waterskiing and tubing, only during 
daylight hours 

$75 

Standards for Vessels 

423.39(a)(I) 
All vessels on Reclamation waters must be 
constructed and maintained in compliance with the 
standards and requirements of 46 United States 
Code and applicable state and local laws 

$100 

423.39(a)(2) 
All vessels on Reclamation waters must have safety 
equipment, including personal flotation devices, on 
board in compliance with US Coast Guard 
requirements and applicable state and local 
boating safety laws 

$100 

423.39(a)(3) 
All vessels on Reclamation waters, if motorized, 
must have and utilize a proper and effective 
exhaust muffler 

$100 

Vehicles 

423.40(a) 
Must comply with applicable Federal, state and 
local laws and with posted restrictions and 
regulations. It is prohibited to operate any vehicle 
through, around, or beyond a restrictive sign 

$150 

423.40(b) 
Must not park a vehicle in violation of posted 
restrictions and regulations, or in a manner that 
would obstruct or impede normal or emergency 
traffic movement or the parking of other vehicles, 
create a safety hazard, or endanger any person, 
property, or natural feature 

$50 



423.40( c) 
Must not operate any vehicle, or allow another 
person to operate a vehicle in your control, in a 
careless, negligent or reckless manner that would 
endanger any person, property, natural resource 
or cultural resource 

Careless Driving: 

$250 if no injury 
or damage 
Mandatory 
Appearance if 
injury or damage 

Reckless Driving: 
$500 if no injury 
or damage 
Mandatory 
Appearance if 
injury or damage 

423.40(d) 
Regulations governing off-road vehicles use in 43 
CFR part 420 apply 

$200 

Aircraft 

423.41(a) 
Must comply with any applicable Federal, State, 
and local laws and with any additional 
requirements or restrictions established by an 
authorized official in special use areas 

$250 

423.41(b) 
Must not operate any aircraft while on or able 
Reclamation facilities, lands, and water bodies in a 
careless, negligent, or reckless manner so as to 
endanger any person, property, or natural feature 

$500 or 
Mandatory 

Appearance 

423.41(d) 
Must not use non-standard boarding and loading 
procedures to deliver or retrieve people, material, 
or equipment by parachute, balloon, helicopter, or 
other aircraft 

$250 

423.41(e) 
Must comply with all applicable US Coast Guard 
rules when operating a seaplane on Reclamation 
water bodies 

$250 



i 

i 

423.41(1) 
Must securely moor any seaplane remaining on 
Reclamation water bodies in excess of 24 hours at 
mooring facilities and designated locations 

423.41 (g) 
Must not operate model aircraft except as allowed 

. in special use areas 

Gambling 

! 423.42 
Commercial gambling in any form, or the 

. operation of gambling devices, is prohibited on 
Reclamation facilities, lands, and water bodies 

Alcoholic Beverages 

423.43 
Must not possess or consume alcoholic beverages 
in violation fo Federal, State or local laws 

Controlled Substances 

423.44 
Must not possess, consume, deliver, or be under 
the influence of controlled substances 

$100 


$75 


$100 


$100 


$250 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 



US DI FILED 
WYOMING FEDERAL DISTRICT COURT GENERAL ORDER RE{D(Bm~~g~I~1 

WIRELESS COMMUNICATION DEVICES JUL 2 12011 

Whereas, the Court recognizes that the use of Wireless §l@~ID+mrfMiq.q k 
Devices has become a necessary part of the legal practice Cb.~nrt4!ialer 
presentation. To that extent the Court believes a general order is necessary to 
define how and when Wireless Communication Devices can be utilized to avoid 
disruption and/or distraction from court proceedings and business, while 
allowing their effective use by counsel. Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED as 
follows: 

1.	 Devices covered: for purposes of this order "Wireless Communication 
Devices" are those electronic devices that are capable of wirelessly 
transmitting voice and/or data including, but not limited to mobile 
phones, cellular communication devices and personal digital assistants 
(PDAs) and/or computers. 

2.	 This General Order acknowledges and reaffirms the Court's policy as set 
forth under Local Rule 83.4.1, which strictly prohibits in any courtroom 
the operation of any audio or video recording device to record or 
photograph court proceedings, absent express authorization by the 
presiding judge. 

3.	 This General Order is not applicable to employees of the Wyoming 
Federal District Court, including the Clerk of Court, Judicial staff and 
court reporters, Probation Office employees, Bankruptcy Court 
employees, Court Security Officers and the U.S. Marshal's Office. 

4.	 Except as provided in this General Order, no person may use or possess 
a Wireless Communication Device in any courtroom or any premises 
under the direct control of the Court. With limited exception this 
applies to the entire Ewing T. Kerr Courthouse in Casper, Clifford P. 
Hansen Courthouse in Jackson, Yellowstone Justice Center, Mammoth, 
second floor of the Joseph C. O'Mahoney Federal Courthouse in 
Cheyenne and any other spaces that from time to time may be utilized 
and controlled by Federal District Court of Wyoming for official Court 
business. 

5.	 Unless otherwise ordered by the presiding judge, attorneys who are 
admitted to practice before this Court are allowed to possess and bring 
into court buildings Wireless Communication Devices subject to the 
following limitations and requirements, necessary to avoid disruption 
and/or distraction: 
a.	 Wireless Communication Devices shall be turned off (vibrating is 

not off) unless in designated use spaces. So long as done in a non­
disruptive manner, attorneys of record may use laptop computers 
that can access the internet at counsel tables, provided that the rules 
prohibiting photography, recording and broadcasting court 
proceedings are not violated and all audio sounds are muted. 

mailto:l@~ID+mrfMiq.q
botkins
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Attorneys of record may use cell phones, PDAs and Wireless 
Communication Devices (other than laptop computers that can 
access the internet) at counsel table only with the express 
permission of the presiding judge. Audio and/or video 
communications with a third party outside the courtroom are 
strictly prohibited. 

b.	 Those designated use spaces are identified on the attached map for 
the applicable courthouses. 

c.	 No witness, juror, client, party or member of the general public shall 
be allowed to possess or use any Wireless Communication Device. 

6.	 Copies of this General Order shall be made available by the Clerk of 
Court to persons entering court facilities and this General Order shall 
be conspicuously posted at main courthouse entrances. Any person who 
brings a Wireless Communication Device into a court building shall be 
deemed to have consented to the terms and conditions of, and to be 
subject to, this General Order. 

7.	 Any attorney violating this General Order may be subject to discipline 
under Local Rule 83.12.1. 

8.	 A violation of this General Order, including without limitation, 
unauthorized possession of a Wireless Communication Device, use of a 
Wireless Communication Device in an unauthorized space, possession of 
a Wireless Communication Device in an audible mode, and failing to 
turn OFF (vibrate mode is not OFF) a ~'ireless Communication Devices 
when required, MAY result in the immE~diate removal of the person in 
violation of this General Order. Upon Order of the Court, any United 
States Marshal or Deputy Marshal is authorized to confiscate, seize and 
inspect Wireless Communication Devices used or suspected of being 
used in violation of this General Order, or remove the person suspected 
to be in violation of this General Order. Seized Wireless 
Communication Devices may not be returned until the conclusion of 
proceedings or as otherwise directed by the presiding judge. 

9.	 A violation of this General Order may be punished by criminal contempt 
of court, giving due consideration to the nature of the violation and any 
history of similar or past violations. A violation that disrupts a judicial 
proceeding may be punished by direct summary contempt proceedings. 

10.	 Repeated violations by counsel may result in sanctions as well as the 
loss of privilege to possess a Wireless Communication Device in any 
courtroom or any premises under the dirE~ct control of the Court. 

Dated this 2-d day of July, 2011. 

2
 



FILED 

DYS~R?6~T~~C~$8~/~1 
IlIN 29 2011 

Stephan Ha . 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT Cheye~~Se Clerk 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

ORDER ESTABLISHING MANDATORY AND STANDARD CONDITIONS OF
 

SUPERVISED RELEASE AND PROBATION
 

The Court establishes the attached conditions as the mandatory and standard conditions of 

supervised release and probation. 

Dated at Cheyenne, Wyoming, this7o/ day of June, 2011. 

1 

BY THE COURT: 

Jl1._/t----Pt.4-f~~~:-.:::.. 
Nancy D. reu enthal 
ChiefU.. District Court Judge 
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MANDATORY CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISED RELEASE 

While on supervised release, the defendant shall not commit another federal, state or local 
cnme. 

While on supervised release, the defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled substance. 
Revocation ofsupervised release is mandatory for possession ofa controlled substance. The 
defendant shall submit to one drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and at 
least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as directed by the u.s. Probation Officer. 

Pursuant to Public Law 108-405, Revised DNA Collection Requirements Under the Justice 
for All Act of2004, the defendant shall submit to DNA collection while incarcerated in the 
Bureau of Prisons, or at the direction of the u.s. Probation Office. 

While on supervised release, the defendant shall not use or possess a firearm, ammunition, 
dangerous weapons or destructive device. Supervised release shall be revoked for possession 
of a firearm. 

The defendant shall make special assessment, fine and restitution payments as ordered by the 
Court and is required to notify the Court, through the Probation Office, of any material 
change in the defendant's economic circumstances that might affect the defendant's ability 
to meet these monetary obligations. 

*While on supervised release, the defendant shall report the address where he will reside and 
any subsequent change of residence to the probation officer responsible for supervision, and 
shall register as a sex offender in any State where the defendant resides, is employed, carries 
a vocation, or is a student. 

**While on supervised release, the defendant shall participate in an approved program for 
domestic violence. 

* Sex offenders only 

** For first-time domestic violence offenders only 



MANDATORY CONDITIONS OF PROBATION 

While on probation, the defendant shall not commit another federal, state or local crime. 

While on probation, the defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled substance. 
Revocation of probation is mandatory for possession of a controlled substance. The 
defendant shall submit to one drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and at 
least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as directed by the U.S. Probation Officer. 

Pursuant to Public Law 108-405, Revised DNA Collection Requirements Under the Justice 
for All Act of2004, the defendant shall submit to DNA collection while incarcerated in the 
Bureau of Prisons, or at the direction of the U.S. Probation Office. 

While on probation, the defendant shall not use or possess a firearm, ammunition, dangerous 
weapons or destructive device. Probation shall be revoked for possession of a firearm. 

The defendant shall make special assessment, fine and restitution payments as ordered by the 
Court and is required to notify the Court, through the Probation Office, of any material 
change in the defendant's economic circumstances that might affect the defendant's ability 
to meet these monetary obligations. 

*While on probation, the defendant shall report the address where he will reside and any 
subsequent change ofresidence to the probation officer responsible for supervision, and shall 
register as a sex offender in any State where the defendant resides, is employed, carries a 
vocation, or is a student. 

**While on probation, the defendant shall participate in an approved program for domestic 
violence. 

* Sex offenders only 

** For first-time domestic violence offenders only 



STANDARD CONDITIONS O:F SUPERVISION 

1)	 the defendant shall not leave the judicial district without the permission of the Court or 
probation officer; 

2)	 the defendant shall report to the probation officer as directed by the Court or probation 
officer and shall submit a truthful and complete written report within the first five days of 
each month; 

3)	 the defendant shall answer truthfully all inquiries by the probation officer and follow the 
instructions of the probation officer; 

4)	 the defendant shall support his or her dependents and meet other family responsibilities; 

5)	 the defendant shall work regularly at a lawful occupation unless excused by the probation 
officer for schooling, training or other acceptable reasons; 

6)	 the defendant shall notify the probation officer at least 10 days prior to any change in 
residence or employment; 

7)	 the defendant shall refrain from excessive use of alcohol and shall not purchase, possess, 
use, distribute, or administer any narcotic or other controlled substance, or any 
paraphernalia related to such substances, except as prescribed by a physician; 

8)	 the defendant shall not frequent places where controlled substances are illegally sold, used, 
distributed, or administered; 

9)	 the defendant shall not associate with any persons engaged in criminal activity, and shall 
not associate with any person convicted of a felony unless granted permission to do so by 
the probation officer; 

10)	 the defendant shall permit a probation officer to visit him or her at any time at home or 
elsewhere and shall permit confiscation of any contraband observed in plain view by the 
probation officer; 

11)	 the defendant shall notify the probation officer within seventy-two hours of being arrested 
or questioned by a law enforcement officer; 

12)	 the defendant shall not enter into any agreement to act as an informer or a special agent of 
a law enforcement agency without the permission of the Court; 

13)	 as directed by the probation officer, the defendant shall notify third parties of risks that 
may be occasioned by the defendant's criminal record or personal history or 
characteristics, and shall permit the probation officer to make such notifications and to 
confirm the defendant's compliance with such notification requirement. 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

MAY - 7 2011 

Stephan Harris, Clerk United States District Court Cheyenne 

-------- For The District of Wyoming -------­

In Re: Transcript Fee Rates 

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 

The Judicial Conference of the United States has amended the maximum fees for 

realtime services. The District of Wyoming hereby adopts the new rates as published in 

the District's Court Reporter Management Plan, Appendix A. The new Appendix A is 

attached to this order f~erence. 

Dated this + day of May, 2010. 

C~~dJ, ~ 
William F. Downes 
Chief, United States District Judge 
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ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE
 
UNITED STATES COURTS
 

JAMES C. DUFF 
Director WASHINGTON, D.C. 20544 

April 14, 2011 

MEMORANDUM 

To: Chief Judges, United States Courts 
Circuit Executives 
Federal Public/Community Defenders 
District Court Executives 
Clerks, United States Courts 

From: JamesCDuff ~...... C'ni 
RE: AMENDMENT TO MAXIMUM FEES FOR REALTIME SERVICES (INFORMATION) 

At its March 20 II session, the Judicial Conference amended the maximum fees for 
realtime services. The amended fees are based on the number of realtime connections (feeds) 
provided by a certified realtime court reporter as follows: 

One feed, the ordering party pays $3.05 per page;
 
Two to four feeds, each party receiving a feed pays $2.10 per page; or
 
Five or more feeds, each party receiving a fel~d pays $1.50 per page.
 

Under the new maximum fees for realtime services, all parties to the case who receive a 
realtime feed pay the same amount for the services that are received. If a court reporter provides 
two or more feeds to the same party to the case, the reporter may charge for each feed provided 
based on the total number of feeds ordered. 

Each court may adopt a schedule of transcript fee rates subject to the maximum rates 
established by the Judicial Conference. Realtime services ordered prior to the date of a court's 
adoption of the new rates should be billed at the rates in effect at the time the realtime order was 
placed with the official court reporter. Court reporter contracts may be adjusted in accordance 
with the tenus and conditions of the contract agreement. A revised Schedule of Maximum Rates 
is available at: http://inet.ao.dcn/District/Court Reporting/Transcript Fees.html. 

If you have any questions concerning the amended maximum fees for realtime services, 
please contact Robin Cole in the District Court Administration Division at 202-502-3289. 

A TRADITION OF SERVICE TO THE FEDERAL JUDICIARY 



Maximum Transcript Rates - All Parties Per Page Page 1 of 1 

J-Net Printer Friendly 

Maximum Transcript Rates - All Parties Per Page 

All Parties Per Page 

Back to Graphical Site 

Each Add'i IBFirst Copy to Copy to the 
Each Party 

Same Party I 
Ordinary Transcript (30 day)
 
A transcript to be delivered within thirty (30)
 
calendar days after receipt of an order.
 GC3C3 
14-Day Transcript 
A transcript to be delivered within fourteen (14)
 
calendar days after receipt of an order.
 G~C3 
Expedited Transcript (7 day)
 
A transcript to be delivered within seven (7)
 
calendar days after receipt of an order.
 GC3C3 
Daily Transcript 
A transcript to be delivered following
 
adjournment and prior to the normal opening
 $6.05 $1.20 $.90 
hour of the court on the following morning 
whether or not it actually is a court day. 

Hourly Transcript 
A transcript of proceedings ordered under
 
unusual circumstances to be delivered within
 
two (2) hours.
 GGC3 

One feed,1 I 

$3.05 per Realtime Transcript 
page; two-to-A draft unedited transcript produced by a 

four feeds, certified realtime reporter as a byproduct of 
$2.10 per·realtime to be delivered electronically during 

page; five or proceedings or immediately follOWing 
more feeds, adjournment. 

$1.50 per 
page.III 

1 A realtime "feed" is the electronic data flow from the court reporter to the computer of each 
person or party ordering and receiving the realtime transcription in the courtroom. 

Back to Graphical Site 

http://j net.ao.dcnJPFriendly/District/Court_Reporting/Transcript_Fees.html 5/5/2011 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

APR 202011 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURptephan Harris, Clerk

Cheyenne 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL ORDER REGARDING 
ELECTRONIC FILING AND 
SERVICE OF PLEADINGS IN CASES 
BEFORE CLARENCE A. BRIMMER, 
SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE 

ORDER
 

The undersigned judge ofthis Court having found that the electronic filing and service 

ofpleadings has proven to be sufficiently reliable and available to most parties, it is hereby 

ORDERED that the Order entered May 25,2006, requiring that, in all cases before 

the undersigned, counsel shall continue to file pleadings by paper filing and serve opposing 

counsel and the undersigned with a paper filing, is hereby RESCINDED; it is further 

ORDERED that, in all cases assigned to the undersigned, both civil and criminal, 

pleadings and/or documents shall be filed and served in accordance with the local rules of 

this Court. 
-fA 

Dated this C10 -day of April, 2011. 

\ / 1'1..;:7 

~ 414/M£ L~ / ~~YYU<l-

Clarence A. Brimmer ,Ji' 

United States District Judge 
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FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

MAY 25 2006 
/;41.Jf"n'I' 

Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

ORDER 

The undersigned judge ofthis Court doubts that electronic filing of pleadings 

will always be as certain as the U.S. Mail Service and the mailing thereof, and 

believes that proof of filing of pleadings may also be difficult in some cases~ it 

therefore is 

ORDERED that in all cases, both civil and criminal, assigned to the 

undersigned, counsel for any of the parties shall continue to file all pleadings by 

paper filing, and shall serve aU opposing counsel and the undersigned with a paper 

filing by United States Mail; and that the Clerk of this Court shall file a copy of this 

Order in all cases assigned to the undersigned. Counsel in each case may, in addition 

and in their discretion, serve opposing counsel with electronic copies of all such 

pleadings. However, the proof of filing of such pleadings shall be by proof of the 

mailing of written paper copies. 

DATED this ....:J.S-~ day ofM£1Y,.4.o06. 

! (Vi '" ..,' _/
~_/ .. -t'J. [(/'//.(..:;-, I,·,} '/' .. ,. -,- ').< I 

CLARENCE A. BRIMMER,
 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT ,JUDGE
 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

JUL 22 2010 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Stephan Harris, Clerk 
THIRD ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE Casper 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend Collateral Fee Schedule by adopting 

the bond amounts ofthe State of Wyoming, Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedule, and the Court 

being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Collateral Fine Schedule, which is available at the United States District 

Court for the District of Wyoming, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: 

Assimilated State Laws
 

Uniform Bail and forfeiture Schedule, Wyoming Rules of Criminal Procedure
 

Appendix to Rule 3.1, Wyo.R.Cr.P., lA Traffic Offenses
 

In those instances when an accused violator wishes to plead guilty and he so indicates the 

same on the violation notice, he may forfeit collateral in the amount applicable to the offense 

charged. The law enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit 

the collateral in the U.S. mail in the presence of said officer. 

This District adopts and incorporates the attached Exhibit A for traffic offenses occurring 

with the confines of F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming. The purpose for this order is to add forfeiture 

fine amounts and processing fees not previously addressed between the State ofWyoming and those 

Wyoming traffic offenses ~ilated by F.E. Warren AFR 

DATED thi~ day of July, 2010. 

CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 



Amended Fine Schedule - FEW AFB WY 

wss Offense Fine Processing Fee Total Fine 

31-4-101 (b) Alteration or mutilation of license plates $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-1303 Child safety restraint system $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

Child safety restraint system 2nd Offense $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-4-103 (a)or(b) Compulsory auto insurance-1st offense $380.00 $25.00 $405.00 

31-7-106 (a) Driver's license Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-7-116 Driver's license (Carring and Displaying) $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

3-5-1102 Damage to unattended Vehicle $180.00 $25.00 $205.00 

31-4-101(a) (i) Expired temporary license permits as defined $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-4-101 (a) (ii) Failure to display license plates as required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

24-1-109 Failure to observe signs and closed markers $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-5-405 Flashing signals $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-210 Following too closely $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-910 Headlamps Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-507 Meeting or passing stopped school bus $180.00 $25.00 $205.00 

31-5-115(0) Motorcycle operation by minor without helmet $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-235 Open container by operator of vehicle $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-7-134(a) 

Operating under suspended or revoked license (non DUI 

or reckless Driving) $380.00 $25.00 $405.00 

31-5-1601(b) 

Operation of off-road recreation vehicles on public 

roads/driver's license required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-4-101 (a) (iii) 

Operation of vehicle with altered, mutilated or 

obscured license plates $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-501 Parking Violations (All) $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-602 Pedestrian right-of-way in crosswalks $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-510 Railroad crossing signal and sight $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-224(a) Right-of-way for emergency vehicles $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seat Belt Passenger over 12 years old $10.00 $25.00 $35.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seatbelts Driver $25.00 $25.00 $50.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seatbelts Driver with passenger under 12 years old $25.00 $25.00 $50.00 

31-5-301{a) Speed too fast for conditions $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 
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31-5-511 Stop at railroad crossing $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-402 Stop lights-Obedience to traffic-control device $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-915 Stop Lights Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-222(b) Stop sign $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-913 Taillights Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 
31-5-214 Turning at intersection $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-217 Turning requires signals $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-509 Unattended Vehicle $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 
31-5-970 Unsafe vehicles $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-4-101(a) (i) Vehicle registration required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-104 Willful refusal to obey officer $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 
31-5-222 (c) Yield sign $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

SPEEDING 15 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 
Exceeding 15 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 15 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 16 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 

31-5-301 (b) 17 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 

31-5-301 (b) 18 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 

31-5-301 (b) 19 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 

31-5-301 (b) 20 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 
($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 
above 20 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 21 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 

31-5-301 (b) 22 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 

31-5-301 (b) 23 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 

31-5-301 (b) 24 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 

31-5-301 (b) 25 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 26 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 

31-5-301 (b) 27 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 

31-5-301 (b) 28 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 

31-5-301 (b) 29 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 

31-5-301 (b) 30 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 31 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 32 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 

SPEEDING 20 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 20 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 20 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 21 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 22 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
31-5-301 (b) 23 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
31-5-301 (b) 24 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 25 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 

above 25 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 26 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 27 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
31-5-301 (b) 28 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 
31-5-301 (b) 29 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 
31-5-301 (b) 30 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 31 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 
31-5-301 (b) 32 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 
31-5-301 (b) 34 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 
31-5-301 (b) 35 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 36 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 37 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 38 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 39 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) 40 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 
31-5-301 (b) 41 $114.00 $25.00 $139.00 

SPEEDING 25 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 25 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 25 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 26 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 27 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 28 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
31-5-301 (b) 29 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 30 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 

above 30 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 31 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 32 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 
31-5-301 (b) 34 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 
31-5-301 (b) 35 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 36 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 
31-5-301 (b) 37 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 
31-5-301 (b) 38 $82.00 $25.00 '$107.00 
31-5-301 (b) 39 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 
31-5-301 (b) 40 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 41 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 42 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 43 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 44 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) 45 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 
31-5-301 (b) 46 $114.00 $25.00 $139.00 

SPEEDING 30 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 30 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 30 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 31 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 32 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
31-5-301 (b) 34 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 35 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

31-5-301 (b) 

($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 

above 35 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 36 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 37 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 38 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 

31-5-301 (b) 39 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 

31-5-301 (b) 40 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 

31-5-301 (b) 41 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 

31-5-301 (b) 42 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 

31-5-301 (b) 43 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 

31-5-301 (b) 44 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 

31-5-301 (b) 45 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 

31-5-301 (b) 46 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 

31-5-301 (b) 47 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 

31-5-301 (b) 48 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 

31-5-301 (b) 49 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 

31-5-301 (b) 50 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 

SPEEDING 40 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 40 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 40 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 41 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 

31-5-301 (b) 42 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 

31-5-301 (b) 43 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 

31-5-301 (b) 44 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 

31-5-301 (b) 45 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 
($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 
above 45 mph) $25.00 $25.00 

31-5-301 (b) 46 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 

31-5-301 (b) 47 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 

31-5-301 (b) 48 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 

31-5-301 (b) 49 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 

31-5-301 (b) 50 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 

31-5-301 (b) 51 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 

31-5-301 (b) 52 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 

31-5-301 (b) 53 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 

31-5-301 (b) 54 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 

31-5-301 (b) 55 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 

(
 

(
 

EXHIBIT A 50f6 



31-5-301 (b) 56 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 57 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 58 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 59 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) 60 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 

(
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D~sM6.~~'M8~,%1J 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT MAY 182010 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING Stephan Harris, Clerk
Casper 

SECOND ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend Collateral Fee Schedule by adopting 

the bond amounts of the State of Wyoming, Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedule, and the Court 

being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Collateral Fine Schedule, which is available at the United States District 

Court for the District of Wyoming, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: 

Assimilated State Laws
 

Uniform Bail and forfeiture Schedule, Wyoming Rules of Criminal Procedure
 

Appendix to Rule 3.1, Wyo.R.Cr.P., lA Traffic Offenses
 

In those instances when an accused violator wishes to plead guilty and he so indicates the 

same on the violation notice, he may forfeit collateral in the amount applicable to the offense 

charged. The law enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit 

the collateral in the U.S. mail in the presence of said officer. 

This District adopts and incorporates the attached Exhibit A for traffic offenses occurring 

with the confines ofF.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming. The purpose for this order is to more clearly align 

forfeiture fine amounts and processing fees between the State of Wyoming and those Wyoming 

F.E. Warren AFB. 

~
 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 



Amended Fine Schedule - FEW AFB WY 

WSS Offense Fine Processing Fee Total Fine 

31-4-101 (b) Alteration or mutilation of license plates $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-1303 Child safety restraint system $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

Child safety restraint system 2nd Offense $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-4-103 (a)or{b) Compulsory auto insurance-1st offense $380.00 $25.00 $405.00 

31-7-106 Driver's license $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

3-5-1102 Damage to unattended Vehicle $180.00 $25.00 $205.00 

31-4-101{a) (i) Expired temporary license permits as defined $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-4-101 (a) (ii) Failure to display license plates as required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

24-1-109 Failure to observe signs and closed markers $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-5-405 Flashing signals $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-210 Following too closely $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-910 Headlamps Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-507 Meeting or passing stopped school bus $180.00 $25.00 $205.00 

31-5-115(0) Motorcycle operation by minor without helmet $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-235 Open container by operator of vehicle $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 
Operating under suspended or revoked license (non DUI 

31-7-134(a) or reckless Driving) $380.00 $25.00 $405.00 

Operation of off-road recreation vehicles on public 
31-5-1601(b) roads/driver's license required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

Operation of vehicle with altered, mutilated or 

31-4-101 (a) (iii) obscured license plates $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-501 Parking Violations (All) $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-602 Pedestrian right-of-way in crosswalks $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-510 Railroad crossing signal and sight $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-224(a) Right-of-way for emergency vehicles $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seat Belt Passenger over 12 years old $10.00 $25.00 $35.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seatbelts Driver $25.00 $25.00 $50.00 

31-5-1402 (a) Seatbelts Driver with passenger under 12 years old $25.00 $25.00 $50.00 

31-5-301{a) Speed too fast for conditions $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-511 Stop at railroad crossing $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 
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31-5-402 Stop lights-Obedience to traffic-control device $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-915 Stop Lights Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-222(b) Stop sign $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-913 Taillights Required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-214 Turning at intersection $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-217 Turning requires signals $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-509 Unattended Vehicle $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-970 Unsafe vehicles $80.00 $25.00 $105.00 

31-4-101(a) (i) Vehicle registration required $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-104 Willful refusal to obey officer $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

31-5-222 (c) Yield sign $30.00 $25.00 $55.00 

SPEEDING 15 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 15 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 15 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 16 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 

31-5-301 (b) 17 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 

31-5-301 (b) 18 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 

31-5-301 (b) 19 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 

31-5-301 (b) 20 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 
($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 
above 20 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 21 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 

31-5-301 (b) 22 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 

31-5-301 (b) 23 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 

31-5-301 (b) 24 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 

31-5-301 (b) 25 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 

31-5-301 (b) 26 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 

31-5-301 (b) 27 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 

31-5-301 (b) 28 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 

31-5-301 (b) 29 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 

31-5-301 (b) 30 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 

31-5-301 (b) 31 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 

31-5-301 (b) 32 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 33 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
SPEEDING 20 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 20 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 20 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 21 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 22 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
31-5-301 (b) 23 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
31-5-301 (b) 24 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 25 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 

above 25 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 26 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 27 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
31-5-301 (b) 28 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 
31-5-301 (b) 29 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 
31-5-301 (b) 30 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 31 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 
31-5-301 (b) 32 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 
31-5-301 (b) 34 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 
31-5-301 (b) 35 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 36 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 37 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 38 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 39 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) 40 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 
31-5-301 (b) 41 $114.00 $25.00 $139.00 

SPEEDING 30 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 30 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 30 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 31 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 32 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
31-5-301 (b) 33 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 34 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 35 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

31-5-301 (b) 
($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 
above 35 mph) 

31-5-301 (b) 36 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 37 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
31-5-301 (b) 38 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 
31-5-301 (b) 39 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 
31-5-301 (b) 40 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 41 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 
31-5-301 (b) 42 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 
31-5-301 (b) 43 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 
31-5-301 (b) 44 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 
31-5-301 (b) 45 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 46 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 47 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 48 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 49 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) SO $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 

SPEEDING 40 MILE PER HOUR ZONE 

($35.00 is primary fine) 

Exceeding 40 mph in urban districts plus $25.00 

processing fee plus $2.00 per mile over 40 mph 

31-5-301 (b) 41 $37.00 $25.00 $62.00 
31-5-301 (b) 42 $39.00 $25.00 $64.00 
31-5-301 (b) 43 $41.00 $25.00 $66.00 
31-5-301 (b) 44 $43.00 $25.00 $68.00 
31-5-301 (b) 45 $45.00 $25.00 $70.00 

($50.00 & $25.00 processing fee plus $4.00 per mile 

above 45 mph) $25.00 $25.00 
31-5-301 (b) 46 $54.00 $25.00 $79.00 
31-5-301 (b) 47 $58.00 $25.00 $83.00 
31-5-301 (b) 48 $62.00 $25.00 $87.00 
31-5-301 (b) 49 $66.00 $25.00 $91.00 
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31-5-301 (b) 50 $70.00 $25.00 $95.00 
31-5-301 (b) 51 $74.00 $25.00 $99.00 
31-5-301 (b) 52 $78.00 $25.00 $103.00 
31-5-301 (b) 53 $82.00 $25.00 $107.00 
31-5-301 (b) 54 $86.00 $25.00 $111.00 
31-5-301 (b) 55 $90.00 $25.00 $115.00 
31-5-301 (b) 56 $94.00 $25.00 $119.00 
31-5-301 (b) 57 $98.00 $25.00 $123.00 
31-5-301 (b) 58 $102.00 $25.00 $127.00 
31-5-301 (b) 59 $106.00 $25.00 $131.00 
31-5-301 (b) 60 $110.00 $25.00 $135.00 (
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FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

OISTRICT OF WYOMING 

MAY - 8 2010 

Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

United States District Court 
For The District of Wyoming ------- ­

) 
) 
) GENERAL ORDER REGARDING THE 
) ASSIGNMENT OF NEW CASES TO 
) UNITED STATES SENIOR DISTRICT 
) JUDGE CLARENCE A. BRIMMER 
) EFFECTIVE MAY 10, 2010 
) 
) 

Effective May 10, 2010, the Honorable Clarence A. Brimmer, Senior Judge, will 

take assignments of new cases only as follows: 

(a) Ten percent (10%) of criminal cases on a random basis; provided, however, 

that in the event any criminal matter assigned to Judge Brimmer requires a trial, the case 

will then be reassigned on a random basis to another district judge for completion; 

(b) At least fifty percent (50%) of prisoner case filings on a random basis 

(excluding death penalty matters); provided, however, that all 2255 motions filed in 

criminal cases shall be assigned to the district judge to whom the criminal case is currently 

assigned; and 

(c) One hundred percent (100%) of social security civil cases.
 

IT IS SO ORDE~~~__
 

Dated this ~;-Of May, 2010.
 

~~~~~
 
Chief United States District Judge 



FILED
 
~:.,S.?ISTRICT COURT
 

01.::> Tfi.CT OF '/I/YOMING
 

NOV 182009 
C'. \<YL+~ 
utephan Harris, Clerk 

United States District Court Casper 

-------- For The District of Wyoming ------- ­

ORDER REGARDING ALL MATTERS INVOLVING CITATIONS FROM THE 
CENTRAL VIOLATION BUREAU 

In the matter of all Initial hearings on Central Violation Bureau matters, the Court 

now ORDERS the United States of America (USA) provide a copy of the specific statutory 

provisions set forth in each citation that form the basis of the citation. 

It is further ordered that the USA provide a copy of the specific statutory provisions 

addressing penalties for the said citation. In instances where the citation derives from the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), or where penalties are further delineated in the CFR, 

the USA will provide a copy of all applicable CFRs. 

Such copies will be made available in the clerk's office by 9:00 a.m. on the date set 

by the Central Violations Bureau. 

Dated this .5 day of November, 2009. 

R ael Shickich 
nited States Magistrate Judge 



FILED 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING JUL 3 0 2009 

AMENDED DISTRICT PLAN FOR RANDOM Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

SELECTION OF GRAND AND PETIT JURORS 

Pursuant to the General Order of this Court dated, July 30, 2009 the Court hereby amends 

its Jury Selection Plan. 

NOW, THEREFORE, The District Plan for the Random Selection of Grand and Petit 

Jurors shall read as follows: 

1.	 DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. 

No citizen shall be excluded from service as a grand or petit juror on account ofrace, 

color, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status. 

2.	 APPLICABILITY OF PLAN 

This Plan is applicable to the selection and service of both the grand and petit jurors in 

the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming. 

3.	 PLACES FOR HOLDING COURT AND DESIGNATION OF DIVISIONS 

(a)	 Divisions Within District. To ensure impartial trials and at the same time avoid 

incurring unnecessary expense and unduly burdening citizens of any part of the 

District with jury service, the District of Wyoming is hereby divided into four 

divisions for jury selection purposes; namely, Cheyenne Division, Casper 

Division, Jackson Division and Fremont County Division. 

(b)	 Fremont County. The Wind River Indian Reservation is located in Fremont 

County, Wyoming. As a result, Fremont County has a high concentration of 



Native American population l
. Fremont County is designated as a fourth division 

within the District of Wyoming. The presiding Judge may direct that names from 

Fremont County Division be included in a division or a combination of divisions 

within the District for petit jury selection. 

(c)	 Combining Divisions. The Presiding Judge may direct that names of petit jurors 

be drawn randomly from all divisions, a select divison and/or a combination of 

divisions within the District. A minimum of forty-five (45) days prior to jury 

selection shall be given to ensure that the proper percentage of each division is 

properly reconstituted within the division for petit jury selection. 

(d)	 Counties within Divisions. The following counties from which jurors will be 

drawn for each division or place of holding court are hereby designated: 

Divisions and Cities
 
Where Court is Held:
 

Cheyenne 

Jackson 

Casper 

Counties from Which 
Jurors are Drawn: 

Goshen 
Platte 
Laramie 
Albany 
Carbon 
Sweetwater 

Uinta 
Lincoln 
Sublette 
Teton 
Sheridan 
Johnson 
Campbell 
Crook 

'The 2000 Census reported 28.9% of Fremont County's population is Native American 
(6,728). 

2 



Weston 
Niobrara 
Converse 
Natrona 
Park 
Hot Springs 
Big Hom 
Washakie 

Fremont	 Fremont 

4.	 CLERK OF COURT 

(a)	 Authority of Clerk of Court. Pursuant to 28. U.S.C. 1863(b)(l), the Clerk of 

Court is hereby authorized to manage the jury selection process. The Clerk shall 

act under the supervision and control of the Chief Judge of this Court or any other 

active or senior active judge as the Chief Judge may designate. (Section 1863 

(b)(l)). 

(b).	 Authorization of Clerk to Grant Excuses. For purposes of the selection of persons 

for jury service on grand and petit panels, the Clerk of Court or the Chief Deputy 

is hereby authorized to grant said jurors temporary excuses from service on the 

grounds of "undue hardship or extreme inconvenience." The names of all jurors 

granted temporary excuses by the Court or the Clerk of Court shall be reinstated 

back into the qualified wheel. 

(c).	 Pennanent Excuses. For purposes of the st~lection of persons for jury service on 

grand and petit panels, any District Judge and the Clerk ofCourt is hereby authorized 

to grant said jurors pennanent excuses from service on the grounds of "undue 

hardship or extreme inconvenience." 

3 



5.	 RANDOM SELECTION 

(a)	 Voter Registration List. Names of prospective jurors to serve on grand and petit 

jurors drawn for service commencing after the effective date of the Plan shall be 

selected at random from the voter registration lists of every county in Wyoming as 

designated in this Order, and placed in the Master Jury Wheel. This Court finds that 

the voter lists prepared by the State of Wyoming represent a fair cross section of the 

persons residing in said counties. The Clerk of Court shall make the random 

selection of not less than one thousand (1,000) names from said voter registration 

lists in each division. 

(b)	 Selection of Names. The Clerk shall ensure that the number of registered voters 

selected from each county's list for the master jury wheel reflects the same proportion 

that each county's registered voters comprisl~ of registered voters of all counties in 

the District. For example, if the registered voters in a particular county reflect 5% 

of all the state's registered voters, then the Clerk shall ensure that the total number 

of names selected from that county's list of registered voters is equal to 5% of the 

total number of names so selected from the lists of all counties in the District. The 

Clerk then will ensure that the Court's automated selection system randomly selects 

the appropriate number of names of registered voters from each county's list. The 

Clerk shall ensure that the system, in randomly selecting the appropriate number of 

names for the master jury wheel is programmed to cycle completely through each 

county's voter registration list at least once to ensure that each name on the list, 

regardless of its position relative to the other names on the list, has an equivalent 
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probability of being selected. 

In each of the following divisions, the following number of names shall be drawn from the voters' 

registration lists for each division:2 

Cheyenne Division .... proportional to registered voters within the Division 
Casper Division. . . . . . proportional to registered voters within the Division 
Jackson Division ..... proportional to registered voters within the Division 
Fremont Division. . . . .. proportional to registered voters within the Division 

6.	 QUALIFIED JURY WHEELS. FOR EACH DIVISION 

(a)	 Qualified Jury Wheel for Each Division. The Clerk of Court shall provide and 

maintain a Qualified Jury Wheel for each ofthe divisions in this District. The names 

of all persons randomly selected from the voter registration lists of the counties in 

each division shall be placed in the Qualified Jury Wheel for that division. 

(b)	 Minimum Names in Qualified Jury Wheet Not less than one thousand 0,000) 

names shall be originally placed in each Qualified Jury Wheel. The Court may order 

additional names to be placed in the Qualified Jury Wheel when and as needed. 

(c)	 Creation ofSeparate Qualified Wheel in a Division. The Qualified Jury Wheels will 

be used by the Clerk as the source of names for the grand and petit jury panels for 

each division. 

(d)	 Refilling Master Jury Wheel. The Court's master jury wheel shall be purged of all 

names and refilled every two years, specifically during each odd numbered year 

following a general election. 

(e)	 General Notice of Drawing. Every two years, as defined in this Plan and as needed 

2 The pro-rata number of names shall be based on the total number of registered voters
 
listed in each division as compared to the total number of registered voters in the entire district.
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or directed by the ChiefJudge and the Clerk ofCourt, a notice shall be posted in the 

Clerk's Offices in Cheyenne and Casper, Wyoming and on the Court's website at 

www.wyd.uscourts.gov explaining the pro(;ess at which names are randomly and 

periodically drawn for jury service. 

7.	 QUALIFYING AND SUMMONSING OF JURORS 

(a)	 Qualifying, Summonsing and Creating Jury Panels. The Clerk shall publicly draw 

at random from the Master Jury Wheel a number ofnames ofpersons, such numbers 

to be designated by the Court pursuant to an oral or written order, for qualifying 

grand and petit jury panels. The Clerk shall mail ajuror qualification questionnaire 

to every person randomly selected with a request to fill out and return the form, duly 

signed and sworn, to the Clerk by mail or through the Court's internet website within 

10 days. 

On the basis of the information provided on the questionnaire and other competent 

evidence, the Clerk shall determine whether a person is unqualified for, or exempt 

from, or to be excused from jury service. The names of all persons drawn from the 

Master Jury Wheel who are determined to be qualified as jurors shall be put in a 

qualified jury wheel for each division for summonsing at a later date. In order to 

conserve funds, the Clerk of Court shall serve the questionnaires and summons to 

petit and grand jurors by first class mail, unless otherwise specifically ordered by the 

Court. 

(b)	 Disclosure of Juror Information. The actual names so drawn from the Master Jury 

Wheel shall not be disclosed before date of appearance and qualification of such 
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jurors unless the Court shall otherwise direct. Furthermore, the Clerk of Court shall 

not allow any person to view the juror questionnaires without prior permission ofthe 

Court. The Clerk shall only divulge information onjury lists pursuant to the policies 

of the E-Government Act and the Judicial Conference of the United States. 

(c)	 The Clerk of Court shall not be required to prepare a list of the names drawn from 

the Master Jury Wheel for jury service. 

(d)	 No later than three (3) business days prior to the commencement of trial, a list of 

jurors shall be distributed to counsel and/or parties. Prior to distribution, the process 

used shall be reviewed by the Clerk of Court or designee, to ensure that the list 

represents a fair cross section of the persons residing in said counties within the 

division, and/or combination of divisions. 

8.	 GRAND JURY 

(a)	 District-wide Selection of Grand Jury Array.. Grand jury panels will be selected on 

a district-wide basis and may sit in anyone of the statutory places of holding court 

in the district. 

(b)	 Proportional Selection of Grand Jurors. In order to assure that the registered voters 

living in each of the four divisions are proportionally represented on the grand jury 

panels, a pro-rata number of names shall be taken from the qualified wheel of each 

division and combined together to fill a grand jury panel. The pro-rata number of 

names shall be based on the total number of registered voters listed in each division 

as compared to the total number ofregistered voters in the entire district. The names 

of registered voters are those which were last drawn for refilling the Master Wheel. 
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(c)	 Creation of Grand Jury Panels. The assignment of the names of persons to a grand 

jury panel shall be conducted in accordance with paragraph 7(a) above. 

9.	 EXEMPTIONS FROM JURY SERVICE. 

The following groups of persons or occupational classes are exempt from jury services: 

1.	 Public official ofthe United States, state or local government who is elected to public 

office or who is directly appointed by a person elected to public office. 

2.	 Member of any governmental police or regular fire department. (Not including 

volunteer or commercial departments). 

3.	 Member in active service of the Armed Forces of the United States. 

10.	 EXCUSES ON INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS. 

(a)	 Occupational Classes and Groups ofPersons, The following occupational classes or 

groups of persons may be excused from jury service upon individual requests in the 

discretion of the Court: 

1.	 Persons over 70 years of age. 

2.	 A person who has served as a grand or petit juror within the last two (2) years. 

3.	 A person having active care and custody ofa child or children under ten (10) years 

of age whose health and/or safety would be jeopardized by their absence for jury 

service; or a person who is essential to the care of aged or infirm persons. 

4.	 A person whose services are so essential to the operation ofa business, commercial, 

or agricultural enterprises, that it must close or cease to function if required to 

perform jury duty. 

5.	 Actively practicing or engaged full-time in one of these occupations: Attorney, 
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Physician, Dentist; Registered Nurse; member of the Clergy or ofa religious order. 

6.	 Volunteer safety personnel who are defined as follows: Individuals serving a public 

agency (as defined in Section 1203(6) of Title I of the Omnibus Crime Control and 

Safe Streets Act of 1968) in an official capacity, without compensation, as 

firefighters or members of a rescue squad or ambulance crew. 

11.	 DURATION OF SERVICE 

In any two-year period, no person shall be required to (a) attend court for prospective service 

as a petit juror for a total of more than twenty (20) days, except when necessary to complete 

service in a particular case, or (b) serve on more than one grand jury, or (c) attend as both a 

grand and petit juror. 

Petit Jurors are required to attend for six (6) months from date of summons to appear unless 

permanently excused by a Judicial Officer after serving on a trial or upon discretion by a 

Judicial Officer. 

Grand Jurors are required to attend for eighteen (18) months from date of selection unless 

the Grand Jury Panel's term has been extended in order to complete its work. 

12.	 FORMS 

The juror qualification questionnaire shall follow substantially the form required by law and 

approved by the Judicial Conference of the United States. Upon such approval, said form 

shall be adopted with any necessary modifications thereto to accommodate said form to the 

requirements of this District. 

13.	 USE OF ELECTRONIC DATA PROCESSING 

(a)	 Method and Manner ofRandom Selection. The selection ofnames from source lists 
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for the master jury wheel shall be accomplished by a systematically randomized 

process through a properly programmed dectronic data processing system. A 

properly programmed electronic data processing system for systematically 

randomized selection shall be used to select names from the master jury wheel for the 

purpose of summoning persons to serve as grand or petit jurors. Such random 

selection of names from the source lists for inclusion in the master wheel, either 

manually or through a combination of manual and computer methods, must ensure 

that the county is substantially proportionally represented in the master wheel in 

accordance with Title 28, United States Code, Section 1863(b)(3). 

(b)	 Random Drawing. Random Selection by computer accomplishes three objectives: 

i)	 It establishes the location on the voter name lists, or wheel, from which the 
first name is taken; 

ii)	 It removes the possibility of human discretion or choice in selection of any 
individual's name (making individual name selections unpredictable and 
unpredetenninable), and 

iii)	 It ensures that, at the outset of the drawing, mathematical odds of being 
picked are substantially equal for all names in the source from which drawn. 

14.	 PUBLIC ACCESS TO DOCUMENTS. 

The office of the Clerk of Court shall retain and, when requested, provide public access to 

the following documents: 
The court's "Juror Selection Plan," including a verbatim description of the 
Rand function or, in the alternative, the method used in detennining the 
"quotient" and "starting numbers," 

A verbal or graphically charted description ofthe procedure employed 
in the automated selection systems., and a copy of the Court's 
authorization and instruction order to the person or computer service 
organization which carries out automated 

10 



name selection tasks for the court. 

Any other infonnation or documents will be disclosed only in accordance with 28 U.S.C. 

Section 1867(f) ~8. 

Dated this q;; day of ,2009.#4 
~~~ (~/7 

William F. Downes 
Chief Judge 

~!y~ 
Clarence A. Brimmer 
District Judge 
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United States Courts for the Tenth Circuit 
Office of the Circuit Executive 

1823 Stout Street 

David Tighe 
Circuit Executive 
(303) 335-2829 

Denver, Colorado 80257 
(303) 844-2067 

Victoria M. Parks 
Deputy Circuit Executive 

(303) 335-2630 

August 18, 2009 

Honorable William F. Downes 
Chief U.S. District Judge 
111 Wolcott, Suite 210 
Casper, WY 82601 

Re:	 Approval of Changes to Jury Plan 

Dear Chief Judge Downes: 

Attached is a copy ofthe Judicial Council's order approving changes to the Jury Plan 
for the District of Wyoming. Please let me know ifyoll have any questions. 

Sincer~l~,) /1 

{~
 
Victoria M. ~kks 
Depu~y Circfit Executive 

VMP:kwl 
Enc!. 

cc:	 Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Maggie Botkins, Chief Deputy Clerk 



MINUTES OF THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL
 
OF THE TENTH CIRCUIT
 

August 17, 2009 

On this date, the Judicial Council approved the request of the District of 

Wyoming, as submitted by Chief District Judge W'illiam F. Downes on July 30, 

2009, to amend Sections 3(a), 3(b), 3(c), 3(d), 4(c), 5(b), 7(d), 8(b), and 11 of its 

jury plan. The amended plan may be made effective at a date of the court's 

choosing, upon approval of the court's chief judge or his designee. See 28 U.S.C. 

§ 1863(a). A copy of the final published plan should be sent to the Circuit 

Executive. 

Entered on behalf of the Judicial Council 

Of the~t~ Cirl) 
~ --~ 

By: 
Victoria M. Parks 
Deputy Circuit Executive 

for David Tighe 
Circuit Executive and Secretary to the 
Judicial Council of the Tenth Circuit 



IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

AMENDED DISTRICT PLAN FOR RANDOM 

SELECTION OF GRAND AND PETIT JURORS 

Pursuant to the General Order of this Court dated ______, the Court hereby 

amends its Jury Selection Plan. 

NOW, THEREFORE, The District Plan for the Random Selection of Grand and Petit 

Jurors shall read as follows: 

I.	 DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. 

No citizen shall be excluded from service as a grand or petit juror on account of race, 

color, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status. 

2.	 APPLICABILITY OF PLAN 

This Plan is applicable to the selection and service of both the grand and petit jurors in 

the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming. 

3.	 PLACES FOR HOLDING COURT AND DESIGNATION OF DIVISIONS 

(a)	 Divisions Within District. To ensure impartial trials and at the same time avoid 

incurring unnecessary expense and unduly burdening citizens of any part of the 

District with jury service, the District of Wyoming is hereby divided into four 

divisions for jury selection purposes; namely, Cheyenne Division, Casper 

Division, Jackson Division and Fremont County Division. 

(b)	 Fremont County. The Wind River Indian Reservation is located in Fremont 

County, Wyoming. As a result, Fremont County has a high concentration of 
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Native American population l
. Fremont County is designated as a fourth division 

within the District of Wyoming. The presiding Judge may direct that names from 

Fremont County Division be included in a division or a combination of divisions 

within the District for petit jury selection. 

(c) Combining Divisions. The Presiding Judg1e may direct that names of petit jurors 

be drawn randomly from all divisions, a select divison and/or a combination of 

divisions within the District. A minimum of forty-five (45) days prior to jury 

selection shall be given to ensure that the proper percentage of each division is 

properly reconstituted within the division for petit jury selection. 

Cd) Counties within Divisions. The following eounties from which jurors will be 

drawn for each division or place of holding court are hereby designated: 

Divisions and Cities Counties from Which 
Where Court is Held: Jurors are Drawn: 

Cheyenne	 Goshen 
Platte 
Laramie 
Albany 
Carbon 
Sweetwater 

Jackson	 Uinta 
Lincoln 
Sublette 
Teton 

Casper	 Sheridan 
Johnson 
Campbell 
Crook 

IThe 2000 Census reported 28.9% of Fremont County's population is Native American 
(6,728). 
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Weston 
Niobrara 
Converse 
Natrona 
Park 
Hot Springs 
Big Horn 
Washakie 

Fremont	 Fremont 

4.	 CLERK OF COURT 

(a)	 Authority of Clerk of Court. Pursuant to 28. U.S.C. 1863(b)(1), the Clerk of 

Court is hereby authorized to manage the jury selection process. The Clerk shall 

act under the supervision and control of the Chief Judge of this Court or any other 

active or senior active judge as the Chief Judge may designate. (Section 1863 

(b)(1». 

(b).	 Authorization of Clerk to Grant Excuses. For purposes of the selection of persons 

for jury service on grand and petit panels, the Clerk of Court or the Chief Deputy 

is hereby authorized to grant said jurors temporary excuses from service on the 

grounds of "undue hardship or extreme inconvenience." The names of all jurors 

granted temporary excuses by the Court or the Clerk of Court shall be reinstated 

back into the qualified wheel. 

(c).	 Permanent Excuses. For purposes of the selection of persons for jury service on 

grand and petit panels, any District Judge and the Clerk ofCourt is hereby authorized 

to grant said jurors permanent excuses from service on the grounds of "undue 

hardship or extreme inconvenience." 
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5.	 RANDOM SELECTION 

(a)	 Voter Registration List. Names of prospective jurors to serve on grand and petit 

jurors drawn for service commencing after the effective date of the Plan shall be 

selected at random from the voter registration lists of every county in Wyoming as 

designated in this Order, and placed in the Master Jury Wheel. This Court finds that 

the voter lists prepared by the State of Wyoming represent a fair cross section of the 

persons residing in said counties. The Clerk of Court shall make the random 

selection of not less than one thousand (l,000) names from said voter registration 

lists in each division. 

(b)	 Selection of Names. The Clerk shall ensure that the number of registered voters 

selected from each county's list for the master jury wheel reflects the same proportion 

that each county's registered voters comprise of registered voters of all counties in 

the District. For example, if the registered voters in a particular county reflect 5% 

of all the state's registered voters, then the Clerk shall ensure that the total number 

of names selected from that county's list of registered voters is equal to 5% of the 

total number of names so selected from the lists of all counties in the District. The 

Clerk then will ensure that the Court's automated selection system randomly selects 

the appropriate number of names of registered voters from each county's list. The 

Clerk shall ensure that the system, in randomly selecting the appropriate number of 

names for the master jury wheel is programmed to cycle completely through each 

county's voter registration list at least once to ensure that each name on the list, 

regardless of its position relative to the other names on the list, has an equivalent 
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probability of being selected. 

In each of the following divisions, the following number ofnames shall be drawn from the voters' 

registration lists for each division:2 

Cheyenne Division .... proportional to registered voters within the Division 

Casper Division. . . . .. proportional to registered voters within the Division 

Jackson Division ..... proportional to registered voters within the Division 

Fremont Division. . . . .. proportional to registered voters within the Division 

6.	 QUALIFIED JURY WHEELS. FOR EACH DIVISION 

(a)	 Qualified Jury Wheel for Each Division. The Clerk of Court shall provide and 

maintain a Qualified Jury Wheel for each ofthe divisions in this District. The names 

of all persons randomly selected from the voter registration lists of the counties in 

each division shall be placed in the Qualified Jury Wheel for that division. 

(b)	 Minimum Names in Qualified Jury Wheel. Not less than one thousand (1,000) 

names shall be originally placed in each Qualified Jury Wheel. The Court may order 

additional names to be placed in the Qualified Jury Wheel when and as needed. 

(c)	 Creation ofSeparate Qualified Wheel in a Division. The Qualified Jury Wheels will 

be used by the Clerk as the source of names for the grand and petit jury panels for 

each division. 

(d)	 Refilling Master Jury Wheel. The Court's master jury wheel shall be purged of all 

names and refilled every two years, specifically during each odd numbered year 

following a general election. 

(e)	 General Notice of Drawing. Every two years, as defined in this Plan and as needed 

2 The pro-rata number of names shall be based on the total number of registered voters 
listed in each division as compared to the total number of registered voters in the entire district. 
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or directed by the ChiefJudge and the Clerk ofCourt, a notice shall be posted in the 

Clerk's Offices in Cheyenne and Casper, Wyoming and on the Court's website at 

www.wyd.uscourts.gov explaining the process at which names are randomly and 

periodically drawn for jury service. 

7.	 OUALIFYING AND SUMMONSING OF JURORS 

(a)	 Qualifying, Summonsing and Creating Jury Panels. The Clerk shall publicly draw 

at random from the Master Jury Wheel a number ofnames ofpersons, such numbers 

to be designated by the Court pursuant to an oral or written order, for qualifying 

grand and petit jury panels. The Clerk shall mail a juror qualification questionnaire 

to every person randomly selected with a request to fill out and return the form, duly 

signed and sworn, to the Clerk by mail or through the Court's internet website within 

10 days. 

On the basis of the information provided on the questionnaire and other competent 

evidence, the Clerk shall determine whether a person is unqualified for, or exempt 

from, or to be excused from jury service. The names of all persons drawn from the 

Master Jury Wheel who are determined to be qualified as jurors shall be put in a 

qualified jury wheel for each division for summonsing at a later date. In order to 

conserve funds, the Clerk of Court shall serve the questionnaires and summons to 

petit and grand jurors by first class mail, unless otherwise specifically ordered by the 

Court. 

(b)	 Disclosure of Juror Information. The actual names so drawn from the Master Jury 

Wheel shall not be disclosed before date of appearance and qualification of such 

6 



jurors unless the Court shall otherwise direct. Furthennore, the Clerk ofCourt shall 

not allow any person to view the juror questionnaires without prior pennission ofthe 

Court. The Clerk shall only divulge infonnation on jury lists pursuant to the policies 

ofthe E-Government Act and the Judicial Conference of the United States. 

(c)	 The Clerk of Court shall not be required to prepare a list of the names drawn from 

the Master Jury Wheel for jury service. 

(d)	 No later than three (3) business days prior to the commencement of trial, a list of 

jurors shall be distributed to counsel and/or parties. Prior to distribution, the process 

used shall be reviewed by the Clerk of Court or designee, to ensure that the list 

represents a fair cross section of the persons residing in said counties within the 

division, and/or combination of divisions. 

8.	 GRAND JURY 

(a)	 District-wide Selection of Grand Jury Array. Grand jury panels will be selected on 

a district-wide basis and may sit in anyone ofthe statutory places of holding court 

in the district. 

(b)	 Proportional Selection of Grand Jurors. In order to assure that the registered voters 

living in each of the four divisions are proportionally represented on the grand jury 

panels, a pro-rata number of names shall be: taken from the qualified wheel of each 

division and combined together to fill a grand jury panel. The pro-rata number of 

names shall be based on the total number of registered voters listed in each division 

as compared to the total number ofregistered voters in the entire district. The names 

of registered voters are those which were last drawn for refilling the Master Wheel. 
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(c)	 Creation of Grand Jury Panels. The assignment of the names of persons to a grand 

jury panel shall be conducted in accordance with paragraph 7(a) above. 

9.	 EXEMPTIONS FROM JURY SERVICE. 

The following groups of persons or occupational classes are exempt from jury services: 

1.	 Public official ofthe United States, state or local government who is elected to public 

office or who is directly appointed by a person elected to public office. 

2.	 Member of any governmental police or n:gular fire department. (Not including 

volunteer or commercial departments). 

3.	 Member in active service of the Armed Forces of the United States. 

10.	 EXCUSES ON INDIVIDUAL REOUESTS. 

(a)	 Occupational Classes and Groups ofPersons. The following occupational classes or 

groups of persons may be excused from jury service upon individual requests in the 

discretion of the Court: 

1.	 Persons over 70 years of age. 

2.	 A person who has served as a grand or petit juror within the last two (2) years. 

3.	 A person having active care and custody of a child or children under ten (10) years 

of age whose health and/or safety would be jeopardized by their absence for jury 

service; or a person who is essential to the c:are of aged or infirm persons. 

4.	 A person whose services are so essential to the operation ofa business, commercial, 

or agricultural enterprises, that it must close or cease to function if required to 

perform jury duty. 

5.	 Actively practicing or engaged full-time in one of these occupations: Attorney, 
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Physician, Dentist; Registered Nurse; member of the Clergy or of a religious order. 

6.	 Volunteer safety personnel who are defined as follows: Individuals serving a public 

agency (as defined in Section 1203(6) of Title I of the Omnibus Crime Control and 

Safe Streets Act of 1968) in an official capacity, without compensation, as 

firefighters or members of a rescue squad or ambulance crew. 

11.	 DURATION OF SERVICE 

In any two-year period, no person shall be required to (a) attend court for prospective service 

as a petit juror for a total ofmore than twenty (20) days, except when necessary to complete 

service in a particular case, or (b) serve on more than one grand jury, or (c) attend as both a 

grand and petit juror. 

Petit Jurors are required to attend for six (6) months from date of summons to appear unless 

permanently excused by a Judicial Officer after serving on a trial or upon discretion by a 

Judicial Officer. 

Grand Jurors are required to attend for eighteen (18) months from date of selection unless 

the Grand Jury Panel's term has been extended in order to complete its work. 

12.	 FORMS 

The juror qualification questionnaire shall follow substantially the form required by law and 

approved by the Judicial Conference of the United States. Upon such approval, said form 

shall be adopted with any necessary modifications thereto to accommodate said form to the 

requirements of this District. 

13.	 USE OF ELECTRONIC DATA PROCESSING 

(a)	 Method and Manner ofRandom Selection. The selection ofnarnes from source lists 
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for the master jury wheel shall be accomplished by a systematically randomized 

process through a properly programmed c~lectronic data processing system. A 

properly programmed electronic data processing system for systematically 

randomized selection shall be used to select names from the masterjury wheel for the 

purpose of summoning persons to serve as grand or petit jurors. Such random 

selection of names from the source lists for inclusion in the master wheel, either 

manually or through a combination of manual and computer methods, must ensure 

that the county is substantially proportionally represented in the master wheel in 

accordance with Title 28, United States Code, Section 1863(b)(3). 

(b)	 Random Drawing. Random Selection by computer accomplishes three objectives: 

i)	 It establishes the location on the voter name lists, or wheel, from which the 
first name is taken; 

ii)	 It removes the possibility of human discretion or choice in selection of any 
individual's name (making individual name selections unpredictable and 
unpredeterminable), and 

iii)	 It ensures that, at the outset of the drawing, mathematical odds of being 
picked are substantially equal for all names in the source from which drawn. 

14.	 PUBLIC ACCESS TO DOCUMENTS. 

The office of the Clerk of Court shall retain and, when requested, provide public access to 

the following documents: 
The court's "Juror Selection Plan," including a verbatim description of the 
Rand function or, in the alternative, the method used in determining the 
"quotient" and "starting numbers," 

A verbal or graphically charted description ofthe procedure employed 
in the automated selection systems, and a copy of the Court's 
authorization and instruction order to the person or computer service 
organization which carries out automated 

10 



WI	 ., 

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
District of Wyoming 

Chambers of 
William F. Downes (307) 232-2600 
Chief Judge Fax (307) 232-2605 

July 30, 2009 

Mr. David J. Tighe 
Circuit Executive 
United States Court of Appeals 
Byron White U.S.Courthouse 3rd Floor 
1823 Stout Street 
Denver, CO 80202-2505 

RE: Amended Jury Plan, District of Wyoming 

Dear Mr. Tighe: 

The purpose of this letter is to submit the enclosed Amended Jury Plan for the District of 
Wyoming (changes indicated in red) to the 10th Circuit Council for review. The current jury plan was 
amended in 1993. Mr. David Williams, Attorney Advisor with the Administrative Office of U.S. Courts 
assisted the District in formulating this plan. 

The following outlines the principle changes to the District's Jury Plan: 

Reduces the number of divisions within the District of Wyoming from six divisions to 
four divisions. 

•	 Names Fremont County as its own division. The Wind River Indian Reservation is 
located in Fremont County. As a result, Fremont County has a high concentration of 
Native American population. 

•	 Includes a provision to combine divisions. The presiding Judge may direct names of petit 
jurors be drawn randomly from all divisions, a select division and/or a combination of 
divisions within the District of Wyoming. 

•	 Allows the Clerk of Court authority to grant permanent excuses from service on the 
grounds of "undue hardship or extreme inconvenience". 

•	 Clarifies the distribution ofjury lists (no later than 3 business days prior to trial) to 
counsel and/or parties and ensures the list represents a fair cross section ofjurors within 
the division(s). 

•	 Clarifies the length of petit jury service (up to six months) and grand jury service (up to 

Ewing T. Kerr Federal Courthouse. III South Wolcott, Suite 210 • Casper, WY 82601 



18 months unless extended). 

The District of Wyoming is requesting the proposed amended jury plan be used as a pilot 
program within the District for a period of two years. This would allow the District the opportunity to 
use the plan and gather statistical infonnation to decide whether to continue with the plan or make 
changes as necessary. 

Should you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Stephan Harris, 
Clerk of Court, for further assistance. 

William F. Downes 
Chief Judge 

Ewing T. Kerr Federal Courthouse" III South Wolcott, Suite 210 .. Casper, WY 8260 I 



OFFICE OF TIlE CLERK 

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
For The District of Wyoming 

Stephan Harris Maggie Botkins 
Clerk ofCourt Chief Deputy Clerk (I)
 

November 27, 2009 

Victoria M. Parks 
Deputy Circuit Executive 
1823 Stout Street 
Denver, CO 80257 

Re: District ofWyoming Amended Jury Plan 

Dear Ms. Parks: 

Pursuant to the August 18, 2009 minutes of the Judicial Council of the Tenth Circuit 
approving the changes to the District of Wyoming's Jury Plan, enclosed is a copy of the final 
published plan. 

Please let me know if you need additional information. 

Sincerely, 

STEPHAN HARRIS 
Clerk ofCourt 

BY:l);)~~ 
Magg e Botkms 
Chief Deputy 

Enclosure(s): Amended District Plan for Random Selection ofGrand and Petit Jurors 

c: Stephan Harris, Clerk 

2120 Capitol Avenue, Room 2131. Cheyenne, WY 82001 111 South Wolcon, Suite 121 • Casper, WY 82601 
(307) 433·2120 • Fax: (307) 433-21 S2 (307) 232-2620 • Fax: (307) 232·2630 

www. wyd uscourts.gov 



FILEDIN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT U.S. DISTRICT COURT 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

"'N 3 g 2889 
GENERAL ORDER DESIGNATING MAGISTRATE JUDGESStephan Harris, Clerk 

FOR VARIOUS PURPOSES IN CRIMINAL CASES Cheyenne 

In addition to the powers conferred upon the Magistrate Judges in the District of 

Wyoming by the Rules of Criminal Procedure and by statute the District Judges of the United 

States District Court for the District of Wyoming designate the Magistrate Judges of the District 

of Wyoming the authority in felony criminal proceedings to conduct, determine, receive and 

accept waivers of prosecution by indictments and arraignments, including those in which the 

defendant pleads "not guilty" as well as "guilty" pursuant to Rule 11, Federal Rules of Criminal 

Procedure without recommendation and report, except "guilty" pleas made pursuant to Federal 

Rules of Criminal Procedure 11 (c)(1 )(C). This designation is subject to and conditioned upon 

the defendant's waiver of guilty plea before a United States District Judge and consent to guilty 

plea before United States Magistr~~e. 

DATED this '00 day of June, 2009. 

~.~~. 
William F. Downes 
Chief Judge 

~ /J L )r;r?thC>-< 
r	 AialYl3. Johnson 

District Judge 

Lt!4-~ 
Clarence A. Brimmer 
District Judge 



rilED 
: ~,~ DIS rRICT COURT 
,.'[lICT OF WYOMING 

AI"'R 03 2009 

'3tephan Harris, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

ORDER OF DESIGNATION OF MAGISTRATE JUDGES IN CRIMINAL CASES
 

Consistent with the Order Formalizing the Duties of U.S. Magistrate Judges in Criminal 

Cases entered by Chief Judge William F. Downes on March 30, 2009, the full-time and part-time 

magistrate jUdges for the District of Wyoming are hereby designated to hear and determine the 

following matters for United States District Judge Clarence A. Brimmer: waivers of indictment; 

preliminary hearings; initial appearances by criminal defendants; detention hearings; arraignments, 

including both those in which defendants plead not guilty as well as guilty; and changes of plea, 

with the exception of those made pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 11 (c)(1 )(C). However, a 

magistrate's authority to accept felony guilty pleas is conditional upon the defendant's consent and 

waiver of the right to plead before a district judge. 

The foregoing duties are not intended to constitute an exhaustive list of those duties which 

this Court might set before a magistrate judge. Rather, they constitute duties which this Court, in 

~lvdl-J\IJ 
the interest of judicial efficiency,~ commonly delegate to a magistrate. These duties may be 

set before the magistrate on an informal basis without a written order of referral. 

3,..) !lj'//?/!Dated this -----=-- day of __-'--+-~ , 2009. 

~~.f!-"~
 
United States District Court Judge 



FILED 
u.s. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

United States District Court MAR 23 2009 
For The District of Wyoming 

Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Casper 

IN THE MATTER OF: ) GENERAL ORDER 
) 2009-1 

PROTECTING THE PRIVACY AND ) 
SECURITY OF JURORS ) 

This General Order of the Court is entered to protect the privacy and security of 

grand jurors, trial jurors and potential trial jurors. 

IT IS ORDERED as follows: 

1. Except for good cause shown in a specific case, the name, signature, or 

personal identifier information of a grand juror, trial juror, or potential trial juror shall not 

be included in any document filed. 

2. Any document, including transcripts, containing the name, signature, or 

personal identifier information of a grand juror, trial juror, or potential trial juror shall be 

filed as a non-public dOCU~ 

Dated this c:??/~ay of 4/~42()09. 

4ii#~~b
 
William F. Downes 
Chief, United States District Judge 



FILED
 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT
 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

JAN 13 2009 

Stephan Harris, Clerk
 
Casper
 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Blanket Order Granting United States' ) 
Petition for Remitting All or Part ) 
of the Unpaid Portion of Fines or ) 
Special Assessments, Including ) ORDER ON PETITION OF 
Interest and Penalties, Upon Deportation ) THE UNITED STATES 
of a Defendant Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3573 ) 

) 
) 

BLANKET ORDER FOR REMISSION OF ASSESSMENTS AND FINES 
OF DEPORTED Al.IENS 

The Court, upon the petition of the United States, pursuant to 18 U.S.c. § 3573 (I), hereby 

orders that all or part of any special assessment or fine, including interest and penalties, of a 

defendant shall be remitted, upon their deportation. This blanket order shall apply to all criminal 

matters held in the District Court or Magistrate Court for the District of Wyoming. Further, the 

United States will no longer be required to send individual requests for petition of said special 

assessments and fines, so long as the information regarding a deported defendant is verified by the 

United States Attorney's Office. 

The Court also orders the United States Attorney's Office to provide to the Financial 

Administrator of the United States District Court, any information which substantiates the closing 

of the monetary impositio~ported defendants. 

DATED this LE'r day ofJanuary, 2009. ~ 
4h~ / ' 
~~' 

WILLIAM F. DOWNES 
Chief Judge, United States District Court 



MINUTES OF THE .JUDICIAL COUNCIL
 
OF THE TENTH CIRClJIT
 

July 23.2008 

On this date, the Judicial Council approved changes to the following Local 

Rules of thc U.S. District Court for the District of Wyoming, as submitted to the 

court on July 3, 2008 and July 21, 2008: 

Civil Rules 5.1,16.1,26.1,83.7.2.83.12.2. and 83.12.3. 

The effective date of the new rules remains July I, 2008. 

The Judicial Council
'I, ,/'

!
,A 

'j { Q! if 
By: l_AV'A:_// ~cK-------~ 

Victoria M. Parks 
Deputy Circuit Executive 

for David Tighe 
Circuit Executive and Secretary to the 
Judicial Council of the Tenth Circuit 



, 
'-'	 'W 

United States Courts for the Tenth Circuit 
Office of the Circuit Executive 

1823 Stout Street 
Denver, Colorado 80257 

(303) 844-2067 
David Tighe Victoria M. Parks 
Circuit Executive Deputy Circuit Executive 
(303) 335-2829 (303) 335-2630 

July 30, 2008 

Maggie Botkins 
Chief Deputy Clerk 
US District Court, District of Wyoming 
2120 Capitol Avenue, Room 2141 
Cheyenne, WY 82001 

E"TV-ED 
Dla'fRICT OF WYOMING 

AUlj -5 200B 

CLERK 

Re: Appr.oval of Changes to Local Rules 
---; C; CJ c.v 

Dear MjJr:Jilis: 
~ 

Attached is a copy of the Judicial Council's order approving the changes to the 
Local Rules for the District of Wyoming. Please let me know if you have any 
questions. 

Sincerely, 

/Q(
~)ria M. Par s 
Deputy Circuit Executive 

cc:	 Honorable William F. Downes, Chief Judge 
Stephan Harris, Clerk 

VMP:kwl 
Enc!. 



IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

IN THE MATTER OF ADOPTION OF ) 
Stephan Harris, Clerk) ss Cheyenne

AMENDED LOCAL RULES OF COURT ) 

The matter of the adoption of amendments to the local rules for this Court having come 

on regularly to be heard and reviewed by the Tenth Circuit Judicial Council, and upon suggestion 

by the Judicial Council that Local Civil Rule 83.12.2(b) & (c) be further amended to reflect the 

change in actual language of the rule rather than the appendix, and the Court being fully advised 

in the premises; it is 

HEREBY ORDERED that local civil rules 83.12.2(b) & (c) be amended in accordance 

with the copy attached hereto. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that the amended local rule as attached hereto, shall be adopted, 

and become effective as of the date of this order. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of Court shall cause notice of the attached 

amendments to the local r~bliShed to the Bar and public. 

DATED this;; ay QUuly, 2008. , 

#~ 
William F. Downes 
Chief Judge 

Clarence A. Brimmer 
U S District Judge 



~4?0/~~~

Alan B. Jo n 
U S Distric Judge 

illiam C. Beaman 
hie£, U S Magistrate Judge 



Rule 83.12.2 ADMISSION TO PRACTICE 

(a) General Admissions. Attorneys who are regularly admitted and licensed to 
practice before the Supreme Court of Wyoming may be admitted to practice in the 
United States District Court for the District of Wyoming upon motion made in open court 
by an attorney admitted to this Court. Said motion shall contain a satisfactory showing 
of the good moral character and the qualifications of the applicant, and the moving 
attorney shall vouch for him. Upon the granting of said motion for admission, the 
applicant shall take the oath, which shall be administered by the Court or the Clerk of 
Court. After signing the roll of attorneys in the Clerk of Court's office and paying the 
appropriate fee to the Clerk of Court, a certificate of admission shall be furnished to 
each admitted attorney. 

(b) Admission Pro Hac Vice. All attorneys who have not been admitted to practice in 
the courts of the State of Wyoming must seek admission pro hac vice based upon a 
motion made by a member of the Bars of the State of Wyoming and of this Court and 
an affidavit of the attorney seeking pro hac vice admission in order to appear in any 
matter before this Court. A proposed order shall be submitted with the motion. (See 
Appendix E for the required contents of the motion and affidavit.) 

Unless otherwise ordered by this Court, a motion to appear pro hac vice shall be 
granted only if the applicant associates with a currently licensed member of the Bars of 
the State of Wyoming and of this Court who shall participate in the preparation and trial 
of the case to the extent required by the Court. The applicant must also be a member 
in good standing of the bar of another state and the bar of another federal court in order 
to be eligible for pro hac vice admission in any matter before this Court. 

An attorney who applies for admission pro hac vice consents to the exercise of 
disciplinary jurisdiction by this Court over any alleged misconduct which occurs during 
the progress of the case in which the attorney so admitted participates. Prior to the 
filing of any pleadings or other documents, there shall be filed in the Clerk of Court's 
office an entry of appearance by a currently licensed member of the Bar of the State of 
Wyoming with whom the applicant has become assoGiated. The Wyoming member of 
the Bar shall move the applicant's admission at the commencement of the first hearing 
to be held before the Court. The Wyoming attorney shall sign the first pleading filed and 
shall continue in the case unless other resident counsel be substituted. The Wyoming 
attorney shall be present in Court during all proceedings in connection with the case, 
unless excused, and shall have full authority to act for and on behalf of the client in all 
matters including pretrial conferences, as well as trial or any other hearings. Any 
notice, pleading or other paper shall be served upon all counsel of record, including 
resident counsel, whenever possible, but it shall be sufficient for purposes of notice if 
service of any motion, pleading, order, notice or any other paper is served only upon 
Wyoming counsel, who shall assume responsibility for advising the non-resident 
associate of any such service. For good cause shown, the Court may direct the Clerk 
of Court to accept for filing a complaint signed only by a non-resident attorney, upon 
the condition that such non-resident attorney shall associate with resident counsel 



within ten (10) days after the filing of the complaint. 

(c) Motion to appear pro hac vice. Every motion to appear pro hac vice must 
contain the firm name (if any), office address, email address of attorney entering an 
appearance, telephone and facsimile number (if any) of the attorney, otherwise the 
attorney's name will not be added to the case docket. A proposed order shall be 
submitted with the motion. 

(d) Pro Se Representation. Any party proceeding on his or her own behalf without 
an attorney shall be expected to read and be familiar with both the Local Rules of this 
Court and with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Rules of Bankruptcy 
Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence, or Federall Rules of Appellate Procedure, 
whichever may be appropriate in the case, and to proceed in accordance therewith. 
Copies of such Rules shall be available for review at the Office of the Clerk of Court. 

(e) Government Attorneys. Any attorney representing the United States 
Government, or any agency thereof, and who has been admitted to practice in the 
highest court of any state, but who is not otherwise qualified under this Rule to practice 
in this Court, may appear and participate in a case in his official capacity, as hereinafter 
provided. If the Government representative is not a member of the Bar of this Court, 
the United States Attorney for this District or one of hlis assistants shall move the 
admission of the non-resident Government representative, shall sign all pleadings 
before their filing and shall be present in Court during all proceedings in connection with 
the case, unless excused by the Court. Said United States Attorney shall also be 
designated by the Government attorney for the purpose of receiving service of notices, 
and such service shall constitute service upon said Government attorney. 

(f) Law Students. Any law student who has complied with the terms and 
conditions of Rule 12, Rules of the Supreme Court of Wyoming, providing for the 
organization and government of the Bar Association and attorneys at law of the State of 
Wyoming, shall be permitted to practice before this Court upon proof of compliance, 
and upon motion duly made pursuant to sUbsection (a) of this Rule. No such law 
student shall be permitted to practice unless accompanied by an attorney otherwise 
duly admitted to practice before this Court. 



APPENDIX E
 

MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE
 
PURSUANT TO U.S.D.C.loR. 83.12.2(b)
 

All pro hac vice affidavits shall contain the following information: 

•	 Name, firm name, address, telephone number, email address of attorney 
seeking pro hac vice admission. 

•	 When and where admitted (each court/bar); 

•	 List of all pending disciplinary proceedings and all past public sanctions of pro 
hac vice counsel; 

•	 Affirmation by pro hac vice counsel that said counsel will comply with and be 
bound by the Local Rules of the United States District Court for the District of 
Wyoming; 

•	 Acknowledgment by attorney seeking pro hac vice admission that local counsel 
is required to be fully prepared to represent the client at any time, in any 
capacity; 

•	 Acknowledgment of pro hac vice counsel that said counsel submits to and is 
subject to disciplinary jurisdiction of the Court for any alleged misconduct arising 
in the course of preparation and representation in the proceedings. 

All pro hac vice motions shall contain the following information: 

•	 Local counsel shall represent that local counsel is a member in good standing of 
the Bar of the State of Wyoming and the Bar of this Court; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall vouch for the good moral character and 
veracity of the pro hac vice attorney; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall be fully prepared to represent the client at 
any time, in any capacity. 



IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FILED 
FOR THE DISTRICT OF vVYOMING U.S. DISTRICT COURi 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

JUN 26 2008 
IN THE MATTER OF ADOPTION OF	 ) 

) ss ~ Harris, Clerk 
CheyenneAMENDEDLOCALRULESOFCOURT	 ) 

The matter of the adoption of amendments to the local rules for this Court having come 

on regularly to be heard, and a set of amended local rules having been considered, and the Court 

being fully advised in the premises; it is 

HEREBY ORDERED that Local Civil Rules 5.1 Filing by Electronic Transmission and 

Service by Electronic Transmission; 16.1 Correct clerical error, 26.1 Parties may agree to 

produce any or all documents electronically, 83.7.2 Require an index be filed with the 

Administrative Record, 83 .12.2(b) Requiring email address of attorney seeking pro hac vice 

admission and 83.12.3(a) Requiring email address of an attorney entering an appearance in a civil 

case, be amended in accordance with the copy attached he:reto. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that the amended local rules as attached hereto, shall be adopted, 

and become effective on July 1, 2008. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of Court shall cause notice of the attached 

amendments to the local rules b~d to the Bar and public. 

DATED this c::(4? day oOune, 2008. 

~//td~ U ;{j;;;~-//£~ 
William F. Downes 
Chief Judge 

~ ~(;~~ence A. Brimmer 
U S District Judge 



~;j~~
Alan B. Johnso 
U S District Judge 

~~.&~.-.I
 
William C. Beaman 
Chief, U S Magistrate Judge 



United States District Court
 
District of Wyoming
 

Changes to Civil Local Rules
 

Rule 5.1 Filin2 with the Court 
Civil Local Rule 5.1 should be amended to reflect that electronic filing is permitted in the District 
of Wyoming. 

5.2	 Filing by Electronic Transmission 

(a)	 Electronic Filing Authorized. A party may file a document by electronic 
transmission in accordance with guidelines established by the Court (see CMlECF 
Procedures Manual for Wyoming at http://www.wyd.uscourts.gov) Filing by 
facsimile is not permitted. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, an electronic 
document is considered filed on the date of the electronic transfer, including 
weekends and holidays. A filing day is defined as 12:00:00 a.m. to 11 :59:59 p.m. 
The time and date of actual filing are reflected in the Court's digital file stamp. 

(b)	 Documents of Record. A document filed electronically and stored in the Court's 
server is the official document of record. Affidavits and other documents 
requiring an original verified signature may be filed electronically. By 
electronically filing an affidavit or other verified document, the filing party or 
attorney certifies that the original signed paper will be kept and will be produced 
on request or at the direction of the Court. 

5.3	 Service by Electronic Transmission 

(a)	 By the Court. The Court or Clerk may serve and give notice by electronic 
transmission, in lieu of service and notice by mail, to any person who has a written 
request, on file with the Clerk, to receive se:rvice and notice by electronic 
transmission. The request remains effective in all subsequent litigation in this 
District involving the person who filed the request; however, any person may 
withdraw authorization for electronic filing by sending written notice to the Clerk. 

(b)	 Between Parties. In addition to means of service specified in Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(b), 
parties may agree to service between themselves by electronic transmission, 
including transmission through the Court's server. 

Electronic service under subdivisions (a) and (b) is equivalent to service by mail in 
accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(b)(2), 5(E), 5(b)(3) and 77(d). 



Rule 16.1 

Correct (b)(8) to reflect correct cite to be Rule 26.1 (g). 

Rule 16.1 PRETRIAL CONFERENCES 

(b) 

(8) Counsel shall discuss a schedule for taking expert depositions. (See Local 
Rule 26.1 (g)). 

Rule 26.1 Discovery 

Change Rule 26.1 

(f) to (f)(l) 
add: 

(f)(2)	 Parties may agree to produce any or all documents electronically, rather 
than by other means. 

Rule 83.7.2 Review of Action of Administrative Aeencies, Board. Commission, and Officers 
(Includine Social Security Appeals) 

To require that an index be filed with the administrative record. 

Change Civil Local Rule 83.7.2(c) 

(c) Filing ofthe record. In review proceedings, the agency shall file the record with 
the clerk within sixty days of proper service of the petition or notice unless a different 
time is provided by statute, or as otherwise ordered by the court. The record shall be 
bates stamped and contain an index including date and description of the document(s). 

Rule 83.12.Ub) Pro Hac Vice Admission 

Civil Local Rule 83.12.2(b) should be amended requiring email address of attorney seeking pro 
hac vice admission. 

•	 Name, firm name, address, telephone number, email address of attorney seeking 
pro hac vice admission. 



Rule 83.12.3(a) Appearances and Withdrawals 

Civil Local Rule 83.12.3(a) should be amended requiring email address of attorney entering an 
appearance in a civil case. 

(a)	 Appearances, Civil Case. Each and every attorney making an appearance in a 
civil case shall cause the Clerk of Court's records to clearly reflect the firm name 
(if any), office address, email address of attorney entering an appearance, 
telephone and facsimile number (if any) of the attorney, and the party for whom 
appearance is made, by filing a separate written appearance identifying the 
specific party(s) represented. 



Us D FILED 
DISTRI6~T3~CwyTCOURT 

OMING 

JUN 242008 
Stephan Harris CI k 

Casper' er: 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

IN THE MATIER OF A SPECIAL )
 
SESSION OF COURT IN FARSON, ) ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
 
WYOMING )
 

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 141, it is hereby ordered that the business ofthe Court 

requires the holding of a special session to be conducted in Farson, Wyoming, commencing 

through July 11, 2008. 

DATED this & day of June, 2008. 

L#~./~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
WILLIAM F. DOWNES 



.." FILED 
US DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

APR - 42008 
Stephan Harris, Clerk 

Casper 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend the collateral fine schedules presently 

in effect in the District of Wyoming in order to insure that collateral fines are more uniform 

throughout the District, and being fully advised in the premises, it is hereby 

ORDERED that in the event a violator fails to forfeit collateral, the United States Magistrate 

Judge shall require the preparation of a written complaint or other document containing a probable 

cause statement, and may, within said Judge's discretion, require that the bond on said petty offenses 

complaint be set at not more than a sum equal to twice the amount ofthe fine. The amount ofbond 

the Magistrate Judge requires shall be plainly stated on the Complaint; and it is further 

ORDERED that the attached lists for the National Park Service, Bureau of Land 

Management, United States Forest Service and United States Fish & Wildlife comprises those 

statutes that shall be enforced by the said federal agencies throughout the District. Included herein 

is the applicable collateral forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed which 

shall be uniformly levied by law enforcement personnel throughout the District. It should be 

understood that ifnot governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused violator 

into custody; (2) allow him/her to forfeit collateral; or (3) merely issue a warning shall be within the 

sound discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator appear before a 



United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or imprisonment or both, 

up to the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

(1) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some ofthe offenses contained herein have been del;,:med by the United States District Court 

to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United States 

Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the interest 

of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused violator 

may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is intended to 

insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation notice and is not 

forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be placed in proper 

custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is released by the 

Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule, these offenses are denoted by the required appearance and a set bail 

amount. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, the 

violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated on the 

violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. In the event the violator 

2
 



fails to appear on the date indicated on the violation notice, the United States Magistrate Judge may, 

pursuant to Rule 58(d)(3), issue a summons or warrant for arrest of the violator. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before a United States 

Magistrate Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law 

enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the 

United States Mail in the presence of said officer. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference has 

been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact the 

United State's Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124, or the United States 

Attorney's Office in caSP~ing, at (30~) 261-5434, for advice and consultation. 

DATEDthis!l-daYOf ~.2008. 

~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

3
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Stephan Harris, Clerk 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER TO ASSIMILATE STATE LAW BY AUTHORITY OF
 
18 U.S.c. § 13 REGARDING WARREN AIR FORCE BASE
 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to include a fine schedule for certain non-

traffic offenses for Warren Air Force Base, and being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the attached fine schedule comprises some non-traffic state statutes that 

shall be enforced by Warren Air Force Base. Included on the fine schedule is the applicable 

collateral forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, which shall be 

understood that if not governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused 

violator into custody; (2) allow him/her to forfeit collateral; or (3) to merely issue a warning shall 

be within the sound discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator 

appear before a United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or 

imprisonment or both, up to the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

Three types of offenses are listed throughout this schedule and the procedures which 

follow shall govern each: 

(1) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some of the offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District 

Court to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United 

States Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the 

interest of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused 



violator may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is 

intended to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation 

notice and is not forfeitable. lfthe violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be 

placed in proper custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is 

released by the Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule these offenses are denoted by a required appearance and bail 

amount has been set. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail Is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, 

the violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated 

on the violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before the Magistrate 

Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law enforcement 

officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the United 

States Mail in the presence of said officer. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference 

has been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact 

the United States Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124 or the United 



States Attorney's Office i~er, Wyominr,at (307) 261-5434, for advice and consultation. 

DATEDthis~daYOf~,2008. 

4f~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
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W FINE SCHEDULE W
 

I STATUTE I 
Underage Drinking 
(Assimilating State Law by authority of 
18 U.S.C. § 13) 

18 U.S.C. § 1382 
Trespass 

18 U.S.c. § 113 
Assault 

Breach of Peace/Disorderly Conduct 
(Assimilating State Law by authority of 
18 U.S.c. § 13) 

18 U.S.C. § 641 

Theft (under $1,000) 

WARREN AIR FORCE BASE
 
Regarding Non-Traffic Matters
 

Fine Schedule 

See W.S. 12-6-101(b) 

Mandatory Appearance or $110.00 

Mandatory Appearance or $110.00 

Simple Assault - $150 

Striking, beating, or wounding ­
Mandatory Appearance 

See W.S. 6-6-101 et seq. 

Mandatory Appearance or $150.00 

Mandatory Appearance 

I 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

APR - 4 2008 
Stephan Harris, Clerk 

Casper 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER TO INCLUDE ADDITIONAL FINES IN COLLATERAL FINE
 
SCHEDULE FOR THE VETERAN'S ADMINISTRATION
 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to include additional collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedules for the Veteran's Administration, and being fully 

advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the attached list comprises those statutes and regulations that shall be 

enforced by the Veteran's Administration. Included herein is the applicable collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, which shall be understood that if 

not governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused violator into custody; 

(2) allow him/her to forfeit collateral; or (3) to merely issue a warning shall be within the sound 

discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator appear before a 

United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or imprisonment or 

both, up to the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

Three types of offenses are listed throughout this schedule and the procedures which 

follow shall govern each: 

(1) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some of the offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District 

Court to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United 

States Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the 



interest of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused 

violator may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is 

intended to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation 

notice and is not forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be 

placed in proper custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is 

released by the Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule these offenses are denoted by a required appearance and bail 

amount has been set. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail Is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, 

the violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated 

on the violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before the Magistrate 

Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law enforcement 

officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the United 

States Mail in the presence of said officer. 



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference 

has been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact 

the United States Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124 or the United 

States Attorney's Office ~er, wyoming: at (307) 261-5434, for advice and consultation. 

DATED this!t'!... day of ~008. 

~~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 



..­
-., FINE SCHEDULE W 

VETERANS ADMINISTRATION 

STATUTE (38 CFR) Fine Schedule I C 

Preservation of Property 
1.218(b) 

(1)
 
Improper disposal of rubbish on
 
property
 

(2)
 
Spitting on property
 

(3)
 
Throwing of articles from a
 
building or the unauthorized
 
climbing upon any part of a
 
building
 

(4)
 
Willful destruction, damage, or
 
removal of Government property
 
without authorization
 

(5)
 
Defacement, destruction,
 
mutilation or inj ury to, or
 
removal, or disturbance of, grave
 
marker or headstone
 

(6)
 
Failure to comply with signs of a
 
directive and restrictive nature
 
posted for safety purposes
 

(7)
 
Tampering with, removal,
 
marring, or destruction of posted
 
SIgnS 

(8)
 
Entry into areas posted as closed
 
to the public or others (trespass)
 

(Pursuant to the CFR's) 

$200.00 

$25.00 

$50.00 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$500.00 Bond 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$500.00 Bond 

$50.00 

$150.00 

$50.00 



------STA~TE (38 CFR) Fine ScMule 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$200.00 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$500.00 Bond 

$200.00 

(9) 
Unauthorized demonstration or 
service in a national cemetery or 
on other Veterans Administration 
property 

(10) 
Creating a disturbance during a 
burial ceremony 

(11) 
Disorderly conduct which creates 
loud, boisterous, and unusual 
noise, or which obstructs the 
normal use of entrances, exits, 
foyers, offices, corridors, 
elevators, and stairways, or which 
tends to impede or prevent the 
normal operation of a service or 
operation of the facility 

(12) 
Failure to depart premises by 
unauthorized persons 

(13) 
Unauthorized loitering, sleeping 
or assembly on property 

(14) 
Gambling - participating in 
games of chance for monetary 
gain or personal property; the 
operation of gambling devices, a 
pool or lottery; or the taking or 
giving of bets 

(15) 
Operation of a vehicle under the 
influence of alcoholic beverages 
or non-prescribed narcotic drugs, 
hallucinogens, marijuana, 
barbiturates, or amphetamines 

(16) 
Entering premises under the 
influence of alcoholic beverages 
or non-prescribed narcotic drugs, 
hallucinogens, marij uana, 
barbiturates or amphetamines 



ST~TE (38 CFR) 

...... 
Fine Sc~ule 

I 

(17) 
Unauthorized use on property of 
alcoholic beverages or narcotic 
drugs, hallucinogens, marijuana, 
barbiturates or amphetamines 

$300.00 I 

(18) 
Unauthorized introduction on 
Veterans Administration 
controlled property of alcoholic 
beverages or narcotic drugs, 
hallucinogens, marijuana, 
barbiturates, or amphetamines or 
the unauthorized giving of same 
to a patient or beneficiary 

$500.00 

Soliciting, Vending and Debt 
Collection 

(19) 
Unauthorized solicitation of alms 
and contributions on premises 

$50.00 

(20) 
Commercial soliciting or 
vending, or the collection of 
private debts on property 

$50.00 

(21) 
Distribution of pamphlets, 
handbills, and flyers 

$25.00 

(22) 
Display of placards or posting of 
material on property 

$25.00 

Photographs for News, 
Advertising or Commercial 
Purposes 

(23) 
Unauthorized photography on 
premIses 

$50.00 



.. .Jl -
Fine Sc~uleSTAl!jTE (38 CFR) 

Vehicular and Pedestrian 
Traffic 

(24) 
Failure to comply with traffic 
directions of hospital police 

(25) 
Parking in pace posted as 
reserved for physically disabled 
persons 

(26) 
Parking in no-parking areas, 
lanes, or crosswalks so posted or 
marked by yellow borders or 
yellow stripes 

(27) 
Parking in emergency vehicle 
spaces, areas and lanes bordered 
in red or posted as Emergency 
Vehicles Only or Fire Lane or 
parking within 15 feet of a fire 
hydrant 

(28) 
Parking within an intersection or 
blocking a posted vehicle 
entrance or posted exit lane 

(29) 
Parking in spaces posted as 
reserved or in excess of posted 
time limit 

(30) 
Failing to come to a complete 
stop at a Stop Sign 

(31) 
Failing to yield to a pedestrian in 
a marked and posted crosswalk 

(32) 
Driving in the wrong direction on 
a posted one-way street 

$25.00 

$50.00 

$25.00 

$50.00 

$25.00 

$15.00 

$25.00 

$25.00 

$25.00 



.. ~ 

STA1'IJTE (38 CFR) Fine Sc~ule 

(33) 
Operation of a vehicle in reckless 
or unsafe manner, drag racing, 
overriding curbs, or leaving the 
roadway 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$100.00 Bond 

(34) 
Exceeding posted speed limits 
(I) by up to 10 mph 

Up to 10 mph, $25.00 
Up to 20 mph, $50.00 
Over 20 mph, $100.00 

(35) 
Creating excessive noise in a 
hospital or cemetery zone by 
muffler cut out, excessive use of 
a hom, or other means 

$50.00 

(36) 
Failure to yield right of way to 
other vehicles 

$50.00 

(37) 
Possession of firearms, carried 
either openly or concealed, 
whether loaded or unloaded 
(except by Federal or State law 
enforcement on official business) 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$500.00 Bond 

(38) 
Introduction or possession of 
explosives, or explosive devices 
which fire a projectile, 
ammunition or combustibles 

Mandatory Appearance or 
$500.00 Bond 

(39) 
Possession of knives which 
exceed a blade length of 3 inches; 
switchblade knives; any of the 
variety of hatchets, clubs and 
hand-held weapons; or brass 
knuckles 

$300.00 

(40) 
The unauthorized possession of 
any of the variety of 
incapacitating liquid or gas-
emitting weapons 

$200.00 



... ....,
 
STA~TE (38 CFR) Fine Sc~ule 

(41) 
Unauthorized possession, 
manufacture, or use ofkeys or 
barrier card type keys to rooms or 
areas on the property 

$200.00 

(42) 
The surreptitious opening, or 
attempted opening, of locks or 
card-operated barrier mechanisms 
on property 

$500.00 

(43) 
Soliciting for, or the act of, 
prostitution 

$250.00 

(44) 
Any unlawful sexual activity 

$250.00 

(45) 
Jogging, bicycling, sledding or 
any recreational physical activity 
conducted on cemetery grounds 

$50.00 

18 U.S.C. § 13 
Laws of the State Adopted for 
Areas Within Federal 
Jurisdiction 

Driving Under Suspension 

Citing w.s. § 31-7-132 

Mandatory Appearance 

No ProofofLiability Insurance 

Citing w.s. § 31-4-103(a) 

Mandatory Appearance 

No Display of License Plate 

Citing W.S. § 31-4-101(a)(ii) 

Mandatory Appearance 

No Vehicle Registration 

Citing w.s. § 31-4-101(a)(i) 

Mandatory Appearance 

Driving Under the Influence of 
Alcohol or Drugs 

Citin/! W.S. .~ 31-5-233 

Mandatory Appearance 



FILED 
~ U.S. DISTRICT COURT 
..,. DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

APR - ~ 2008 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

Stephan Harris, Clerk 
Casper 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

GENERAL ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend the Collateral Fine Schedule by 

adopting the bond amounts of the State of Wyoming, Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedule, and 

the Court being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Collateral Fine Schedule, which is available at the United States 

District Court for the District of Wyoming, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: 

Assimilated State Laws 

Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedule, Wyoming Rules of Criminal Procedure 

Appendix to Rule 3.1, Wyo.R.Cr.P., 1A Traffic Offenses 

In those instances when an accused violator wishes to plead guilty and he so indicates the 

same on the violation notice, he may forfeit collateral in the amount applicable to the offense 

charged. The law enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to 

deposit the collateral in the U.S. mail in the presence of said officer. 

This District adopts and incorporates by reference the current Wyoming Supreme Court 

Order adopting the Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules promulgated by the court. This 

District also adopts and incorporates by reference any orders by the Wyoming Supreme Court 

subsequently revising the S~YOmin~ Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules. 

DATEDthiSi'c.aYOf~2008. 

~~ 
CHIEF JUDGE ----­
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
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FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT GF WYOMING 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING APR 16 2007 

DESIGNATION OF MAGISTRATE JUDGE STEPHEN E. Col!~h~~ Harris, Clerk 
IN SOCIAL SECURITY CASES eyenne 

GENERAL ORDER 

This matter comes before the Court upon review of assignment of social security cases 

in the District of Wyoming. 

Pursuant to United States District Court District for the District of Wyoming Local Rule 

72.1 (b), the District Court designates magistrate jud~~es to conduct hearings, including 

evidentiary hearings pursuant to Title 28, United States Code, Sections 636(b)(1 )(8) 

and submit to a trial judge findings and recommendations for the final disposition by a 

district judge. 

Local Rule 73.1 (c)(2) for the United States District Court District for the District of 

Wyoming, Duties of Magistrate Judge provides in part: "Referral of Government Small 

Claim Cases. Pursuant to general order of the District Court, the Magistrate Judge is 

hereby authorized to conduct any and all proceedings, including evidentiary hearings, 

and submit to the Court proposed findings of fact and recommendations for the 

disposition by the Court of the following civil cases wherein the amount in controversy 

does not exceed Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00): ... (2) Social Security." The Court 

finds that the reference to "Small Claim Cases" is no longer applicable and that the 

monetary limitation for the amount in controversy up to $2,000.00 is artificially low. 

Therefore, the Court hereby strikes these limitations from the language of the rule and 

will amend the rule on a later date. 

Magistrate Judge Stephen E. Cole is a full time Magistrate Judge sitting in Yellowstone 

National Park, Wyoming. In order to continue to provide efficient, satisfactory 

disposition in all cases brought before this Court, the Court hereby refers to Magistrate 

Judge Cole, social security cases filed in the District of Wyoming. Magistrate Judge 



Cole shall conduct all hearings in social security cases as provided by Title 28, United 

States Code, Section 636(b)(1 )(B) & (C). 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the reference to "Small Claim Cases: and 

the $2,000.00 limitation stated in United States District Court for the District of Wyoming 

Local Rule 73.1 (c)(2) be, and the same is hereby rescinded. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED, that pursuant to Title 28, United States Code, Sections 

636(b)(1 )(B) & (C), and United States District Court for the District of Wyoming Local 

Rule 73.1 (c)(2) as amended, effective the date of this order, Magistrate Judge Stephen 

E. Cole is hereby designated as referral Magistrate ~Judge in all social security cases to 

assist the district court judges in the disposition of the same. 

DATEDthis~Of ~ ,2007. 

BYTHE COURT 

~ 
w~ownes Chi~f u.S,. District Judge 

. .".CA-. t /~<-
I. 

Clarence A. Brimmer, U.S. District Judge / . 2?pM,i). 1-=-;'~Ir= 
Alan B. Johnson, U.S. District Judge 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT JUN 14 2006 
DISTRICT OF WYOMING Stephan Harris, Clerk 

Casper 
ESTABLISHMENT OF MAMMOTH HOT SPRINGS 

IN YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK AS DUTY STATION 
FOR OFFICE OF CLERK OF COURT 

GENERAL ORDER 

This matter comes before the Court on the request of the Administrative Office of 

the U.S. Courts for an Order establishing Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone 

National Park as an Official Duty Station for the Office of the Clerk of Court and the 

United States Probation Office for the District of Wyoming. 

The Court finds that a U S Magistrate Judge or Commissioner has been sitting 

by designation in Yellowstone National Park since.1lll!i. Magistrate Judge Stephen E. 

Cole was appointed as part time Magistrate JUdge in Worland, Wyoming in January 

1975 and was appointed full time Magistrate Judge in Yellowstone National Park, 

Wyoming on January 1, 1982 and currently serves the District in this position. In 2001, 

a part time judicial assistant was hired for Magistrate Judge Cole and on May 1, 2006, 

the judicial assistant was designated as full time. Magistrate Judge Cole's case load 

has risen steadily over his term. Currently, there are in excess of 4000 citations issued 

annually in Yellowstone National Park, of which, approximately 600 will require 

Magistrate Judge Cole to hold hearings or otherwise dispose of them. The majority of 

these citations are issued during the peak tourist season from May to September each 

year. Magistrate Judge Cole actively signs complaints, search warrants and conducts 

hearings pursuant to the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. The United States 

Attorney opened an office employing a full time Assistant U.S. Attorney in Yellowstone 

National Park in May, 2005. There are currently 2 full time Deputy U.S. Marshal's 

stationed in Yellowstone National Park, as well as Court Security Officers. 

NOW THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED: 

Effective May 1, 2006, Mammoth Hot Springs and those areas designated as 

jurisdiction for the District of Wyoming in Yellowstone National Park is hereby 

designated as an official duty station for the United States District Court for the District 



of Wyoming. This Order specifically pertains to support staff for the Office of the Clerk 

of Court and the United States Probation Office for the District of Wyoming. 

DATED this ---6~2006. 

~dU2~-
m;;ownes Chief U.S. . riet Judge
 

. . ~ i ~
 
~, r-&-r,"lL/'J.-,..J 

CI ce A. Brimmer, U.S. District JUdge
,/ 

_­ J 



r:ILEU 
U.S niSm:CT C\)U!lT 

DISTRiCT (il-: 'vVY(':~/jINCi 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER ADDING ADDENDUM TO COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE
 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to file and addendum to the collateral fine 

schedules presently in effect in the District of Wyoming in order to insure that collateral fines are 

more unifonn throughout the District, and being fully advised in the premises, it is hereby 

ORDERED that in the event a violator fails to forfeit collateral, the United States 

Magistrate Judge shall require the preparation of a written complaint or other document 

containing a probable cause statement, and may, within said Judge's discretion, require that the 

bond on said petty offenses complaint be set at not more than a sum equal to twice the amount of 

the fine. The amount of bond the Magistrate Judge requires shall be plainly stated on the 

Complaint; and it is further 

ORDERED that the following list comprises the addendum of those statutes that shall be 

enforced by the various federal agencies throughout the District. Included herein is the 

addendum that includes the applicable collateral forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each 

offense listed, attached as Exhibit "A", which shall be unifonnly levied by law enforcement 

personnel throughout the District. It should be understood that ifnot governed by this schedule, 

the decision whether to (1) take an accused violator into custody; (2) allow him/her to forfeit 

collateral; or (3) merely issue a warning shall be within the sound discretion of the law 

enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator appear before a United States Magistrate 



Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or imprisonment or both, up to the statutory 

maximum without regard to this schedule. 

(1) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some ofthe offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District Court 

to require that an accused violator he detained and brought before an available United States 

Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the interest 

of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused violator 

may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is intended 

to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation notice and is Dot 

forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be placed in proper 

custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is released by the 

Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule, these offenses are denoted by the required appearance and a set bail 

amount. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, the 

violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated on the 

violation notice, and under DO circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. In the event the violator 

2
 



fails to appear on the date indicated on the violation notice, the United States Magistrate Judge may, 

pursuant to Rule 58(d)(3), issue a summons or warrant for arrest of the violator. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before a United States 

Magistrate Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law 

enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the 

United States Mail in the presence of said officer. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference has 

been made in the previously approved Fine Schedule and the attached addedum, the law enforcement 

agency involved shall immediately contact the United State's Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, 

Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124, or the United States Attorney's Office in Casper, Wyoming, at (307) 

261-5434, for advice and consultation; it is further 

ORDERED that Local Rule 503 of the United States District for the District of Wyoming 

shall be in effect as if fullyJ:lf:...rth herein. 

DATEDthis'?f2dayof ~ ,2005. 

o 

~:l~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

3 



-- ADDENDUM TO ..,
 
FINE SCHED'ULE
 

NATIONAL PARK SERVICE 
Yellowstone National Park/Grand Teton National Park 

Devil's TowerlBig Horn Canyon 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Fishing 

2.3(a) 
Except in designated areas, fishing shall be 
in accordance with the laws and regulations 
of the State. 

Use 36 C.F.R. 
§ 7.13 

Adopt State Fine 
Schedule 

2.3(d)(I) Use 36 C.F.R. 
§ 7.13 

$60.00 

Camping and Food Storage 

2.10(b)(3) 
Camping within 25 feet of a water hydrant 
or main road or within 100 feet of a flowing 
stream, river or body water, except in 
designated area. 

$50.00 

2.10(d) 
Improper Food Storage 

$50.00 Minor ­ $50.00 
Major ­ Bear, Wolf, 
etc. get to food­
$200.00 or M/A 

Pets 

2.15(a)(l) 
Possessing a pet in a public building, public 
transportation vehicle, or location 
designated as a swimming beach. 

Front Country 
$50.00 

Back Country 
$100.00 

2.15(a)(5) $50.00 
Failing to comply with pet excrement 
disposal 

Horses and Pack Animals 

2.16(a) $50.00 
Use of animals other than those designated 
as "pack animals" for purposes of 
transporting equipment 



STATU~36 CFR) Current Fine'­
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.l6(g) 
Violation of established conditions 
concerning the use of horses or pack 
animals 

$110.00 plus $25.00 
for each additional 
animal 

Violations of terms/conditions of permits 

2.50(e) 
Violation of terms and conditions of a 
permit - special event 

$250.00 

Permits 

3.3 
Permit required for use ofa vessel within a 
park area 

$200.00 

3.6(j) 
Operating a vessel propelled by machinery 
on waters not directly accessible by road 

$60.00 

Water Skiing 

3.20(a) 
Towing of persons by vessels is prohibited 
except in designated areas 

$75.00 

3.20(b)(1) 
Where towing is authorized, towing 
between the hours of sunset to sunrise 

$75.00 

3.20(b)(2) 
Towing without one person (other than the 
operator) observing the progress of person 
being towed 

$75.00 

3.20(b)(3) 
Towing a person is not wearing a personal 
flotation device 

$75.00 

3.20(b)(4) 
Towing or being towed in channels or 
within 500 feed of areas designated as 
harbors, swimming beaches or mooring 
areas - or within 100 feet of person fishing 
orswlmmmg 

$75.00 

Swimming and Bathing 



STATUTr(36 CFR) Current Fine.. 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

3.21(a)(1) 
Swimming or bathing in locations 
designated as closed 

$25.00 

3.21(a)(2) 
Swimming or bathing in violation of 
designated restrictions 

$100.00 

3.21(a)(3) 
Swimming from vessels which are 
underway 

$100.00 

3.21(b)Use of flotation devices, glass 
containers, kites, or incompatible sporting 
activities within locations designated as 
swimming beaches 

$100.00 

4.2 - State Law Applicable Use state law except as 
noted in this fine 
schedule 

Load, Weight and Size Limits 

4.11(a) 
Vehicle load, weight and size limits 
established by state law apply to vehicle 
operated on park road 

See State Fine 
Schedule 

4.11 (b)(4) 
Operating a motor vehicle with an auxiliary 
detachable side mirror that extends more 
than 10 inches beyond the side fender 

$25.00 $50.00 

4.11(c) 
Violating a tenn or condition of pennit 

See State Fine 
Schedule 

Alcoholic Beverages; Sales of Intoxicants 

5.2(a) 
Sale of alcohol containing more than 1 
percent of alcohol by weight shall confonn 
with all applicable federal, state and local 
laws 

$500.00 or MIA 

5.2(b) 
No liquor shall be sold on any privately 
owned lands 

$500.00 or MIA 

Eating, Drinking, or Lodging 
Establishments 



STATUTT(36 CFR) Current Fine'" Proposed Fine 
Schedule Schedule 

5.10(a) $500.00 or MIA 
No establishment offering food, drink or 
lodging for sale on any privately owned 
lands may be operated without a permit 

5.10(b) $500.00 or MIA 
Establishments shall be maintained and 
operated in accordance with the rules and 
regulations 

YNP - Special Regulations 

Winter Use 

7.13(1) Snowmobile - radar 
Speeding (the use of over snow vehicles in $5.00/mile 
YNP is not subject to 2.18(d)(4). 
Therefore, speeding violations shall be cited Snow coach - radar 
via 4.21(c) $5.00/mile 

Snowmobile - no 
radar 
$50.00 

Snow coach - no radar 
$50.00 

7.13(1)(3) $100.00 
Operate a snowmobile out of compliance 

7. 13(1)(4)(i) $100.00 
Historic snowcoaches are not initially 
required to meet air or sound requirements 

7. 13(1)(4)(ii) MIA 
Non-historic coaches must meet NPS air 
emissions requirements 

7.13(1)(4)(iii) MIA 
Beginning winter of 2008-2009 all non-
historic snowcoaches must meet NPS sound 
requirements. 

7. 13(1)(4)(iv) MIA 
All critical emission-related exhaust 
components must be functioning properly 



STATU~36 CFR) Current Fine"
Schedule 

., 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

7. 13(1)(4)(v) 
Tampering with or disabling a snowcoach's 
original pollution control equipment is 
prohibited 

MIA 

MIA 

MIA 

MIA 

MIA 

MIA 

VN will be issued 
pursuant to 36 C.F.R. 
§ 2. 18(c) 

7.l3(1)(4)(v) 
Refusal to be subjected to inspection to 
determine compliance with requirements 

7.13(1)(5) 
Only commercially available snowmobiles 
that meet NPS air and sound emissions 
requirements may be operated in the park 

7.l3(1)(6)(i) 
Beginning with the 2005 model year, all 
snowmobiles must be certified under 40 
C.F.R. par tl051, to a Family Emission 
Limit no greater than 15 g/kW-hr for 
hydrocarbons and to a Family Emission 
Limit not greater than 120 g/kW-hr for 
carbon monoxide 

7.13(1)(b)(i)(B) 
Snowmobiles manufactured prior to the 
2004 model year may be operated only if 
they have been shown to have emissions no 
greater than the requirements identified in 
7.l3(l)(b)(i) 

7.13(l)(b)(i)(B)(ii) 
For sound emissions, snowmobiles must 
operate at or below 73 dB(a), as measured 
at full throttle 

7.13(1)(7) 
Operate snowmobile in designated areas 

7.13(1)(8) 
Operate snowcoach in designated areas 

MIA 

MIA7. 13(1)(9)(i) 
Non-commercial guides are required to 
successfully complete a training program 
approved by the Superintendent 



STATUTr(36 CFR) Current Fine'" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7.13(1)(9)(ii) 
Snowmobile parties must travel in a group, 
including the guide. Maximum and 
minimum number designated by 
Superintendent 

MIA 

7. 13(l)(9)(iii) 
It is prohibited fro non-commercial guides 
to receive fees or other fonns of 
compensation for non-commercial guiding 
servIces 

MIA 

7. 13(1)(9)(iv) 
Guided parties must travel together within a 
maximum of one-third mile of the first 
snowmobile in the group 

MIA 

7. 13(1)(14)(i)(A) 
Idling an over snow vehicle more than 5 
minutes at anyone time 

$100.00 

7. 13(1)(14)(i)(B) 
Operating an over snow vehicle while the 
operator's state motor vehicle license or 
privilege is suspended or revoked by any 
state 

MIA 

7.13(1)(14)(i)(C) 
Allowing or pennitting an unlicenced driver 
to operate an over snow vehicle 

$100.00 

7.13(1)(14)(i)(D) 
Operating an over snow vehicle in willful or 
wanton disregard for the safety of persons, 
property, or park resources 

MIA 

7. 13(1)(14)(i)(E) 
Operating an over snow vehicle without a 
lighted white headlamp and/or red taillight. 

$50.00 

7. 13(1)(14)(i)(F) 
Operating an over snow vehicle that does 
not have brakes in good working order 

$50.00 

7.13(1)(14)(i)(G) 
towing of persons on skis, sleds or other 
sliding devices by over snow vehicles, 
except in emergency situations 

$50.00 



STATUi'P(36 CFR) Current Fine'"
Schedule 

.. Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7. 13(l)(14)(ii)(A) 
All over snow vehicles that stop on 
designated routes must pull over to the far 
right. Pullouts must be utilized where 
available 

$50.00 

$60.00 

$100.00 

$60.00 

MIA 

MIA 

$100.00 

MIA 

7.13(l)(14)(ii)(B) 
Over snow vehicle operators must possess a 
valid motor vehicle operator's license. A 
leamer's permit does not satisfy this 
requirement 

7.13(l)(14)(ii)(C) 
Equipment sleds towed by a snowmobile 
must be pulled behind the snowmobile and 
fastened to the snowmobile with a rigid 
hitching mechanism 

7. 13(l)(14)(ii)(D) 
Snowmobiles must be properly registered 
and display a valid registration from the 
Untied States or Canada 

7.13(1)( 15)(i) 
Operating or being in actual physical 
control of an over snow vehicle is 
prohibited when the driver is under 21 years 
of age and the alcohol concentration in the 
driver's blood or breath is 0.02 grams or 
more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood 

7.13(l)(15)(ii) 
Operating or being in actual physical 
control of an over snow vehicle is 
prohibited when the driver is a snowmobile 
guide or a snowcoach driver and the alcohol 
concentration in the operator's blood or 
breath is 0.04 grams or more of alcohol per 
100 milliliters of blood 

7.13(l)(17)(ii) 
Dog-sledding or ski-jorring is prohibited 

7.13(1)(18) 
Operation of a snow plane is prohibited 

John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Memorial 
Parkway 



STATU'~36 CFR) Current Fine" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7.21(a)(3) 
Operation of a snowmobile in the Parkway 
shall be done in compliance with use limits 
and entry passes, guiding requirements, 
operating hours and dates, equipment, and 
operating conditions. 

$100.00 

7.21(a)(5) 
Only commercially available snowmobiles 
that meet NPS air and sound emissions 
requirements may be operated in the 
Parkway 

MIA 

7.21 (a)(6)(i)(A) 
Beginning with the 2005 model year, all 
snowmobiles must be certified to a Family 
Emission Limit no greater than 15 g/kW-hr 
for hydrocarbons and to a Family Emission 
Limit no greater than 120 g/kW-hr for 
carbon monoxide 

MIA 

7.21 (a)(6)(i)(B) 
Snowmobiles manufactured prior to the 
2004 model year may be operated only if 
they have shown to have air emissions no 
greater than the requirements found in 
7.21(a)(6)(i) 

MIA 

7.21(a)(6)(ii) 
Snowmobiles must operate at or below 
73dB(a) as measured at full throttle 

MIA 

7.21 (a)(13)(i)(C) 
Allowing or permitting an unlicensed driver 
to operate an over snow vehicle is 
prohibited 

$100.00 

7.21(a)(13)(ii)(B) 
Over snow vehicle operators must possess a 
valid motor vehicle operator's license. The 
license must be carried by the operator at all 
times. A leamer's permit does not satisfy 
this requirement 

$60.00 

7.21 (a)(13)(ii)(D) 
Snowmobiles must be properly registered 
and display a valid registration from the 
United States or Canada 

$60.00 



-

STATU:i'r'"(36 CFR) Current Fine· Proposed Fine 

Schedule Schedule 

7.22(a)(17) MIA 
The operation of a snowplane in the 
Parkway is prohibited 

Grand Teton National Park 

7.22(b)(1) $60.00 
Fishing in a closed area 

7.22(b)(2) $60.00 
Fishing from bridge or boat docket is 
prohibited 

7.22(b)(3) $60.00 
Use of unlawful bait 

7.22(c) MIA 
Stock grazing - privileges for grazing 
domestic livestock 

7.22(d)(1 ) $100.00 
No person, party or organization shall be 
pennitted to camp for more than 30 days in 
a calendar year 

7.22(d)(2) $60.00 
Except in group campsites and back country 
sites, camping is limited to six persons to a 
site 

7.22(e)(1) $60.00 
Motorboats are prohibited except in 
designated areas 

7.22(e)(2) $60.00 
Hand-propelled vessels are prohibited 
except in designated areas 

7.22(e)(3) $60.00 
Sailboats may be used only on Jackson 
Lake 

7.22(e)(4) $60.00 
No person except an authorized 
concessioner shall moor or beach a vessel 
on the shore of a designated harbor area 

7.22(f) See State Fine 
The laws and regulations of the State of Schedule ­ Assimilate 
Wyoming shall govern elk management State Law 



STATUi'l""(36 CFR) Current Fine" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7.22(g)(3) 
.Must operate a snowmobile in GTNP in 
compliance with use limits and entry 
passes, operating hours and dates, 
equipment, and operating conditions 

$100.00 

7.22(g)(5) 
Only commercially available snowmobiles 
that meet NPS air and sound emissions 
requirements may be operated in the park. 

MIA 

7. 22(g)(6)(i) 
Beginning with the 2005 model year, all 
snowmobiles must be certified to a Family 
Emission Limit no greater than 15 g/kW-hr 
for hydrocarbons and to a Family Emission 
Limit no greater than 120 g/kW-hr for 
carbon monoxide 

MIA 

7.22(g)(6)(i)(B) 
Snowmobiles manufactured prior to the 
2004 model year may be operated only if 
they have shown to have air emissions no 
greater than the requirements of 
7.22(g)(6)(i) 

MIA 

7.22(g)(7)(i) 
Operating snowmobile upon designated 
over snow routes established with the park 
in accordance with 36 C.F.R. § 2.18(c) - the 
frozen water surface of Jackson Lake for the 
purposes of ice fishing only. 

MIA 

7.22(g)(11)(A) 
It is prohibited to idle an over snow vehicle 
more than 5 minutes at anyone time 

$100.00 

7.22(g)(II)(B) 
It is prohibited to operate an over snow 
vehicle while the operator's state motor 
vehicle license or privilege is suspended or 
revoked by any state 

MIA 

7.22(g)(lI)(C) 
It is prohibited to allow or permit an 
unlicenced driver to operate an over snow 
vehicle 

$100.00 



STATUtr(36 CFR) Current Fine" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7.22(g)( 11 )(D) 
It is prohibited to operate an over snow 
vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for 
the safety 0 f persons, property, or park 
resources or otherwise in a reckless manner 

MIA 

7.22(g)( 11 )(E) 
It is prohibited to operate an over snow 
vehicle without a lighted white headlamp 
and red taillight 

$50.00 

7.22(g)( 11 )(F) 
It is prohibited to operate an over snow 
vehicle that does not have brakes in good 
working order 

$50.00 

7.22(g)(11)(ii)(A) 
All over snow vehicles that stop on 
designated routes must pull over to the far 
right and next to the snow berm 

$60.00 

7.22(g)(11)(ii)(B) 
Over snow vehicle operators must possess a 
valid motor vehicle operator's license. The 
license must be carried by the operator at all 
times. A leamer's pennit does not satisfy 
this requirement 

$60.00 

7.22(g)(11)(ii)(C) 
Equipment sleds towed by a snowmobile 
must be pulled behind the snowmobile and 
fastened to the snowmobile with a rigid 
hitching mechanism 

$100.00 

7.22(g)(11 )(ii)(D) 
Snowmobiles must be properly registered 
and display a valid registration from the 
United States or Canada 

$60.00 

7.22(g)(12)(i) 
Operating or being in actual physical 
control of an over snow vehicle is 
prohibited when the driver is under 21 years 
of age and the alcohol concentration in the 
driver's blood or breath is 0.02 grams or 
more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood 
or 0.02 grams or more of alcohol per 210 
liters of breath 

MIA 



STATUll"'(36 CFR) Current Fine'" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

7.22(g)(12)(ii) 
Operating or being in actual physical 
control of an over snow vehicle is 
prohibited when the driver is a commercial 
guide or a snowcoach driver and the alcohol 
concentration in the driver's blood or breath 
is 0.04 grams or more alcohol per 100 
milliliters of blood or 0.04 grams or more of 
alcohol per 210 liters of breath 

MIA 

7.22(g)(14)(iii) 
Dog sledding or ski-jorring is prohibited 

$100.00 

7.22(g)(15) 
The operation of a snowplane in GTNP is 
prohibited 

MIA 

Part 71 - Recreation Fees 

71.8(a) 
Validation & Display of Entrance Permits $25.00 $50.00 

71.8(b) 
Non-transferable - Single Visit 
Non-transferable - Annual Permit 
National Park Pass 
Golden Access, Age, Eagle 

$100.00 
100.00 
100.00 
100.00 

$100.00 
MIA 
MIA 
MIA 

Grand Teton National Park 
Enforcement of 33 and 46 C.F.R.'s 
(authorized by 36 C.F.R. § 3.1(a» 

General Provisions - 33 C.F.R. 

70.05-1 
Interfere with or damage navigation aids 

MIA 

88.05 
Vessel 12+ Meters shall carry and maintain 
for ready reference a copy of the Inland 
Navigation Rules 

$60.00 

155.330(a) 
No person may operate a non-oceangoing 
ship in navigable waters unless it has the 
capacity to retain on board all oily mixtures 
and is equipped to discharge mixtures to a 
reception facility 

$60.00 



STATU'1P"(36 CFR) Current Fine" Proposed Fine 
Schedule Schedule 

155.450(a) $60.00 
A ship, except a ship of less than 26 feet, 
must have a placard of a least 5 by 8 inches 

155.770 $210.00 
No person may intentionally drain oil or 
hazardous material from any source into the 
bilge of a vessel 

159.7(b) $210.00 
No device to prevent sewage discharge 
from a vessel built after 01130175 

159.7(c) $210.00 
No device to prevent sewage discharge 
from vessel built before 01130175 

173.15(a)(l) $60.00 
No numbered certificate from principal 
state 

173.15(a)(2) $60.00 
Numbers not properly displayed 

173.19 $60.00 
Other numbers displayed 

173.21(a)(l) $60.00 
No valid certificate ofnumber on board 

173.21(a)(2) $60.00 
No rental agreement on board 

173.23 $60.00 
Failure to present certificate of number, 
lease or rental agreement 

173.25 $60.00 
Certificate of number, lease or rental 
agreement not able to be handed to 
inspector 

175.15(a) $60.00 
No type I, II or III PFD for each person on 
board 

175.15(b) $60.00 
A boat greater than 16 foot must also have 
PFD (Type IV) in addition to the PFD's 
required in 175.15(a) 



STATU~36 CFR) Current Fine'lllll
Schedule 

~ Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

l75.l5(c)(l) 
Child less than 13 years must wear PFO 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

175.15(c)(2) 
Child less than 13 must be below decks or 
in enclosed cabin if not wearing Type I, II 
or III PFD 

175.l9(a) 
No person may use a recreational boat 
unless Type I, II, or III PFD is readily 
accessible 

175.19(b) 
No person may use a recreational boat 
unless each Type IV PFO is immediately 
available 

175.2l(a) 
PFO not in serviceable condition 

175.2l(b) 
PFD not sized correctly for user 

l75.21(c) 
PFO not correctly/legibly marked 

175.201 
Ventilation: none/not operable 

W.S. § 41-13-213 Ch - 22 § 5(a) 
Improper or no lighting/no or inefficient 
sound signal device - Assimilate WY 
Boating Regulation via 36 C.F.R. 3.1 (a) 

General Provisions - 46 C.F.R. 

25.30-20 
No fire extinguisher on motorboat when 
required 

25.35-1(a) 
No flame arrestor 

25.35-1(c) 
Flame arrestor - improper 



STATUi!"'(36 CFR) Current Fine'lllll 
Schedule 

.,. 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

$5.00 per mile over 
posted speed limit; 25 
miles per hour over 
posted limit - Bond 
Amount or Mandatory 
Appearance 

Construction Zones ­
$ t 0.00 per mile over 
posted speed limit; 25 
miles per hour over 
posted limit - Bond 
Amount or Mandatory 
Appearance 

Speeding (36 C.F.R. § 4.21(c» 



FILED
 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT
 

D!STRICT OF WYOMING
 

FEB 16200503Dr
 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

Betty A. Griess, Clerk 
Casper 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

AMENDED GENERAL ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend Collateral Fee Schedule by 

amending Section IV, Assimilated State Laws, and being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Collateral Fine Schedule, which is available at the United States 

District Court for the District of Wyoming, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: 

SECTION IV ASSIMILATED STATE LAWS 

A. TRAFFIC, DRIVERS LICENSE, REGISTRATION AND LICENSING OFFENSE 

(3). Offenses Where Collateral May be Forfeited 

In those instances when an accused violator wishes to plead guilty and he so indicates the 

same on the violation notice, he may forfeit collateral in the amount applicable to the offense 

charged. The law enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to 

deposit the collateral in the U.S. mail in the presence of said officer. 

This District adopts and incorporates by reference the current Wyoming Supreme Court 

Order adopting the Revised Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules promulgated by the court. 

This District also adopts and incorporates by reference any orders by the Wyoming Supreme 

Court subsequently revisinp,e State of Wyoming Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules. 

DATED this i&L day of ':f~2005. 

HON. WILLIAM F. DOWNES, CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STA,TES DISTRICT COURT 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

FEB 1 6 2005 q-1:JIJ ~~ 

38ttv A. Griess, Clerk 
Casper 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE
 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend the collateral fine schedules 

presently in effect in the District of Wyoming in order to insure that collateral fines are more 

uniform throughout the District, and being fully advised in the premises, it is hereby 

ORDERED that in the event a violator fails to forfeit collateral, the United States 

Magistrate Judge shall require the preparation of a written complaint or other document 

containing a probable cause statement, and may, within said Judge's discretion, require that the 

bond on said petty offenses complaint be set at not more than a sum equal to twice the amount of 

the fine. The amount of bond the Magistrate Judge requires shall be plainly stated on the 

Complaint; and it is further 

ORDERED that the following list comprises those statutes that shall be enforced by the 

various federal agencies throughout the District. Included herein is the applicable collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, attached as Exhibit "A", which 

shall be uniformly levied by law enforcement personnel throughout the District. It should be 

understood that if not govemed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused 

violator into custody; (2) allow him/her to forfeit collateral; or (3) merely issue a waming shall 

be within the sound discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator 



appear before a United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or 

imprisonment or both, up to the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

(l) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some of the offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District Court 

to require that an accused violator he detained and brought before an available United States 

Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the interest 

of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused violator 

may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is intended 

to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation notice and is not 

forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be placed in proper 

custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is released by the 

Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule, these offenses are denoted by the required appearance and a set bai1 

amount. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, the 

violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated on the 

violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. In the event the violator 

2
 



fai Is to appear on the date indicated on the violation notice, the United States Magistrate Judge may, 

pursuant to Rule 58(d)(3), issue a summons or warrant for arrest of the violator. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before a United States 

Magistrate Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law 

enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the 

United States Mail in the presence of said officer. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference has 

been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact the 

United State's Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124, or the United States 

Attorney's Office in Casper, Wyoming, at (307) 261-5434, for advice and consultation; it is further 

ORDERED that Local Rule 503 of the United States District for the District of Wyoming 

shall be in effect as if fUll~ forth herein. 

DATED this J/J day of 1~, 2005. 

#~J~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
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'-' FINE SCHEDULE ..""
 

---' 

NATIONAL PARK SERVICE 
Yellowstone National Park/Grand Teton National Park 

Devil's TowerlBig Horn Canyon 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Part 1 - General Provisions 

1.5(f) 
Violating closures and use limits 

$50.00 $100.00 

1.6(g)(1) 
Engaging in an activity subject 
to permitting requirements w/o 
first obtaining a permit 

$100.00 $200.00 

1.6(g)(2) 
Violate the terms and conditions 
of permit 

$50.00 $100.00 

Part 2 - Resource Protection, 
Public Use and Recreation 

2.1(a)(I)(i) 
Possessing, destroying, injuring, 
defacing, removing, digging, or 
disturbing from its natural state 
living or dead wildlife or fish, or 
the parts thereof 

$250.00 
plus $10.00/lb 
antlers 
$25.00/specimen 

$250.00 plus 
$1O.00/lb antlers 

$25.00/specimen 

M/A for commercial 
use 

2.1 (a)(1 )(ii) 
Possessing, destroying... 
Plants or the parts of products 
thereof 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

2.1(a)(1)(iii) 
Fossils, cultural ARPA 

$250.00 $260.00 

2.l(a)(1)(iv) 
Possessing, destroying... 
A mineral resource or cave 
formation or the parts thereof 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.l(a)(2) 
Introduce wildlife, fish, plants 

$500 Mandatory 
Appearance 



ST)pfJTE (36 CFR) Current Fin~ 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.1(a)(3) 
Tossing, throwing, rolling rocks 
or other items inside caves or 
caverns, into valleys, canyons, 
down hillsides or mountainsides, 
or into thermal features 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.1(a)(4) 
Using or possess illegal wood 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.1(a)(5) 
Walk on, climb, enter, etc. an 
archeological or resource area 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.1(a)(6) 
Posses, remove, dig a structure 
on resource area 

$100.00 $110.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.1(a)(7) 
Use of metal detector 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.1(b) 
Leaving a trail or walkway to 
shortcut between portions of the 
same trail or walkway, or tot 
shortcut to an adjacent trail 

$35.00 $50.00 

2.1(c)(l) 
Can/preserve natural products 

$25.00 $50.00 

2.1(c)(3)(i) 
Gathering undesignated natural 
products 

$100.00 $110.00 plus $25.00 
per specimen 

2.1 (c)(3)(ii) 
Gather undesignated natural 
products in size/quantity 
Size/quantity allowed 

$100.00 $110.00 plus $25.00 
per specimen 

2.1 (c)(3 )(iii) 
Remove natural products 

$100.00 $110.00 plus $25.00 
per specimen 

2.1(c)(3)(iv) 
Gathering natural products 
outside designated area 

$100.00 $110.00 plus $25.00 
per specimen 

2.1(c)(3)(v) 
Sale or commercial use of 
natural products 

$250.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 



~ 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

r-" Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.2(a)(1) 
Taking wildlife 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.2(a)(2) 
Disturbing Wildlife $50.00 $75.00 

Use of bugles/calls $100.00 $200.00 

2.2(a)(3) 
Unlawfully possessing taken 
wildlife 

$250.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.2(d) 
Transporting lawfully taken 
wildlife through a park area w/o 
first obtaining a permit 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.2(e) 
Spotlighting in park 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.3(d)(l) 
Improper method/unattended 
line 

$50.00 See 7.13 

2.3(d)(2) 
Posses/use improper bait 

$50.00 $110.00 

2.3(d)(3) 
Feeding/attracting fish 

$50.00 $110.00 

2.3(d)(4) 
Commercial fishing 

$250.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.3(d)(5) 
Using drugs, poisons, explosives 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.3(d)(6) 
Digging for bait 

$25.00 $50.00 

2.3(d)(7) 
Improper catch and release of 
fish 

$50.00 $110.00 

2.3(d)(8) 
Fish from bridges/docks 

$25.00 $50.00 plus $20 per 
illegally caught non­
native fish up to 5 

2..+(a)(1)(i) 
Possess a weapon, trap or net 

$150.00 5110.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

- Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.4(a)(1)(ii) 
Carry weapon, trap or net 

$100.00 $150.00 

2.4(a)(1)(iii) 
Use weapon 

$100.00 $110.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.4(b) 
Loaded weapon in vehicle 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.4(c) 
Use of weapon, trap or net that 
endangers someone 

$100.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.4(d) 
Violate the terms and conditions 
of a permit to carry or possess a 
weapon, trap, or net issued by 
the Superintendent 

$150.00 $150.00 

2.5(a) 
Taking plants, fish, wildlife, 
rocks, or minerals except in 
accordance with other 
regulations or specimen 
collection permit 

$100.00 
Plus $25.00 per 
speCImen 

$150.00 plus $25 
per specimen 

2.5(h) 
Violate terms and conditions of 
permit 

$100.00 $150.00 

2.1 O(b)(1) 
Dig or level the ground at a 
campsite 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.1 O(b)(2) 
Leaving camping equipment, 
site alterations, or refuse after 
departing a campsite 

$50.00 $100.00 

2.l0(b)(4) 
Violation of quiet hours 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.10 (b)(5) 
Installation of permit camping 
facilities 

$50.00 $50.00 

1.10(b)(6) 
Displaying wildlife carcass 

S50.00 $100.00 



.....
 
STAMTE (36 CFR) -Current Fine 

Schedule 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

2.1 O(b)(7) 
Hook into a utility system 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.1 O(b)(8) 
Failing to obtain a permit 

$50.00 $100.00 

2.10(b)(9) 
Camping conditions 

$50.00 Back country 
camping ­ $50.00 

Hard side units ­
$50.00 

Horses in front 
country sites ­
$50.00 

# persons/vehicle 
per site - $50.00 

2.1 O(b)(9) 
Camping conditions - continued 

$50.00 LCP permit 
violations - $100.00 

Time limits ­
$100.00 

2.10(b)(10) 
Camp outside of designated sites 
or areas 

$50.00 $100.00 

2.1O(c) 
Violate the terms and conditions 
ofa permit 

$50.00 $150.00 

2.10(d) 
Improper food storage 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.10(d) 
Improper food storage - cant. 
Bear, wolf, etc. gets food 

$50.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.11 
Picnicking in undesignated area 

$25.00 $25.00 

2.12(a)(1) 
Operate motorized equipment 

$50.00 $75.00 

2.12(a)(1)(i) 
Exceed 60 decibels 

S50.00 $75.00 



~ ...... 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

-­ Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2. 12(a)(l)(ii) 
Unreasonable Noise 

$SO.OO $7S.00 

2. 12(a)(2) 
Power saw without pennit 

$SO.OO $7S.00 

2.12(a)(3) 
Motorized equipment in back 
country 

$SO.OO $100.00 

2. 12(a)(4) 
PA system without pennit 

$SO.OO $100.00 

2.12(b) 
Violate tenns/conditions of 
pennit 

$SO.OO $100.00 

2.13(a)( 1) 
Fire in undesignated area 

$SO.OO $60.00 

2.13(a)(2) 
Improper use of stove/lantern 

$50.00 $60.00 

2. 13(a)(3) 
Lighting, tending or using a fire, 
stove or lantern in a manner that 
threatens, causes damage to or 
results in the burning of property 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.13(a)(4) 
Leaving a fire unattended 

$100.00 $100.00 

2. 13(a)(S) 
Improper disposal of lighted 
material 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.13(b) 
Not extinguishing fire properly 

$100.00 $100.00 

2. 13(c) 
Use of fire during high fire 
danger 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.14(a)(l) 
Littering 

$100.00 $110.00 

2. 14(a)(2) 
Unauthorized use of garbage 
cans 

$SO.OO $60.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

.... 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

2. 14(a)(3) 
Depositing refuse in the 
plumbing fixtures or vaults of a 
toilet facility 

$75.00 $75.00 

$IlO.OO 

$50.00 

$100.00 

$110.00 

$IlO.OO 

$110.00 

$110.00 

See § 7.13 

$50.00 

2.14(a)(4) 
Draining refuse from trailer 

$100.00 

2.14(a)(5) 
Improper use of water outlet 

$25.00 

2.l4(a)(6) 
Pollute/coqtarninate park water 

$100.00 

2. 14(a)(7) 
Disposing of fish remains on 
land, or in waters within 200 feet 
ofboat docks or designated 
swimming beaches 

$100.00 

2. 14(a)(8) 
Disposal of human body waste 
in developed area 

$100.00 

2.14(a)(9) 
Disposal of human body waste 
in non-developed area 

$100.00 

2.l4(b) 
Violate terms and conditions of 
permit 

$100.00 

2.15(a)(l) 
Possess a pet in an area closed to 
the possession of pets 

Front country ­
public buildings, 
public 
transportation, 
etc. - $35.00 

Back country ­
wilderness area 
- $100.00 

2.15(a)(2) 
Fail to crate, cage, restrain on a 
leash, or otherwise confine a pet 
at all times 

$35.00 



~ 

Current Fine
 
Schedule
 

$50.00 

STAT'1jTE (36 CFR) 

2.15(a)(3) 
Leave a pet unattended and tied 
to an object 

2. 15(a)(4) 
Allow a pet to make 
unreasonable noise 

2.15(b) 
Hunt dog violate StatelFederal 
law 

2.15(c) 
Animals running loose 

2.15(d) 
Pets running at large may be 
impounded 

2.15(e) 
Pets kept by residents - in 
accordance with established 
conditions 

2.16(a) 
Use of undesignated pack 
animals 

2.16(b) 
Use of pack animals outside 
trails, routes or designated areas 

2.16(c) 
Use of horses or pack animals on 
park roads 

2.16(d) 
Free-trailing or loose-hearing of 
horses or pack animals 

2.16(e) 
Allowing horses or pack animals 
to proceed in excess of a slow 
walk when passing people 

2.16(±) 
Obstructing a trail or making an 
unreasonable noise or gesture 
while horses are passing 

$50.00
 

$25.00 

$25.00 

$25.00 

$25.00 

$25.00 

$100.00 

$25.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

..-­
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$50.00 

$50.00
 

$50.00
 

$50.00 

, 

$50.00 

$110.00 

$50.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

5110.005100.00
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STATM'E (36 CFR) Current Fine "'II'" 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.16(g) 
Violate conditions which may be 
established concerning the use of 
horse or pack animals 

- 25 animals maximum $50.00 $110.00 plus $25.00 
for each excess 
animal 

- Hay prohibited in back country $50.00 $110.00 

- Corrals/fences prohibited $50.00 $110.00 

- Off trail travel in prohibited 
areas 

$50.00 $110.00 

- Damage features by tying 
stock 

$50.00 $110.00 

- Picket animals 100 ft. from 
trails 

$50.00 $60.00 

- Picket pins $50.00 $60.00 

-- Scatter/remove manure $50.00 $110.00 
: 

- Fail to report loss/death $50.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

- Carcass removed by owner $50.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

2. 17(a)(l ) 
Operating or using aircraft on 
lands or waters other than 
designated areas 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.l7(a)(2) 
Operating aircraft within 500 
feet of beaches, docks 

$100.00 $150.00 

2.l7(a)(3) 
Delivering or retrieving a person 
or object by parachute, 
helicopter, or other airborne 
means except in emergencies 

Parachute ­
$200.00 

Helicopter ­
$500.00 

Mandatory 
Appearance (Both) 

2.17(c)(2) 
Failure to comply with downed 
aircraft rules 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 



'Io...J 

\ 

-

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

2.17(d) 
Failure to comply with FAA 
regulations 

$100.00 

2.17(e) 
Operating a hovercraft where not 
pennitted 

$100.00 

2.l7(f) 
Violating the terms/conditions of 
the permit 

$100.00 

2.18(c) 
Use a snowmobile in an 
undesignated area 

$100.00 

2.18(d)(1) 
Operating a snowmobile that 
makes excessive noise 

$50.00 

2.18(d)(2) 
Operating a snowmobile without 
headlights 

$50.00 

2.18(d)(3) 
Operating a snowmobile that 
does not have brakes in good 
condition 

$50.00 

2.l8(d)(4) 
Racing, or operating a 
snowmobile in excess of45 
miles per hour 

$100.00 

2.l9(a) 
skiing, snowshoeing, etc. on 
park roads open for mot vehicle 
traffic 

$25.00 

2.19(b) 
Towing of persons on skis, 
sleds, etc. 

$25.00 

2.19(c) 
Failure to abide by area 
designations or activity 
restrictions 

$25.00 

1II'-' - Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Mandatory
 
Appearance
 

Mandatory
 
Appearance
 

Mandatory
 
Appearance
 

Mandatory
 
Appearance
 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$100.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

2.20 
Using roller skates, skateboards, 
roller skis, etc. except in 
designated areas 

$25.00 $50.00 

2.21(a) 
Smoking in undesignated areas 

$25.00 $SO.OO 

2.22(a)(l) 
Abandoning property 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.22(a)(2) 
Leaving property unattended in 
excess of 24 hours 

$SO.OO $50.00 

2.22(a)(3) 
Fail to tum in found property 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.23(b) 
Fail to pay recreation fees 

$40.00 $100.00 

2.30(a)(1) 
Possess another's property 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.30(a)(2) 
Obtaining property or services 
for sale wlo making payment 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.30(a)(3) 
Obtaining property or services 
for sale by means of deception 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.30(a)(4) 
Shoplifting 

Value Less than $2S.00 $100.00 $110.00 

Value More than $25.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.30(a)(S) 
Acquiring or possessing 
property having reason to 
believe it is stolen 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.31(a)(1) 
Trespass, enter, or remain upon 
property or real property not 
open to the public 

$100.00 $110.00 



.... ,..... 
STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 

2.31(a)(2) 
Tampering with property or real 
property 

$100.00 

2.31(a)(3) 

Vandalism of Natural Resources, 
non-history building, vehicle, or 
other government property 

$100.00 

2.32(a)(l) 
Threaten, resist, intimidate, or 
intentionally interfere with a 
government employee 

Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$100.00 

2.32(a)(2) 
Violate the lawful order ofa 
government employee or agent 

$100.00 

2.32(a)(3)(i) 
Knowingly giving a false report 
or information to authorized 
person 

$100.00 

2.32(a)(3)(ii) 
Knowingly giving false 
information on application for 
permit 

$100.00 

2.32(a)(4) 
Knowingly giving a false report 
for the purpose ofmisleading 
government employee or agent 

$100.00 

2.33(b) 
Failing to report an incident 
resulting in personal injury or 
property damage in excess of 
$300.00 

$100.00 

2.34(a)(l) 
Engage in fighting or 
threatening, or in violent 
behavior 

$100.00 

2.34(a)(2) 
Using language, un utterance, or 
gesture, or engage in a display or 
act that is obscene...or incite an 
immediate breach of peace 

5100.00 

I""'" 
Proposed Fine
 

Schedule
 

$110.0 

$110.00 

Mandatory
 
Appearance or
 
$125.00
 

$125.00 

$125.00 

$125.00 

$125.00 

$110.00 

$125.00 

5125.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.34(a)(3) 
Make noise that is unreasonable 
considering the nature and 
purpose of the actor's conduct, 
location, and time of day or 
night 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.34(a)(4) 
Create or maintain a hazardous 
or physically offensive condition 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.3 5(a)(2)(i) 
Sale or gift of alcoholic 
beverage to a person under the 
age of21 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.35(a)(2)(ii) 
Possession of alcohol by a minor 

$100.00 $110.00 

2.35(a)(3 )(iii) 
Possession of alcoholic beverage 
in a closed area 

$50.00 $110.00 

2.35(b)(1) 
Delivery of a controlled 
substance 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.35(b)(2) 
Possession of a controlled 
substance 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

2.35(c) 
Presence in park area when 
under the influence of alcohol or 
controlled substance 

$50.00 $210.00 

2.36 
Gambling in any form 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.37 
Noncommercial soliciting 

$50.00 $50.00 

2.38(a)Using, possessing, 
storing or transporting 
explosives 

MIA Mandatory 
.Appearance 

2.38(b) 
Use or possess fireworks 

S200.00 for use 
S100.00 for 
posseSSIOn 

5210.00 for use 
$110 for possession 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 
1-Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

2.38(c) 
Violate conditions established, 
or tenns and conditions of a 
permit 

$250.00 $250.00 

2.51(a) 
Fail to obtain a permit 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.51(h) 
Obstruct or impede pedestrians 
or vehicles, or harass park 
visitors with physical contact 

$100.00 $250.00 

2.51(j) 
Fail to comply with terms and 
conditions of a permit 

$100.00 $250.00 

2.52(a) 
The sale or distribution of 
printed matter without a pennit 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.52(h) 
Obstruct or impede pedestrians 
or vehicles, or harass park 
visitors with physical contact 
(regarding printed matter) 

$100.00 $200.00 

2.52(j) 
Fail to comply with terms and 
conditions of a permit 

$100.00 $200.00 

2.60(a) 
Running-at-large, herding, 
driving across, allowing on, 
pasturing, or grazing of livestock 
of any kind within a park area 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.60(b) 
Violate terms and conditions of 
permit 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.61(a) 
Reside on park lands without a 
pennit 

$100.00 $100.00 

2.61(b) 
Violate the terms and conditions 
of the permit 

$100.00 $100.00 



STAT E (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

... "'" Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

2.62(a) 
Install a monument, memorial, 
tablet, structure, etc wlo 
authorization 

$50.00 $60.00 

2.62(b) 
Scattering ofhuman ashes from 
cremation wlo permit 

$50,00 $60.00 

2.62(c) 
Failure to abide by area 
designations and established 
conditions 

$50.00 $60.00 

2.62(d) 
Violate terms and conditions of 
permit 

$50.00 $60.00 

Part 3 - Boating and Water 
Use Activities 

3.2(b) 
Displaying identical/similar 
markings resembling the 
National Park Service 

$100.00 $60.00 

3.4(b) 
Fail to report an accident or 
collision 

$100.00 $210.00 

3.5(c) 
Violate directions issued by an 
authorized person who observes 
vessel being operated wilo 
sufficient lifesaving or 
firefighting devices 

$50,00 $110.00 

3.6(a) 
Operating a vessel in a reckless 
or negligent manner 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

3.6(b) 
Operating vessel under the 
influence of alcohol or 
controlled substance (DUI) 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

3.6(c) 
Failing to observe restriction 
established by regulatory marker 

550.00 $60.00 



STA~E (36 CFR) Current Fine .... 
Schedule 

Ill" Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

3.6(d) 
Operating a vessel and creating 
excessive wake 

.$50.00 $60.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$60.00 

$75.00 

$75.00 

3.6(e) 
Operating a vessel not propelled 
by hand withing 500 ft of 
swimming beach 

$100.00 

3.6(t) 
Improperly carrying passengers 

$50.00 

3.6(g) 
Attaching a vessel to or 
interfering with a marker or 
buoy 

$50.00 

3.6(h) 
Using trailers to launch or 
recover vessels 

$50.00 

3.6(i) 
Launching a vessel propelled by 
machinery at undesignated site 

$50.00 

3.6(k) 
Air boats prohibited 

$50.00 

3.6(1) 
Operating a vessel in excess of 
designated size 

$50.00 

- W.S. 41-13-203 
Careless Operation of 

Water craft (assimilate) 

- W.S. 41-13-213 
Failure to provide life jackets 
(assimilate) 

3.7 
Excessive boat noise 

$50.00 

3.20 
Water skiing - prohibited 

$50.00 

3.23(a) 
Scuba diving and snorkeling in 
areas designed as swimming, 
docking, or mooring areas 

$50.00 
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STATmE (36 CFR) 

3.23(b) 
Diving in waters open to the use 
of vessels w/o displaying a 
standard diving flag. 

Part 4 - Vehicles and Traffic 
Safety 

4.4(a) 
Not reporting accident resulting 
in property damage w/in 24 
hours 

Curnmt Fine 
Schedule 

$50.00 

$50.00 

.. .... 
.,.... Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

$75.00 

$100.00 

4.4(b) 
A person shall not tow or move 
a vehicle that has been involved 
in an accident w/o notification 

4.4(c) 
Failure to report an accident! 
leave the scene 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$200.00 

$200.00 

4.10(a) 
Operating a motor vehicle in 
prohibited areas 

- less than 100 feet wi no 
damage 
- more than 100 feet or with 
damage 

4.10(c)(1) 
Operating motor vehicle not 
equipped with pneumatic tires 

4.1O(c)(2) 
Operating motor vehicle and 
causing unreasonable damage to 
surface of road 

$25.00 

$100.00 

$25.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

4.11(b)(l) 
Operate vehicle that exceeds 
weight limits 

4.11(b)(2) 
Failure to obtain permit 

$50.00 

S50.00 

$100.00 

S400.00 



.... <If-STAroTE (36 CFR) Current Fine Proposed Fine 
Schedule Schedule 

4.11(b)(3) $50.00 $110.00 daytime 
Violate terms and conditions of $220.00 - nighttime 
permit 

4.12 
Fail to comply with a traffic 
control device 

Stop Sign $50.00 $60.00 
No Parking $25.00 $60.00 
Other Regulatory Sign $50.00 $60.00 

4.13(a) $100.00 
Stopping or parking upon the 
roadway 

$50.00 

4.13(b) $50.00 $100.00 
Operate a motor vehicle so 
slowly as to interfere with the 
normal flow of traffic 

4.14(b) $50.00 $110.00 
Carry or store open 
bottle/container containing 
alcoholic beverage 

4.14(d) $50.00 $110.00 
Having an open container of 
alcohol readily available ­
includes glove compartment 

4.15(a) $25.00 $50.00 each 
Occupants of care not using seat occupant 
belts 

See W.S. 31-5-1303 

$100.00 
Yielding the right of way to 
pedestrians, pack animals, etc. 

4.20 $50.00 

4.21(c) $20.00 $5.00 per 
Operate vehicle in excess of mile/$10.00 for 
posted speed limit construction zone 

(See last page of this 
fine schedule) 

4.22(b)(1 ) 5100.00 5250.00 
Operating a vehicle wlo due care 
- careless operation 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 
-­ Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

4.22(b)(2) 
Operate vehicle causing 
unnecessarily the tires to squeal 

$50.00 $100.00 

4.22(b)(3) 
Fail to main that degree of 
control of a motor vehicle 
necessary to avoid danger to 
persons, property, or wildlife 

$100.00 $100.00 

4.22(b)(4)(i) 
Operating a vehicle while 
allowing person to ride in a 
towed vehicle 

$50.00 $100.00 

4.22(b)(4)(ii) 
Operating a vehicle while 
allowing a person to ride on the 
exterior of the vehicle 

$50.00 $100.00 

4.23(a)(I) 
Operate vehicle while under the 
influence of alcohol to a degree 
that renders the operator 
incapable of safe operation of 
vehicle 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

4.23(a)(2) 
Operate vehicle while having a 
blood alcohol concentration of 
.10 or more 
(DUl) 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

4.23(c)(2) 
Refuse BAC Test 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

4.30(a) 
Use of a bicycle except on park 
roads or routes designated for 
use 

$50.00 $75.00 

4.30(d)(1) 
Possessing a bicycle in 
wilderness area 

$50.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

4.30(d)(2) 
Operating a bicycle in periods of 
low visibility - night and 
without lights 

$50.00 $75.00 



... 
STATtrfE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 

.... 111"" 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

; 
4.30(d)(3) 
Riding side-by-side on a bicycle 

$50.00 $50.00 

4.30(d)(4) 
Operating a bicycle while 
consuming an alcoholic 
beverage 

$50.00 $100.00 

4.31 $25.00 $25.00 
Hitchhiking or soliciting 
transportation 

Part 5 - Commercial and 
Private Operations 

5.1 $50.00 $50.00 
Displaying/posting commercial 
noticesl advertisements 

5.3 
Engage in business operations 
w/o a permit 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

:"­ 5.4(a) 
The commercial transportation 
of passengers in a motor vehicle 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

5.4(b) 
Having oversized passenger-
carrying motor vehicle requiring 
special escort 

$100.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

5.5(a) 
Cannot take motion pictures/ 
television w/o permit 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

5.5(b) 
Cannot take still photo of any 
vehicle or other articles of 

$500.00 Mandatory 
Appearance 

commerce for purposes of 
commercial advertising 

5.6(b) 
The unauthorized use of 

$100.00 $400.00 

government roads within a park 
area by commercial vehicles 

5.7 
Construction of building, boat 
dock, road. trail, etc. in park area 

M/A Mandatory 
Appearance 
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STATM'E (36 CFR) 

5.8(a) 
Discrimination in employment 
practices 

5.8(b) 
Failure to post notice 

5.9(a) 
Discrimination in furnishing 
public accommodations and 
transportation 

5.9(b) 
Failure to post notice 

5.10(a) 
Operating eating, drinking or 
lodging establishment wlo 
permit 

5.13 
Creation or maintenance of a 
nuisance in park area 

Current Fine 
Schedule 

MIA 

$25.00 

MIA 

$25.00 

MIA 

~ .... 

~ Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

$50.00 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

$50.00 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

- create/maintain nuisance $50.00 $50.00 

- tour bus/vehicle left idling $50.00 $75.00 

5.14 
Prospecting, mining and mineral 
leasing 

6.l2(a)(l) 
Operating a solid waste disposal 
site w/o a permit 

6. 12(a)(2) 
Operating a solid waste disposal 
site wlo proper form of bond or 
security 

6.12(a)(3) 
Operating a solid waste disposal 
site in violation of a term or 
requirement 

MIA Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 



'"'­ .... 
STATU'fE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 
.... Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

6. 12(a)(4) 
Operating a solid waste disposal 
site in violation of 40 CFR 257 
or 258 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Part 7 - Special Regulations, 
Areas of the National Park 
System 

7.13(a)(2) 
Transporting on Hwy 191 
hazardous materials 

$250.00 $330.00 

7.13(a)(4) 
Requirement of commercial 
vehicle permit 

$250.00 See 5.6(b) 
$400.00 

7.13(a)(5) 
Operate without or violate the 
conditions of the pennit 

$250.00 $300.00 

7.13(b)(1) 
Employee vehicle, operate motor 
vehicle on park roads while not 
properly registered 

$100.00 $125.00 

7.13(c) 

- Permits for oversized vehicles 

- small vehicle - flammable 
materials 

-large vehicle - flammable 
materials 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

See 4.11 ($100.00) 

$125.00 

$125.00 



STA"m'TE (36 CFR) 

7. 13(d)(2) 
(d)(3 )(i) 
(d)(3)(ii)(a) 
(d)(3)(ii)(b) 
(d)(4)(i) 
(d) (4)(ii) 
(d) (7) 
(d)(9)(i) 
(d)(ll) 
(d)(l2) 

7. 13(e)(4)
 
Fishing in Closed Waters
 

7. 13(e)(4) - cant.
 
Tackle & bate restrictions.
 

- one rod and one line only and 
must be closely attended 

- artificial flies or lures 

- lead headed jigs prohibited 

- snagging is prohibited 

- use/posses organic bait 

- dispose of fish entrails in 
back country 

Current Fine -r Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

Brook Trout ­
$50.00 -I- $5lfish 

Cutthroat ­
$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

S50.00 

Schedule 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$110.00 
$100.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

Brook Trout -­
$110.00 + $lOlfish ­
to 5 (over 5, 
Mandatory 
Appearance) 

Cutthroat - $110.00 
+$20/fish to 5 (over 
5, Mandatory 
Appearance) 

Grayling and 
Mountain Whitefish 
-Mandatory 
Appearance 

$60.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 



... .......
 
STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 

,... 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

Front Country 
$50.00 

Back Country 
$200.00 

7.13(h) 
Dogs/Cats in Back Country 

7.13(j) 
Foot travel in all thennal areas 
and within the Yellowstone 
Canyon must be confined to 
boardwalks or trails 

$50.00 $100.00 

$100.007. 13(k) 
Portable engines and 
motors/motor-driven chain saws, 
etc., are prohibited 

$50.00 

7.13 (1)(1) 
Snowmobiling 

- off of roadway $50.00 $100.00 

- when Dunraven Pass is closed $50.00 $100.00 

- No valid D.L. or pennit $50.00 $50.00 

- No supervising adult 

-­

$50.00 $50.00 

7.13(1)(I)(m) 
Bathing/Swimming in natural, 
historical or archeological 
thennal pools or streams is 
prohibited 

$50.00 $100.00 

$50.00 

Validation and display of 
entrance permits 

71.8(a) 
Entry pennit must be validated 
by signature of bearer 

$25.00 



~ 
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ST~ TE (36 CFR) Current Fin;-'I 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

71.8(b) 
All annual, lifetime and single-
visit permits shall not be 
transferable 

- single visit $100.00 $100.00 

- annual permit $100.00 $300.00 

- National Park Pass $100.00 $300.00 

- Golden Access, Age, Eagle $100.00 $400.00 

71.8(c) 
Must exhibit pass on demand 

$25.00 $75.00 

Wyoming State Traffic 
Regulations (36 CFR 4.2) 

Will Assimilate most traffic 
violations in concurrent and 
proprietary jurisdiction areas 
to State Collateral Fine 
Schedule 

Speeding $20.00 court 
costs plus $2.00 
per mile over 

$5.00 per mile over 
posted speed limit; 
25 miles per hour 
over posted limit -
Mandatory 
Appearance 

Construction Zones 
- $10.00 per mile 
over posted speed 
limit; 25 miles per 
hour over posted 
limit - Mandatory 
Appearance 



W FINE SCHEDULE-'
 

u.s. FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE 

STATUTE (50 CFR) Current Proposed 
Fine Sched ule Fine Schedule 

Code of Federal
 
Regulations Part 13
 

General Fish and Wildlife
 
Service Permit Regulations
 

$100.0013.25 $100.00 
Unauthorized transfer ofFWS 
issued pennit. 

$35.00 $100.00 
Failure to notify new address 
of FWS permittee. 

13.27 

13.28 $35.00 $100.00 
Failure to notify name change 
ofFWS permittee. 

13.41 Mandatory $100.00/Mandatory 
'"­

Failure to maintain humane Appearance Appearance 
and healthful conditions for . 
permitted wildlife. 

$100.0013.43 $100.00 
Unauthorized altering ofFWS 
permit. 

13.44 $35.00 $100.00 
Failure to display FWS 
permit. 

13.45 $150.00 $150.00 
Failure to file required 
reports. 

13.46 $150.00 $150.00 
Failure to maintain records 
required by FWS permit. 

13.47 $150.00 $150.00 
Failure to allow inspection of 
activity authorized by FWS 
pennit. 



STATUTE~ CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

.........-­ Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 14 

General Regulations for 
Importation, Exportation, 

and Transportation of 
Wildlife 

14.11 
Knowingly import, or export 
wildlife at a non-designated 
port of entry. 

$250.00 $250.00 

l4.l4(b) 
Knowingly unload in transit 
shipment in U.S.. 

$250.00 $250.00 

14.20 
Knowingly, import/export at 
non-designated port w/o 
permit. 

$150.00 $150,00 

14,51 
Knowingly fail to allow 
detention and inspection of 
imported or exported wildlife. 

$150.00 $150.00 

14.52 
Knowingly release for U.S. 
Customs imported or 
exported wildlife without 
FWS clearance. 

$250.00 $250.00 

14.61 
Knowingly import wildlife 
without filing a declaration of 
imported wildlife. 

$250.00 $250.00 

14,63 
Knowingly export wildlife 
without filing declaration of 
exported wildlife 

$250.00 $250.00 

14.81 
Knowingly ship in interstate 
or foreign commerce wildlife 
without marked containers. 

$250.00 $250.00 



STATUTE~ CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

.....­ Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

14.82 
Knowingly ship in interstate 
or foreign commerce wildlife 
without complying with 
marking alternatives 

$250.00 $250.00 

14.91 
Knowingly import or export 
wildlife without the required 
import or export license. 

$350.00 $350.00 

14.103 
Knowingly, import, transport 
...wild birds or mammals in 
violation of humane transport 
regulations. 

$100.00IMandatory 
Appearance 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 15 

Wild Bird Conservation Act 
Regulations 

15.11(a) 
Knowingly, commit or 
attempt to commit any 
violation of regulations. 

$150.00 - non 
commercial 

$1,000 - commercial 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 16 

Regulate Importation or 
Shipment of Injurious 

Species 

16.3 
Import fish or eggs of the 
Family Salmonidae. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

l6.11(a) 
Import, transport, or acquire 
prohibited species of live 
mammals. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

16.11(b) 
Release of imported live wild 
mammals or progeny to the 
wild without authorization. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 
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STATu1W5o CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

,.... 
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

5500.00 

16.12(a) 
Import, transport, or acquire 
prohibited species of live 
birds or eggs thereof. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16.12(b) 
Release of imported live wild 
game birds or progeny to the 
wild without authorization. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16.12(d) 
Importation of eggs of wild 
non-game birds. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16.13(a)(1) 
Importation of fish or eggs of 
the Family Cleridae. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16. 13(b)(1 ) 
Importation of live or dead 
fish or eggs of the Family 
Salmonidae which are not 
processed. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16.14 
Release of imported live wild 
amphibians or progeny or 
eggs thereof to the wild. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

16.15 
Release of imported live 
reptiles or progeny or eggs 
thereof to the wild. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

l6.22(b)(1 ) 
Failure to properly confine 
injurious species. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 17 
Endangered Wildlife 

Regulations 

17.21(a) 
Knowingly, commit or 
attempt to commit any 
endangered wildlife 
prohibition. 



""-",,, 

r-"" 
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

$500.00 
, 

STATUTPrSO CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

17.21(b) 
Knowingly, import or export 
endangered wildlife. 

17.21(c) 
Knowingly, take endangered 
wildlife within U.S., 
territorial seas, or high seas. 

17.21(d) 
Knowingly, possess, sell, 
deliver, carry, transport, or 
ship any endangered wildlife 
taken in violation of 
paragraph (c). 

17.21(e) 
Knowingly, deliver, receive, 
carry, transport, or ship, in 
commercial activity, 
endangered wildlife. 

, 
17.21(f) 
Knowingly, sell or offer for 
sale endangered wildlife in 
interstate or foreign 
commerce. 

l7.21(g) 
Knowingly, violate captive 
bred endangered wildlife 
regulations. 

17.32 
Knowingly, violate general 
permit regulations for 
threatened wildlife. 

17.40 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
mammals. 

17.41 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
birds. 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$1,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$350.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00
 



IlJII 

STATUTr(SO CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

17.42 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
reptiles. 

$500.00 

17.43 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
amphibians. 

$500.00 

17.44 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
fishes. 

$500.00 

17.45 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
snails & clams. 

$500.00 

17.46 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
crustaceans. 

$500.00 

17.47 
Knowingly, violate special 
rule regulations for threatened 
insects. 

$500.00 

17.84 
Knowingly violate special 
rule regulations for 
vertebrates. 

$500.00 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 19 

Airborne Hunting Act 
Regulations 

19.11(a)(l) 
Shoot from aircraft for the 
purpose of capturing or 
killing wildlife. 

$1,000.00 

19.1l(a)(2) 
Use aircraft to harass wildlife. 

$500.00 



~ .... 

ProposedSTATU 50 CFR) 

19.1l(a)(3) 
Knowingly participate in 
using aircraft to shoot or 
harass wildlife. 

19.32(a) 
Failure to file annual report. 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

$150.00 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 20 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act 
Hunting Regulations 

20.21(a) 
Take with illegal device or 
substance. 

\ 
/ 

20.21(b) 
Take with shotgun - holding 
more than 3 shells. 

$150.00 

$150.0020.21(c) 
Take by means, aid or sink 
box. 

20.21(d) 
Take by means of motor 
driven conveyance. 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$250.00 

20.21(e) 
Take by means of motor boat 
or other craft under power. 

20.21(f) 
Take by use or aid of live 
birds. 

20.21(g) 
Take by use or aid of 
recorded bird calls. 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

20.21(h) 
Take by means of motor 
driven conveyance for driving 
or stirring waterfowl. 

20.21(i) 
Take by use of bait. 

..."'" 
Fine Schedule 

$500.00 

$200.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 



'. 

STATUT~O CFR) 

20.21m 
Take in violation of lead shot 
regulations. 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

$150.00 

- Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$150.00 

20.22 
Take during closed season. 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.23 
Take before or after legal 
hours. 

$150. $150.00 

20.24 
Exceeding daily bag limit. 

$250.00 $250.00 

20.25 
Wanton waste. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.26(c) 
Failure to comply with 
temporary closure regs.. 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

. ­

20.31 
Possession of birds taken 
violation of20.21 thru .23 . 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

..' .' 20.32 
Possess freshly killed bird in 
closed season. 

$200.00 plust $50.00 
per bird 

$200.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.33 
Exceed possession limit. 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.34 
Possession in excess of daily 
limit on opening day. 

$200.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$200.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.35 
Possess or transport in excess 
of daily limit. 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$150.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.36 
Violation of tagging 
regulations. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.37 
Custody of untagged birds. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.38 
Live wounded bird in 
posseSSlOn. 

$100 plus $50.00 per 
bird 

5100.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 
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STATU 50 CFR) 

20.40 
Gift of improperly tagged 
migratory game bird. 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

'"'" Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$100.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 

20.41 
Transportation of birds taken 
or possessed in violation of 
20.21 thru 20.23. 

20.42 
Transportation of untagged 
birds of another person. 

$150.00 

$150.00 

20.43 
Transport birds without 
species identification. 

$150.00 

20.44 
Mis or non-mark of package 
in U.S. as required. 

$150.00 

20.51 
Exportation of birds taken in 
violation of20.21 thru .23. 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.52 
Export birds with species 
identification removed 

$150.00 

20.53 
Mis or non-marking of 
package export as required. 

$150.00 

20.61(a) 
Import in excess of 
importation limits - Doves. 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.61(b) 
Import excess of importation 
limits - waterfowl. 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.62 
Import birds of another. 

$150.00 

20.63 
Import birds with species 
identification removed. 

5150.00 

20.64 
Import, possess, transport or 
ship without required pennits. 

5150.00 



--"
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STATUTE(50 CFR) Current 

Fine Schedule 

.JJ - Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

20.65 
Import birds not drawn or 
dressed as required. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.66 
Mis or non-marking of 
package import as required. 

$100.00 $100.00 

20.71 
Take possess, transport, ship 
or export in violation of 
Federal law. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.72 
Take, possess, transport, ship 
or export in violation of State 
law. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.73 
Import, possess, transport or 
ship any; bird taken contrary 
to regulations of foreign 
country. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.81 
Commercial facility with 
untagged birds. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.82 
Violation of record keeping 
requirements. 

$150.00 $150.00 

20.83 
Not permitting premise 
inspection. 

$250.00 $250.00 

20.91(a) 
Purchase, sell or offer the 
feathers of migratory birds. 

$250.00 $250.00 

20.91(b) 
Purchase, sell or offer 
mounted specimens. 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 

20.133 
Violation of crow hunting 
regulations. 

$50.00 $50.00 



~ 

STATUTE(50 CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 21 

Migratory Bird Permits 

21.11 
Import, export, take sell, 
purchase, possess or dispose 
wlo authorization. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21. 14(f) 
Failure to retain or furnish a 
3-186 upon transfer of birds. 

$150.00 $150.00 

21.21 
Importation or exportation of 
bird wlo a pennit. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.22(a) 
Violation of banding and 
marking permit 
requirements.. 

$150.00 $150.00 

21.23 
Violation of scientific 
collecting pennit requirement. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.24 
Violation of taxidermy pennit 
requirements. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.25 
Violation of Waterfowl sale 
and disposal permits. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.27 
Violation of special purpose 
regulations. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.28 
Violation of falconry pennit 
requirements. 

$250.00 $250.00 

21.29 
Violation of facility 
standards. 

$200.00 $200.00 

21.41 
Violation of depredation 
pennit requirements. 

5150.00 $150.00 



STATUTE~OCFR) 

21.42 
Kill depredating birds other 
than by pennitted method. 

21.43 
Violation of depredating 
control requirements for non­
game birds. 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

$100.00 

$150.00 

-.. - Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$100.00 

$150.00 

1--· 

_/ 

i 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 22 Eagle 

Permits 

22.11 
Knowingly take, posses or 
transport eagle. 

22.12 
Knowingly sell, purchase, 
trade, export, import eagle. 

22.21 
Knowingly violate eagle 
pennit requirements for 
scientific or exhibition. 

22.22 
Knowingly violate eagle 
pennit requirements for 
Indian religious purposes. 

22.23 
Knowingly violate eagle 
pennit requirements for 
depredation purposes. 

22.32 
Knowingly violate eagle 
pennit conditions for taking 
depredating eagles. 

$1,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$250.00 

$300.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$1,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 25 

National Wildlife Refuge 
Systems Administration 

Provisions 



STATUT OCFR)
 

25.42 $100.00 $100.00 
Failure to display permit 
when required. 

25.72 $100.00 $100.00 
Failure to report accidents. 

Code of Federal
 
Regulations Part 26
 

National Wildlife Refuge
 
Systems Public entry and
 

Use
 

26.21(a)
 
Trespass by person on a
 
refuge.
 

26.21(b)
 
Permit unconfined domestic
 
animal to enter refuge.
 

26.22(a) 
Enter or use NWR without 
complying with Regulations 
in Subchapter C;Special 
Regulations in 50 CFR; or 
Official Notification outlined 
in 25.31. 

26.22(b)
 
Enter refuge without
 
acquiring required permit.
 

26.36 
Conduct public assembly 
without permit. 

Code of Federal
 
Regulations Part 27
 

National Wildlife Refuge
 
Systems Prohibited Acts
 

Take any animal or plant 
without authorization. 

Current
 
Fine Schedule
 

$200.00
 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per animal 

$150.00
 

$150.00
 

$150.00
 

5250.00 plus $10.00 
per pound of antler 

Proposed
 
Fine Schedule
 

$100.00
 

$100.00 plus $50.00 
per animal 
Dogs off leash within 
100 yards $75.00 

$150.00
 

$150.00
 

Big Game - $410.00 
Other - $250.00 
Shed Antlers - $250.00 
, $1 O.OO/Lbs. 

27.21 



STATUTE CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

~-­ Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

27.31 
Travel on other than 
designated route. 

$150.00 $250.00 - Aggravated 
$50.00 - Non-

Aggravated 

27.31(a) 
Operate a vehicle in violation 
of State law. 

$75.00 $75.00 

27.31(b) 
Operate vehicle under the 
influence of drugs or alcohol. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

27.31(c) 
Operate vehicle carelessly or 
heedlessly. 

27.31(d) 
Exceed 25 mph or posted 
speed limit. 

$100.00 

State Collateral 

$100.00 

"',---­

State Collateral 

27.31(e) 
Operate vehicle without 
muffler or spark arrester. 

$100.r $100.00 

27.31(f) 
Operate vehicle wit" ..it 
license plate or ,slstration. 

$50.00 $100.00 

27.31(l!1 
Or" ~le \ehicle without a 
...nver's license. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

27.31(h) 
Block road access for other 
vehicles. 

$50.00 $50.00 

27.31(i) 
Failure to obey orders of 
traffic control officers. 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory Appearance 

27.31U) 
Operate over sized/over 
weight vehicle. 

$50.00 $50.00 

27.31(k) 
Unauthorized moving of a 
vehicle involved in an 
accident. 

$50.00 $50.00 



STATUTE CFR) 

JI 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

-
27.31(1) 
Operate vehicle without 
proper headlights, taillights, 
or brake lights. 

S50.00 $50.00 

S100.00 

$ tOO.OO 

Coast Guard 
regulations apply 

State law regulations 
would apply 

S250.00 

Mandatory Appearance 

S100.00 

$100.00 

SlOO.OO 

S50.00 

S50.00 

27.31(m) 
Violation of other established 
special vehicle requirements. 

S100.00 

27.32(a) 
Use of a boat in a closed area 
of refuge. 

$100.00 

27.32(b)(l)(i) 
Operate a boat in violation of 
u.s. Coast Guard laws. 

Coast Guard 
regulations apply 

27.32(b)(1)(ii) 
Operate boat in violation of 
state laws. 

State law regulations 
apply 

27.32(b)(2) 
Operate a boat in reckless or 
negligent manner. 

$250.00 

27.32(b)(3) 
Operation of boat under 
influence of an intoxicant. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

27.32(b)(4) 
Interfere with the operation of 
other boats. 

S100.00 

27.32(b)(5) 
Operate boat without proper 
marine head. 

S100.00 

27.32(b)(6) 
Operate a sailboat without 
required lights. 

SlOO.OO 

27.32(b)(7) 
Leave boat unattended for 72 
hours. 

$50.00 

27.32(b)(8) 
Unauthorized use of a 
government boat dock. 

S50.00 



STATUT CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

..011 

1­
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

27.33 
Unauthorized waterskiing on 
a refuge. 

$50.00 $50.00 

27.34 
Unauthorized landing of an 
aircraft on refuge. 

$250.00 $250.00 

27.41 
Carry, possess, or discharge 
fireworks or explosives. 

$150.00 $100.00 

27.42 
Carry, possess, or discharge a 
firearm. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.43 
Use of weapons other than 
firearms. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.51 
Disturb, injure, damage 
pIantianimals. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.52 
Introduction of plants and 
animals.. 

$150.00 $150.00 

27.61 
Destruction or removal of 
public or private property. 

$200.00 plus repair 
costs 

$200.00 plus repair 
costs 

27.62 
Search for or removal of 
objects of antiquity. 

$200lMandatory 
Appearance 

$200.OO/Mandatory 
Appearance 

27.63(a) 
Search for valued stones, 
gems. 

$200.OO/Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00/Mandatory 
Appearance 

27.64 
Conduct prospecting or 
mining operations. 

$200.00 $200.00 

27.65 
Tamper with vehicles or 
equipment. 

$250.00 $250.00 

27.71 
Take or film motion pictures 
for commercial lise. 

$500.00 $500.00 



STATUT~OCFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

-'"- Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

27.72 
Cause unreasonable 
disturbance with audio 
equipment. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.73 
Use of artificial light to locate 
wildlife. 

$200.00 $200.00 

27.81 
Enter refuge under the 
influence of alcohol. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

27.82(b)(1) 
Deliver controlled substance. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

27.82(b)(2) 
Possess less than two ounces 
of a controlled substance. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

27.83 

Indecency and disorderly 
conduct 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.84 
Interference with persons 
engaging in authorized 
activity. 

$500.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$500.00 or 
Mandatory Appearance 

27.85 
Gambling. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.86 
Begging and soliciting. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.91 
Conducting field trails. 

$100.00 $100.00 

27.92 
Construct, install, occupy 
private structure. 

$500.00 $500.00 

27.93 
Abandon private property. 

$200.00 $200.00 

27.94(a) 
Simple littering 
Disposal of sewage 
Disposal of chemicals 

5100,00 
$150.00 
5500.00 

$100.00 
$150.00 
$500.00 



STATUT oCFR) 

27.95(a) 
Setting unauthorized fire. 

Current 
Fine Schedule 

S100.00 

r-
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

S100.00 

27.95(b) 
Leaving fire unattended. 

27.95(c) 
Throw burning cigarette, 
match, etc., where it may start 
a fire. 

27.95(d) 
Smoke in non-smoking area. 

27.96 
Advertising. 

27.97 
Conduct private commercial 
operation. 

28.31 
Violate any provision, rule, 
regulation sign or special 
regulation. 

S100.00 

$100.00 

$35.00 

SlOO.OO 

S250.00 

$250.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$50.00 

SlOO.OO 

$250.00 

$250.00 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 31 

National Wildlife Refuge 
Systems Wildlife Refuges 
Commercial Fishing and 

Trapping 

31.13 
No refuge commercial 
fishing. 

$250.00 $250.00 

31.16 
Violation of trapping permit, 
regulations. 

State law S200.00 $200.00 
Permit conditions S200.00 200.00 
Failure to inspect S200.00 200.00 
Unlawful sets $250.00 250.00 
Each animal S250.00 250.00 



STATUT~O CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 32 

National Wildlife Refuge 
Systems Hunting on Refuge 

32.2(a) 
Hunt without a State Law. 

$200.00 Same as State Penalty 

32.2(b) 
Hunting without a migratory 
waterfowl/hunting stamp. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

$150.00 

32.2(c) 
Hunt in violation of Federal 
Law. 

$200.00 $200.00 

32.2(d) 
Hunt in violation of State 
Law. 

$200.00 $200.00 

32.2(e) 
Hunt in violation of special 
access requirements. 

$50.00 $100.00 

32.2(f) 
Failure to comply with 
special regulations regarding 
hunting. 

$50.00 $100.00 

32.2(g) 
Bow hunt with any drug on 
an arrow. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

32.5(a) 
Fish without a State license. 

$150.00 $150.00 

32.5(b) 
Fish in violation of Federal 
law. 

same as state same as state 

32.5(c) 
Fish in violation of State law. 

same as state same as state 

32.5(d) 
Fish in violation of special 
access requirements. 

$350.00 $50.00 

-
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STATUTE~ CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

~-­ Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

32,5(e) 
Failure to comply with 
special regulations regarding 
fishing. 

$35.00 $50.00 

33.2(a) 
Fishing without state license 

state collateral state collateral 

33.2(d) 
terms and conditions of 
access and use 

$50.00 $35.00 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act 
Violations 

16 U.S.c. 703 
Taking, pursuing, hunting, 
capturing, etc. or offer bird, 
their parts, nest, or egg. 

$250.00 plus $250.00 
per bird 

$250.00 plus $50.00 
per bird 
Oil Pit Violations 
$250.00Ibird W/O 

cleanup 
$83.00 W cleanup 

16 U.S.c. 704(b)(l) 
Knowingly or reasonably 
should have known, take 
migratory game bird by aid of 
bait or on or over baited area. 

$500.00 

16 U.S.c. 704 (b)(2) 
Knowing, places bait for the 
purpose of inducing or 
allowing person to take or 
attempt to take migratory 
game birds. 

$1,000.00 

16 U.S.c. 705 
Ship, transport, carry in 
interstate or foreign 
commerce any bird, part, nest, 
egg, etc. 

$250.00 



, , 

\ 
\ 
} 

"'" 
STATUT~O CFR) Current 

Fine Schedule 

j-
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

Endangered Species Act 
Violations 

16 U.S.c. 1538(A) 
Import or export endangered 
specIes. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 U.S.c. 1538(B) 
Take of endangered species in 
U.S.. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 U.S.c. 1538(C) 
Take of endangered species 
on high sea. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 U.S.c. 1538(D) 
Possess, sell, deliver, carry, 
transport or ship an 
endangered species. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 V.S.c. 1538(E) 
Deliver, receive, carry, 
transport in interstate 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

commerce. 

16 U.S.C. 1538(F) 
Sell or offer for sale. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 U.S.C. 1538(G) 
Violate regulation pertaining 
to threatened species. 

$1,000.00 $1000.00 

16 U.S.C. 1538(2)(A) 
Import or export endangered 
plant. 

$500.00 $500.00 

16 U.S.C. 1538(2)(B) 
Remove and reduce to 

$500.00 $500.00 

possession damage or destroy 
endangered plant. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(2)(c) 
Ship in interstate commerce 
an endangered plant. 

$500.00 $500.00 

Lacey Act Violations 
16 U.S.C. 3372 



......
 
STATUTE ~ CFR) Current 

Fine Schedule 
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

Commercial: $1500.00 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $500.00 
All Other: $250.00 

Commercial: $1500.00 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $500.00 
Other $250.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.OO/Mandatory 
Appearance 

-­
16 U.S.C. 3372(a)(1) 
Knowingly import, export, 
transport, sell, receive, 
acquire or purchase any fish 
or wildlife or plant, taken or 
possessed in violation of any 
law. 

Commercial: $1500 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $1250 
All Other: $500 

16 U.S.c. 3372(a)(2)(A)(B) 
Knowingly import, export, 
transport, sell, receive acquire 
or purchase in interstate or 
foreign commerce. 

Commercial: $1500 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $1250 
Other: $500 

16 U.S.c. 3372(a)(3)(A)(B) 
Within the Special maritime 
and Territorial jurisdiction of 
the United States: knowingly 
possess any fish, wildlife or 
plant taken, possessed, 
transported, or sold in 
violation of any law or 
regulation of any State. 

$500.00 

16 U.S.C. 3372(a)(4) 
Knowingly having imported, 
exported, transported, sold, 
purchased or received any 
fish or wildlife or plant 
imported for any foreign 
country. 

$500.00 

16 U.S.C. 3372(a)(5) 
Attempt to commit any act 
described in 3372(a) 
paragraphs (1) through (4). 

$500.00 

American Antiquities Act 
16 U.S.C. 433 

Appropriate, excavate, injure, 
or destroy historic or 
prehistoric ruin or monument 
of any object of antiquity. 

$500.00/Mandatory 
Appearance 

Duck Stamp Act 
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STATUTE~ CFR) Current 
Fine Schedule 

..... 
Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

16 U.S.C. 718(a) 
Hunt migratory waterfowl 
wlo a duck stamp. 

$150.00 $150.00 

16 U.S.C. 718(b) 
Hunt migratory waterfowl 
with unsigned duck stamp. 

$50.00 $50.00 

16 U.S.C. 718(e) 
Loan/Transfer duck stamp. 

$150.00 $150.00 

16 U.S.c. 718(e)(b) 
Alter, mutilate, imitate or 
counterfeit duck stamp. 

$500.00 $500.00 
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FINE SCHEDULE
 
UNITED STATES FOREST SERVICE 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Interfering with a Forest Service 
Officer 

261.3(a) 
Threatening, resisting, intimidating or 
interfering with officer 

$500.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$500.00 

261.3(b) 
Giving any false, fictitious or 
fraudulent report or other information 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.3(c) 
Threatening, intimidating or 
intentionally interfering with officer 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$500.00 

Disorderly Conduct 

261.4(a) 
Engaging in fighting 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.4(b) 
Addressing any offensive, derisive, or 
annoying communication to any other 
person 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.4(c) 
Make statements or other actions 
directed toward inciting or producing 
imminent lawless action 

$250.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$250.00 

261.4(d) 
Causing public inconvenience, 
annoyance, or alarm by ma1dng 
unreasonable loud noise. 

$100.00 $100.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Fire 

261.5(a) 
Carelessly or negligently throwing or 
placing any ignited substance that may 
cause fire 

$100.00 $200.00 

261.5(b) 
Firing any tracer bullet or incendiary 
ammunition 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 

261.5(c) 
Causing timber, trees, slash, brush, or 
grass to burn except as authorized by 
pennit 

$150.00 $150.00 

261.5(d) 
Leaving a fire without completing 
extinguishing it 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.5(e) 
Allowing a fire to escape from control 

$150.00 $150.00 

261.5(f) 
Building, attending, maintaining or 
using a campfire without removing all 
flammable material from around 
campfire 

$50.00 5100.00 

Timber and Other Forest Products 

261.6(a) 
Cutting or otherwise damaging any 
timber, tree, or other forest product 

1st Tree 
Each Add' 1. Tree $100.00 

$50.00 
$100.00 
$50.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.6(b) 
Cutting any standing tree, under permit 
or timber sale contract, before marked 

1sl Tree 

Each Add'l Tree $100.00 
$75.00 

$100.00 
$75.00 

261.6(c) 
Removing any timber or other product 
cut under permit or timber sale contract 

$500.00/Manda 
tory 
Appearance 

$500.00 

261.6(d) 
Stamping, marking with paint, or 
otherwise identifying any tree or 
product in a manner similar to that 
employed by the Forest Service 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

261.6(e) 
Loading, removing or hauling timber 
or other product acquired under permit 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.6(f) 
Selling or exchanging any timber or 
other forest product obtained under free 
use 

$100.00 $200.00 

261.6(g) 
Violating any timber export or 
substitution restriction 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

261.6(h) 
Removing timber, tree or other 
product, except as authorized by 
special use contract 

Without Permit 
No Validation 

$100.00 
S50.00 

$150.00 
$100.00 

261.6(i) 
Violating the Forest Resources 
Conservation and Shortage Relief Act 
of 1990 

$200.00 $500.00 

.­



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

Livestock 

261.7(a) 
Placing or allowing unauthorized 
livestock to enter or be in the National 
Forest/lands 

$100.00 $250.00 

261. 7(b) 
Not removing unauthorized livestock 
from National Forest lands after 
requested 

$100.00 $250.00 

261.7(c) 
Failing to reclose any gate or other 
entry 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.7(d) 
Molesting, injuring, removing or 
releasing any impounded livestock 

$500.00 $500.00 

Fish and Wildlife 

261.8(a) 
Hunting, trapping, fishing, catching, 
molesting, killing or having in 
possession any kind of wild animal 

Big Game/Bear and Cougar 
Fish and Small Game $500.00 

$100.00 
$500.00 
$100.00 

261.8(b) 
Possessing a firearm or other 
implement designed to discharge a 
missile capable ofdestroying animal 
life 

$150.00 $150.00 

261.8(c) 
Possessing equipment which could be 
used for hunting, fishing, or trapping 

$75.00 $75.00 

261.8(d) 
Possessing a dog not on a leash or 
otherwise confined 

$35.00 $50,00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.8(e) 
Curtail the free movement of any 
animal or plant life into or out of a 
cave 

$75.00 $75.00 

Property 

261.9(a) 
Damaging any natural feature or other 
property 

$200.00 $250.00 

261.9(b) 
Removing any natural feature or other 
property 

$200.00 $250.00 

261.9(c) 
Damaging any plant that is classified as 
a threatened, endangered, sensitive, 

. .
rare or umque species 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

\ 
261.9(d) 
Removing any plant that is classified 
as a threatened, endangered, sensitive, 

. .
rare or umque species 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

261.9(e) 
Entering any building, structure, or 
enclosed area owned or controlled by 
the U.S. and not open to public 

$200.00 $200.00 

261.9(f) 
Using any pesticide except for personal 
use as an insect repellant, etc. 

$50.00 $200.00 

261.9(g) 
Digging in, excavating, disturbing, 
inuring, destroying or in any way 
damaging any paleontological 
resource, etc. 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 

261.9(11) 
Removing any paleontological, 
prehistoric, historic, or archeological 
resource, structure, etc. 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 

Schedule 
Proposed Fine 

Schedule 

261.9(i) 
Excavating, damaging, or removing 
any vertebrate fossil 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 

261.9(j) 
Excavating, damaging, or removing 
any cave resource from a cave wlo 
authorization 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200.00 

Occupancy and Use 

261.10(a) 
Constructing, placing, or maintaining 
any kind of road, trail, structure, fence, 
enclosure, etc. wlo auth. 

$200.00 $200.00 

261.10(b) 
Taking possession of, occupying, or 
otherwise using lands for residential 
purposes 

$200.00 $200.00 

, 

,­
261.10(c) 
Selling or offering for sale any 
merchandise or conducting any kind of 
work activity or service 

Selling 
Conducting Business 

261.10(d) 
Discharging a firearm or any other 
implement capable of taking human 
life, causing injury or damaging 
property 

261.1 O(e) 
Abandoning any personal property 

$100.00 
$250.00 

$200.00 
$500.00 

$150.00 $200.00 

$100.00 $150.00 

261.10(f) 
Placing a vehicle or other object in 
such a manner that it is an impediment 
or hazard 

$100.00 $100.00 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.10(g) 
Commercial distribution of printed 
material wlo auth. 

$75.00 $100.00 

261.10(h) 
Delaying, halting or preventing 
administrative use of an area when 
distributing printed material 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.10(i) 
Operating or using in or near a 
campsite, developed recreation site or 
adjacent water any device which 
produces noise: radio, television, 
musical instrument as to unreasonably 
disturb any person 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.10U) 
Operating or using a public address 
system in or near a campsite or 
developed recreation site 

$75.00 $75.00 

261.1O(k) 
Use or occupancy of land or facilities 
wlo authorization 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.10(1) 
Violating any term or condition of 
special-use authorization, contract or 
operating plan 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.1O(m) 
Failing to stop a vehicle when directed 
to do so by a Forest Officer 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.10(n) 
Failing to pay any special use fee or 
other charges 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

261.1 O(0) 
Discharging or igniting a firecracker, 
rocket, or other firework or explosive 
into or within a cave 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Sanitation 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) 

261.11(a) 
Depositing in any toilet, toilet vault, or 
plumbing fixture any substance which 
could damage or interfere with 
operations or maintenance 

26 1.11 (b) 
Possessing or leaving refuse, debris, or 
litter in an exposed or unsanitary 
condition 

Current Fine 
Schedule 

$75.00 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

$150.00 

,-. 

." 

Possessing 
Leaving 

261.l1(c) 
Placing in or near a stream, lake, or 
other water any substance which does 
or may pollute the water 

261.11(d) 
Failing to dispose of garbage 

261.11(e) 
Dumping of any refuse, trash or litter 
brought from private property 

Forest Development Roads and 
Trails 

261.12(a) 
Violating the load, weight, height, 
length, or width limitations as 
prescribed by State law 

261.12(b) 
Failing to have a vehicle weighed at 
weighing station 

261.12(c) 
Damaging and leaving in a damaged 
condition any road, trail, or segment 
thereof 

$100.00 
$100.00 

$200.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$100.00 

$150.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 
$150.00 

$200.00 

$100.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.l2(d) 
Blocking, restricting, or interfering 
with the use of a road, trail, or gate 

$50.00 $100.00 

Use of Vehicles Off Roads 

26I.l3(a) 
Operate vehicle wlo a valid license 

$50.00 $75.00 

261. 13(b) 
Operate vehicle wlo an operable 
braking system 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.l3(c) 
Operate vehicle from Y2 hour after 
sunset to 12 hour before sunrise wlo 
head and tail lights 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.l3(d) 
Operate vehicle in violation of 
applicable noise emission standard 

$35.00 $50.00 

261. 13 (e) 
Operate vehicle while under the 
influence of alcohol or drug 

$500.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$500.00 

261.13(f) 
Creating excessive or unusual smoke 

$35.00 $50.00 

261. 13(g) 
Operate a vehicle carelessly, 
recklessly, or wlo regard for the safety 
of any person or property 

Careless 
Reckless 

$100.00 or 
M.A. 
$200.00 or 
M.A. 

$200.00 

$500.00 

261.l3(h) 
Operate vehicle in a manner which 
damages or disturbs the land, wildlife 
or vegetative resources 

$200.00 $200.00 



;' 

~ 'W 

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.13(i) 
Operate vehicle in violation of state 
law 

$75.00 $75.00 

Developed Recreation Sites 

261.14(a) 
Occupying any portion of the site for 
other than recreation purposes 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.14(b) 
Building, attending, maintaining, or 
using a fire outside of a fire ring 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.14(c) 
Cleaning or washing personal propeliy, 
fish, animal, or food at a hydrant or 
water faucet 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.14(d) 
Discharging or igniting a firecracker, 
rocket or other firework or explosive 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.14(e) 
Occupying between 10:00 p.m. and 
6:00 a.m. a place designated for day 
use only 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.14(f) 
Failing to remove all camping 
equipment or personal property 

$35.00 $75.00 

261.14(g) 
Placing, maintaining, or using camping 
equipment in a non designated area 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.14(h) 
WIO permission, failing to have at 
least one person occupy a camping area 
during first night 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.14(i) 
Leaving camping equipment 
unattended for more than 24 hours 

$50.00 $75.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.14(j) 
Bringing in or possessing an animal, 
unless crated, caged, or on leash 

$35.00 $50.00 

261. 14(k) 
Bringing in or possessing in a 
swimming area an animal 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.14(1) 
Brining in or possessing a saddle, pack, 
or draft animal wlo auth. 

$50.00 $50.0n 

261. 14(m) 
Operating or parking a motor vehicle 
or trailer except in placed developed or 
designated for purpose 

$35.00 $50.00 

261. 14(n) 
Operating a bicycle, motorbike, or 
motorcycle on a trail unless designated 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.14(0) 
Operating a motorbike, motorcycle or 
other vehicle for any purpose other 
than entering or leaving site 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.14(p) 
Depositing any body waste except into 
receptacles 

$150.00 $200.00 

Admission, Recreation Use and 
Special Recreation Permit Fees 

261.15 
Failing to pay any fee established for 
admission or entrance to or use of a site 

$40.00 $50.00 

National Forest Wilderness 

261.16(a) 
Possessing or using a motor vehicle, 
motorboat, or motorized equipment 
except in authorized areas 

SlOO.OO $500.00 



STATuTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.16(b) 
Possessing or using a hang glider or 
bicycle 

$50.00 $200.00 

261.16(c) 
Landing of aircraft, or dropping or 
picking up of any material, supplies, or 
person by means of aircraft 

$200.00 $500.00 

National Forest Primitive Areas 

261. 19(a) 
Landing of aircraft or using a motor 
boat 

$200.00 $250.00 

261.19(b) 
Possessing or using a motor or 
motorized equipment 

$100.00 $250.00 

-­
Unauthorized Use of "Smokey Bear" 
and "Woodsy Owl" symbol 

-'.'~ 261.20(a) 
Manufacture, importation, 
reproduction, or use of "Smokey Bear" 

$100.00 $250.00 

261.20(b) 
Manufacture, importation, reproduction 
or use of "Woodsy Owl" 

$100.00 $250.00 

Wild Free-Roaming Horses and 
Burros 

261.21(a) 
Removing or attempting to remove a 
wild horse or burro from land 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

261.21 (b) 
Causing or allowing the inhumane 
treatment or harassment of horse or 
burro 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 



'. , 

, 
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STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.21 (c) 
Removing or attempting to remove, 
alter or destroy mark to identify wild 
horse or burro 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

261.21(d) 
Violating any terms or conditions 
specified in care and maintenance 
agreement 

$50.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$50.00 

Prohibition in Areas Designated by 
Order 

261.52(a) 
Building, maintaining, attending or 
using a fire, campfire, or stove fire 

$100.00 $250.00 

261.52(b) 
Using an explosive 

$150.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$150.00 

261.52(c) 
Smoking 

$25.00 $250.00 

261.52(d) 
Smoking in area that is barren or 
cleared of all flammable material 

$25.00 $250.00 

261.52(e) 
Going into or being upon an area 

$75.00 $100.00 

261.52(f) 
Possessing, discharging or using any 
kind of firework or other pyrotechnic 
device 

Possession: 
$100.00 

Use: Mandatory 
Appearance 

Possession: 
$200.00 

Use: Mandatory 
Appearance 

261.52(g) 
Entering an area without any 
firefighting tool 

$50.00 $75.00 

261.52(h) 
Operating an internal combustion 
engme 

$35.00 $50.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.52(i) 
Welding or operating an acetylene or 
other torch 

$100.00 $250.00 

261.52(j) 
Operating or using any internal or 
external combustion engine wlo a 
spark arresting device 

$75.00 $100.00 

261.52(k) 
Violating any state law in the order 
concerning burning fires 

$100.00 $100.00 

Special Closures: 
When provided in an order, it is 
prohibited to go into or be upon any 
area which is closed for the protection 
of: 

261.53(a) 
Threatened, endangered, rare, unique, 
or vanishing species ofplants, animals, 
birds, or fish 
Threatened, endangered, rar 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.53(b) 
Special biological communities 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.53(c) 
Objects or areas of historical, 
archeological, geological, or 
paleontological interest 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.53(d) 
Scientific experiments or investigations 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.53(e) 
Public health or safety 

$100.00 $150.00 

261.53(f) 
Property 

$100.00 $100.00 

Forest Development Roads I 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.S4(a) 
Using any type of vehicle prohibited by 
the order 

$IS0.00 $IS0.00 

261.S4(b) 
Use of any type of traffic prohibited by 
the order 

$100.00 or 
Mandatory 
Appearance 

$150.00 

261.S4(c) 
using a road for commercial hauling 
w/o permit 

$100.00 $2S0.00 

261.54(d) 
Operating a vehicle in violation of 
speed, load, weight, height, length, 
width or other limitation 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.S4(e) 
Being on the road 

$100.00 $IS0.00 

261.54(f) 
Operating a vehicle carelessly, 
recklessly, or w/o regard for the safety 
of others 

Careless 
Reckless 

$100.00 or 
M.A. 
$200.00 or 
M.A. 

$200.00 

$SOO.OO 

Forest Development Trails 

261.S5(a) 
Being on the trail 

$SO.OO $IS0.00 

261.SS(b) 
Using any type of vehicle prohibited by 
order 

$SO.OO $IS0.00 

261.SS(c) 
Use by any type of traffic or mode of 
transport prohibited by order 

$SO.OO $IS0.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.55(d) 
Operating a vehicle in violation of 
width, weight, height, length, or other 
limitations 

$50.00 $250.00 

261.55(e) 
Shortcutting a switchback in a trail 

$35.00 $100.00 

Use of Vehicle Off Forest 
Development Roads 

261.56 
When provided by order, it is 
prohibited to possess or use a vehicle 
off forest development roads 

First Offense 
Second Offense 

$100.00 
$200.00 or 
M.A. 

$150.00 
$300.00 

National Forest Wilderness 
The following is prohibited: 

261.57(a) 
Entering or being in the area 

, $75.00 $150.00 

261.57(b) 
Possessing camping or pack-out fitting 
equipment 

$50.00 $100.00 

261.57(c) 
Possessing a firearm or firework 

$100.00 $200.00 for 
Possession 

M.A. for Use 

261.57(d) 
Possessing any non-burnable food or 
beverage containers, including deposit 
bottles 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.57(e) 
Grazing 

$75.00 $100.00 



'W -­
-­

STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.57(f) 
Storing equipment, personal property 
or supplies 

$75.00 $200.00 

261.57(g) 
Disposing of debris, garbage or other 
waste 

$75.00 $150.00 

261.57(h) 
Possessing or using a wagon, cart or 
other vehicle 

$50.00 $200.00 

Occupancy and Use 
When provided by order, the following 
are prohibited: 

261.58(a) 
Camping for a period loner than 
allowed 

$50.00 $100.00 

261.58(b) 
Entering or using a developed 
recreation site 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(c) 
Entering or remaining in a campground 
during night 

$35.00 $75.00 

261.58(d) 
Occupying a developed recreation site 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(e) 
Camping 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(f) 
Using a campsite or other area 
described by more than the number of 
users allowed 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(g) 
Parking or leaving a vehicle in 
violation of posted instructions 

$35.00 $50.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.58(h) 
Parking or leaving a vehicle outside a 
parking space assigned to one's own 
camp unit 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(i) 
Possessing, parking or leaving more 
than two vehicles 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(j) 
Being publicly nude 

$100.00 $100.00 

261.58(k) 
Entering or being in a body of water 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(1) 
Being in the area after sundown or 
before sunrise 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(m) 
Discharging a firearm, air rifle, or gas 
gun 

$35.00 $110.00 

261.58(n) 
Possessing or operating a motorboat 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(0) 
Water skiing 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(p) 
Storing or leaving a boat or raft 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(q) 
Operating any water craft in excess of a 
posted speed limit 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(r) 
Launching a boat except at a 
designated launching ramp 

$35.00 $50.00 



STATUTE (36 CFR) Current Fine 
Schedule 

Proposed Fine 
Schedule 

261.58(s) 
Possessing or transporting any bird, 
fish or other animal or parts thereof 

$35.00 $500.00 for Big 
Game Animal 

$100.00 for 
Fish or Small 
Game Animal 

261.58(t) 
Possessing, storing or transporting any 
part of a tree or other plant 

$35.00 $50.00 

M.A. for 
Possession of 
Marijuana 

261.58(u) 
Being in the area between 10 p.m. and 
6 a.m. 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(v) 
Hunting or fishing 

$50.00 $100.00 

261.58(w) 
Possessing or transporting any motot 
or mechanical device 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(x) 
Using any wheel, roller or other 
mechanical device for overland 
transportation of water craft 

$35.00 $50.00 

261.58(y) 
Landing of aircraft, or dropping or 
picking up any material, supplies, or 
person 

$100.00 $500.00 

261.58(z) 
Entering or being on lands or waters 
within the boundaries of a component 
of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers 
Systems 

$35.00 $100.00 

261.58(aa) 
Riding, hitching, tethering or hobbling 
a horse or other saddle or pack animal 

$50.00 $50.00 



--- ~
 

STATUTE (36 CFR)
 

261.58(bb) $100.00 $100.00 
Possessing a beverage which is defined 
as an alcoholic beverage 

261.58(cc) $125.00 $150.00 
Possessing or storing any food or 
refuse 

261.58(ee) 
Depositing any body waste in caves 
except into receptacles provided for 
that purpose 

Current Fine
 
Schedule
 

$75.00
 

Proposed Fine
 
Schedule
 

$150.00
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BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT - WYOMING
 
COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE PROPOSAL
 

43 CFR 7.4 -16 USC 470: ARPA Prohibited Acts and Criminal Penalties 
". ;'c, ;';'. ': ,. .,":t,.? Regulation 

43 CFR 7.4(a) {16 USC 470(e)(e)(a)} 
Under section 6(a) of the Act, no person may excavate, 
remove, damage, or otherwise alter or deface, or attempt 
to excavate, remove, damage, or otherwise alter or 
deface any archaeological resource located on public 
lands or Indian lands unless such activity is pursuant to 
a permit issued under Sec. 7.8 or exempted by Sec. 
7.5(b) of this part. 
43 CFR 7.4(b)(1) {16 USC 470(e)(e)(b)} 

(b) No person may sell, purchase, exchange, 
transport, or receive any archaeological resource, if such 
resource was excavated or removed in violation of: 

(1) The prohibitions contained in paragraph 

Current Fine Schedule .' 

$500 
or 
Mandatory Appearance 

$500 
or 
Mandatory Appearance 

43 CFR 7.4(bH2) {16 USC 470(e)(e)(c)} 
(b) No person may sell, purchase, exchange, 

transport, or receive any archaeological resource, if such 
resource was excavated or removed in violation of: 

(2) Any provision, rule, regulation, ordinance, or 
permit in effect under any other provision of Federal law. 

$500
 
or
 

Mandatory Appearance
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. Unauthorized use,''occiJ 
:'CurrerifFine Schedule) 

43 CFR. 2801.3(a) (43 CFR 9262.1) 
Unauthorized use, occupancy, or development. 
Any use, occupancy, or development of the public lands 
that requires a right-of-way, temporary use permit, or 
other authorization pursuant to the regulations of that 
part and that has not been so authorized, or that is 
beyond the scope and specific limitations of such an 
authorization, or that causes unnecessary or undue 
degradation, is prohibited and shall constitute a trespass 
as defined in 43 CFR. 2800.0-5. 

. 
1st Offense or Minor 
Resource Damage 
$250 

2nd Offense or if Major 
Resource Damage Occurs 
$500 

43 CFR. 2920.1-1(43 CFR 9262.1) 
Use WIO Required Authorization 
(a) Any use, occupancy, or development of the public 
lands, other than casual use as defined in Sec. 2920.0­
5(k) of this title, without authorization under the 
procedures in Sec. 2920.1-1 of this title, shall be 
considered a trespass. Anyone determined by the 
authorized officer to be in trespass on the public lands 
shall be notified of such trespass and shall be liable to 
the United States 

1st Offense or Minor 
Resource Damage 
$250 

2nd Offense or if Major 
Resource Damage Occurs 
$500 

43 CFR 3603.1 
Unauthorized use of Mineral Resources 
Except when authorized by sale or permit under law and 
the regulations of the Department of the Interior, the 
extraction, severance or removal of mineral materials 
from public lands under the jurisdiction of the 
Department of the Interior is unauthorized use. 
Unauthorized users shall be liable for damages to the 
United States, and shall be sUbject to prosecution for 
such unlawful acts (see subpart 9239 of this title). 

Personal Use: 
$250 

Commercial 
or if Major Resource 
Damage Occurs: 
$500 

BLM / Wyoming - Collateral Fine Schedule 4 
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('e'c>'(petrified 
~:~~q{!.y.; ,v~ 

43 CFR 3622.4(a)(1) 
The maximum quantity of petrified wood that anyone 
person is allowed to remove without charge per day is 
25 pounds in weight plus one piece, provided that the 
maximum total amount that one person may remove in 
one calendar year shall not exceed 250 pounds. Pooling 
of quotas to obtain pieces larger than 250 pounds is not 
allowed. 
43 CFR 3622.4(a)(2} 
Except for holders of permits issued under subpart 3621 
of this title to remove museum pieces, no person shall 
use explosives, power equipment, including, but not 
limited to, tractors, bulldozers, plows, power-shovels, 
semi-trailers or other heavy equipment for the 
excavation or removal of etrifled wood. 
43 CFR 3622.4(a)(3) 
Petrified wood obtained under this section shall be for 
personal use and shall not be sold or bartered to 
commercial dealers. 
43 CFR 3622.4(a)(4) 
The collection of petrified wood shall be accomplished in 
a manner that prevents unnecessary and undue 
de radation of lands. 

" 

$250 

$250 

$250 
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43 CFR 3715.6; Use and Occupancy Under the Personal Use: 
Mining Laws - Prohibited Acts $250 
Except where other applicable laws or regulations allow, 
BLM prohibits the following: Commercial: 

(a) Placing, constructing, maintaining or using $500 
residences or structures for occupancy not meeting: 

(1) The conditions of occupancy under Sees. 3715.2 
or 3715.2-1; or 

(2) Any of the standards of occupancy under Sec. 
3715.5; 

(b) Beginning occupancy before the filing, review, and 
approval or modification of a plan of operation as 
required under 43 CFR part 3800, subparts 3802 or 
3809; 

(c) Beginning occupancy before consultation with BLM 
as required by Sec. 3715.3 for activities that do not 
require a plan of operations under 43 CFR part 3800, 
subpart 3802 or that are defined as casual use or notice 
activities under 43 CFR part 3800, subpart 3809; 

(d) Beginning occupancy without receiving a 
determination of concurrence because the proposed 
occupancy or fencing will not conform to the provisions 
of Sec. 3715.2, Sec. 3715.2-1 or Sec. 3715.5; 

(e) Not complying with any order issued under this 
subpart within the time frames the order provides; 

(f) Preventing or obstructing free passage or transit 
over or through the public lands by force, threats, or 
intimidation; provided, however, that reasonable security 
and safety measures in accordance with this subpart are 
allowed; 

(g) Placing, constructing, or maintaining enclosures, 
gates, or fences, or signs intended to exclude the 
general public, without BLM's concurrence; 

(h) Causing a fire or safety hazard or creating a public 
nuisance; 

(i) Not complying with the notification and other 
requirements under Sec. 3715.4 relating to an existing 
occupancy; and 

U) Conducting activities on the public lands that are 
not reasonably incident, including, but not limited to: 
non-mining related habitation, cultivation, animal 
maintenance or pasturage, and development of small 
trade or manufacturing concerns; storage, treatment, 
processing, or disposal of non-mineral, hazardous or 
toxic materials or waste that are generated elsewhere 
and brought onto the public lands; recycling or 
reprocessing of manufactured material such as scrap 
electronic parts, appliances, photographic film, and 
chemicals; searching for buried treasure, treasure trove 
or archaeological specimens; operating hobby and curio 
shops; cafes; tourist stands; and hunting and fishing 
camps. 
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2nd Offense: $500 + $50 per 
animal 

3'd Offense: Mandatory 
Appearance 

$200 

43 CFR 4140.1 (b)(3) / {43 CFR 9264.1(c)} $200 
Cutting, burning, spraying, destroying, or removing 
ve elation without authorization; 
43 CFR 4140.1 (b)(4) / {43 CFR 9264.1(d)} $200 
Damaging or removing U.S. property without 
authorization; 
43 CFR 4140.1(b)(5) / {43 CFR 9264.1(e)} Molest/Harass 
Molesting, harassing, injuring, poisoning, or causing $200 
death of livestock authorized to graze on these lands 
and removing authorized livestock without the owner's Kill, Injure, Poison 

Mandato A earance 
43 CFR 4140.1(bH6) / {43 CFR 9264.1(f)} 
consent; 

$110 
Litterin ; 
43 CFR 4140.1(bH7) / {43 CFR 9264.1(i)} Interfere/Obstruct 
Interfering with lawful uses or users including obstructing $200 
free transit through or over public lands by force, threat, wlThreat or Violence: 
intimidation, si ns, barrier or locked ates; Mandato A earance 
43 CFR 4140.1(bH8) / {43 CFR 9264.1(j)} $200 
Knowingly or willfully making a false statement or 
representation in base property certifications, grazing 
applications, range improvement permit applications, 
cooperative range improvement agreements, actual use 
re orts and/or amendments thereto; 

BLM / Wyoming - Collateral Fine Schedule 7 



43 CFR 4140.1 (b)(9) 
Failing to pay any fee required by the authorized officer 
pursuant to this part, or making payment for grazing use 
of public lands with insufficiently funded checks on a 
repeated and willful basis; 
43 CFR 4140.1(b)(10) 
Failing to reclaim and repair any lands, property, or 
resources when required by the authorized officer; 
43 CFR 4140.1(b)(11) 
Failing to re-c1ose any gate or other entry during periods 
of livestock use. 
43 CFR 4140.1(c)(1) I {43 CFR 9264.1(h)} 

(c) Performance of an act listed in paragraphs (c)(1), 
(c)(2) or (c)(3) of this section where public land 
administered by the Bureau of Land Management is 
involved or affected, the violation is related to grazing 
use authorized by a permit or lease issued by the 
Bureau of Land Management, and the permittee or 
lessee has been convicted or otherwise found to be in 
violation of any of these laws or regulations by a court or 
by final determination of an agency charged with the 
administration of these laws or regulations, and no 
further appeals are outstanding, constitutes a prohibited 
act that may be subject to the civil penalties set forth at 
43 CFR. 4170.1-1. 

(2) Violation of Federal or State laws or regulations 
pertaining to the: 

(i) Placement of poisonous bait or hazardous devices 
designed for the destruction of wildlife; 

(ii) Application or storage of pesticides, herbicides, or 
other hazardous materials; 

(iii) Alteration or destruction of natural stream courses 
without authorization; 

(iv) Pollution of water sources; 
(v) Illegal take, destruction or harassment, or aiding 

and abetting in the illegal take, destruction or 
harassment of fish and wildlife resources; and 

(vi) Illegal removal or destruction of archeological or 
cultural resources; 
43 CFR 4140.1(c)(2) 
Violation of the Bald Eagle Protection Act (16 U.S.C. 668 
et seq.), Endangered Species Act (16 U.S.C.1531 et 
seq.), or any provision of part 4700 of this chapter 
concerning the protection and management of wild free­
roaming horses and burros; or 
43 CFR 4140.1(c)(3) 
Violation of State livestock laws or regulations relating to 
the branding of livestock; breed, grade, and number of 
bulls; health and sanitation requirements; and violating 
State, county, or local laws regarding the stray of 
livestock from permitted pUblic land grazing areas onto 

I area~ that have been formally closed to open range 
I grazing. 

$200 

$200 

$100 

4140.1 (c)(1)(i) 
$500 

4140.1(c)(1 }(ii) 
$500 

4140.1(c)(1 )(iii) 
$500 

4140.1 (c)(1 )(iv) 
$500 

4140.1 (c)(1 )(v) 
$150 
or 
State Fine Amount for 
Violation 

4140.1 (c)(1 )(vi) 
$500 

$500 

Assimilate State Fine 
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,( Wild Horse & Burro Protection Act -'.16 USC'1331;;~~~t)~'" .,,;:,', ." 
.'., '. ','" """ t;' Reaulatiori "';, "J' 

....., 
43 CFR 4770.1 (a) I {43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(3)} 
Maliciously or negligently injuring or harassing a wild 
horse or burro; 

Current Fine Schedule .. 
$200 

43 CFR 4770.1 (b) I {43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(1)-(2)} 
Removing or attempting to remove a wild horse or burro 
from the public lands without authorization from the 
authorized officer; 

$250 

43 CFR 4770.1 (c) I {43 CFR 9264.1(g)} 
Destroying a wild horse or burro without authorization 
from the authorized officer except as an act of mercy; 

Mandatory Appearance 

43 CFR 4770.1 (d) I {43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(5)} 
Selling or attempting to sell. directly or indirectly, a wild 
horse or burro or its remains; 

$300 

43 CFR 4770.1 (e) I {43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(4), (6), (8)} 
Commercially exploiting a wild horse or burro; 

$250 

43 CFR 4770.1(f) I {43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(7)} 
Treating a wild horse or burro inhumanely; 

$300 

43 CFR 4770.1(g) 
{43 CFR 9267.1 (a)(9) , (10), (12), (13). 9264.1(g)} 
Violating a term or condition of the Private Maintenance 
and Care Agreement; 

$150 

43 CFR 4770.1 (h) I {43 CFR 9264.1 (g)} 
Branding a wild horse or burro; 

$200 

43 CFR 4770.1(i) I {43 CFR 9267.1(a)(11)} 
Removing or altering a freeze mark on a wild horse or 
burro; 
43 CFR 4770.1(j) 
Violating an order, term, or condition established by the 
authorized officer under this part. 

$200 

$200 
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·Reaulatioli' ". ".;:':;'.' ;.•....,~; ':. ,,;,, Current F.ine Schedule' .'. 
43 CFR 5462.2(b)(1} Personal - $200 

(1) Cutting, removing, or otherwise damaging any Commercial: $500 
timber, tree, or other vegetative resource, except as 
authorized by a forest product sale contract, permit, or 2nd Offense $500 + $50 Per 
Federal law or regulation. Tree 
43 CFR 5462.2(b)(2) 151 Offense - $200 

(2) Cutting any standing tree, under a permit or timber 
sale contract, before a BLM employee has marked it or 2nd Offense - $500 + $50 
has otherwise designated it for cutting. Per Tree 
43 CFR 5462.2(bH3) 151 Offense - $200 

(3) Removing any timber or other vegetative resource 
cut under a permit or timber sale contract, except to a 2nd Offense - $500 + $50 
place designated for scaling or measurement, or Per Tree 
removing it from that place before it is scaled, measured, 
counted, or otherwise accounted for by a BLM 
employee. 
43 CFR 5462.2(bH4) 15t Offense - $200 
(4) Stamping, marking with paint, tagging, or otherwise 

identifying any tree or other vegetative resources on 2nd Offense - $500 + $50 
BLM-administered lands in a manner similar to that Per Tree 
employed by BLM employees to mark or designate a 
tree or other vegetative resources for cutting, removal, or 
transportation, 
43 CFR 5462.2(bH5) 1sl Offense - $200 
(5) Transporting timber or other vegetative resources 

without a valid haul ticket that pertains to the material in 2nd Offense- $500 
question, except as authorized by Federal law or 
regulation. 
43 CFR 5462.2(b)(6) 1st Offense - $200 

(6) Except as authorized by Federal law or regulation, 
purchasers or their designated representatives, while 2nd Offense- $500 
engaging in any activity connected with the harvest or 
removal of forest products, failing to have in their 
possession and/or failing to produce any required permit 
or forest product sale contract for inspection upon 
demand by a BLM employee or any official of a 
cooperating law enforcement agency acting within his or 
her designated authority as a sale inspector, 
administrator, contracting officer, or law enforcement 
officer. 
43 CFR 5462.2(b)(7) 1"1 Offense • $200 

(7) Violating any State or local laws and ordinances 
relating to local permits, tagging, and transportation of 2nd Offense- $500 
timber, trees, or other vegetative resources. 
43 CFR 5462.2(bHB) 1st Offense - $200 
(8) Violating any of the provisions regulating export and 

substitution contained in subparts 5400, 5403, and 5420 2nd Offense- $500 
of this title, 
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1st Offense· $200 

2nd Offense- $500 
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43 CFR 5462.2(bH9) 
(9) Obtaining any forest product sale contract or permit 

or taking any timber, trees, or other vegetative resources 
through falsifying, concealing, or covering up by any 
trick, scheme, or device a material fact, or making any 
false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or 
representation, or making or using a false, fictitious, or 
fraudulent statement or entry, including altering any 
forest product sales contract or permit or using an 
unauthorized reproduction of any official load taQ. 
43 CFR 5462.2(bH10) 1st Offense • $200 
(10) Negligent or intentional destruction of or injury to 

any timber or other vegetative resource during 2nd Offense- $500 
operations under a forest product sale contract or permit. 

b 

43 CFR 5511.4(b)(1)
 
Optaining any free use permit or taking any timber,
 
trees, or other vegetative resources through falsifying,
 
concealing, or covering up by any trick, scheme, or
 
device a material fact, or making any false, fictitious, or
 
fraudulent statements or representations, or making or
 
using any false, fictitious or fraudulent statement or
 
entry, including altering of any free use permit or using a
 
re roduction of an official load ta s.
 
43 CFR 5511.4(b)(2)
 $200 
Using timber secured under free permit other than 
allowed 
43 CFR 5511.4(bH3) $100 
Violating any of the terms and conditions of a free use 

ermit. 
43 CFR 5511.4(bH4) $200 
Exporting timber cut under a free use permit from the 
State in which it was cut, except as provided in Sec. 
5511.1-1 e. 
43 CFR 5511.4(bH5) $200 
The cutting of timber under a free use permit for sale, 
barter, s eculation, or use b others than the ermittee. 

(a) 
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43 CFR 8223.1 (a) 
No person shall use, occupy. construct, or maintain 
facilities in a research natural area except as permitted 
by law, other Federal regulations, or authorized under 

rovisions of this sub art 8223. 
43 CFR 8223.1(b) $200 
No person shall use, occupy, construct, or maintain 
facilities in a manner inconsistent with the purpose of the 
research natural area. 
43 CFR 8223.l(c) $200 
Scientists and educators shall use the area in a manner 

that is nondestructive and consistent with the purpose of 
the research natural area. 
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Off-Road Vehicles 
43 CFR 8340.0-5; Definitions
 

As used in this part:
 
(a) Off-road vehicle means any motorized vehicle capable of, or designed for, travel 

on or immediately over land, water, or other natural terrain, excluding: 
(1) Any non-amphibious registered motorboat; 

· (2) Any military, fire, emergency, or law enforcement vehicle while being used for 
;emergency purposes; 
~ (3) Any vehicle whose use is expressly authorized by the authorized officer, or 
::otherwise officially approved; 
~. (4) Vehicles in official use; and 
i; (5) Any combat or combat support vehicle when used in times of national defense 
.:emergencies. 
"0 (b) Public lands means any lands the surface of which is administered by the Bureau 
of Land Management. 

(c) Bureau means the Bureau of Land Management. 
(d) Official use means use by an employee, agent, or designated representative of 

the Federal Government or one of its contractors, in the course of his employment, 
agency, or representation. 
· (e) Planning system means the approach provided in Bureau regulations, directives 
and manuals to formulate multiple use plans for the public lands. This approach 
provides for public participation within the system. 

(f) Open area means an area where all types of vehicle use is permitted at all times, 
anywhere in the area subject to the operating regulations and vehicle standards set 
forth in sUbparts 8341 and 8342 of this title. 

(g) Limited area means an area restricted at certain times, in certain areas, and/or to 
.certain vehicular use. These restrictions may be of any type, but can generally be 
accommodated within the following type of categories: Numbers of vehicles; types of 
vehicles; time or season of vehicle use; permitted or licensed use only; 'use on existing 
roads and trails; use on designated roads and trails; and other restrictions. 

j'" (h) Closed area means an area where off-road vehicle use is prohibit~d; Use of off­
rroad vehicles in closed areas may be allowed for certain reasons; however, such use 
\shall be made only with the approval of the authorized officer. 
• (i) Spark arrester is any device which traps or destroys 80 percent or more of the 
exhaust particles to which it is subjected. 

Regulation Current Fine Schedule 
43 CFR 8341.1(b) $150 
Any person operating an off-road vehicle on those areas 
and trails designated as limited shall conform to all terms 
and conditions of the applicable desiqnation orders. 
43 CFR 8341.1{c)
 
The operation of off-road vehicles is prohibited on those
 
areas and trails closed to off-road vehicle use.
 
43 CFR 8341.1(d) 
It is prohibited to operate an off-road vehicle in violation 
of State laws and regulations relating to use, standards, 
registration, operation, and inspection of off-road 
vehicles. To the extent that State laws and regulations 
do not exist or are less stringent than the regulations in 
this part, the regulations in this part are minimum 
standards and are controllinQ. 

$200 

$150 
or 
Assimilate State Fine 
Amount 
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43 CFR 8341.1(e) 
No person may operate an off-road vehicle on public 
lands without a valid State operator's license or learner's 
permit where required by State or Federal law. 

$150 

43 CFR 8341.1(f)(1) 
(f) No person shall operate an off-road vehicle on 

public lands: 
(1) In a reckless, careless, or negligent manner; 

$200 

43 CFR 8341.1<f)(2) $25 + $5 per MPH over Speed 
(f) No person shall operate an off-road vehicle on Limit 

public lands: 
(2) In excess of established speed limits; 

43 CFR 8341.1(0(3) $250 
(f) No person shall operate an off-road vehicle on or 

public lands: Mandatory Appearance 
(3) While under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or 

dangerous drugs; 
43 CFR 8341.1(f)(4) 

(f) No person shall operate an off-road vehicle on 
public lands: 

(4) In a manner causing, or likely to cause significant, 
undue damage to or disturbance of the soil, wildlife, 
wildlife habitat, improvements, cultural, or vegetative 
resources or other authorized uses of the public lands; 
and 

$200 

43 CFR 8341.1(f)(5) 
(f) No person shall operate an off-road vehicle on 

public lands: 
(5) During night hours, from a half-hour after sunset to 

a half-hour before sunrise, without lighted headlights and 
taillights. 

$100 

43 CFR 8341.1(g) 
Drivers of off-road vehicles shall yield the right-of-way to 
pedestrians, saddle horses, pack trains, and animal-
drawn vehicles. 

$100 
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43 CFR 8341;2 - Special rules ":"Emer~ 'aney Clos'ures?:d::~":: ','. 
Regulation 

43 CFR 8341.2{a) 
Notwithstanding the consultation provisions in 43 CFR 
8342.2(a), where the authorized officer determines that 
off-road vehicles are causing or will cause considerable 
adverse effects upon soil, vegetation, wildlife, wildlife 
habitat, cultural resources, historical resources, 
threatened or endangered species, wilderness sUitability, 
other authorized uses, or other resources, the authorized 
officer shall immediately close the areas affected to the 
type(s) of vehicle causing the adverse effect until the 
adverse effects are eliminated and measures 
implemented to prevent recurrence. Such closures will 
not prevent designation in accordance with procedures 
in subpart 8342 of this part, but these lands shall not be 
opened to the type(s) of off-road vehicle to which it was 
closed unless the authorized officer determines that the 
adverse effects have been eliminated and measures 
implemented to prevent recurrence. 

'. Current Fine Schedule" 
$250 

',', 43 CFR. 8343.t Vehicle St~ujd.afos';r1t'·;~;:"'«i~X!0t:.'\),;,·);:>;·· . L. 

. Regulation .. " .......:.;.. : '+ "CufrentFine'Schedule . 
43 CFR 8343.1(a) $100 
No off-road vehicle may be operated on public lands 
unless equipped with brakes in good workinq condition. 
43 CFR 8343.1 (b) $100 
No off-road vehicle equipped with a muffler cutout, 
bypass, or similar device, or producing excessive noise 
exceeding Environmental Protection Agency standards, 
when established, may be operated on public lands. 
43 CFR 8343.1(c) $100 
By posting appropriate signs or by marking a map which 
shall be available for public inspection at local Bureau 
offices, the authorized officer may indicate those public 
lands upon which no off-road vehicle may be operated 
unless equipped with a properly installed spark arrester. 
The spark arrester must meet either the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture--Forest Service Standard 
5100-1a, or the 80-percent efficiency level standard 
when determined by the appropriate Society of 
Automotive Engineers (SAE) Recommended Practices 
J335 or J350. These standards include, among others, 
the requirements that: (1) The spark arrester shall have 
an efficiency to retain or destroy at least 80 percent of 
carbon particles for all flow rates, and (2) the spark 
arrester has been warranted by its manufacturer as 
meeting this efficiency requirement for at least 1,000 
hours subject to normal use, with maintenance and 
mounting in accordance with the manufacturer's 
recommendation. A spark arrester is not required when 
an off-road vehicle is being operated in an area which 
has 3 or more inches of snow on the ground. 
43 CFR 8343.1 (d)(1-2) $100 I 

(d) Vehicles operating during night hours, from a half- I I 
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hour after sunset to a half-hour before sunrise, shall 
comply with the following: 

(1) Headlights shall be of sufficient power to illuminate 
an object at 300 feet at night under normal, clear 
atmospheric conditions. Two- or three-wheeled vehicles 
or single-tracked vehicles will have a minimum of one 
headlight. Vehicles having four or more wheels or more 
than a single track will have a minimum of two 
headlights. except double tracked snowmachines with a 
maximum capacity of two people may have only one 
headlight. 
(2) Red taillights, capable of being seen at a distance of 
500 feet from the rear at night under normal, clear 
atmospheric conditions, are required on vehicles in the 
same numbers as headliqhts. 

BLM / Wyoming - Collateral Fine Schedule 17 



;"~43 CFR 8:351 jNational Designated Areas;"''':~;·; 

43 CFR 8351.1-Ha) I $150 
Operate Motor Vehicle on National Scenic Trail 

';'. ',<."., S\1'/ "'r>~~43CFR8351 :2; Wild and Scenic Rivers:i!iJ;v' :;,>i' :.~;;<:::Y~)'A;ji >. .."X 

43 CFR 8351.2-1(c) 
Violate Terms and Conditions of Written Permission 

$150 

43 CFR 8351.2-1(e)(1) 
Enterinq Land or Water Where Prohibited 

$100 

43 CFR 8351.2-1 (e)(2) 
Camping Where Prohibited 

$100 

43 CFR 8351.2-He)(3) 
Hiking Where Prohibited 

$100 

43 CFR 8351.2-1 (e)(4) 
Violate Fire Regulations 

$100 

43 CFR 8351.2-1{e)(5) 
Improper Disposal of Human Waste 

$150 

43 CFR 8351.2-1 (e)(6) 
Disorderly Conduct 

$150 

43 CFR 8351.2-1 (e)(7l 
Other Acts Detrimental to Public Lands 

$150 

43 CFR 8351.2-1 (f) 
Special Rules - Wild and Scenic Rivers Act 

$150 
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43 CFR 8364.1 (d) $250 
(a) To protect persons, property, and public lands and 

resources, the authorized officer may issue an order to 
close or restrict use of designated public lands. 

(b) Each order shall: 
(1) Identify the public lands, roads, trails or waterways 

that are closed to entry or restricted as to use; 
(2) Specify the uses that are restricted; 
(3) Specify the period of time during which the closure 

or restriction shall apply; 
(4) Identify those persons who are exempt from the 

closure or restrictions; 
(5) Be posted in the local Bureau of Land 

Management Office having jurisdiction over the lands to 
which the order applies; 

(6) Be posted at places near and/or within the area to 
which the closure or restriction applies, in such manner 
and location as is reasonable to bring prohibitions to the 
attention of users; 

(7) Include a statement on the reasons for the closure; 
and 

(c) In issuing orders pursuant to this section, the 
authorized officer shall publish them in the Federal 
Register. 

(d) Any person who fails to comply with a closure or 
restriction order issued under this subpart may be 
subject to the penalties provided in 43 CFR. 8360.0-7 of 
this title. 
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43 CFR 8365.1-HbH1) 
Dispose of any cans, bottles and other nonflammable
 
trash and garbage except in designated places or
 
rece tacles;
 
43 CFR 8365.1-1(bH2)
 $200 
Dispose of flammable trash or garbage except by 
burning in authorized fires, or disposal in designated 

laces or rece tacles;
 
43 CFR 8365.1-1lbH3)
 $250
 
Drain sewage or petroleum products or dump refuse or
 
waste other than wash water from any trailer or other
 If Near Water Source 
vehicle except in places or receptacles provided for that $500 
ur ose; 

43 CFR 8365.1-HbH4)
 
Dispose of any household, commercial or industrial
 
refuse or waste brought as such from private or
 
municipal property;
 

Personal: 
< 2 cu yds • $250 
> 2 cu yds • $500 

Commercial: 
< 2 cu yds ~ $500 
> 2 cu yds· $750 
Hazardous - MA 

43 CFR 8365.1-1lbH5) Personal: $250 
Pollute or contaminate water supplies or water used for Commercial:$500 
human consum tion; or Hazardous: MA 
43 CFR 8365.1-1(bH6) $100 
Use a refuse container or disposal facility for any 
ur ose other than for which it is su lied. 
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43 CFR 8365.1-2(a)
 
Camp longer than the period of time permitted by the
 
authorized officer; or
 
43 CFR 8365.1·2(b)
 Personal Property: 
Leave personal property unattended longer than 10 days $150 
(12 months in Alaska), except as provided under 43 
CFR. 8365.2-3(b) of this title, unless otherwise Vehicles: 
authorized. Personal property left unattended longer $250 
than 10 days (12 months in Alaska), without permission 
of the authorized officer, is subject to disposition under 
the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 
1949. 

43 CFR 8365.1-3(a) 

shall 
persons 
negligent mannp' 

43 C'1:'1:;' 

When operating a vehicle on tl"" ,Jclolic lands, 110 person 
exceed posted spPp. limits, willfully endanger 

or property. (' act in a reckless, careless or 

~,)65.1-3(b)(1) 

,0)(1) The operator of a motor vehicle is prohibited 
,rom operating a motor vehicle in motion, unless the 
operator and each front seat passenger is restrained by 
a properly fastened safety belt that conforms to 
applicable United States Department of Transportation 
standards, except that children, as defined by State law, 
shall be restrained as provided by State law. 

(2) Paragraph (b) applies on pUblic lands, or portions 
thereof, that are located within a State in which there is 
no State law in effect that requires the mandatory use of 
a safety belt by the vehicle operator and any front seat 
passenger. It also applies on public lands, or portions 
thereof, located within a State in which the mandatory 
safety belt law of the State does not apply to the public 
lands or in which any provision of State law renders the 
mandatory safety belt law of the 
State unenforceable by the authorized officer as to acts 
or omissions occurring on the public lands. 

(3) This 43 CFR section does not apply to an operator 
or a passenger of a motor vehicle occupying a seat that 
was not originally equipped by the manufacturer with a 
safety belt, nor does it apply to an operator or passenger 
with a medical condition that prevents restraint by a 
safety belt or other occupant restraining device. 

(4) An authorized officer may not stop a motor vehicle 
for the sole purpose of determining whether a violation of 

Endanger - $500
 
Careless - $150
 
Speed - $25+$5
 

$25 

ara ra h b 1 of this 43 CFR section is--=bc::e.:.:.in.:..;::L..L- -' 
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I committed. 

43 CF~8365~ 1-4 Public health,;safetyand coinfort";~>'q;'; ,ii;.. : 
(a) No person shallcau5~a.;p~.e.lic.pis!Yf9aQRe,otcr~~,!~;'C3f!~~t9.,9!b~biR~f~q.m~i·9hp.~blic 

' 
lands b en a in in activities\\ihich include\.but 'are;'notlimitedto: the followin' :5~;i';;':$ . 

R~gLJlatiop . '.. CurrenlFin*e 'Sctifidule 
':., '~':?t~'c. ~i':~~r<1:}:~t '~: ''-:f~~g(~~,~'~:~:~;~::: ~'>~~;:;\;('~i,'l~l'!;~~~%t::~::-:!':;' '=:'~~ ~:1~'?~:~ .:;r;' ,,, ~ 

43 CFR 8365.1-4 $200 
Creatin a Risk or Public Disturbance 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(1) $100 
Makin unreasonable noise; 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(2) $200 
Creatin a hazard or nuisance; 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(3) $200 
Refusing to disperse, when directed to do so by an 
authorized officer; 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(4) $200 
Resisting arrest or issuance of citation by an authorized 
officer engaged in performance of official duties; 
interfering with any Bureau of Land Management 
employee or volunteer engaged in performance of 
official duties; or 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(5) $250 
Assaultin ,committin a batte u on, or 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(a)(6) $250 
Knowingly giving any false or fraudulent report of an 
emergency situation or crime to any Bureau of Land or 
Management employee or volunteer engaged in the 
erformance of official duties. Mandato earance 

43 CFR 8365.1-4(b)(1) $500 
(b) No person shall engage in the following activities on 
the public lands: Or 
(1) Cultivating, manufacturing, delivering, distributing or 
trafficking a controlled substance, as defined in 21 Mandatory Appearance 
U.S.C. 802(6) and 812 and 21 CFR 1308.11 through 
1308.15, except when distribution is made by a licensed Or 
practitioner in accordance with applicable law. For the 
purposes of this paragraph, delivery means the actual, Arrest I Complaint 
attempted or constructive transfer of a controlled 
substance whether or not there exists an agency 
relationshi . 
43 CFR 8365.1-4(b)(2) Mandatory Appearance 
(b) No person shall engage in the following activities on 
the public lands: 
(2) Possessing a controlled substance, as defined in 21 
U.S.C. 802(6) and 812 and 21 CFR 1308.11 through 
1308.15, unless such substance was obtained, either 
directly or pursuant to a valid prescription or order or as 
otherwise allowed by Federal or State law, by the 
possessor from a licensed practitioner acting in the 
course of rofessional ractice. 
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;43 CFR 8365.1-5 Property and Resources;,,~: ; i" "...... 
(a) On all public lands, unless otherwise authorized, no oerson shall; ,'L,;:, 

Permissible Collection ~ctivitiesx ,;<><,t'",:,\'X),:'Ii'; ,'il' . 
(b) Except on developed recreation sites anct areas, orvv~ere othE3nvi~~Hrohibit~~ and 

.posted, it is permissible to collect from the. public lands:'reasdri~ble;arnou'\()fJhe 
following for noncommercial purposes: . . ,~,. 

. (1) Commonly available renewable resources such as flo 
90nes and leaves; '. '.P 
';' (2) Nonrenewable resources such as rocks, mineral spegirnens,., 
.fossils and semiprecious gemstones; ">';":"1 :'fJi~; 

(3) Petrified wood as provided under subpart 3622 ofthis.,title; 
(4) Mineral materials as provided under suppart362j.g ... " 
(1) Forest products for use in campfires on:.tt:ie1publlci 

roducts shall be in accordance with thefovisiohsiofiGro 

43 CFR 8365.1-5(c) $200 
The collection of renewable or nonrenewable resources 
from the public lands for sale or barter to commercial 
dealers may be done only after obtaining a contract or 
permit from an authorized officer in accordance with part 
3610 or 5400 of this title. 

Regulation 

43 CFR 8365.1-5(a)(1)
 
Willfully deface, disturb, remove or destroy any personal
 
property, or structures, or any scientific, cultural,
 
archaeological or historic resource, natural object or
 
area;
 

43 CFR 8365.1-5(a)(2)
 
Willfully deface, remove or destroy plants or their parts,
 
soil, rocks or minerals, or cave resources, except as
 
permitted under paraqraph (b) or (c) of this paraqraph; or
 
43 CFR 8365.1-5(a)(3)
 
Use on the public lands explosive, motorized or
 
mechanical devices, except metal detectors, to aid in the
 
collection of specimens permitted under paragraph (b) or
 
(c) of this paraqraph. 

Current.Fine Schedule 
, 

" 

$200 

$150 

$300 
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43 CFR 8365.1-6 
The State Director may establish such supplementary 

rules as he/she deems 
provide for the protection 

supplementary rules. 

facilities affected; 

lands, sites or facilities affected; 
(c) The rules shall 

Register; and 
(d) The rules shall be published in a newspaper of 

general circulation in the affected vicinity, or be made 
available to the public by such other means as deemed 
most a ro riate b the authorized officer. 

43 CFR 8365.2-1 (a) 
Clean fish, game, other food, clothing or household 
articles at any outdoor hydrant, pump, faucet or fountain, 
or restroom water faucet; 
43 CFR 8365.2-1(b) $100 
Deposit human waste except in toilet or sewage facilities 
rovided for that ur ose; or 

43 CFR 8365.2-1(c) $50 
Bring an animal into such an area unless the animal is 
on a leash not longer than 6 feet and secured to a fixed 
object or under control of a person, or is otherwise 

h sicall restricted at all times. 

necessary. These rules may 
of persons, property, and 

public lands and resources. No person shall violate such 

(a) The rules shall be available for inspection in each 
local office having jurisdiction over the lands, sites or 

(b) The rules shall be posted near and/or within the 

be published in the Federal 

On develo 

43 CFR 8365.2-2(a) 
Operate or use any audio device such as a radio,
 
television, musical instrument, or other noise producing
 
device or motorized equipment in a manner that makes
 
unreasonable noise that disturbs other visitors;
 
43 CFR 8365.2-2(b)
 $100 
o erate or use a ublic address s stem;
 
43 CFR 8365.2-2(c)
 $100 
Construct, erect or use an antenna or aerial for 
radiotelephone, radio or television equipment, other than 
on a vehicle or as an inte ral art of such e ui ment. 
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43 CFR 8365.2-3(a} 
Fail to pay any fees imposed in accordance with 36 CFR 

art 71. 
43 CFR 8365.2-3(b} $100 
Pitch any tent, park any trailer, erect any shelter or place 
any other camping equipment in any area other than the 

lace desi ned for it within a desi nated cam site; 
43 CFR 8365.2-3(c} $100 
Leave personal property unattended for more than 24 
hours in a day use area, or 72 hours in other areas. 
Personal property len unattended beyond such time limit 
is sUbject to disposition under the Federal Property and 
Administration Services Act of 1949, as amended (40 
U.S.C. 484 m ; 
43 CFR 8365.2·3(d) $100 
Build any fire except in a stove, grill, fireplace or ring 

rovided for such ur ose; 
43 CFR 8365.2·3(e} $100 
Enter or remain in campgrounds closed during 
established night periods except as an occupant or while 
visiting persons occupying the campgrounds for camping 

ur oses; 
43 CFR 8365.2-3(f} $100 
Enter or use a site or a portion of a site closed to public 
use; or 
43 CFR 8365.2-3(g} $100 
Occupy a site with more people than permitted within the 
developed campsite. Limits on the number of occupants 
permitted at any sitE! shall be clearly posted near the 
entrance of the developed campsite or facility in such a 
manner as to bring it to the reasonable attention of the 
user 
43 CFR 8365.2-3(h} $100 
Move any table, stove, barrier, litter receptacle or other 
cam round e ui ment. 
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43 CFR 8365.2-4 
Unless otherwise authorized, no motor vehicle shall be 
driven within developed recreation sites or areas except 
on roads or laces rovided for this 

43 CFR 8365.2·5(a} 
Discharge or use firearms, other weapons, or fireworks; 

43 CFR 8372.0-7(a)(1) 
Fail to obtain a permit and pay any fee required by this 

ur ose. 

or 
43 CFR 8365.2·5(b) $50 
Bring an animal, except a Seeing Eye or Hearing Ear 
do ,to a swimming area. 

sub art; 
43 CFR 8372.0-7(a)(2) $100 
Violate stipulations or conditions of a permit issued 
under authorit of this sub art; 
43 CFR 8372.0-7(a)(3) Commercial:$100 
Participate knowingly in an event or use subject to the Non-Commercial: $50 
permit requirements of this subpart where no such 
ermit has been issued; 

43 CFR 8372.0-7(a)(4} $50 
Fail to post a copy of any commercial or competitive 
permit where all participants have the opportunity to read 
it; and 
43 CFR 8372.0-7(a)(5) $100 
Fail to show a copy of the special recreation permit to a 
Bureau of Land Management employee or a participant 
u on re uest. 
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43 CFR 8560·1-2(a) 
Commercial Enter rises 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(b) $250 
Tem ora or Permanent Roads 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(c) $250 
Aircraft Landin Stri s, Helis ot5 
43 CFR 8560-1·2(d) $250 
Use of Motorized or Mechanical E ui ment 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(e) $250 
Landin of Aircraft 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(f) $250 
Oro in Materials, Su lies etc 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(9) $250 
Structures or Installations 
43 CFR 8560-1·2(h) $250 
Cuttin of Trees 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(i) $250 
Violatin An Order or Re ulation 
43 CFR 8560-1-2(0 $250 
Ent into or Use Without Permit 
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Unless 

43 CFR 9212.1(a) I {18 USC 1855} 
Cause a fire, other than a campfire, or the industrial
 
f1arin of as, to be i nited b an source;
 
43 CFR 9212.1(b)
 $100 
Fire a tracer or incendia device;
 
43 CFR 9212.1{c)
 $150 
Burn, timber, trees, slash, brush, tundra or grass except
 
as used in cam fires;
 
43 CFR 9212.1(d) I {18 USC 1856}
 $150 
Leave a fire without extinguishing it, except to report it if
 
it has s read be ond control;
 
43 CFR 9212.1le)
 $100 
Build, attend, maintain or use a campfire without
 
removing all flammable material from around the
 
cam fire ade uate to revent its esca e;
 
43 CFR 9212.1 (f)
 $250 
Resist or interfere with the efforts of firefighter(s) to
 
extin uish a fire;
 
43 CFR 9212.1(9)
 $150 
Enter an area which is closed by a fire prevention order,
 
or
 
43 CFR 9212.1(hl
 $100 
Perform an act restricted b revention order. 

~;::i " <.,:;':j,:
;,persons performing:the ' 

i;bf Land Management{c.O."" .' , . 
~ ~, " 

43 CFR 9264.1 (h) 
Violating any Federal or State laws or regulations 
concerning conservation or protection of natural and or 
cultural resources or the environment including, but not 
limited to, those relating to air and water quality, Assimilate State Fine Amount 
protection of fish and wildlife, plants, and the use of 
chemical toxicants: 
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16 USC Section 433 - American Antiquities Act $500 
Any person who shall appropriate, excavate, injure, or 
destroy any historic or prehistoric ruin or monument, or 
any object of antiquity, situated on lands owned or 
controlled by the Government of the United States, 
without the permission of the Secretary of the 
Department of the Government having jurisdiction over 
the lands on which said antiquities are situated, shall, 
upon conviction, be fined in a sum of not more than 
$500 or be imprisoned for a period of not more than 
ninety days, or shall suffer both fine and imprisonment, 
in the discretion of the court 

16 USC Section 670(j)(a}(1-2) - Sikes Act 
(a) Violations and penalties 
(1) Any person who hunts, traps, or fishes on any public 
land which is subject to a conservation and 
rehabilitation program implemented under this 
subchapter without having on his person a valid public 
land management area stamp, if the possession of 
such a stamp is required, shall be fined not more than 
$1,000, or imprisoned for not more than six months, or 
both. 
(2) Any person who knowingly violates or fails to 
comply with any regulations prescribed under section 
670h(c)(5) of this title shall be fined not more than 
$500, or imprisoned not more than six months, or both. 

$150 

16 USC, Section 668 - Bald and Golden Eagle $500 
Protection Act 
(a) Prohibited acts; criminal penalties 
Whoever, within the United States or any place subject 
to the jurisdiction thereof, without being permitted to do 
so as provided in this subchapter, shall knowingly, or 
with wanton disregard for the consequences of his act 
take, possess, sell, purchase, barter, offer to sell, 
purchase or barter, transport, export or import, at any 
time or in any manner any bald eagle commonly known 
as the American eagle or any golden eagle, alive or 
dead, or any part, nest, or egg thereof of the foregoing 
eagles, or whoever violates any permit or regulation 
issued pursuant to this subchapter, shall be fined not 
more than $5,000 or imprisoned not more than one 
year or both: 

16 USC 3372 - Lacey Act $250 
(a) Offenses other than marking offenses. 

It is unlawful for any person - or 
(1) to import, export, transport, sell, receive, 

acquire, or purchase any fish or wildlife or plant taken, Mandatory Appearance 
possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law, 
treaty, or requlation of the United States or in violation 
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of any Indian tribal law; 
(2) to import, export, transport, sell, receive, 

acquire, or purchase in interstate or foreign commerce ­
(A) any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, 

transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation 
of any State or in violation of any foreign law, or 

(B) any plant taken, possessed, transported, or 
sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State; 

(3) within the special maritime and territorial 
jurisdiction of the United States (as defined in section 7 
of title 18) ­

(A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken, 
possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law 
or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign 
law or Indian tribal law, or 

(B) to possess any plant taken, possessed, 
transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation 
of any State; [1] "or". 

(4) to attempt to commit any act described in 
paragraphs (1) through (4). [2] 

(b) Marking offenses 
It is unlawful for any person to import, export, or 
transport in interstate commerce any container or 
package containing any fish or wildlife unless the 
container or package has previously been plainly 
marked, labeled, or tagged in accordance with the 
regulations issued pursuant to paragraph (2) of section 
3376(a) of this title. 

(c) Sale and purchase of guiding and outfitting 
services and invalid licenses and permits 

(1) Sale 
It is deemed to be a sale of fish or wildlife in violation of 
this chapter for a person for money or other 
consideration to offer or provide ­

(A) guiding, outfitting, or other services; or 
(B) a hunting or fishing license or permit; for the 

illegal taking, acquiring, receiving, transporting, or 
possessing of fish or wildlife. 

(2) Purchase 
It is deemed to be a purchase of fish or wildlife in 
violation of this chapter for a person to obtain for money 
or other consideration ­

(A) guiding, outfitting, or other services; or 
(B) a hunting or fishing license or permit; for the 

illegal taking, acquiring, receiving, transporting, or 
possessinq of fish or wildlife. 

16 USC 703; Taking. killing. or possessing 
migratory birds unlawful. 
Unless and except as permitted by regulations made as 
hereinafter provided in this subchapter, it shall be 
unlawful at any time, by any means or in any manner, 
to pursue, hunt, take, capture, kill, attempt to take, 
capture, or kill. possess. offer for sale, sell, offer to 
barter. barter, offer to purchase. purchase, deliver for 

$150 

or 

50 CFR Fine 
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shipment, ship, export, import, cause to be shipped, 
exported, or imported, deliver for transportation, 
transport or cause to be transported, carry or cause to 
be carried, or receive for shipment, transportation, 
carriage, or export, any migratory bird, any part, nest, or 
eQQs of any such bird, or any product. ... 

16 USC 718(a) - Hunting and conservation stamp for $150 
taking migratory waterfowl 
No person who has attained the age of sixteen years or 
shall take any migratory waterfowl unless at the time of 
such taking he carries on his person an unexpired 50 CFR Fine 
Federal migratory-bird hunting and conservation stamp 
validated by his signature written by himself in ink 
across the face of the stamp prior to his taking such 
birds; except that no such stamp shall be required for 
the taking of migratory waterfowl by Federal or State 
institutions or official agencies, or for propagation, or by 
the resident owner, tenant, or share cropper of the 
property or officially designated agencies of the 
Department of the Interior for the killing, under such 
restrictions as the Secretary of the Interior may by 
regulation prescribe, of such waterfowl when found 
injuring crops or other property. Any person to whom a 

stamp has been sold under section 718b of this title 
shall upon request exhibit such stamp for inspection to 
any officer or employee of the Department of the 
Interior authorized to enforce the provisions of this 
subchapter or to any officer of any State or any political 
subdivision thereof authorized to enforce Qame laws. 

16 USC 742j-1 - Airborne Hunting Act 
(a) Prohibition; penalty
 

Any person who ­
(1) while airborne in an aircraft shoots or attempts 

to shoot for the purpose of capturing or killing any bird, 
fish, or other animal; or 

(2) uses an aircraft to harass any bird, fish, or 
other animal; or 

(3) knowingly participates in using an aircraft for 
any purpose referred to in paragraph (1) or (2); shall be 
fined not more than $5.000 or imprisoned not more than 
one year, or both. 
16 USC 1538; Endangered Species Act 
(a) Generally 

(1) Except as provided in sections 1535(g)(2) and 
1539 of this title, with respect to any endangered 
species of fish or wildlife listed pursuant to section 1533 
of this title it is unlawful for any person subject to the 
jurisdiction of the United States to ­

(A) import any such species into, or export any 
such species from the United States; 

(B) take any such species within the United 
States or the territorial sea of the United States; 

(C) take any such species upon the high seas; 
(D) possess, sell, deliver, carry, transport, or 

$500 

Endangered Animals - $500 

Endangered Plants - $250 
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ship, by any means whatsoever, any such species 
taken in violation of subparagraphs (8) and (C); 

(E) deliver, receive, carry. transport. or ship in
 
interstate or foreign commerce, by any means
 
whatsoever and in the course of commercial activity.
 
any such species;
 

(F) sell or offer for sale in interstate or foreign
 
commerce any such species; or
 

(G) violate any regulation pertaining to such
 
species or to any threatened species of fish or wildlife
 
listed pursuant to section 1533 of this title and
 
promulgated by the Secretary pursuant to authority
 
provided by this chapter.
 

(2) Except as provided in sections 1535(g)(2) and
 
1539 of this title, with respect to any endangered
 
species of plants listed pursuant to section 1533 of this
 
title, it is unlawful for any person SUbject to the
 
jurisdiction of the United States to ­

(A) import any such species into, or export any
 
such species from, the United States;
 

(8) remove and reduce to possession any such
 
species from areas under Federal jurisdiction;
 
maliciously damage or destroy any such species on any
 
such area; or remove, cut, dig up, or damage or destroy
 
any such species on any other area in knowing violation
 
of any law or regUlation of any State or in the course of
 
any violation of a State criminal trespass law;
 

(C) deliver, receive, carry, transport, or ship in
 
interstate or foreign commerce, by any means
 
whatsoever and in the course of a commercial activity,
 
any such species;
 

(0) sell or offer for sale in interstate or foreign
 
commerce any such species; or
 

(E) violate any regulation pertaining to such
 
species or to any threatened species of plants listed
 
pursuant to section 1533 of this title and promulgated
 
by the Secretary pursuant to authority provided by this
 
chapter.
 
(g) Violations 

It is unlawful for any person SUbject to the
 
jurisdiction of the United States to attempt to commit,
 
solicit another to commit, or cause to be committed, any
 
offense defined in his section
 
16 USC 4306(a) - Cave Resources Protection Act
 16 USC 4306(a)(1) 

(1) Any person who, without prior authorization $250
 
from the Secretary knowingly destroys, disturbs,
 
defaces, mars, alters, removes or harms any significant
 16 USC 4306(a)(2) 
cave or alters the free movement of any animal or plant $500
 
life into or out of any significant cave located on Federal
 
lands, or enters a significant cave with the intention of
 16 USC 4306(a)(3) 
committing any act described in this paragraph shall be $250
 
punished in accordance with subsection (b) of this
 
section.
 

(2) Any person who possesses, consumes. sells, 
barters or exchanges, or offers for sale, barter or 

I exchange, any cave resource from a significant cave 
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with knowledge or reason to know that such resource 
was removed from a significant cave located on Federal 
lands shall be punished in accordance with subsection 
(b) of this section. 

(3) Any person who counsels, procures, solicits, or 
employs any other person to violate any provisions of 
this subsection shall be punished in accordance with 
section [1] (b) of this section. 

:3
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18 USC 47 • Use of aircraft or motor vehicles to 
hunt certain wild horses or burros; pollution of 
watering holes 

(a) Whoever uses an aircraft or a motor vehicle to 
hunt, for the purpose of capturing or killing, any wild 
unbranded horse, mare, colt, or burro running at large 
on any of the public land or ranges shall be fined under 
this title, or imprisoned not more than six months, or 
both. 

(b) Whoever pollutes or causes the pollution of any 
watering hole on any of the public land or ranges for the 
purpose of trapping, killing, wounding, or maiming any 
of the animals referred to in subsection (a) of this 
section shall be fined under this title, or imprisoned not 
more than six months, or both. 

18 USC 111 • Assaulting, resisting, or impeding 
certain officers or employees 
(a) In General. - Whoever ­

(1) forcibly assaults, resists, opposes, impedes, 
intimidates, or interferes with any person designated in 
section 1114 of this title while engaged in or on account 
of the performance of official duties; or 

(2) forcibly assaults or intimidates any person who 
formerly served as a person designated in section 1114 
on account of the performance of official duties during 
such person's term of service, shall, where the acts in 
violation of this section constitute only simple assault, 
be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 
one year, or both, and in all other cases, be fined under 
this title or imprisoned not more than three years, or 
both. 

(b) Enhanced Penalty. - Whoever, in the commission 
of any acts described in subsection (a), uses a deadly 
or dangerous weapon (including a weapon intended to 
cause death or danger but that fails to do so by reason 
of a defective component) or inflicts bodily injury, shall 
be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than ten 
years, or both. 

Mandatory Appearance 

or 

Complaint I Indictment 
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18 USC 115 - Influencing, impeding, or retaliating Mandatory Appearance 
against a Federal official by threatening or injuring 
a family member or 
(a) 

(1) Whoever ­ Complaint I Indictment 
(A) assaults, kidnaps, or murders, or attempts or 

conspires to kidnap or murder, or threatens to assault, 
kidnap or murder a member of the immediate family of 
a United States official, a United States judge, a 
Federal law enforcement officer, or an official whose 
killing would be a crime under section 1114 of this title; 
or 

(B) threatens to assault, kidnap, or murder, a 
United States official, a United States judge, a Federal 
law enforcement officer, or an official whose killing 
would be a crime under such section, with intent to 
impede, intimidate, or interfere with such official, judge, 
or law enforcement officer while engaged in the 
performance of official duties, or with intent to retaliate 
against such official, judge, or law enforcement officer 
on account of the performance of official duties, shall be 
punished as provided in subsection (b). 

(1) "Federal law enforcement officer" means any 
officer, agent, or employee of the United States 
authorized by law or by a Government agency to 
engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, 
investigation, or prosecution of any violation of Federal 
criminal law; 

18 USC 641 - Theft of public money, property or $500 
records 
Whoever embezzles, steals, purloins, or knowingly 
converts to his use or the use of another, or without 
authority, sells, conveys or disposes of any record, 
voucher, money, or thing of value of the United States 
or of any department or agency thereof, or any property 
made or being made under contract for the United 
States or any department or agency thereof; or 

Whoever receives, conceals, or retains the same with 
intent to convert it to his use or gain, knowing it to have 
been embezzled, stolen, purloined or converted ­

Shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more 
than ten years, or both; but if the value of such property 
does not exceed the sum of $1,000, he shall be fined 
under this title or imprisoned not more than one year, or 
both. 

The word "value" means face, par, or market value, or 
cost price, either wholesale or retail, whichever is 
greater 
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18 USC 1001 - False Statements 
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, 

whoever, in any matter within the jurisdiction of the 
executive, legislative. or judicial branch of the 
Government of the United States, knowingly and 
willfully ­

(1) falsifies, conceals, or covers up by any trick, 
scheme, or device a material fact; 

(2) makes any materially false, fictitious, or 
fraudulent statement or representation; or 

(3) makes or uses any false writing or document 
knowing the same to contain any materially false, 
fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry; shall be fined 
under this title or imprisoned not more than 5 years, or 
both. 

$250 
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$50018 USC 1170 - NAGPRA 
(a) Whoever knowingly sells, purchases, uses for profit, 
or transports for sale or profit, the human remains of a 
Native American without the right of possession to 
those remains as provided in the Native American 
Graves Protection and Repatriation Act shall be fined in 
accordance with this title, or imprisoned not more than 
12 months, or both, and in the case of a second or 
subsequent violation, be fined in accordance with this 
title, or imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both. 
(b) Whoever knowingly sells, purchases, uses for profit, 
or transports for sale or profit any Native American 
cultural items obtained in violation of the Native 
American Grave Protection and Repatriation Act shall 
be fined in accordance with this title, imprisoned not 
more than one year, or both, and in the case of a 
second or subsequent violation, be fined in accordance 
with this title, imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both 

$25018 USC 1361 - Vandalism of Gov't Property 
Whoever willfully injures or commits any depredation 
against any property of the United States, or of any 
department or agency thereof, or any property which 
has been or is being manufactured or constructed for 
the United States, or any department or agency thereof, 
or attempts to commit any of the foregoing offenses ... 

18 USC 1852 - Timber removed or transported 15t Offense -$250 
Whoever cuts, or wantonly destroys any timber growing 
on the public lands of the United States; or 2nd Offense or Commercial ­
Whoever removes any timber from said public lands, $500 + $50 per Tree 
with intent to export or to dispose of the same; or 
Whoever, being the owner, master, pilot, operator, or 
consignee of any vessel, motor vehicle, or aircraft or 
the owner, director, or agent of any railroad, knowingly 
transports any timber so cut or removed from said 
lands, or lumber manufactured therefrom -
This section shall not prevent any miner or agriculturist 
from clearing his land in the ordinary working of his 
mining claim, or in the preparation of his farm for tillage, 
or from taking the timber necessary to support his 
improvements, or the taking of timber for the use of the 
United States; nor shall it interfere with or take away 
any right or privilege under any existing law of the 
United States to cut 
or remove timber from any public lands. 
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18 USC 1853 - Trees cut or injured 
Whoever unlawfully cuts, or wantonly Injures or 
destroys any tree growing, standing, or being upon any 
land of the United States which, in pursuance of law, 
has been reserved or purchased by the United States 
for any public use, or upon any Indian reservation, or 
lands belonging to or occupied by any tribe of Indians 
under the authority of the United States, or any Indian 
allotment while the title to the same shall be held in 
trust by the Government, or while the same shall 
remain inalienable by the allottee without the consent of 
the United States, shall be fined under this title or 
imprisoned not more than one year, or both. 

1st Offense -$150 

2nd Offense - $250 + $50 per Tree 

18 USC 1854 - Trees Boxed for Pitch or Turpentine 
Whoever cuts, chips, chops, or boxes any tree upon 
any lands belonging to the United States, or upon any 
lands covered by or embraced in any unperfected 
settlement, application, filing, entry, selection, or 
location, made under any law of the United States, for 
the purpose of obtaining from such tree any pitch, 
turpentine, or other substance; or 
Whoever buys, trades for, or in any manner acqUires 
any pitch, turpentine, or other substance, or any article 
or commodity made from any such pitch, turpentine, or 
other substance, with knowledge that the same has 
been so unlawfully obtained 

1st Offense -$150 

2nd Offense - $250 + $50 per Tree 

18 USC 1855 - Timber set afire 
Whoever, willfully and without authority, sets on fire any 
timber, underbrush, or grass or other inflammable 
material upon the public domain or upon any lands 
owned or leased by or under the partial, concurrent, or 
exclusive jurisdiction of the United States, or under 
contract for purchase or for the acquisition of which 
condemnation proceedings have been instituted, or 
upon any Indian reservation or lands belonging to or 
occupied by any tribe or group of Indians under 
authority of the United States, or upon any Indian 
allotment while the title to the same shall be held in 
trust by the Government, or while the same shall 
remain inalienable by the allottee without the consent of 
the United States, shall be fined under this title or 
imprisoned not more than five years, or both. 
This section shall not apply in the case of a fire set by 
an allottee in the reasonable exercise of his proprietary 
riqhts in the allotment 

$250 
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18 USC 1856 - Fires left unattended and $150 
Unextinguished 
Whoever, having kindled or caused to be kindled, a fire 
in or near any forest, timber, or other inflammable 
material upon any lands owned, controlled or leased by, 
or under the partial, concurrent, or exclusive jurisdiction 
of the United States, including lands under contract for 
purchase or for the acqUisition of which condemnation 
proceedings have been instituted, and including any 
Indian reservation or lands belonging to or occupied by 
any tribe or group of Indians under the authority of the 
United States, or any Indian allotment while the title to 
the same is held in trust by the United States, or while 
the same shall remain inalienable by the allottee 
without the consent of the United States, leaves said 
fire without totally extinguishing the same, or permits or 
suffers said fire to burn or spread beyond his control, or 
leaves or suffers said fire to burn unattended, shall be 
fined under this title or imprisoned not more than six 
months, or both. 

18 USC 1857 - Fences destroyed $250 
Whoever knowingly and unlawfully breaks, opens, or 
destroys any gate, fence, hedge, or wall inclosing any 
lands of the United States reserved or purchased for 
any pUblic use; or Whoever drives any cattle, horses, 
hogs, or other livestock upon any such lands for the 
purposes of destroying the grass or trees on said lands, 
or where they may destroy the said grass or trees; or 
Whoever knowingly permits his cattle, horses, hogs, or 
other livestock to enter through any such enclosure 
upon any such lands of the United States, where such 
cattle, horses, hogs, or other livestock mayor can 
destroy the grass or trees or other property of the 
United States on the said lands. 

18 USC 1858 - Survey marks destroyed or removed 
Whoever willfully destroys, defaces, changes, or 
removes to another place any section corner, quarter­
section corner, or meander post, on any Government 
line of survey, or Willfully cuts down any witness tree or 
any tree blazed to mark the line of a Government 
survey, or willfully defaces, changes, or removes any 
monument or bench mark of any Government survey, 
shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more 
than six months, or both. 

$250 

18 USC 1859 - Surveying Interrupted $500 
Whoever, b threats or force, interru ts, hinders, or 
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I 

prevents the surveying of the public lands. or of any 
private land claim which has been or may be confirmed 
by the United States, by the persons authorized to 
survey the same in conformity with the instructions of 
the Director of the Bureau of Land Management, shall 
be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 
three years, or both 

18 USC 1864 - Hazardous or injurious devices on $500 
Federal lands 
(a) Whoever ­ or 

(1) with the intent to violate the Controlled 
Substances Act, Mandatory Appearance 

(2) with the intent to obstruct or harass the 
harvesting of timber, or or 

(3) with reckless disregard to the risk that another 
person will be placed in danger of death or bodily injury Arrest I Indictment I Complaint 
and under circumstances manifesting extreme 
indifference to such risk, uses a hazardous or injurious 
device on Federal land, on an Indian reservation, or on 
an Indian allotment while the title to such allotment 
is held in trust by the United States or while such 
allotment remains inalienable by the allottee without the 
consent of the United States shall be punished under 
subsection (b). 
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·Title 43 ~"United State'COd' 

43 USC 1061 - Enclosure of or assertion of right to 
public lands without title 
All enclosures of any public lands in any State or 
Territory of the United States, heretofore or to be 
hereafter made, erected, or constructed by any person, 
party, association, or corporation, to any of which land 
included within the enclosure the person, party, 
association, or corporation making or controlling the 
enclosure had no claim or color of title made or 
acquired in good faith, or an asserted right thereto by or 
under claim, made in good faith with a view to entry 
thereof at the proper land office under the general laws 
of the United States at the time any such enclosure was 
or shall be made, are declared to be unlawful, and the 
maintenance, erection, construction, or control of any 
such enclosure is forbidden and prohibited; and the 
assertion of a right to the exclusive use and 
occupancy of any part of the public lands of the United 
States in any State or any of the Territories of the 
United States, without claim, color of title, or asserted 
right as above specified as to enclosure, is likewise 

I declared unlawful, and prohibited . 

151 Offense - $200 

2nd Offense - $500 

43 USC 1063 - Obstruction of transit over public 
lands 
No person, by force, threats, intimidation, or by any 
fencing or inclosing, or any other unlawful means, shall 
prevent or obstruct, or shall combine and confederate 
with others to prevent or obstruct, any person from 
peaceably entering upon or establishing a settlement or 
residence on any tract of public land subject to 
settlement or entry under the pUblic land laws of the 
United States, or shall prevent or obstruct free passage 
or transit over or through the public lands: Provided, 
This section shall not be held to affect the right or title 
of persons, who have gone upon, improved, or 
occupied said lands under the land laws of the United 
States, claiming title thereto, in Qood faith. 

Interfere/Obstruct 
$200 

wlThreat or Violence: 

Mandatory Appearance 
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FINE SCHEDULE
 

u.s. FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
 

STATUTE (50 CFR) 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
13 

General Fish and Wildlife Service 
Permit Regulations 

13.25 
Unauthorized transfer of FWS issued 
permit. 

13.27 
Failure to notify new address ofFWS 
permittee. 

13.28
 
Failure to notify name change of
 
FWS permittee.
 

13.41
 
Failure to maintain humane and
 
healthful conditions for permitted
 
wildlife.
 

13.43
 
Unauthorized altering ofFWS
 
permit.
 

I Fine Schedule 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00/Mandatory Appearance 

$100.00 

13.44 I $100.00I 

Failure to display FWS permit. 

$150.00 
Failure to file required reports. 
13.45 

$150.00 
Failure to maintain records required 
by FWS permit. 

13.46 

$150.00 
Failure to allow inspection of activity 
authorized by FWS permit. 

13.47 

I 



..., 'tIJIJ 

, 

STATUTE (50 CFR) 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
14 

General Regulations for 
Importation, Exportation, and 

Transportation of Wildlife 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$250.00 

S250.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

14.11 
Knowingly import, or export wildlife 
at a non-designated port of entry. 

14.14(b) 
Knowingly unload in transit 
shipment in U.S .. 

14.20 
Knowingly, import/export at non-
designated port w/o permit. 

14.51 
Knowingly fail to allow detention 
and inspection of imported or 
exported wildlife. 

14.52 
Knowingly release for U.S. Customs 
imported or exported wildlife without 
FWS clearance. 

14.61 
Knowingly import wildlife without 
filing a declaration of imported 
wildlife. 

14.63 
Knowingly export wildlife without 
filing declaration of exported wildlife 

14.81 
Knowingly ship in interstate or 
foreign commerce wildlife without 
marked containers. 

14.82 
Knowingly ship in interstate or 
foreign commerce wildlife without 
complying with marking alternatives 



STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

14.91 
Knowingly import or export wildlife 
without the required import or export 
license. 

$350.00 

14.103 
Knowingly, import, transport ...wild 
birds or mammals in violation of 
humane transport regulations. 

$1 OO.OO/Mandatory Appearance 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
15 

Wild Bird Conservation Act 
Regulations 

15.11(a) 
Knowingly, commit or attempt to 
commit any violation of regulations. 

$150.00 - non 
commercial 
$1,000 - commercial 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
16 

Regulate Importation or Shipment 
of Injurious Species 

16.3 
Import fish or eggs of the Family 
Salmonidae. 

Mandatory Appearance 

16.ll(a) 
Import, transport. or acquire 
prohibited species of live mammals. 

Mandatory Appearance 

16.11(b) 
Release of imported live wild 
mammals or progeny to the wild 
without authorization. 

Mandatory Appearance 

16.12(a) 
Import, transport, or acquire 
prohibited species of live birds or 
eggs thereof. 

Mandatory Appearance 

16.12(b) 
Release of imported live wild game 
birds or progeny to the wild without 
authorization. 

Mandatory Appearance 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) 

16.12(d) 
Importation of eggs of wild non­
game birds. 

16.13(a)(1) 
Importation of fish or eggs of the 
Family Cleridae. 

16.13(b)(1) 
Importation of live or dead fish or 
eggs of the Family Salmonidae 
which are not processed. 

16.14 
Release of imported live wild 
amphibians or progeny or eggs 
thereof to the wild. 

16.15 
Release of imported live reptiles or 
progeny or eggs thereof to the wild. 

16.22(b)(1 ) 
Failure to properly confine injurious 
speCIes. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
17 

Endangered Wildlife Regulations 

l7.2l(a) 
Knowingly, commit or attempt to 
commit any endangered wildlife 
prohibition. 

l7.2l(b) 
Knowingly, import or export 
endangered wildlife. 

17.2l(c) 
Knowingly, take endangered wildlife 
within U.S., territorial seas, or high 
seas. 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$500.00 

$1,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$350.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

17.21(d) 
Knowingly, possess, sell, deliver, 
carry, transport, or ship any 
endangered wildlife taken in 
violation of paragraph (c). 

17.21(e) 
Knowingly, deliver, receive, carry, 
transport, or ship, in commercial 
activity, endangered wildlife. 

17.21(f) 
Knowingly, sell or offer for sale 
endangered wildlife in interstate or 
foreign commerce. 

17.21(g) 
Knowingly, violate captive bred 
endangered wildlife regulations. 

-, 

17.32 
Knowingly, violate general pennit 
regulations for threatened wildlife. 

-' 17.40 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened mammals. 

17.41 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened birds. 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

17.42 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened reptiles. 

17.43 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened 
amphi bians. 

17.44 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened fishes. 

17.45 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened snails & 
clams. 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) 

17.46 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened 
crustaceans. 

17.47 
Knowingly, violate special rule 
regulations for threatened insects. 

17.84 
Knowingly violate special rule 
regulations for vertebrates. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
19 

Airborne Hunting Act Regulations 

19.11(a)(1) 
Shoot from aircraft for the purpose of 
capturing or killing wildlife. 

19.11(a)(2) 
Use aircraft to harass wildlife. 

19.11(a)(3) 
Knowingly participate in using 
aircraft to shoot. or harass wildlife. 

19.32(a) 
Failure to file annual report. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
20 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act 
Hunting Regulations 

20.21(a) 
Take with illegal device or substance. 

20.21(b) 
Take with shotgun - holding more 
than 3 shells. 

20.21(c) 
Take by means, aid or sink box. 

$500.00 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$500.00 

$500.00 

i 

$1,000.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$200.00 

I 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 
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""'" STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

20.21(d) 
Take by means of motor driven 
conveyance. 

$150.00 

20.21(e) 
Take by means of motor boat or other 
craft under power. 

$150.00 

20.21(f) 
Take by use or aid oflive birds. 

$250.00 

20.21(g) 
Take by use or aid of recorded bird 
calls. 

$250.00 

20.21(h) 
Take by means of motor driven 
conveyance for driving or stirring 
waterfowl. 

$250.00 

20.21(i) 
Take by use of bait. 

$250.00 

20.21(j) 
Take in violation of lead shot 
regulations. 

$150.00 

20.22 
Take during closed season. 

$250.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

20.23 
Take before or after legal hours. 

$150.00 

20.24 $250.00 
Exceeding daily bag limit. 

20.25 I
! $150.00 

Wanton waste. 

20.26(c) $250.00 plus $50.00 per bird 
Failure to comply with temporary 
closure regs.. 

20.31 $150.00 plus $50.00 per bird 
Possession of birds taken violation of 
20.21 thru .23. 

20.32 $200.00 plus S50.00 per bird 
Possess freshly killed bird in closed 
season. 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

20.33 
Exceed possession limit. 

$150.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$200.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$150.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$100.00 

, 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$250.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$150.00 

20.34 
Possession in excess of daily limit on 
opening day. 

20.35 
Possess or transport in excess of 
daily limit. 

20.36 
Violation of tagging regulations. 

20.37 
Custody of untagged birds. 

20.38 
Live wounded bird in possession. 

20.40 
Gift of improperly tagged migratory 
game bird. 

20.41 
Transportation of birds taken or 
possessed in violation of 20.21 thru 
20.23. 

20.42 
Transportation of untagged birds of 
another person. 

20.43 
Transport birds without species 
identification. 

20.44 
Mis or non-mark of package in U.S. 
as required. 

20.51 
Exportation of birds taken in 
violation of20.21 thru .23. 

20.52 
Expon birds with species 
identification removed 
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Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$150.00 

STATUTE (50 CFR) 

20.53 
Mis or non-marking of package 
export as required. 

20.61(a) 
Import in excess of importation 
limits - Doves. 

20.61(b) 
Import excess of importation limits ­
waterfowl. 

20.62 
Import birds of another. 

20.63 
Import birds with species 
identification removed. 

20.64 
Import, possess, transport or ship 
without required permits. 

20.65 
Import birds not drawn or dressed as 
required. 

20.66 
Mis or non-marking of package 
import as required. 

20.71 
Take possess, transport, ship or 
export in violation of Federal law. 

20.72 
Take, possess, transport, ship or 
export in violation of State law. 

20.73 
Import, possess, transport or ship 
any; bird taken contrary to 
regulations of foreign country. 

20.81 
Commercial facility with untagged 
birds. 

20.82 
Violation of record keeping 
requirements. 

$100.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$100.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00
 

5150.00
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

20.83 
Not permitting premise inspection. 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 plus $50.00 per bird 

$50.00 

$200.00 

$150.00 

$200.00 

$150.00 

$200.00 

$200.00 

$200.00 

20.91(a) 
Purchase, sell or offer the feathers of 
migratory birds. 

20.91(b) 
Purchase, sell or offer mounted 
speCImens. 

20.133 
Violation of crow hunting 
regulations. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
21Migratory Bird Permits 

21.11 
Import, export, take sell, purchase, 
possess or dispose wlo authorization. 

21.14(f) 
Failure to retain or furnish a 3-186 
upon transfer of birds. 

21.21 
Importation or exportation of bird 
wlo a permit. 

21.22(a) 
Violation of banding and marking 
permit requirements.. 

21.23 
Violation of scientific collecting 
permit requirement. 

21.24 
Violation of taxidermy permit 
requirements. 

21.25 
Violation of Waterfowl sale and 
disposal permits. 
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21.27 
Violation of special purpose 
regulations. 

21.28 
Violation of falconry permit 
requirements. 

21.29 
Violation of facility standards. 

21.41 
Violation of depredation permit 
requirements. 

21.42 
Kill depredating birds other than by 
permitted method. 

21.43 
Violation of depredating control 
requirements for non-game birds. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
22 Eagle Permits 

22.11 
Knowingly take, posses or transport 
eagle. 

22.12 
Knowingly sell, purchase, trade, 
export, import eagle. 

22.21 
Knowingly violate eagle pemlit 
requirements for scientific or 
exhibition. 

22.22 
Knowingly violate eagle permit 
requirements for Indian religious 
purposes. 

22.23 
Knowingly violate eagle permit 
requirements for depredation 
purposes. 

$200.00 

$250.00 

$200.00 

$150.00 

$100.00 

$150.00 

$1,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

Proposed
 
Fine Schedule
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

22.32 
Knowingly violate eagle permit 
conditions for taking depredating 
eagles. 

$250.00 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
25 National Wildlife Refuge 

Systems Administration Provisions 

25.42 $100.00 
Failure to display permit when 
required. 

25.72 $100.00 
Failure to report accidents. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
26 National Wildlife Refuge 

Systems Public entry and Use 
I 

26.21(a) $100.00 
Trespass by person on a refuge. 

26.21 (b) $100.00 plus $50.00 per animal 
Permit unconfined domestic animal Dogs offleash within 100 yards $75.00 
to enter refuge. 

26.22(a) 
Enter or use NWR without 
complying with Regulations in 
Subchapter C;Special Regulations in 
50 CFR; or Official Notification 
outlined in 25.31. 

26.22(b) $150.00 
Enter refuge without acquiring 
required permit. 

26.36 $150.00 
Conduct public assembly without 
permit. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
27 National Wildlife Refuge 

Systems Prohibited Acts 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

27.21 
Take any animal or plant without 
authorization. 

Big Game - $410.00 
Other - $250.00 
Shed Antlers - $250.00 + $1 O.OO/Lbs. 

$250.00 - Aggravated 
$50.00 - Non- Aggravated 

$75.00 

Mandatory Appearance 

$100.00 

State Collateral 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$50.00 

$100.00 or 
. Mandatory Appearance 
I 
i 

$50.00 

S50.00 

27.31 
Travel on other than designated 
route. 

27.31(a) 
Operate a vehicle in violation of 
State law. 

27.31(b) 
Operate vehicle under the influence 
of drugs or alcohol. 

27.31(c) 
Operate vehicle carelessly or 
heedlessly. 

27.3l(d) 
Exceed 25 mph or posted speed limit. 

27.31(e) 
Operate vehicle without muffler or 
spark arrester. 

27.31(f) 
Operate vehicle without license plate 
or registration. 

27.31(g) 
Operate vehicle without a driver's 
license. 

27.31 (h) 
Block road access for other vehicles. 

27.31(i) 
Failure to obey orders of traffic 
control officers. 

27.310) 
Operate over sized/over weight 
vehicle. 

27.31(k) 
Unauthorized moving of a vehicle 
involved in an accident. 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$50.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

Coast Guard regulations apply 

State law regulations would apply 

$250.00 

Mandatory Appearance 

$100.00 

$100.00 

I 

27.31(1) 
Operate vehicle without proper 
headlights, taillights, or brake lights. 

27.31(m) 
Violation of other established special 
vehicle requirements. 

27.32(a) 
Use of a boat in a closed area of 
refuge. 

27.32(b)(1)(i) 
Operate a boat in violation of U.S. 
Coast Guard laws. 

27.32(b)(1)(ii) 
Operate boat in violation of state 
laws. 

27.32(b)(2) 
Operate a boat in reckless or 
negligent manner. 

27.32(b)(3) 
Operation ofboat under influence of 
an intoxicant. 

27.32(b)(4) 
Interfere with the operation of other 
boats. 

27.32(b)(5) 
Operate boat without proper marine 
head. 

27.32(b)(6) 
Operate a sailboat without required 
lights. 

$100.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

27.32(b)(7) 
Leave boat unattended for 72 hours. 

27.32(b)(8) 
Unauthorized use of a government 
boat dock. 

27.33 
Unauthorized waterskiing on a 
refuge. 
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27.34 
Unauthorized landing of an aircraft 
on refuge. 

27.41 
Carry, possess, or discharge 
fireworks or explosives. 

27.42 
Carry, possess, or discharge a 
firearm. 

27.43 
Use of weapons other than firearms. 

27.51 
Disturb, injure, damage 
plant/animals. 

27.52 
Introduction of plants and animals.. 

27.61 
Destruction or removal of public or 
private property. 

27.62 
Search for or removal of objects of 
antiquity. 

27.63(a) 
Search for valued stones, gems. 

27.64 
Conduct prospecting or mining 
operations. 

27.65 
Tamper with vehicles or equipment. 

27.71 
Take or film motion pictures for 
commercial use. 

27.72 
Cause unreasonable disturbance with 
audio equipment. 

27.73 
Use of artificial light to locate 
wildlife. 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$250.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$150.00 

$200.00 plus repair costs 

$200.00/Mandatory Appearance 

$200.00/Mandatory Appearance 

$200.00 

$250.00 

$500.00 

$100.00 

$200.00 
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Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Mandatory Appearance 

, 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) 

27.81 
Enter refuge under the influence of 
alcohol. 

27.82(b)(1) 
Deliver controlled substance. 

27.82(b)(2) 
Possess less than two ounces of a 
controlled substance. 

27.83 
Indecency and disorderly conduct 

27.84 
Interference with persons engaging in 
authorized activity. 

27.85 
Gambling. 

27.86 
Begging and soliciting. 

27.91 
Conducting field trails. 

27.92 
Construct, install, occupy private 
structure. 

27.93 
Abandon private property. 

27.94(a) 
Simple littering 
Disposal of sewage 
Disposal of chemicals 

27.95(a) 
Setting unauthorized fire. 

27.95(b) 
Leaving fire unattended. 

27.95(c) 
Throw burning cigarette, match, etc., 
where it may start a fire. 

27.95(d) 
Smoke in non-smoking area. 

Mandatory Appearance 

Mandatory Appearance 

$100.00 

$500.00 or 
Mandatory Appearance 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$500.00 

$200.00 

$100.00 
$150.00 
$500.00 

$100.00 

SlOO.OO 

S100.00
 

S50.00
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27.96 
Advertising. 

27.97 
Conduct private commercial 
operation. 

28.31 
Violate any provision, rule, 
regulation sign or special regulation. 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
31 National Wildlife Refuge 

Systems Wildlife Refuges 
Commercial Fishing and Trapping 

31.13 
No refuge commercial fishing. 

31.16 
Violation of trapping permit, 
regulations. 

State law 
Permit conditions 
Failure to inspect 
Unlawful sets 
Each animal 

Code of Federal Regulations Part 
32 National Wildlife Refuge 
Systems Hunting on Refuge 

32.2(a) 
Hunt without a State Law. 

32.2(b) 
Hunting without a migratory 
waterfowl/hunting stamp. 

32.2(c) 
Hunt in violation of Federal Law. 

32.2(d) 
Hunt in violation of State Law. 

$100.00 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

$200.00 
200.00 
200.00 
250.00 
250.00 

Same as State Penalty 

$150.00 

S200.00 

$200.00 
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STATUTE (SO CFR) Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

32.2(e) 
Hunt in violation of special access 
requirements. 

$100.00 

$100.00 

Mandatory Appearance 

$lSO.OO 

same as state 

same as state 

$SO.OO 

$SO.OO 

state collateral 

$3S.00 

$2S0.00 plus SSO.OO per bird 

32.2(f) 
Failure to comply with special 
regulations regarding hunting. 

32.2(g) 
Bow hunt with any drug on an arrow. 

32.S(a) 
Fish without a State license. 

32.S(b) 
Fish in violation of Federal law. 

32.S(c) 
Fish in violation of State law. 

32.S(d) 
Fish in violation of special access 
requirements. 

32.S(e) 
Failure to comply with special 
regulations regarding fishing. 

33.2(a) 
Fishing without state license 

33.2(d) 
terms and conditions of access and 
use 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act 
Violations 

16 U.S.c. 703 
Taking, pursuing, hunting, capturing, Oil Pit Violations $2S0.00/bird WIO 
etc. or offer bird, their parts, nest, or cleanup 
egg. $83.00 W cleanup 

16 U.S.c. 704(b)(1) 
Knowingly or reasonably should 
have known, take migratory game 
bird by aid of bait or on or over 
baited area. 

$SOO.OO 
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Proposed 

Fine Schedule 

16 U.S.c. 704 (b)(2) 
Knowing, places bait for the purpose 
of inducing or allowing person to 
take or attempt to take migratory 
game birds. 

$1,000.00 

16 U.S.c. 705 $250.00 
Ship, transport, carry in interstate or 
foreign commerce any bird, part, 
nest, egg, etc. 
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STATUTE (50 CFR) 

Endangered Species Act Violations 

16 U.S.c. l538(A) 
Import or export endangered species. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(B) 
Take of endangered species in U.S.. 

16U.S.C.1538(C) 
Take of endangered species on high 
sea. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(D) 
Possess, sell, deliver, carry, transport 
or ship an endangered species. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(E) 
Deliver, receive, carry, transport in 
interstate commerce. 

16 U.S.c. l538(F) 
Sell or offer for sale. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(G) 
Violate regulation pertaining to 
threatened species. 

16 U.S.C. 1538(2)(A) 
Import or export endangered plant. 

16 U.S.C. 1538(2)(B) 
Remove and reduce to possession 
damage or destroy endangered plant. 

16 U.S.c. 1538(2)(c) 
Ship in interstate commerce an 
endangered plant. 

Lacey Act Violations 
16 V.S.c. 3372 

16 U.s.C. 3372(a)( 1) 
Knowingly import, export, transport, 
sell, receive, acquire or purchase any 
fisl1 or wildlife or plant, taken or 
possessed in violation of any law. 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$1000.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

Commercial: $1500.00 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $500.00 
All Other: S250.00 
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16 U.S.c. 3372(a)(2)(A)(B) 
Knowingly import, export, transport, 
sell, receive acquire or purchase in 
interstate or foreign commerce. 

16 V.S.c. 3372(a)(3)(A)(B) 
Within the Special maritime and 
Territorial jurisdiction of the United 
States: knowingly possess any fish, 
wildlife or plant taken, possessed, 
transported, or sold in violation of 
any law or regulation of any State. 

16 V.S.c. 3372(a)(4) 
Knowingly having imported, 
exported, transported, sold, 
purchased or received any fish or 
wildlife or plant imported for any 
foreign country. 

16 U.S.c. 3372(a)(5) 
Attempt to commit any act described 
in 3372(a) paragraphs (1) through 
(4). 

American Antiquities Act 
16 U.S.C. 433 

Appropriate, excavate, injure, or 
destroy historic or prehistoric ruin or 
monument of any object of antiquity. 

Duck Stamp Act 

16 V.S.c. 718(a) 
Hunt migratory waterfowl wlo a duck 
stamp. 

16 U.S.c. 718(b) 
Hunt migratory waterfowl with 
unsigned duck stamp. 

16 U.S.c. 718(e) 
Loan/Transfer duck stamp. 

Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

Commercial: $1500.00 
Non-Commercial: 

Big Game: $500.00 
Other $250.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00/Mandatory 
Appearance 

$150.00 

$50.00 

$150.00 
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Proposed 
Fine Schedule 

16 U.S.c. 718(e)(b) 
Alter, mutilate, imitate or counterfeit 
duck stamp. 

$500.00 
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APPENDIX I
 

APPENDIX TO RULE 3.1, Wyo. R. Cr. P.
 
UNIFORM BAIL AND FORFEITURE SCHEDULES
 

(Revised July 1,2003) 

For the sake of uniformity throughout the state, the following schedules have been established by the 
Wyoming Supreme Court and shall be used in all circuit courts and justice of the peace courts.' 

Unless a specific bail amount appears in the body of this schedule, the amount of bail is (including $20.00 
couli costs and a $10.00 court automation fee): 

A = $ 45.00 
B = $ 60.00 
C = $110.00 
D = $210.00 
E = $410.00 

A person to whom a citation has issued must appear in court on the day and at the time specified in the citation 
unless the citing officer checks the box "MAY FORFEIT BOND IN LIEU OF APPEARANCE" on the citation. 

If the "MAY FORFEIT BOND IN LIEU OF APPEARANCE" box is checked, the person cited must appear on the 
-. ~ and at the time specified on the citation or may post bond at or prior to the court date and forfeit the same in 
j.l of appearance. 

Any offense NOT listed requires the party to appear, subject to local requirements, so long as fully 
consistent with the schedule. 

Following are the misdemeanor offenses for which bond may be posted and forfeited: 

Seat belt reduction--Wyo. Stat. Ann. §31-5-1402(e)(2000 amendment) provides that "All 
citations for violations of the motor vehicle laws of this state shall contain a notation by the issuing 
officer indicating whether the driver and passenger(s) complied with this section." (Viz, had seat 
belt fastened or was exempt from the requirement.) "Compliance with this section shall entitle a 
licensee to a ten dollar ($10.00) reduction in the fine otherwise imposed." The Wyoming Supreme 
Court ruled that it applies to both bail and fines. 
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CODE STATUTEJ VIOLATION 

RULE 
DESCRIPTION BAIL 

" ". 
1A. TRAFFIC OFFENSES - ...",:~~:.". "' 

9-2~1016(i)i Unauthorized use of state vehicles B 
! 

I 14-1-109 Failure to observe signs and closed C 
markers 

24-1-110(a) Exhibition of acceleration C 
I 

Drag racin.g--two (2) or more cars C 
31-2-402(d) Snowmobile registration Bl== 
31-2-405 Snowmobile registration decal-failure to AI 

display
 
I 31-2-702(c)
 

I 
Off-road registration decal for B

I recreational vehicle I 

31-4-101(a)(i) Vehicle registration required B! 

Expired temporary license permits as B
I defined in 31-2-21l(c) 
I 
I 31-4-101(a)(ii)! Failure to display license plates as B 
I required by 31-2-205 

License plates for nonresident as required B 
by 31-2-201(a)(iii) on becoming resident 
and 31-2-201(a)(iv)(a) upon becoming 
employed in Wyoming L 

I 31-4-101 (a)(iii) Operation of vehicle with altered, BI 
I mutilated or obscured license plates 
I 31-4-1 0 l(b) Alteration or mutilation of license plates B 
! 

I 31-4-101(d) Transfer interest without certificate B 
i 

! 

31-4­ Compulsory auto insurance E 
I 103(a)or(b) (MUST APPEAR) 
! 31-5-1201 FOR INFO&'\1ATION: PENALTY SECTION FOR UNIFORM 

ACT REGULATING TRAFFIC (31-5-101 THROUGH 31-5-1214 
EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED 
Willful refusal to obev officer 31-5-104 B 

i 31-5-115 Motorcycle operation B! 

31-5-115(0) Motorcycle operation by minor without B
! 
I helmet
 

31-5-l16
 Obstructing driver's view B 
I 131-5-117 Putting glass on highway B 
I 

Clinging to a vehicle on highway 31-5-119 B 
31-5-120 Driving on sidewalks BI 
31-5-121 Opening and closing vehicle door BI 
31-5-122 Riding in house trailers BI 
31-5-124 Off-road recreation vehicle limitation on BI 

i I use I-
Driving on right side of roadway, B I• 31-5-201 

i
! 

exceptions
>--­

Overtaking on the left i 31-5-203 B 
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I CODE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

~ 31-5-204 Passing when free from traffic B 
31-5-205 No passing on crest of hill or near B 

intersection 
31-5-206 When overtaking on right is pennitted B 
31-5-207 No-passing-zones- B 

Hillcrest-other traffic present 
Hillcrest-night time 

I 31-5-208 One-wav traffic signal violation B 
31-5-209 Two-and three-lane traffic B 

I 31-5-210 Following too closely B 
31-5-211 Driving over, across or within median B 
31-5-212 Controlled access road B 
31-5-213 Restricting use of controlled access B 
31-5-214 Turning at intersection B 
31-5-215 No V-Turn on curve or crest B 

I 31-5-216 Startin,g parked vehicle 8 

I 31-5-217 Turning requires signals B 
31-5-218 Signal may be by hand or light B 
31-5-220 Right-of-way entering intersection B 

L 31-5-221 Turning left at intersection B 
I 31-5-222(b) Stop sign B 
! 31-5-222(c) Yield sign B 
i 31-5-223 Yield when entering from private road B 

31-5-224(a) Right-of-way for emergency vehicles B 

i 

! 31-5-224(a)(i) Operation upon approach to parked C 
or (ii) emergency vehicle 

, 31-5-226 Backing B 

I 31-5-227 Driving through defiles, canyon, or B 
mountain roads 

31-5-228 Load on vehicles B 
I 31-5-230 Coasting prohibited B 

31-5-231 Following fire engine prohibited B 

i 31-5-232 Driving over fire hose B 
31-5-234 Minors drivin,g with detectable alcohol Must Appear 

! 31-5-235 Open container bv operator of vehicle C 
i SPEEDING VIOLATIONS-too fast for conditions 

SPEEDING VJLOATIONS - school zone 

1 I 31-5-301(b)(i) Exceeding 20mph in school zone plus A 
I 

510.00 court automation fee plus S2.00 , 

I per mile over 20 mph I, 

, 13l-5-301(a) Speed too fast for conditions B 
, 

I 547.00
 
I 22- I $49,00 

3 
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I cnDE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 

RULE 
I 23 _ $51.00 

24 - $53.00 
25 - $55.00 
($50.00 & $20.00 court costs & $10.00 court automation fee & $4.00 
per mile above 25 mph 
26 - $84.00 

I 27 - $88.00 
28 - $92.00 
29 - $96.00 
30 - $100.00 
31 - $104.00 
32 - $108.00 
33 - $112.00 
34 - $116.00 
35 - $120.00 
36 - $124.00 
37 - $128.00 
38 - $132.00 
39 - $136.00 

I 40 - $140.00 
41 - $144.00 
42 - $148.00 
43 - $152.00 
44 - $156.00 
45 mph & above $230.00 & Must Appear 

SPEEDING VIOLATIONS - urban districts 
31-5-301 (b)(ii) Exceeding 30 mph in urban districts plus A 

$10.00 court automation fee plus $2.00 
per mile over 30 mph 
31 - $47.00 
32 - $49.00 
33 - $51.00 
34 - $53.00 
35 - $55.00I 

($50.00 & $20.00 court costs plus $10.00 court automation fee plus 
$4.00 per mile above 35 mph) 
36 - $84.00 

, 37 - $88.00 
I 38 - $92.00 
! 39 - I $96.00 

i 40 - $100.00 

i 41 - $104.00 
42 - S108.00 

4
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I r.ODE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

43 ­ $112.00 
44 ­

r 
$116.00 

45 ­ $120.00 
46 ­ $124.00 
47 ­ $128.00 
48 ­ $132.00I 

$136.0049 ­I 
' 50 ­ $140.00 

51 ­
I 

$144.00 
52 ­ $148.00 

i $152.00 
54 ­
53 ­

$156.00 
55 ­ $160.00 
56 mph & above $230.00 & Must Appear 

SPEEDING VIOLATION - interstate highways 
.~-p••q.v~~~ 

and Ii ht trucks (Pena1t 31-5-1201(d)(v) 
. Cars. Trucks ':j' 

. . 

I , 76­ $5.00 $5.00 
77 ­ $10.00 $10.00 

i " 

78 ­ $15.00 $15.00 
79 ­

I 

$20.00$20.00 
! $25.00 

(includes $20.00 court costs plus $10.00 court automation fee for 
speeds 81 and above) 
"Trucks" - Trucks with gross vehicle weight or gross vehicle weight 
rating exceeding 26,000 1bs.- exceeding 80 mph - same as cars, plus 
$100.00. (Penalty 31-5-120l(g) or 31-18-704) 

80 ­ $25.00 

81 ­ $85.00 $185.00 
82 ­

I 
$90.00 $190.00 

83 ­ $95.00 $195.00 
84 ­ $200.00$100.00 

I 85 ­ $105.00 $205.00 
86 ­ $210.00 
87 ­

$110.00 
$220.00$120.00 

I $130.00 $230.0088 ­
I 
I $310.00 

101-109 
89 - 100 $210.00 

5230.00 I $330.00 & 
I I Must Appear 

110 & above $230.00& I $330.00 & 
Must appear Must appear 

I 

I SPEEDING VIOLAnONS - primary and secondary highways 

5
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CODE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

TrucksCars 

31-5-301(b)(iv) Exceeding 65 mph on primary and secondary highways-"Cars"=
I passenger vehicles and light trucks (Penalty 31-5-1201 (d) 

(No court costs or court automation fee 66-70 mph) 
66 ­

: 
$5.00 $5.00 

I $10.00 $10.0067 ­
68 ­ $15.00 S15.00! 

I $20.00 $20.0069 ­
I 70 ­ $25.00 $25.00 
I For speeds in excess of70 mph, the bail shall be $25.00 plus $20.00 

court costs plus $10.00 court automation fee plus $3.00 for every mile 
in excess in excess of 70 mph 
"Trucks" - Trucks with gross vehicle weight or gross vehicle weight 
rating exceeding 26,000 lbs.-exceeding 70 mph - same as cars, plus 

I 

I $100.00 (Penalty 31-5-1201 (g) or 31-18-704) 
71 ­ $58.00 $158.00I 

I 72­ $61.00 $161.00I 

73 ­ $64.00 $164.00 
74­

I 
$167.00$67.00 

r 
" ~ $70.00 $170.00 

76 ­
75 ­

$73.00 $173.00 
77­ $176.00 
78­

$76.00 
$179.00 

79 ­
$79.00 
$82.00 $182.00 

80 ­ $85.00 $185.00I 

! 81 ­ $88.00 $188.00 
82 ­ $91.00 5191.00 
83 ­ $94.00 $194.00 
84 ­ $97.00 $197.00 
85 ­ $100.00 5200.00i 
86 ­ $203,00$103.00I 
87 ­ 5206.00$106.00I 

I $209.0088 ­ $109.00 
I 

89 ­ $112.00 $2l2.00 
90 ­ $115.00 5215.00 
91­ $218.00$118.00I 
92­ $121.00 $221.00! 

I 93 ­ $124.00 $224.00 
i 94 ­ $127.00 $227.00 I 

I 95 ­I I $130.00 I 5230.00 
,

! 5233.00I 96 ­ 5133.00 
j I 97 ­ $136.00 5236.00 

6
 



CQOE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION 
RULE ... 

98 ­

99 ­
100 ­
101 -
102 ­
103 -

-­
104 ­

.. -. 

105 ­
106 ­
107 ­
108 ­
109 ­
110 ­
F0r" reeds in excess of 110 mph see the 

.ate , 1 page 6 

06/05/03 

BAIL 

$139.00 $239.00 
Cars Trucks 

$142.00 $242.00 
$145.00 $245.00 
$148.00 $248.00 
$151.00 $251.00 
,~ . ')0 $254.00.­
$157.UC $257.00 
$160.00 S:f0.00 
$163.00 $263.00 
$166.00 $266.00 
$169.00 $269.00 
$172.00 $272.00 
$175.00 $275.00 

SPEEDT' J VIOLATIONS -- superintendent's speed zone 

i I 
(except construction zones) 

- ­ Superintendents speed zones 
1 - 5 mph $45.00 

I 6-9 $60.00 

I 
10 - 16 mph $50.00 & $20.00 court costs & $10.00 court automation 
fee & $2.00 per mile over posted speed 
10 ­ $100.00 
11­ $102.00 
12 ­ $104.00 
13­ $106.00 
14 ­ $108.00 
15 - $110.00 
16 ­ $112.00 
17 ­ 24 mph $50.00 & $20.00 court costs & $10.00 court automation 
fee & $4.00 per mile over posted speed up to $200.00 
17 ­ $148.00 
18 ­ $152.00 
19 ­ $156.00 
20 ­ $160.00 

\ 21 - $164.00 
, 

I I 22 - S168.00 
I 23 - SI72.00i 
I I I 24­ 5176.00 

I 
125 and above $230.00 

I 
-­ & must appear I 

r 31-5-301(c) 

, 

I 

; 

I 

i 

I 

7
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DESCRIPTION BAIL 

SPEEDING VIOLATIONS - construction zones 
(for superintendent's zones, see above) 

Construction zones (as per 31-5-1201 (g)) 

Cars Trucks 

1- 5 $60.00 $60.00 
6-9 $85.00 $185.00 

VIOLATION
STATUTEII CODE 
RULE 

31-5-301 (c) 

I 

! 

I 

I 

I 
I 

I 

I 
I 

31-5-304 
I 31-5-305 
I 31-5-402 
, 31-5-403 
I 31-5-404I 

31-5-405I 
i 
I 
I 31-5-406 

31-5-501I 

I 
I 

I 31-5-504 
I 31-5-505 

,31-5-506 

I 31-5-507 

I 
I 

r, I
I 

31-5-509 

10 - 16 mph $50.00 & $20.00 court costs & $10.00 court automation 
fee & $4.00 per mile over the posted speed limit 
10 ­ $120.00 $220.00 
11 ­ $124.00 $224.00 
12 ­ $128.00 $228.00 
13 ­ $132.00 $232.00 

14 ­ $136.00 $236.00 
15 ­ $140.00 $240.00 
16 ­ $144.00 $244.00 
17 - 21 mph $50.00 & $20.00 court costs & $10.00 court automation 
fee & $6.00 per mile over posted speed limit 
17 ­ $282.00 
18 ­

$182.00 
$188.00 $288.00 

19 ­ $194.00 $294.00 
20 ­ $200.00 $300.00 
21 ­ $206.00 $306.00 
22 & above $230.00 $330.00 

& & 
must appear must appear 

Driving to slowly--minimum speed B 
Special speeds-bridges B 
Obedience to traffic-control device B 
Traffic-control signals B 
Pedestrian-control signals B 
Flashing signals B 
Display of unauthorized signs B 
Unlawful parking in restricted areas B 
(penalty 31-5-502) 
Prohibited parking spaces B 
Parking on Highway B 
Stop-emerging from alley B 
Meeting or passing stopped school bus D 
(2nd offense within one year is a high 
misdemeanor) 

I Leaving car unattended B 

8 

I 
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STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAILI CqOE 
RULE 

31-5-510 

31-5-511 
31-5-512 

I 31-5-601 
31-5-602 

, 
31-5-603 
31-5-605 

31-5-606 
31-5-612 
31-5-702 

31-5-703 

I 31-5-704 
I 
i 31-5-705 
i 31-5-706 

31-5-801 
I 31-5-901 

I 
: 31-5-910 

31-5-911 thru 
31-5-932 

I 

31-5-950 thru 
I 
I 31-5-951 
! 
I 
I 

31-5-952 thru 
31-5-955 

i I 31-5-956 

! I 31-5-957 thru 
I 
I I 31-5-958 

131-5-961 I 
, 31-5-962 I 

I 31-5-970 I 
I 

Railroad crossing signal and sight 

Stop at railroad crossing 
Parking in cities and on highways 
Traffic control for pedestrian 
Pedestrian right-of-way in crosswalks 
Javwalking 
Pedestrian to use sidewalks or left side of 
highway
 
Hitchhikin,g
 
Pedestrian--under influence
 
Bicyclists subject to applicable motor
 
vehicle laws
 
Bicyclists must ride on seat and no
 
passengers 
Bicyclists riding on roadway and 
desi,gnated paths 
Bicyclists able to keep one hand on bar 
Nighttime use, equipment and brakes 
Snowmobile on highways 
Operating vehicles with improper 
equipment 
When headlamps required 
Headlights (911, 912); taillights (913); 
reflectors (914); stoplights and tum lights 
(915); clearance lights (916); color and 
mounting of clearance lights and 
reflectors (917); lamps, etc. on projecting 
loads (919); lights for parked vehicles 
(920); spot lights (922); mUltiple beams 
(924); single beam (925); lights for 
operating 20 mph (926); number of 
driving lights (927); restriction on lights, 
color flashing emergency, police (928); 
farm equipment lights (921) 
Brakes 

Horns (952); mufflers (953); mirrors
 
(954); windshield wipers (955)
 
Tires, chains 
Flares (957); warning devices on disabled 
vehicles (958) 
Television receivers 
Sun screening devices 

i Unsafe vehicles 

B 

B 
B 
B 
B 
B 
B 

B 
B 
B 

B 

B 

B 
B 
B 
B 

B 
B 

B 

B 

B
 
B
 

B 
B 
C 
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I r.ODE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

I 31-5-1102 Damage to attended vehicle or property D 
Must Appear 

31-5-1104 Colliding with unattended vehicle, duty C 
Must Appear 

31-5-1105 Failure to report over $1,000.00 property D 
damage or in jury Must Appear 

31-5-1106 Written reports required; reports by B 
garage operator of vehicles struck by 
bullets 

31-5-1202 Aiding and abetting the commission of Same as Principal's 
any of the above offenses Offense 

31-5-1203 Owner prohibited from permitting B 
operation of vehicles contrary to law 

31-5-1206 Failure to appear (F.T.A.) when original D 
offense was not a "MUST APPEAR" 

I 
31-5-1303 Child safety restraint system (Penalty 31­ B 

5-1304(b)) 
31-5-1303 Child safety restraint system 2nd offense C 
31-5-1402(a) Driver $25.00 

l '­ 3l-5-1402(a) Driver with passenger under 12 years old $25.00 
31-5-1402(a) Passenger over 12 years old $10.00 

./ 31-5-1601(b) Operation of off-road recreation vehicles B 
on public roads/driver's license required I 

31-7-106 Driver's license B 
31-7-116 Carrying and exhibiting license B 

I 31-7-117 Restricted license B 
31-7-119(d) False application for new license C 
31-7-133 Unlawful use oflicense D 
31-7-134(a) Operating under suspended or revoked E 

license ifnot for 31-5-229 or 31-5-233 (MUST APPEAR) 

If suspended for 31-5-229 or 31-5-233 
(first offense) 

I 2nd or subsequent DUS , 

I 31-7-135 Permitting unlicensed person to operate 8 
i 31-12-101 Lugs and cleats 8 
I 31-16-126 Misuse of demo/full-use plates 8 
I 18. REPORTING OF SPECIAL TAXES 
, C 
, 

I Di 

C 

! 
2~ COMMERCIAL VEHICLES 

i 39-6-213(d) 
i 39-6-213(f) 

Failure to report gasoline tax 
False refund affidavit 
Failure to report special fuels tax ! 39-6-911(c) I 

10
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cnDE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

~ 

The following uniform schedule for deposits for appearances on commercial vehicle violations 
are established by court rule or by statutory authority. (Costs and $10.00 court automation fee included.) 

31-18-201(b) Registration and licensing commercial B 
vehicles
 

31-18-201(g)
 Registration and licensing rental vehicle B 
31-18-201(k) Display registration B 
31-18-201(m) Intrastate registration operation B 
31-18-20l(y) Expired temporary registration B 
31-4-102(a) False statement on application B 
31-7-137(c) Failure to apply for duplicate license B 
31-7-301 Failure to notify DOT of conviction D 
31-7-304 Commercial drivers license C 
31-7-306 Commercial driver prohibited from E 

1 operating with any alcohol in system
 
31-18-701 &
 FOR INFOR'\1ATION :
 
31-18-704
 rPENALTY SECTIONS FOR 31-18-101 THROUGH 606] 
31-18-203 Mobile machinery--no operation B 
31-18-205(a) Mobile machinery permit required B 
31-18-205(b) Mobile machinery permit not properly B 

displayed 
31-18-303 PSC Rule 28, Code of Federal Regulation $330.00 

-
! 

(CFR), Title 49-- Hazardous 
materials-palis CFR 171-174.840 and 
177-179.500-18 
Motor carrier safety regulation-CFR $160.00 
parts 390, 391., 392, 393, 395, 396 and 
397, including liquor in cab; $160.00 per 
out-of-service violation (up to $750.00); 

$60.00 per violation of all other violations $60.00 
which are not out-of-service criteria (up 
to $500.00) 
Except the following four (4) offenses, $230.00 
CFR 396.9c(d'l, CFR 397.5, CFR 397.7 
and CFR 397.13 

31-18-209(d) No bill of lading for common carrier B 
31-18-210(c) No bill of lading to operate as contract B 

I, carrier 
I 
[ 31-18-211(b) No bill of lading to act as interstate carrier B , 
I 31-18-30l(b) No PSC Pernlit or certificate in vehicle B 
, 

Failure to produce certificate upon B 
I 

I 31-18-301(c) 
demand 

,I : 31-18-30l(c) Failure to stop at port of entry C 
i i 31-18-304(a) I I No display of name of motor carrier Bi 

11
 



STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

31-18-403(a) No one trip permit B 
31-18-403(b) No permit for towing vehicles B 
31-18-403(e) No one trip permit motion picture B I 

industry 
31-18-404 Misuse of commercial vehicle demo B 

permit 
31-18-405(b) No permit for towing vehicles B 
31-18-501 For violations of39-17-106(£) B 
31-18-501 For violations of 39-17-206(c) B 
31-18-603 Loads on vehicles B 
31-18-605(a)(i) Failure to activate flashers B 
31-18-605(a)(ii) Failure to stop 15-50' from rail B 
31-18-605 Failure to look/listen at railroad crossing B 
(a)(iii) 
31-18-605 Shifted gears crossing tracks B 
(a)(iv) 
31-18-605(a)(v) Failure to cancel flashers B 

31-18-606 Metal tire/contact with highway B 
31-18-703 Failure to obey signs/commercial vehicle C 
31-18-704 Commercial vehicle enhanced speeding C 

fine. See chart at 31-5-301 (b)(iii) and 31­
5-30l(b)(iv) 

31-18-705 Speed or acceleration C 
Icontest--commercial vehicles 

31-18-802 Violations oflegal weight limits (Penalty 
31-18-805(e)) 
0-2,000 $55.00 
2,001 - 4,000 $80.00 
4,00 I - 6,000 $105.00 
6,001 - 8,000 $130.00 
8,001 - 10,000 $180.00 I 

10,001 - 12,000 $230.00 
12,001 - 14,000 $280.00 

I 14,001- 16,000 $330.00 
16,001 - 18,000 $430.00 
18,00 I - 20,000 $530.00 
Over - 20,000 $780.00 

I 
Plus and additional $100.00 for each 1,000 lbs or fraction thereof 
exceeding 20,000 lbs. Over the legal limits 

I 31-18-802(a) Width, height, length ofvehicle-

I 
Daylight violations C I

i Nighttime violations D 

06/05103 

I CQDE 
, 

! 

I 

I 

I 

'. 

, 
I .­
I 

I 

I 

I 
I 

I 

I , 
I 

! 

i, 
I 

i 

I 31-18-803 Transporting and towing other vehicles BII 
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CODE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
" 

RULE 
~ 

31-18-804 Oversize And overweight pennits Same bond as 802(a) 
31-18-805(a) Violation of rules, regulations, or 

conditions of pennit (excluding weight Daytime: C 
violations) Nighttime: D 

3l-18-805(a) Weight violations in excess of stated Same bond as 31-18-802 
pennit limits (for weights over pennit 

limits) 
31-18-808 Oversize-towing disabled vehicles B 
39-17-106(0 No pennit-Gasoline ! B 

I 39-17-206(c) No pennit-Diesel B 
! 3. LITTERING 

6-3-107 Throwing burning substance from vehicle 

06/05/03 

Littering 
Disposal of dead animals, etc. 
Failure of owner to remove dead animal 
Obstructing highway and pollution 

D 
6-3-204 D 
35-10-101 C 
35-10-104 C 
35-10-401 C 

.' '. 
".' .. ,~ ", \".,,,." ",,-: , -4'~ <?AME,AND FIS~ ()~~NSES,,:,,~:'~~;:,~,>. "'! ::~'{: .:;,' .;';d';,:'" 

101 23-2-202 9th Degree Fishing without license by a person 14 $110.00 

I
I years and older 

23-2-202 
I '-. 

9th Degree Fishing without license by a person under $60.00
 
14 years
 

103
 23-3-20l(a) 9th Degree Fishing with more than (2) rods or poles $60.00
 
104
 23-3-20l(b) 9th Degree Fishin,g with more than 3 hooks/lines $60.00
 
105
 23-3-20l(c) 9th Degree Illegal set lines $60.00
 
106
 23-3-201 (d) 91h Degree Take, wound or destroy any fish with a $210.00 

Ifireann
 
107
 23-3-201(e) 9th Degree Snagging fish where not specifically $110.00 

authorized 
i 108 11 th Degree23-3-202(b) Use of illegal bait for fishing-live bait $110.00 
i 109I 11 th Degree23-3-202(b) Use of illegal bait for fishing-com $110.00 

110 23-3-202(c) 11 th Degree Releasing live bait fish without $210.00
 
authorization
 

111
 23-3-202(a) 11 th Degree Fish live bait that is not proper type or $110.00
 
origin
 

112
 23-3-402( 9th Degree Possess live bait fish without receipt or $110.00 
pennit 

I 

113 23-3-402 91h Degree Over limit of game fish S110.00 
I 
I plus S20.00 per fish 
i 114 9th Degree23-3-402 Take fish in violation of size or slot limits Sl1 0.00 

,i 23-3-303(a) 9th Degree S110,00Waste or abandon game fish I 

I 9th DegreeI i 23-3-402 Fishing before or after hours S110.00 
\i 17 23-3-402 9 th Degree Fishing in closed waters 

I 
S110.00 I 
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I Cf"'ll)E STATUTE! 

RULE~118 . 23-3-201 (a)
 
119
 23-3-402 

23-3-204(a)120 

121 23-3-205(a) 

122 23-3-403(a)
 
123
 23-4-101 

124 23-4-104 

125 23-4-104 
I 
i 126 23-3-402 
I 

127 23-3-402 
1 
I. 

128 23-3-402 

VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 

9th Degree Unattended fishing pole or rod $60.00 
9th Degree Fish adjoining state without reciprocal $110.00 

stamp 
15t Degree Take/destroy fish-poison, electricity, $410.00 

chemical, explosives 
11 th Degree Ship or transport game fish without $110.00 

license or tag 
5th De,gree False statement to procure fishin,g license $210.00 
9th De!!fee Plant/release fish or eggs without $410.00::> 

authorization 
9th Degree Intent removal/destruction of hatchery $410.00 

fish-value less than $500.00 
Felony Intent removal/destruction of hatchery Not Bondable 

fish-value $500.00 or more 
9th Degree Ice fishing with more than 6 lines in $60.00 

special regulation areas 
9th Degree Fail to attach name to each ice fishing $60.00 

rod, tip-up or line 
9th Degree Ice fishing with more than one hook/line $60.00 

per rod in special regulation areas 
f­

23-3-402 9th Degree Ice fishing nonattendance-more than 300 , $60.00 
yards
 

130
 23-3-402 9th Degree Possess fish when species or number $110.00
 
cannot be determined
 

131
 23-3-402 9th Degree Possess fish w/o head or tail attached $110.00
 
132
 23-3-402 9th Degree Bait fish-no receipt/permit $110.00 

I 
1 

133 23-3-402 9th Degree Use game fish flesh as bait $60.00
 
134
 23-3-402 9th Degree Seine or trap fish without a license $110.00
 
135
 9th Degree23-3-402 Use of an illegal seine or net $60.00
 
136
 23-3-402 9th Degree Use of an illegal fish trap $60.00
 
137
 23-3-402 9th Degree Use of an illegal number of fish traps $60.00 

I
I 138 9th De,gree Failure to tag fish traps with name 23-3-402 $60.00
 

139
 23-3-402 9th Degree Possess game fish taken in fish trap or $110.00 
I seme 

,140 Take game fish w/spear gun while not 23-2-206(a) 9th Degree $110.00 
submerged 

I 141 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation underwater fish regulations $60.00 
Landowner fail to provide written 9th Degree $110.00I 142 123-2-208 
statement for fish 

. 1·+3 i 23-3-402 
j 

Illegal transportation of live fish or eggs9th Degree $60.00 
$110.00I 1 '14 i 23-3-402 

23-3-402 19th Degree 
9th Degree I Illegal tagging or marking of fish 

$60.00No Owner's name on ice fishing shelter I 

Fail to remove ice fishing shelter I $210.00I l.:+6 i 23-3-402 19th Degree 

14
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CODE STATUTEI BAILVIOLATION I DESCRIPTION 

RULE
 

23-3-402
 9th Degree Conduct fishing contest without prior $110.00Il~1 
approval
 

148
 23-3-306(b) 41h Degree Illegal use of artificial light for fishing $110.00 
149 23-3-402 91h Degree Use natural bait in artificial bait area $110.00 
150 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of fishing regulations not listed $110.00 

elsewhere 
151 23-3-203(a) 10lh Degree Place net, trotline, etc. across water $110.00 
152 23-3-402 91h Degree Take bait fish in closed area $110.00 

i 201 9th Degree Fail to tag big trophy ,game animal23-3-104 $110.00 
! 202 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to tag carcass in visible manner $110.00 
! 203 23-3-113(a) 11 1h Degree Fail to wear fluorescent orange clothing $60.00
 

204
 9th Dearee23-3-402 Hunt big or trophy game during closed $410.00to 

season 
. 205 23-3-402 9th De,gree Hunt bi,g or trophy game in wrong area $210.00 
1206 23-3-402 9th Degree Take over limit big or trophy game $410.00 

207 23-3-1 02(b) 4th Degree Take Big Hom Sheep without license $780.00 
208 23-3-1 02(b) 4th Degree Take Mountain Goat without license $780.00 
209 23-3-102(b) 4th Degree Take Mountain Lion without license $780.00 
210 23-3-102(b) 4th Degree Take Grizzlv Bear without license $780.00 
7 1 1 23-3-102(a) 4th Degree Take Elk without license $780.00 r 23-3-102(a) 4th De,gree Take Moose without license $780.00 

r 
23-3-102(c)LU 8th De,gree Take Deer without license $410.00 

214 23-3-102(c) 8th Degree Take Antelope without license $410.00 
215 23-3-102(c) 8th Degree Take Black Bear without license $410.00 
216 23-2-107(d) 15t Degree Illegally take Wi ld Bison Not Bondable 
217 23-3-102(d) 23-3-1 02(d) Intent illegal take antlered/homed big or Not Bondable 

trophy game 
218 23-3-106(a) I 11 th Degree $110.00 

within Wyoming 
219 

Ship/transport game w/out game tag 

23-3-106(b) 11 th Degree Ship/transport game w/out game tag $110.00 
I , outside Wyoming
 

220
 23-3-111(a) 10lh Degree Illegal firearm for taking big or trophy $210.00 
game 

, III 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to retain evidence of sex, species, S110.00I -­
i antler/hom development on bi,g ,game
 

222
 Apply/rec-moose, sheep, within 5 years $410.00 
! 223 

23-1-703(bl 9th Degree 
23-3-107(a) 15t Degree Wanton destruction big or trophy game Not Bondable 

j 224 23-3-303(a) 9th Degree $410.00 
, 225 I 23-3-303(b) 

Waste or abandon big game 
9th Degree Fail to remove carcass within 48 hours 5210.00 

'. 226 23-3-303(c) 9th Degree Abandon game meat at meat processor $210.00 
, --.., 23-3-403(a) False statement to obtain antelope, deer, S410.005th Degree
i 

black bear, mountain lion license -

15
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 ~ ..." 

C.ODE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION 
RULE 

f­

2L15 23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to obtain elk, mountain 
goat, sheep, moose or grizzly bear license 

229 23-3-402 9th Degree Purchase more than authorized number of 
licenses 

230 23-3-1 05(b) 2nd Degree Landowner's coupons-false claim for 
reimbursement 

231 23-3-105(b) 9th Degree Hunter tum coupon into wrong landowner 
232 23-3-402 9th Degree Hunt Elk without special Management 

Stamp 
233 23-2-102(a) 9th Degree Violation of age limit for big or trophy 

game license 
234 23-3-402 9th Degree Take big game before or after legal 

hunting hours 
235 23-3-402 9th Degree Take trophy game before or after legal 

hunting hours 
236 23-3-402 9th Degree Take big or trophy game with wrong type 

of license 
237 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to report Grizzly Bear mortality 
238 23-3-402 9th De,gree Fail to register Black Bear kill 
219 

"­
23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to leave evidence of sex on bear 

pelt 
_ J 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to re,gister Mountain Lion kill 
241 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to leave evidence of sex on 

Mountain Lion pelt 
242 23-3-117 3rd Degree Fail to register Bighorn Sheep 
243 23-3-306(a) 4th Degree Take big/trophy game with or from 

vehicle 
244 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to take or release treed Lion 
245 23-2-107(a) 9th Degree Violation of age restriction to take wild 

bison 
246 23-1-703(c) 9th Degree Apply/rec-Grizzly Bear, Mountain goat 

more than once per lifetime 
247 23-2-109 9th Degree MUltiple applications for limited licenses 
248 23-3-406 Variable Attempt to take simulated wildlife decoy 

(refer to primary offense - species) 
249 23-3-304(d) 5th Degree Illegal baiting of big game 
250 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of big and trophy regulations 

not listed elsewhere 
251 !23-3-102(b) 4Lh Degree Take Gray wolf where classified as a 

trophy ,game animal/without license 
7')2 i 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation ofbear baiting regulations 

23-2-407(a) I 23-2-417 Outfitting without a license I 
~vL 23-2-407(a) 23-2-417 Professional guide without a license 

16 

BAIL 

$780.00 

$210.00 

$410.00 

$410.00 
$60.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$210.00 

Not bondable 
$110.00 
$110.00 

$110.00 
$110.00 

$110.00 
$410.00 

$210.00 
$110.00 

$410.00 

$410.00 
Variable 

$410.00 
$210.00 

$780.00 

$110.00 
$510.00 
S510.00 
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CODE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

I­
3uJ 23-2-415 23-2-417 Failure of a professional guide or outfitter $510.00 

to report a violation 
304 23-2-401(a) 23-2-417 Non-resident hunting without guide in $110.00 

wilderness 
305 23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to procure commercial $410.00 

license 
306 23-2-41 O(c)(v) 23-2-417 Outfit without area authorization $110.00 

1307 23-2-304(a) 9th Degree Fur dealer operating without license $410.00 
i 308 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to keep fur dealer records $410.00 
1309 23-3-401 9th Degree Taxidermist operating without license $410.00 
I 310 23-2-302(c) 9th Degree Taxidermist-failure to game tag game $210.00 
I specimens 
II 311 23-3-402 9th Degree Taxidermist-fail to keep records $410.00 

312 23-3-401 9th Degree Live bait dealer operating without license $410.00 
313 23-3-402 9th Degree Live bait dealer-fail to provide receipt $60.00 
314 23-3-401 9th Degree Game bird farm operating without license $410.00 , 

315 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farm-no certification of origin $410.00 
316 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farm-no disease free $410.00 

1
i certi fication 
I "11; 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farm-no notice of disease $410.00 
I '. infection 

I -' 1<) 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farm-fail to release minimum $210.00 
i number of birds 

319 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farms-fail to keep/provide $410.00 
records 

320 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farm-fail to dispose of birds $410.00 
321 23-5-102 9th Degree Game bird farm-release game birds $210.00 

I without permit 
322 23-3-401 9th Degree Fishing preserve operating without a $410.00 

1 license 
323 23-5-204 9th Degree Fish preserve-fail to provide proper $410.00 

1 receipt 
324 23-2-304(d) 9th Degree Fur dealer removing ta,g, tattoo or mark $210.00 
325 23-3-402 9th Degree. Failure to provide copy of fur dealer $110.00 

license by employee 
! 326 23-2-305 9th Degree Prop./Domest. of furbearers without $110.00 
i permit 
i 327 23-4-1 02(d) 9th Degree Fish hatchery-operating without license $410.00 
i 328 23-4-I02(a) 9th Degree Fish hatchery-no inspect. prior to planting $410.00 
I 329 I 23-4-102(e) 19th Degree Fish hatchery- fail to provide certificate of $410.00 
I 

I saleI 

I 13-4-102(g) 19th Degree Fish hatchery-ship fish/eggs without $410.00 
, ­ __~ --,­ ~state Qame tagI 

C1 . 
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CODE STATUTEI 
RULE 

-
3j1 23-3-402 

332 23-2-304(b) 

23-3-404(a)333 

334 23-5-107
 
335
 23-5-108
 
336
 23-2-418(a) 

337 23-3-402 

23-3-402350 

391 23-2-401(a)(ii) 

392 23-2-412(a)(i) 

393 23-2-412(a)(ii) 

-
23-2-416(a)(i) i 

I 

.~ 

395 23-2-416(a)(ix) 
396 23-2-416(a)(v) 
397 23-2-416(a)(vi) 

398 23-2-416(a)(vii) 

399 23-2-416
 
(a)(viii)
 

401
 23-3-103(c)
 
402
 23-3-402
 
403
 23-3-402 

404 23-3-402 

405 23-3-403(a) 

, 406 23-3-303(a) 

I' , -1.07 23-3-306(a) 

.J~ I 23-3-402 
I 

'-' 
VIOLATION 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

11 th Degree 

9th Degree 
9th Degree 
23-2-417 

9th Degree 

9th DeoreeCo 

23-2-417 

23-2-417 

23-2-417 

23-2-417 

23-2-417 
23-2-417 
23-2-417 

23-2-417 

23-2-417 

9th Degree 
9lh Degree 
9th Degree 

9lh Degree 

51h Degree 

9th Degree 

4lh Degree 

19lh Degree 

'W 

DESCRIPTION 

Commercial or scientific use of collection 
of wildlife without permit 
Fur dealer-fail to keep records for cloven 
hoofed animal hides 
Tannery-delivery/receipt of game 
specimens without tag 
Fail to provide receipt for ,game birds 
Take birds on bird farm out of season 
Compensation of person not licensed a 
professional guide/outfitter 
Fail to submit license report in timely 
manner 
Violation commercial regulations not 
listed elsewhere 
Violation state outfitter board rules and 
regulations 
Violation of age requirements for guide's 
license 
Outfitter employment requirements for 
professional guide 
Fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining 
outfitter/guide license 
Endangering health and safety of client 
Unethical conduct by outfitter or guide 
Substantial breach/contract by outfitter or 
guide 
Violation of terms of license by outfitter 
or guide 
Inhumane treatment/animal by outfitter or 
,guide 
Take game birds without license 
Take game birds during closed season 
Take over limit of game birds 

Fail to retain evidence of sex or species 
on a ,game bird 
False statement to procure game bird 
license 
Waste or abandon edible portions of game 
bird 
Take game bird with or from a motor 
vehicle 
Fail to obtain waterfowl stamp prior to 
hunting 

06/05/03 

BAIL 

$410.00 

$210.00 

$210.00 

$110.00 
$110.00 
$510.00 

$210.00 

$410.00 

$11 0.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$410.00 

$110.00 
$110.00 
$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00 

$110.00
 
$110.00
 
$110.00
 

plus $20.00 per bird
 
$110.00
 

$210.00
 

$110.00
 

$210.00
 

$60.00
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COOE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 

RULE 
,.-. 

4UY 23-3-108(a) 11 th Degree Destroy nest or eggs of non-predaceous $110.00 
bird 

410 23-3-110 loth Degree Illegal caliber/gauge or unplugged firearm $110.00 
(a)or(b) for bird hunting 

411 23-3-402 9th Degree Hunt birds before or after 1e.gal hours $110.00 
412 23-3-402 9th Degree Use of non-toxic shot for waterfowl or in $110.00 

restricted areas 
413 23-2-102(c) 9th Degree Violation of age limit to hunt game birds $110.00 
414 23-3-104 9th Degree Fail to tag turkey $110.00 
415 23-3-116 9th Degree Fail to notify and/or mark game birds $110.00 
416 23-3-116 9th Degree Fail to provide disease free certification $110.00 
417 23-3-116 9th Degree No pennit for private source game birds $110.00 
418 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to wear fluorescent clothing while $60.00 

bird huntin.g 
419 23-3-402 9th Degree Hunt pheasant without special $60.00 

management stamp 
420 23-3-402 9 th Degree Hunt pheasant without special permit as $60.00 

required on Springer and Glendo 
421 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to obtain HIP Stamp prior to hunting $60.00 
L1"1) , 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of game bird regulations not $110.00 

L 
\ listed elsewhere 

)v( 23-2-105(c) 9th Degree Take/export falcon without license or $410.00 
pemlit 

502 23-3-402 9th Degree Take falcon during closed season or in $110.00 
wrong area 

503 23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to procure falconry $410.00 
I license 

504 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to comply with facility and $110.00 
equipment requirements 

505 23-3-402 9th De.gree Failure to mark raptors $210.00 
506 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal transfer of raptors $410.00 
507 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal sale of raptors $410.00 
508 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal possession of raptor parts $410.00 
509 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal possession of raptor eggs $410.00 
510 23-3-402 9th Degree Carry Fireaml while hunting with raptor $110.00 
511 23-2-105(b) 9th Degree Hunt falcon without a license $110.00 
512 23-3-402 9th Degree Hunting with falcon during closed season $110.00 

: 513 , 23-3-101 2nd Degree Taking eagle prohibited Not Bondable 
514 23-3­ 15t Degree Destroy eagle eggs or nest $410.00 

1 108(a)or(c) 
co , 'i 

116 USC Violation of bald/golden eagle protection Not Bondable 
. act 

I )"JO i 23-3-402 19th Degree Violation of falcon regulation not listed S110.00 

I elsewhere 
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STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAILCOI?E 
RULE 

I­
6Ul 23-2-102(b) 9th Degree Take small game without license-age $110.00
 

limits
 
602
 $110.0023-3-402 9th Degree Take over limit of small game 

1 plus $20.00 per animal 
1603 23-3-402 9th Degree Take small game or furbearer out of $110.00
 

season
 
604
 23-3-103(c) 9th Degree Take furbearer animal without a license $110.00
 
605
 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Fail to check traps within 72 hours except $110.00 

conibear traps
 
606
 

1 

23-2-303(d) 9thDegree Failure to tag traps and/or snares $110.00 
1607 23-3-304(b) 3rd Degree Use game parts for bait $410.00 
1608 23-3-304(a) 3rd Degree Take game animal with pit, trap, etc. $410.00
 

609
 9th Degree Fail to tag Bobcat pelt 23-3-402 $110.00 

I 610 23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to procure small game $210.00 
license
 

611
 
I 

23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to procure trap, furbearer $210.00 
1 license 
I 613 23-3-303(a) 9th Degree Waste or abandon small game $110.00
 

614
 23-3-306(a) 4th Degree Take small game with or from motor $210.00 
1 vehicle 
~ 
I \ 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Fail to check conibear within 7 days $110.00 

U.u 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Set trap or snare within 30' of exposed $110.00
 
bait
 

617
 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Exposed bait over SIbs in weight $110.00
 
618
 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Snare without a break-away lock $110.00
 
619
 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Snare with break-away lock over 295 Ibs $110.00
 
620
 23-2-303(d) 9th Degree Snare set with loop in excess of 12" $110.00 

I 621 23-2-303(d) Fail to immediately remove wildlife 9th Degree $110.00
 
caught in any trap/snare
 

650
 23-3-402 Violation of small game/furbearer $110.0019th Degree 
Iregulations not listed elsewhere
 

23-2-104(c)
 10th Degree Take game dUling special archery pre­ $110.00I 70l 
season without a license 

I 702 23-2-l 04(d) 10th Degree Archer with firearm during special pre­ $110.00 
I seasonI I 

703 23-2-104(e) Violation of archery equipment $110.0010th Degree 
1 specifications 
i 704 
i 

23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement resident archery license $210.00 
, 750 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of archery regulations not listed $110.00 
I elsewhere I 

I, ~()1 Accessory before/after the fact (aid/abet) Same as principal 23-6-205 Same as 
I(a)or(b) Principal 

, uv"': I 23-6-103(a) $210.00 
, 803 I 23-6-103(a) 

9th Degree ! Fail to appear on bondable offense 
9th Degree Fail to appear on must appear offense Not Bondable I 

20
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CODE STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

rl:Su4 23-3-305(a) 91h Degree Hunt/shoot/kill wildlife from highway $210.00 
$210.0023-3-305(b) Hunt, trap, fish on private land without 805 71h Degree 

permission 
23-3-305(c) 91h Degree Shooting from/across or along roadways 806 $210.00 

807 23-3-305(d) 91h Degree Shooting from/across enclosed lands $210.00 
without permission 

808 23-3-305(e) 9th Degree Hunting on private land at night without $210.00 
pennission 

809 23-3-306(b) 4th Degree Take wildlife with artificial light $510.00 
810 23-3-402 9th Degree Possess protected species or any part $110.00 

thereof 
811 23-3-402 9th Degree Violations of non-game regulations $11 0.00 
813 23-3-302 9th Degree Sale of game meat or game fish $410.00 

23-3-301 9th Degree Import/sell game animals/wildlife/possess $410.00I 814 
(a)or(b) live wildlife 

815 23-2-306(a) 9th Degree Fail to purchase conservations stamp $60.00 
I 816 $60.0023-2-306(a) 9th Degree Fail to produce conservations stamp 

817 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to sign conservation stamp $60.00 
818 23-2-106(a) 9th Degree Fail to produce hunter safety card $60.00 
01 9 23-2-106(a) 9th Degree Fail to take hunter safety course $60.00 

$410.0023-3-402 9th Degree Transfer of license, stamp, tag or coupon 
I oL 1 11 th Degree23-3-308(a) Fail to stop at established check station $60.00 

822 23-2-101(c) 9th Degree Landowner signature on license as proof $110.00 
of pennission 

23-3-403(a) 5th Degree False statement to procure ,game tag $410.00I 823 
824 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to obey regulatory sign on $110.00 

department land 
23-6-204(d) 825 23-6-204 Take wildlife for competition Not Bondable 

Lacy act violation Not Bondable 826 16 USC 
Not Bondable 827 National Crime Infonnation Center hit 

828 Assistance to other law enforcement Not Bondable 
agencies 

829 U.S Fish & wildlife service violation Not Bondable 
23-6-204(c) 9th Degree Take any wildlife not prescribed by act an $210.00i 830 

no separate penalty 
Possess/use of silencer or automatic weapons 831 23-3-1l2(a) 15t Degree $410.00 

loth Degree832 23-3-307(a) Hunting while under influence of drugs or $210.00 
alcohol 

$410.00I 833 23-6-206(b) 9th Degree Hunt or fish or trap while under 
I suspension 
. n'4 : 23-3-405(a). Interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife S210.00I Th Degree 

) 2na Degree I Fail to obey peace officer in reference to 5410.00I 23-3-405(c) 
I 23-3-405( a)i 
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r-nDE STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

1836 23-3-405(d) 

837 23-3-1 09(a) 

838 23-3-109(c) 

839 23-3-402 

840 16 USC
 
841
 23-3-115(b) 

842 23-3-204(b) 
1 

843 23-3-402 
1844 23-3-402 

845 23-3-402 

901 41-13-102 
I qn2 41- 13-1 04(a) , 

41-13-104(a)",-,3 

904 41-13 -1 04(a) 
905 41-13-203
 
906
 41-13-204
 
908
 41-13-206
 

(b)or(c)
 
909
 41-13-210
 
910
 41-13-211(b) 
911 41-13-208 

I 912 41-13-209(a) 
913 41-13-212(a-e) 
914 41-13-213
 
915
 41-13-213 
916 141-13-213 

41-13-209(b)I 917 

: 918 41-13-219, 

i 

f119 135-10-403 

I )/20 141-13-207 
I 

23-3-405(d) 

9th Degree 

11 th Degree/ 
loth Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

1st Degree 

9th Degree 
9th Degree 

9th Degree 

Org.lAssoc. counselor solicit violation of 
23-3-405 

Use of dog to hunt/run/harass big or 
trophy game 
Dog(s) chasing big game 

Violation concerning live wildlife or 
exotic animal, chapter 10 
Airborne Hunting Act 
Damage-fail to notify killing bear, lion, 
bobcat 
Allowing refuse or other substance to 
pass into public water 
Take wrong sex of animal 
Apply for preference points while under 
suspension 
Apply for preference points within 5 year 
waiting period 
Operate unnumbered boat 
Fail to display identification number on 
boat 
Fail to produce certificate of number for 
inspection 
Improper numbering on watercraft 
Careless operation of watercraft 
Reckless operation of watercraft 
Operation of watercraft while under 
influence of alcohol or drugs 
Riding on bow or gunwales of watercraft 
Operate watercraft in restricted area 
Overloading watercraft 
Operate overpowered watercraft 
Water-skiing violations 
Fail to provide life jackets 
Fail to provide fire extin.guisher 
Operate boat at night without lights 
No muffler or noise suppression devices 
on watercraft 
Operation of watercraft by underage 
person 
Watercraft for hire without personal 
floatation devices 
Operation of watercraft by person under 
disability 

$2010.00 & 
Must Appear 

$210.00 

$110.00 

$210.00 

Not Bondable 
$110.00 

$410.00 

$210.00 
$210.00 

$210.00 

$60.00 
$60.00 

$60.00 

$60.00 
$110.00 

Not Bondable 
Not Bondable 

$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$110.00 
$60.00 
$60,00 
$60,00 

I 

$60.00 

$110.00 

Not Bondable i 
I 

: 
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STATUTEI VIOLATION DESCRIPTIONCOPE BAIL 
, 

RULE -
9Ll 41-13-213 No sound producing devices on watercraft $60.00 

'922 41-13-218 Violation of watercraft numbering rules $60.00
 
923
 

l-

41-13-216(c) Operation of watercraft while privilege to $410.00 
operate is denied
 

924
 41-13-105(a) Fail to stop or render aid $110.00
 
925
 41-13-105(b) Failure to file USCG accident report with $110.00 

the department within 10 days
 
926
 41-13-218 Personal watercraft-wake jumping $110.00
 
927
 41-13-218 Personal watercraft-no kill switch $60.00
 
928
 41-13-218 Watercraft creating wake within 100 feet $110.00
 

of vessel
 
940
 41-13-218 Violation of watercraft regulations not $60.00 

elsewhere
 
941
 41-13-105(b) Failure of operator to immediately report $210.00 

accident
 
942
 4l-13-l11(a) Altering HIN or Motor serial number $210.00
 
943
 41- 13-11 1(b) Giving false infonnation on accident $210.00 

report
 
944
 41-13-209 Motorboat equipped with exhaust system $60.00 

cutout,,~ " 

I 41-13-211 Failure to operate watercraft in $60.00I i 
/ 

I accordance with buoys or markers
 
946
 4l-13-220(a) Failure to stop for enforcement officer $210.00
 
947
 41-13-220(a) Emergency lights on unauthorized $60.00 

watercraft
 
948
 Failure to provide throwable device 41-13-213 $60.00
 
949
 41-13-213 Failure to provide an orange skier down $60.00 

flag 
" ]. 

.( " 
.c. : .. / ... 0· 'v'' , • .0 ". 

Predatory Animals 
11-1-103 Importation of domestic animals (Chapter D 

8 Rules)-pt offense
 
11-1-103
 Importation of domestic animals (Chapter Must Appear 

I 8 Rules)-2nd offense
 
11-6-2l0(a)
 Failure to pay predator animal control fee D 

on bovine and ovine at time of brand
 
inspection
 

ll-6-21O(f)
 Failure to pay predator animal control fee D 
on bovine and ovine/commercial feedlot I 

, 
i-

Livestock Board and State Veterinarian 
i ll-18-103(a)(v)I. Violations of agency rules and regulations D 

11-18-112 Refusal to provide assistance to Federal CI 
or State authorities II I I 



STATUTEII r-qDE 
, 

RULE 

11-19-10 1(b) 

11-19-102 

11-19-111 
11-19-116 

11-19-204 

11-19-210 

11-19-213 
11-19-215 

11-19-304 
_. , 11-19-306 

/ 11-19-401 

11-19-501(a) 
11-19-501 (b) 
11-19-502 
11-19-503 
11-19-504 
11-19-505 

11-20-102 
11-20-110 

11-20-114 
11-20-117(b) 

i 11-20-118 
111-20-119 
I 

!11-20-120 
i 11-20-123 

'W'W 

VIOLATION DESCRIPTION 

Contagious and Infectious Diseases Among Livestock 
Failure to comply with order of State 
Veterinarian, turning loose infected 
animal 
Duty ofpublic to report diseases to State 
Veterinarian 
Violations of agency rules and regulations 
Disposal of swine, importation of swine 
with hog cholera 

Tuberculin Test of Dairy Cattle 

I Driving cattle from home range 
Number of bulls required on open range 

Tuberculosis test requirement for milking 
cows and exposed bulls 
Veterinarian's certificate/permit to sell 
milk or cream 
Unsanitary dairy barns or premises 
Interference/refusal to gather and test 
diary cattle 

Tuberculosis Modified Accredited Area 
Prohibition of importation of cattle 
Violation of agency rules and regulations 

Brucellosis Test of Cattle 
Failure to tag, brand & dispose of reactor 
cattle 

Regulation and Inspection of Sheep 
Notice ofImportation 
Violation of agency rules and regulations 
Unloading sheep in transit 
Importing infected sheep 
Refusal to give information 

I Owner liability, when arrest necessary, 
service of summons and complaint 

Branding and Ranging 
Stock Running at large to be branded 
Recorded brand; bill of sale; when title 
vests 
Use of unrecorded or abandoned brand 
Identifying livestock with unrecorded 
duplicate brand 
Drover's stock to be kept separate 
Drover's stock, liability for injury to 
property 

06/05/03 

BAIL 

C 

D 

D 
C 

C 

C 

C
 
C
 

C
 
C
 

C 

C 
C 
C 
C 
C 
C 

C 
C 

D 
D 

C 
C 

C 
C 
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COpE 
! 

I­

STATUTEI 
RULE 

11-20-202 

11-20-203 

11-20-204 

VIOLATION DESCRIPTION 

Inspection for Brands and Ownership 
Duties of board; enforcement of 
provisions; rules and regulations 
Inspection of brands at time of delivery or 
removal from county; certificate required 
Brand inspector not to inspect his own 
livestock 

BAIL 

C 

D 

C 

11-20-205(d) 
11-20-206(b) 

Removal of strays form county 
Certificate of inspection in possession of 
carrier 

C 
C 

11-20-206(b) 

11-20-208 
11-20-209 
11-20-210 

11-20-211 

Failure to exhibit certificate of inspection 
upon demand 
Fumishin,g false proof of ownership 
When inspection not required 
When inspection not required; certain 
importations; compliance with health and 
quarantine regulations required 
When inspection not required; contiguous 

C 

D 
C 
C 

C 

~ ' .... 
\ 
I 

" 

11-20-212 
11-20-213 

range 
Intrastate accustomed range permits 
Inspection of sheep to be conducted in 
state 

C 
C 

I 
i 

11-20-214(a) 

ll-20-215(a) 

11-20-215(b) 

11-20-215(c) 

11-20-216 

Brand inspector may inspect at his 
discretion; voluntary inspections 
Railroad shipment certificate and 
agreement or inspection at point of 
shipment 
Shipment by railroad; written permission 
of inspector required before moving; 
issuance; contents; copy to be filed with 
inspector 
Failure to produce written permission 
upon demand 
Truck-fleet shipment permit 

C 

C 

C 

C 

C 

I 

! 
I 
I 
I 
I 

I 

ll-20-217(b) 

11-20-218 

11-20-219(a) 

Certificates and agreements in lieu of 
inspection (G Form) 
Certificates and agreement in lieu of 
inspection; furnishing; numbering (G 
Form) 
Certificates and agreements in lieu of 
inspect-ion, filing distribution and display 
(G Form) 

C 

C 

C 

25
 



06/05/03

-~ 

CQDE STATUTEI BAILVIOLATION DESCRIPTION 
RULE
 
11-20-219(b)
 Certificates and agreements in lieu of C 

inspection, failure to deliver at destination 
(G Form) 

11-20-219(c) Certificates and agreements in lieu of C 
inspect-ion, failure to exhibit upon 
demand (G Form) 

11-20-220 Diverted shipments C 
11-20-221 Common carriers not to receive livestock C

I for transportation without certificate
 
11-20-222
 Unbranded calves; inspection at request C 

of stockman 
11-20-223(a) Interstate accustomed range permit; rules CI and regulations
 
11-20-224
 Permanent brand inspection certificate C 

(L Form) 
11-20-225(a) Annual brand inspection certificate (H C 

I Form)
 
11-20-225(b)
 Annual rodeo or show livestock C 

inspection certificate (H Form) 
11-20-226 Certificates to be signed and in possession C 

-..-..... 

(L and H Forms)
 
,
 11-20-227 Fraudulent use of certificate and C-

movement permit I 
Transportine Animals and Poultry By Vehicle 

11-21-101 Written permission of owner required for C 
transport by others 

11-21-102 Display of permit to peace officer; written C 
statement in lieu ofpermit 

I 11-21-104 Prohibited acts (false statement, false or C 
forged permit, refuse or neglect to exhibit 

I 
I 
I Livestock Markets 

11-22-102 Violations of agency rules and regulations D 
11-22-104 Market license requirement E 
11-22-106(a) Market license; cancellation C 
11-22-107(a) $25,000.00 bond required C 
11-22-107(b) $25,000.00 bond statement required C 

, 11-22-108 Market license posting C 
11-22-110 Sanitation; veterinarian supervision CI 

i I required 
Scales; inspection and testing 11-22-111 C 

11-22-112 
\ 

Records of receipts and sales Cl 

26
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CODE STATUTEI 
\ 

RULE 

11-22-113(a) 

11-22-113(b) 

11-22-114 
11-22-115 
11-22-116 

11-22-117 

11-23-202 

11-23-203 

11-23-204 

11-23-205 

I 11-23-206 
I 
I 

I 

I 

i 11-23-301 
I ll-23-302 

i 11-23-303 
I 
I I ll-23-304 

VIOLATION
 DESCRIPTION 

Health inspection on livestock and goats 
prior to sale at livestock auction; brand 
inspection on livestock before leaving 
livestock auction 
Report of unbranded calves sold at 
livestock auction 
Removal of livestock from establishment 
Removal of veterinarian 
Warrant of title; disposition of proceeds 
from sale 
Dispersal sales at livestock markets; same 
requirements 

Hides and Carcasses 

06/05/03 

BAIL 

C 

C 

C 
C 
C 

C 

C 
C 

C 
C 
C 

C 

C 

C 

11-23-101 Sale of carcass without inspection 
11-23-102(a) Only inspected livestock to be 

slaughtered; record ofcattle slau.ghtered 
ll-23-102(b) Record of cattle slaughtered 
11-23-103 Purchase of unstamped carcass prohibited 
11-23-104 Exhibition upon demand of hides or 

certificates of beef cattle-.. 
11-23-106(d) Cold storage locker plant; stamp on tag; i 

, certificate in lieu of stamp; filing and 
inspection of certificate 

11-23-107(b) 

~ 

Killing of horses for meat; produce un­
mutilated hide or certificate of inspection 

11-23-108(a) Hide mutilation of equine, bovine, 
caprine, swine, ovine 

Purchases1 Sales and Transportation; Brand Inspections 
Hide buyer; bill of sale required; contents; 
copv to seller 
Hide buyer; record of purchases to be 
kept; contents 
Hide buyer; inspection for interstate 
commerce; celiificate 
Carriers prohibited from receiving un­
inspected hides 
Hide inspection for stock killed by 
transportation company 

Transportation of Carcasses to Rendering Plants 

C 

C 

C 

C 

C 

Removal of carcasses intrastate I C 
Removal of carcasses interstate; C 
inspection 
Hide inspection certificate C 
Inspection fee collection; disposition C 
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\ r.q?E STATUTE! VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

Estrays 
11-24-103 Taking up estrays C 
11-24-105(a) Permit required to gather unclaimed C 

equine 
11-24-105(b) Disposal of unclaimed equine C 
11-24-108(b) Stock at large or picked up on public D 

highways 

\ Swine, Goats or Elk Runnin~ at lar~e 

I 11-26-101(b) Swine, goats or elk prohibited to run at C 
I large 

Feeding Untreated Garbage to Swine 
11-27-104(a) Feeding permit required C 
11-27-105 Violation of agency rules and regulations C 
11-27-106 Treatment of garbage before feeding C 
11-27-107 Violation ofagency rules and regulations C 

, 

Fences and Cattle Guards 
ll-28-l03(a) I Construction of unlawful wire fence-l st A 

Offense 

I 
11-28-103(a) Construction of unlawful wire fence- C 

~ Subsequent Offense 
) Il-28-l03(b) Reconstruct unlawful wire fence within A 

-" thirty days-l st Offense 
11-28-103(b) Reconstruct unlawful wire fence within C " 

thirty days-Subsequent Offense 
11-28-104 Fences across roads C 

i 11-28-107 Leaving open, destroying lawful fence C 
: Protection of Domestic Animals 
i 
I
 

I
 

I 

j 

I 
I 
: 

i 

I 
I 
! 

I 
I 
I 

11-29-103 Impounded animals to be fed C 
11-29-106 Interference with Livestock Board officer D 

or agent 
Offenses Concerning Livestock and Other Animals 

11-30-106(a) Removing skins for carcasses C 
11-30-106(b) Preserving skins from carcasses by C 

railroad company/employees 
11-30-108 Desertion and abandonment of sheep by D 

herder 
11-30-109 Taking horses and equipment without C 

consent of owner 
11-30-110 Appropriation of horse or mule on open C 

range without permission 
11-30-112 Abuse or negligent treatment by bailee C 
11-30-114(a) Tampering or sabotaging exhibition C 

livestock prohibited 
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CODE 
"-', 

\ 

STATUTEI 
RULE 

VIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAIL 

11-30-114(b) Using unapproved drugs on exhibition 
livestock prohibited 

C 

Wild Horses 

11-30-115 Killing of wild horses Must Appear I 

Dogs and Cats 

11-31-104 Poisoning or killing with ground ,glass c 
11-31-108 I Running livestock c 

Animals Running at Large 
11-31-30l(c) Animal running at large or has attacked a 

person 1st offense 
B 

11-31-301(c) Animal running at large or has attacked a 
person 2nd offense 

c 

11-31-301(e) Dog which has attacked a person c 
Poultry 

11-32-102 Violation of agency rules and regulations C 
11-32-l03(a) Labeling of shipments C 
11-32-103(b) Labeling of shipments C 

-
11-32-104 

, 
Agency rules and regulations C 

I 

l 
., .:cc.;,~tft:,: ,:. P~~:~l~1i&_
 

-< -' 7A. Bail (includes costs plus $10.00 court automation fee) may be forfeited 
for the following offenses: (penalty 36-4-115) 

5 I Abandoned property B 
6 Aircraft and powerless flight C 

Camping7 A 
8 Closures B 
9(a)(c)(d)(e)(f) B 
9(b) 

Conduct 
Use of park lands or facilities under the D 
influence 

I 10 Domestic pets & livestock A
L__-+-~ll:""- --1- -+--F-,--i..:...re-,--s --1- ....;;:B'- ---l 

12(e) Hunting within 400 yds. C 
12f Use of firearms at state historic sites C 
13(b) Pennits; camping A 
13(c) Pennits; daily use A 
13(d) Pennits; special use A 
14 Picnicking AI 
15 Preservation of public property C 
16 Public safety C 

: 17 
i 

Sanitation C 
I 18 Trail use B 

19 Solicitation A 
I 2l(a) Vehicle (off road) 0 
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2l(b) Vehicle (speed limit) B 

f­
._­

" \ 
21(c) 
21 (e) 

Vehicle (camp,ground) 
Vehicle (exhibition driving) 

A 
C 

21(f) Vehicle (careless driving) D 
2l(g) Vehicle (registration, driver's license, and B 

insurance) 
2l(h) Vehicle (ORV decal) B 
21 (i) Vehicle (ORV driver's license) B 
21 (j) Vehicle CORY operation by underage B 

person) 
2l(k) Vehicle (ORV adult supervision required) C 
22 Water sports; designated beach areas A 
23(d) Water sports; boat launch area A 
23(f) Water sports; boat racin,g A 
24(a)(i) Curt Gowdy State Park A 
24(a)(ii) Curt Gowdy State Park A 
24(a)(iii) Curt Gowdy State Park B 
24(a)(iv)(a) Curt Gowdy State Park A 
24 (b)(i) Hot Springs State Park A 
24b)(ii) Hot Springs State Park A 
24(b)(iii) Hot Springs State Park A 
242(b)(iv) Hot Springs State Park A 
24(b)(v) Hot Springs State Park A 

-~. , 
\ 24(b)(vi) Hot Springs State Park A 

r-. 
I 24(b)(viii) Hot Springs State Park A 

a ',_ 

24(b)(ix) Hot Springs State Park A 
24(b)(x) Hot Springs State Park A 
24(b)(xi) Hot Springs State Park A 

1 24(b)(xii) Hot Springs State Park A 

" 

24(c) 
24(d) 
.. ',' 

E.K. Wilkins State Park 
Sinks Canyon State Park 

. ..·,f ,\(,('" ,:.;:?c;,~':' 8.M IS, .... J ..<\N'EC...!.::);l;\',. "T ,',' ·i;'> "<,,,:: _\, 

A 
A 

'. ..~:""'l" )".; .. ,..' ,i, 
14-3-304 Purchase of tobacco by minors A 
14-3-305(a) Possession or use of tobacco by person A 

under the age of eighteen (18) 

The above revised bail deposit and forfeiture schedules shall become effective July 1,2003. 
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F:iLED
 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT
 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

FEB 1 6 2005 ~~ r
 
Betty A. Griess, Clerk 

. Casper 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER TO INCLUDE ADDITIONAL FINES IN COLLATERAL FINE
 
SCHEDULE FOR THE VETERAN'S ADMINISTRATION 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to include additional collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedules for the Veteran's Administration, and being fully 

advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the following list comprises those statutes and regulations that shall be 

enforced by the Veteran's Administration. Included herein is the applicable collateral 

forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, which shall be understood that if 

not governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an accused violator into custody; 

(2) allow him/her to forfeit collateral; or (3) to merely issue a warning shall be within the sound 

discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, should a violator appear before a 

United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may impose a fine or imprisonment or 

both, up to the statutory maximum without regard to this schedule. 

Three types of offenses are listed throughout this schedule and the procedures which 

follow shall govern each: 

(1) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Required: 

Some of the offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District 

Court to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United 

States Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the 



interest of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused 

violator may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is 

intended to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation 

notice and is not forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be 

placed in proper custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is 

released by the Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule these offenses are denoted by a required appearance and bail 

amount has been set. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail Is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, 

the violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated 

on the violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateral. 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before the 

Magistrate Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law 

enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in 

the United States Mail in the presence of said officer. 



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference 

has been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact 

the United States Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124 or the United 

States Attorney's Office in Casper, Wyoming, at (307) 261-5434, for advice and consultation. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Local Rule 58.4, entitled "Petty Offense Forfeiture 

of Collateral in Lieu of Appearance," of the United States District Court for the District of 

Wyoming shall be in effe~fully set forth herein. 

DATED this;/ti day of {l~2005. 

~~2~ 
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 



VETERAN'S ADMINISTRATION REGULATIONS 1.218(b)
 

Violations occurring within lands administered by the Veteran's Administration charged
 
under cited sections of Title 38, Code of Federal Regulations. 

REGULATION 

39	 Possession of knives which exceed a blade length 
of 3 inches; switchblade knives; any of the variety 
of hatchets, clubs, and hand-held weapons; or 
brass knuckles. 

40	 The unauthorized possession of any of the variety 
Of incapacitating liquid or gas-emitting weapons. 

COLLATERAL FEE 

$ 300.00 

$ 200.00 

41 Unauthorized possession, manufacture, or use of keys 
or barrier card-type keys to rooms or areas on the property. $ 200.00 

42 The surreptitious opening, or attempted opening, of locks 
or card-operated barrier mechanisms on property. $ 500.00 

43 Soliciting for, or the act of, prostitution. $ 250.00 

44 Any unlawful sexual activity. $ 250.00 

45 Jogging, bicycling, sledding or any recreational physical 
activity conducted on cemetery grounds. $ 50.00 
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FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

FEB 112005 
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT Betty A. Griess, Clerk 

Cheyenne '~l', W,01>'\ 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

IN THE MATTER OF ADOPTION OF ) 
THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING'S CJA ) ss 
MANUAL ) 

This matter comes before the Court for adopting a revised CJA Manual for the 

District of Wyoming. This manual is based upon 18 U.S.C. 3006A, The Guide to Judiciary 

Policies and Procedures, Volume VII, as well as this District's own policies as to the 

administration of the Criminal Justice Act Panel for the District of Wyoming. 

IT IS ORDERED that upon review of this manual it hereby approved for publication 

and distribution to the Criminal Justice Act Panel for the District of Wyoming. 

+L 
Dated this / () day of February, 2005, 

~~~ 
William F. Downes 
Ch' f , .S. District JUdge~ 

I 
'I' -{ /. tF'J~rl'Z.?l' 

Clar e A. Brimme 
U.S. District Judge 

Ala~;J:n~
 
U.S. District Judge 

... 

William C eaman 
U.S. Ma istrate Judge 



FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

IN THE UNITED SfATFS [JISTRICT COURT DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

JAN 20 2005
FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

Betty A. Griess, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

1'1 THE MATTER OF CASES ARISING 
tNDER 28 U.S.c. §2254 BROUGHT BY 
PRISONERS IN STATE CUSTODY 
SUB.JECT TO A CAPITAL SENTENCE 

GENERAL ORDER 
CONCERNING FEDERAL 
HABEAS DEATH 
PENALTY CASES 

To achieve unifonnity in the treatment of federal habeas death penalty cases in this 

di.>irict and to infonn counsel in advance of the Court's expectations, the Court establishes the 

ktllowing procedures: 

~.Jencral Procedures 

1. A case file will be opened upon the filing of a document requesting the appointment of 

an .',ttorney for the purpose of filing a habeas corpus case or upon the filing of a petition pursuant 

LO 28 U.S.C. §2254. 

2. Once the case is opened, and a district court judge is assigned, the Court shall: 

a. Review requests to proceed in forma pauperiS, if any; 

b. Appoint counsel, if appropriate; and 

c. Transfer the case to the magistrate judge to conduct a case 

management/litigation budget conference. 

). Once the case has been transferred to the magistrate judge, a conference shall be 

scheduled to complete the following: 



a. ConsIder requests to appoint additional counsel, if necessary; 

b. Hold a case management/litigation budget conference to set deadlines for filing 

of pleadings and other matters, and make a record of said deadlines and any 

objections thereto through the use of an official court reporter; 

c. Hold an in camera budget review of the Petitioner's proposed litigation budget 

in the event he/she has an attorney appointed under the Criminal Justice Act and 

issue an order approving such budget, if appropriate; and 

d. Transfer the case back to the appointed district court judge. 

4. The appointed district court judge wi 11 conduct any necessary evidentiary hearings and 

issue any dispositive rulings in the case, review the decisions of the magistrate judge, particularly 

those relating to the Petitioner's proposed litigation budget, hear any appeals therefrom, and 

assume the management of the case. 

Administrative Issues 

1. The Petitioner and Respondent will each be responsible for designating the relevant 

portions of the state record they deem necessary for the district court's review. This will also be 

the record which is submitted to the Tenth Circuit on appeal, should an appeal be necessary. 

2. Unless otherwise ordered, the district court will not accept the original state court 

record, transcripts or exhibits, but instead will require that a certified copy of the records and 

transcripts be provided at the Respondent's expense. The Court will further request that 

photographs of any relevant evidence be provided in lieu of the actual evidentiary item. 

3 Any requests to view the state court record must be made to the state court. The 



certified copy made for theJPistrict court's use will not be available to the public. 

,,?/l-#1--P aa:>.5:Dated this _O{_tv_ day of~ 2881. 

William F. Downes 
CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE 

t' V.­
~rz,t1-("?~ ~17z.-rn<-~~ ~ 

Clarence A. Brimmer ~
 

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
 

~-;.. ~'--William '. BeamanUNIT~T:TES MAGISTRATE JUDGE 
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FILED 
U.S. DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

OCT 13 2004 

Betty A. Griess, Clerk 
Cheyenne 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

IN RE:	 PRIVACY AND PUBLIC ACCESS 
TO ELECTRONIC CASE FILES 

ORDER REGARDING PRIVACY AND
 

PUBLIC ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC CASE FILES
 

In compliance with the policy of the Judicial Conference of the United States and 

the E-Government Act of 2002, and in order to promote electronic access to case files, 

while protecting personal privacy and other legitimate interests, persons shall refrain 

from including, or shall redact where inclusion is necessary, the following personal data 

identifiers from their pleadings, including exhibits thereto, unless otherwise ordered by 

the Court: 

•	 Social Security Numbers. If an individual's social security number must 

be included, only the last four digits of that number should be used. 

•	 Names of Minor Children. If the involvement of a minor child must be 

mentioned, only the initials of that child should be used. 

•	 Dates of Birth: If an individual's date of birth must be included, only the 

year of birth should be used. 

•	 Financial Account Numbers. If a financial account number is relevant, 

only the last four digits of such numbers should be used. 



:~ . 

•	 Home Addresses. If a home address must be included, only the city and 

state should be listed. 

The responsibility for redacting these personal data identifiers rests solely with 

counsel and the persons filing the documents with the Court. The Clerk will not review 

papers for compliance with this General Order. 

Dated this /.1+"- day of &d~ ,2004. 

~~ 
W'lIiam	 F. Downes 

/~ /' .. 

t1. (flt,1rU-'1vl,C/1/ 
C 'ef UUdge 

Clarence A. Brimmer 
United States District Judge 
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JUDICIAL CO UNCIL 0 F THE' '- , "c II ~ ~I:, \i'r~0 i.if NG 
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS r i1!n: L 

FOR THE TENTH CIRcurrJ3 NUl 5 Ar111 ~D 
cL :, 

U.S. DISTRICT' COURT 

November 4, 2003 

On November 4, 2003, the Judicial Council approved the request of Ms. 

Betty Griess, Clerk of Court in the District of Wyoming to amend the Court 

Reporter Management Plan. Specifically, the court made minor changes to the 

plan in Sections I and II. 

The Judicial Council 

Elisabeth . Shumaker
 
Circuit Executive
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRIQAS. Cg:mlRi£1 CT COU RT 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

AMENDED COURT REPORTER MANAGEMENT PLAN 

The following court reporter management plan is adopted by 

the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming, 

subject to approval by the Tenth Circuit Judicial Council. 

I. Utilization of Reporters 

The court reporters shall be assigned to active judges as a 

matter of convenience. However, when necessary a court reporter 

may be temporarily reassigned by the Clerk to another active 

judge of the District, a magistrate judge, or a visiting district 

judge. Court reporters may also be required to report official 

activities of special masters and/or land commissioners. 

The official court reporter assigned to the Honorable 

Clarence A. Brimmer in Cheyenne shall not be required to be in 

full-time attendance at court, provided that another official 

court reporter, or a competent substitute certified court 

reporter is provided without expense to the United States. The 
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official court reporter~ shall handle all such assignments of 

herself or her employee court reporters for each court 

proceeding, as well as proceedings in chambers, such as telephone 

motions and pretrial conferences. The judges of this Court shall 

not be required to supervise or monitor such assignments. 

The official court reporter at Casper and the official court 

reporter assigned to the Honorable Alan B. Johnson in Cheyenne 

shall be required to be in full-time attendance at the court. If 

at any time the official court reporter is unable to perform 

duties due to illness or approved annual leave, a competent 

substitute certified court reporter shall be provided at the 

expense of the court. 

II. Magistrates and Other Assignments 

Provision has been made for use of electronic recording 

equipment by the magistrate judges of this court, the magistrate 

judges, when need arises, shall be entitled to use the court 

reporters' services. The magistrate judge shall determine which 

means is to be used. 

III. Electronic Sound Recording of Proceedings 

Each judge of this Court shall determine whether reporting 

of official proceedings in his or her court shall be by certified 
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court reporter or by electronic sound recording in accordance 

with Volume VI, Chapter XVI, Guide to Judicial Policies and 

Procedures. 

In the event that a judge elects to use electronic sound 

recording as the official record of proceedings in the Court, the 

electronic technician-operator of the sound recording equipment 

shall be an employee of the office of the Clerk of the District 

Court. The Clerk of Court shall be responsible to provide during 

all business hours or at any time needed by the Court a competent 

substitute to provide such services in the event that the 

electronic sound recording technician is not available. 

IV. Fees 

Fees for transcripts of official proceedings shall be those 

adopted by the Court from time to time, but fees shall not exceed 

those fees recommended by the Judicial Conference of the United 

States. 

V. Times for Delivery of Transcripts 

Transcripts of official proceedings of this district for the 

purpose of appeal shall be delivered to the ordering party and/or 

filed with the Clerk of the District of Wyoming within the time 

prescribed by the Court of Appeals of the Tenth Circuit, or any 
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extension obtained therefrom. Transcripts being produced for use 

by judicial officers of this Court shall be delivered to the 

ordering party and/or filed with the Clerk of Court within the 

time prescribed by that judicial officer. 

VI. Court Reporter Coordinator 

The court reporter coordinator shall be the Clerk of the 

District Court for the District of Wyoming or the Clerk's 

designee, who shall be responsible for: 

A. Monitoring the preparation and filing of transcripts, 

and ensuring compliance with this Plan; 

B. Bringing to the attention of the Clerk of the Court of 

Appeals violations of this plan, which cannot be resolved 

locally; and, 

C. Ensuring that communications are forwarded to and 

received by the appropriate parties. 

VII. C.J.A. Transcripts 

A. All transcripts produced for and on behalf of Criminal 

Justice Act defendants shall be billed on C.J.A. Form 24, copies 

of which shall be furnished by the Clerk of Court. The Clerk of 

Court shall assist the ordering party in the proper preparation 

of the C.J.A. Form 24; and court reporters shall promptly furnish 

4
 



the necessary information to ensure timely completion of the 

form. 

B. The court reporter coordinator is designated to verify 

receipt of C.J.A. transcripts and shall ascertain the propriety 

of each voucher before submitting the same to the appropriate 

judicial officer for approval. Payment shall be made by the 

Clerk of Court upon approval of the judge or magistrate judge as 

may be appropriate. 

VIII. Daily Transcripts 

Production of daily or hourly transcripts shall not be 

subsidized by the court. If extra reporters are required to 

provide such transcript, the cost of such reporters shall be paid 

by the official reporter out of the earnings derived from the 

higher transcript rates as established by the Judicial Conference 

of the United States. 

IX. Filing of Shorthand Notes and Electronic Recordings 

A. The shorthand or stenotype notes prepared by the 

official court reporters and employees of the official court 

reporters will be maintained at their offices. Notes of contract 

reporters, if any, will be certified and filed with the Clerk of 

Court within ninety (90) days of completion of the proceedings. 
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B. Pursuant to the provisions of Title 28, United States 

Code, Section 753(b), reporters must transcribe and certify all 

arraignments, pleas and proceedings in connection with the 

imposition of sentence in criminal cases unless they have been 

recorded by electronic sound recording and such recordings have 

been certified and maintained in the office of the official court 

reporter or in the office of the Clerk of Court. Official and 

contract court reporters shall file with the Clerk transcripts of 

such proceedings within thirty (30) days of their occurrence 

unless an electronic recording device was utilized, in which 

event the electronic recording, accompanied by certification of 

the official reporter, or the electronic technician-operator 

designated to produce the record shall be filed as soon as the 

recording has been completed. 

X. Hours 

Unless otherwise approved by the appointing judge, the 

reporter shall be in the courthouse during the periods of time 

when not reporting; however, in those instances where the 

reporter has been excused or may not be present in the 

courthouse, telephone availability will be maintained with the 

Clerk of Court to ensure that if an emergency arises, the court 
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reporter can be made available within thirty (30) minutes. 

Freelance reporting, that is reporting not related to 

official duties, shall be permitted to the extent that it does 

not interfere with the normal operation of the court, subject to 

approval by the appointing judge. 

XI. Reports 

Reports should be filed with financial management division 

of the Administrative Office, United States Courts. 

The following reports are to be filed by each official 

reporter: 

A. Report of attendance and transcription of the United 

States Court Reporters (AO Form 40A) shall be submitted quarterly 

during each calendar year of official reporting. A report for 

each calendar quarter is to be mailed to the Court Reporting and 

Interpreting Section, Court Administration Division, Financial 

Management Division, Administrative Office of the United States 

Courts, Washington, D. C. 20544, so that it reaches that office 

within twenty (20) days after the end of a quarter, a copy of 

which will be directed to the court reporter coordinator of this 

Court. 

B. The statement of earnings of United States Court 
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Reporters (AO Form 40B) shall be submitted annually by all 

official court reporters. The report shall be mailed to the 

Financial Management Division, Administrative Office of the 

United States Courts, Washington, D. C. 20544, within sixty (60) 

days after the end of the calendar years, a copy of which will be 

directed to the Clerk of this Court. This report shall be kept 

confidential by the Clerk. 

The above Plan for effective utilization of court reporters 

is hereby adopted and shall become effective on September 2, 

2003. 
(I)~fo h.z-V 

Dated this ,2Jn4 day of september, 2003. 

~~2~ 

C. Beaman 
STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE 
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November 4, 2003 

On November 4, 2003, the Judicial Council approved the request of Ms. 

Betty Griess, Clerk of Court in the District of Wyoming to amend the Court 

Reporter Management Plan. Specifically .. the court made minor changes to the 

plan in Sections I and II. 

The Judicial Council 

Elisabeth i. Shumaker 
Circuit Executive 



IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
" r --, •• 

I '.' -' J. I
FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

IN THE MATTER OF ADOPTION OF 
ss 

AMENDED RULES OF COURT 

The matter of the adoption of amendments to the rules for 

this Court having come on regularly to be heard, and a set of 

amended local rules having been considered, and the Court being 

fully advised in the premises; it is 

HEREBY ORDERED that local civil rules 51.1 and 83.12.2, be 

amended in accordance with the copy attached hereto. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that said rules relating to jury 

instructions and admission to practice are a part of the local 

criminal rules, and said criminal rules 30.1 and 61.1 be amended 

in accordance with the copy attached hereto. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that Appendix E relating to a Motion for 

Admission Pro Hac Vice as attached hereto, be adopted as part of 

the Local Civil Rules and Appendix A relating to a Motion for 

Admission Pro Hac Vice as attached hereto, be adopted as part of 

the Local Criminal Rules. It is 



FURTHER ORDERED that the said amended local rules and the 

new Appendix E to the Civil Rules and the new Appendix A to the 

Criminal Rules shall be adopted, and become effective August 20, 

2003. It is 

FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of Court shall cause notice 

of the attached amendments to the local rules and the new 

Appendix E of the Civil Rules and Appendix A of the Criminal 

Rules to be published to the Bar and public. 
+J, 

Dated this /$ - day of August, 2003. 

4f~ 
WILLIAM F.Chj&;ge 

DOWNES 

~C~ 
CLAR E A. BRIMMER
 
United States District Judge
 

ALAN B. JOHNSO~ ­

United States District Judge
 



Rule 51.1 INSTRUCTIONS 

The parties shall tender to the Court and exchange with each 
other proposed jury instructions with citations to authorities in 
support thereof, together with proposed verdict forms, and a 3 
1/2 inch diskette formatted for WordPerfect, five (5) business 
days prior to trial in both civil and criminal cases. 



Rule 83.12.2 ADMISSION TO PRACTICE 

(a) General Admissions. Attorneys who are regularly admitted 
and licensed to practice before the Supreme Court of Wyoming may be 
admitted to practice in the United States District Court for the 
District of Wyoming upon motion made in open court by an attorney 
admitted to this Court. Said motion shall contain a satisfactory 
showing of the good moral character and the qualifications of the 
applicant, and the moving attorney shall vouch for him. Upon the 
granting of said motion for admission, the applicant shall take the 
oath, which shall be administered by the Court or the Clerk of 
Court. After signing the roll of attorneys in the Clerk of Court's 
office and paying the appropriate fee to the Clerk of Court, a 
certificate of admission shall be furnished to each admitted 
attorney. 

(b) Admission Pro Hac Vice. All attorneys who have not been 
admitted to practice in the courts of the State of Wyoming must 
seek admission pro hac vice based upon a motion made by a member of 
the Bars of the State of Wyoming and of this Court and an affidavit 
of the attorney seeking pro hac vice admission in order to appear 
in any matter before this Court. A proposed order shall be 
submitted with the motion. (See Appendix E for the required 
contents of the motion and affidavit.) 

Unless otherwise ordered by this Court, a motion to appear 
pro hac vice shall be granted only if the applicant associates with 
a currently licensed member of the Bars of the State of Wyoming and 
of this Court who shall participate in the preparation and trial of 
the case to the extent required by the Court. The applicant must 
also be a member in good standing of the bar of another state and 
the bar of another federal court in order to be eligible for pro 
hac vice admission in any matter before this Court. 

An attorney who applies for admission pro hac vice consents to 
the exercise of disciplinary jurisdiction by this Court over any 
alleged misconduct which occurs during the progress of the case in 
which the attorney so admitted participates. Prior to the filing of 
any pleadings or other documents, there shall be filed in the Clerk 
of Court1s office an entry of appearance by a currently licensed 
member of the Bar of the State of Wyoming with whom the applicant 
has become associated. The Wyoming member of the Bar shall move the 
applicant's admission at the commencement of the first hearing to 
be held before the Court. The Wyoming attorney shall sign the first 
pleading filed and shall continue in the case unless other resident 
counsel be substituted. The Wyoming attorney shall be present in 
Court during all proceedings in connection with the case, unless 
excused, and shall have full authority to act for and on behalf of 
the client in all matters including pretrial conferences, as well 
as trial or any other hearings. Any notice, pleading or other 
paper shall be served upon all counsel of record, including 



resident counsel, whenever possible, but it shall be sufficient for 
purposes of notice if service of any motion, pleading, order, 
notice or any other paper is served only upon Wyoming counsel, who 
shall assume responsibility for advising the non-resident associate 
of any such service. For good cause shown, the Court may direct the 
Clerk of Court to accept for filing a complaint signed only by a 
non-resident attorney, upon the condition that such non-resident 
attorney shall associate with resident counsel within ten (10) days 
after the filing of the complaint. 

(c) Motion to appear pro hac vice. Every motion to appear pro 
hac vice must contain the firm name (if any) address, telephone and 
facsimile number (if any) for said attorney, otherwise the 
attorney's name will not be added to the case docket. A proposed 
order shall be submitted with the motion. 

(d) Pro Se Representation. Any party proceeding on his or 
her own behalf without an attorney shall be expected to read and be 
familiar with both the Local Rules of this Court and with the 
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Rules of Bankruptcy 
Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence, or Federal Rules of 
Appellate Procedure, whichever may be appropriate in the case, and 
to proceed in accordance therewith. Copies of such Rules shall be 
available for review at the Office of the Clerk of Court. 

(e) Government Attorneys. Any attorney representing the United 
States Government, or any agency thereof, and who has been admitted 
to practice in the highest court of any state, but who is not 
otherwise qualified under this Rule to practice in this Court, may 
appear and participate in a case in his official capacity, as 
hereinafter provided. If the Government representative is not a 
member of the Bar of this Court, the United States Attorney for 
this District or one of his assistants shall move the admission of 
the non-resident Government representative, shall sign all 
pleadings before their filing and shall be present in Court during 
all proceedings in connection with the case, unless excused by the 
Court. Said United States Attorney shall also be designated by the 
Government attorney for the purpose of receiving service of 
notices, and such service shall constitute service upon said 
Government attorney. 

(f) Law Students. Any law student who has complied with the 
terms and conditions of Rule 12, Rules of the Supreme Court of 
Wyoming, providing for the organization and government of the Bar 
Association and attorneys at law of the State of Wyoming, shall be 
permitted to practice before this Court upon proof of compliance, 
and upon motion duly made pursuant to subsection (a) of this Rule. 
No such law student shall be permitted to practice unless 
accompanied by an attorney otherwise duly admitted to practice 
before this Court. 



APPENDIX E 

MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE
 
PURSUANT TO U.S.D.C.L.R. 83.12.2(b)
 

All pro hac vice affidavits shall contain the following 
information: 

•	 Name, address, telephone number and name of firm of attorney 
seeking pro hac vice admission; 

•	 When and where admitted (each court/bar); 

•	 List of all pending disciplinary proceedings and all past 
public sanctions of pro hac vice counsel; 

•	 Affirmation by pro hac vice counsel that said counsel will 
comply with and be bound by the Local Rules of the United 
States District Court for the District of Wyoming; 

•	 Acknowledgment by attorney seeking pro hac vice admission 
that local counsel is required to be fully prepared to 
represent the client at any time, in any capacity; 

•	 Acknowledgment of pro hac vice counsel that said counsel 
submits to and is subject to disciplinary jurisdiction of 
the Court for any alleged misconduct arising in the course 
of preparation and representation in the proceedings. 

All pro hac vice motions shall contain the following information: 

•	 Local counsel shall represent that local counsel is a member 
in good standing of the Bar of the State of Wyoming and the 
Bar of this Court; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall vouch for the good 
moral character and veracity of the pro hac vice attorney; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall be fully prepared to 
represent the client at any time, in any capacity. 



Rule 30.1 INSTRUCTIONS 

The parties shall tender to the Court and exchange with each 
other proposed jury instructions with citations to authorities in 
support thereof, together with proposed verdict forms, and a 3 
1/2 inch diskette formatted for WordPerfect, five (5) business 
days prior to trial in both civil and criminal cases. 



Rule 61.1 ADMISSION TO PRACTICE 

(a) General Admissions. Attorneys who are regularly admitted 
and licensed to practice before the Supreme Court of Wyoming may be 
admitted to practice in the United States District Court for the 
District of Wyoming upon motion made in open court by an attorney 
admitted to this Court. Said motion shall contain a satisfactory 
showing of the good moral character and the qualifications of the 
applicant, and the moving attorney shall vouch for him. Upon the 
granting of said motion for admission, the applicant shall take the 
oath, which shall be administered by the Court or the Clerk of 
Court. After signing the roll of attorneys in the Clerk of Court's 
office and paying the appropriate fee to the Clerk of Court, a 
certificate of admission shall be furnished to each admitted 
attorney. 

(b) Admission Pro Hac Vice. All attorneys who have not been 
admitted to practice in the courts of the State of Wyoming must 
seek admission pro hac vice based upon a motion made by a member of 
the Bars of the State of Wyoming and of this Court and an affidavit 
of the attorney seeking pro hac vice admission in order to appear 
in any matter before this Court. A proposed order shall be 
submitted with the motion. (See Appendix A for the required 
contents of the motion and affidavit.) 

Unless otherwise ordered by this Court, a motion to appear 
pro hac vice shall be granted only if the applicant associates with 
a currently licensed member of the Bars of the State of Wyoming and 
of this Court who shall participate in the preparation and trial of 
the case to the extent required by the Court. The applicant must 
also be a member in good standing of the bar of another state and 
the bar of another federal court in order to be eligible for pro 
hac vice admission in any matter before this Court. 

An attorney who applies for admission pro hac vice consents to 
the exercise of disciplinary jurisdiction by this Court over any 
alleged misconduct which occurs during the progress of the case in 
which the attorney so admitted participates. Prior to the filing of 
any pleadings or other documents, there shall be filed in the Clerk 
of Court's office an entry of appearance by a currently licensed 
member of the Bar of the State of Wyoming with whom the applicant 
has become associated. The Wyoming member of the Bar shall move the 
applicant's admission at the commencement of the first hearing to 
be held before the Court. The Wyoming attorney shall sign the first 
pleading filed and shall continue in the case unless other resident 
counsel be substituted. The Wyoming attorney shall be present in 
Court during all proceedings in connection with the case, unless 
excused, and shall have full authority to act for and on behalf of 
the client in all matters including pretrial conferences, as well 
as trial or any other hearings. Any notice, pleading or other 
paper shall be served upon all counsel of record, including 



resident counsel, whenever possible, but it shall be sufficient for 
purposes of notice if service of any motion, pleading, order, 
notice or any other paper is served only upon Wyoming counsel, who 
shall assume responsibility for advising the non-resident associate 
of any such service. For good cause shown, the Court may direct the 
Clerk of Court to accept for filing a complaint signed only by a 
non-resident attorney, upon the condition that such non-resident 
attorney shall associate with resident counsel within ten (10) days 
after the filing of the complaint. 

(c) Motion to appear pro hac vice. Every motion to appear pro 
hac vice must contain the firm name (if any) address, telephone and 
facsimile number (if any) for said attorney, otherwise the 
attorney's name will not be added to the case docket. A proposed 
order shall be submitted with the motion. 

(d) Pro Be Representation. Any party proceeding on his or 
her own behalf without an attorney shall be expected to read and be 
familiar with both the Local Rules of this Court and with the 
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Rules of Bankruptcy 
Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence, or Federal Rules of 
Appellate Procedure, whichever may be appropriate in the case, and 
to proceed in accordance therewith. Copies of such Rules shall be 
available for review at the Office of the Clerk of Court. 

(e) Government Attorneys. Any attorney representing the United 
States Government, or any agency thereof, and who has been admitted 
to practice in the highest court of any state, but who is not 
otherwise qualified under this Rule to practice in this Court, may 
appear and participate in a case in his official capacity, as 
hereinafter provided. If the Government representative is not a 
member of the Bar of this Court, the United States Attorney for 
this District or one of his assistants shall move the admission of 
the non-resident Government representative, shall sign all 
pleadings before their filing and shall be present in Court during 
all proceedings in connection with the case, unless excused by the 
Court. Said United States Attorney shall also be designated by the 
Government attorney for the purpose of receiving service of 
notices, and such service shall constitute service upon said 
Government attorney. 

(f) Law Students. Any law student who has complied with the 
terms and conditions of Rule 12, Rules of the Supreme Court of 
Wyoming, providing for the organization and government of the Bar 
Association and attorneys at law of the State of Wyoming, shall be 
permitted to practice before this Court upon proof of compliance, 
and upon motion duly made pursuant to subsection (a) of this Rule. 
No such law student shall be permitted to practice unless 
accompanied by an attorney otherwise duly admitted to practice 
before this Court. 
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APPENDIX A 

MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE 
PURSUANT TO U.S.D.C.L.R. 61.1 

All pro hac vice affidavits shall contain the following
 
information:
 

•	 Name, address, telephone number and name of firm of attorney 
seeking pro hac vice admission; 

•	 When and where admitted (each court/bar); 

•	 List of all pending disciplinary proceedings and all past 
public sanctions of pro hac vice counsel; 

•	 Affirmation by pro hac vice counsel that said counsel will 
comply with and be bound by the Local Rules of the United 
States District Court for the District of Wyoming; 

•	 Acknowledgment by attorney seeking pro hac vice admission 
that local counsel is required to be fully prepared to 
represent the client at any time, in any capacity; 

•	 Acknowledgment of pro hac vice counsel that said counsel 
submits to and is subject to disciplinary jurisdiction of 
the Court for any alleged misconduct arising in the course 
of preparation and representation in the proceedings. 

All pro hac vice motions shall contain the following information: 

•	 Local counsel shall represent that local counsel is a member 
in good standing of the Bar of the State of Wyoming and the 
Bar of this Court; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall vouch for the good 
moral character and veracity of the pro hac vice attorney; 

•	 A statement that local counsel shall be fully prepared to 
represent the client at any time, in any capacity 



F I LED 
OISTRICT OF WYOMING 

SEP 18 ZOOZ
 

CLERK 

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING
 

ORDER APPOINTING ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

The above entitled matter having come before the Court 

pursuant to the General Order Regarding Non-Appropriated Fund 

Administration entered on August 27, 2002, and effective 

September 1, 2002, the Court is to appoint an Advisory Committe 

for the purpose of advising the Court on the matters relating to 

the administration of the Non-Appropriated Fund. The Advisory 

Committee is to be composed of (1) An Active United States 

District Judge for the District of Wyoming; (2) The United States 

Bankruptcy Judge for the District of Wyoming; (3) A United States 

Magistrate Judge for the District of Wyoming; (4) The Clerk of 

the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming, and 

(5) Two lawyer representatives,who are regularly admitted and 

licensed to practice before the Supreme Court of Wyoming and 

before the United States District Court for the District of 

Wyoming, and the Court being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Advisory Committee for the administration 

of the Non-Appropriated Fund be composed of the following 

persons: 



Honorable Alan B. Johnson 
united States District Judge 

Honorable Peter McNiff 
united states Bankruptcy Judge 

Honorable William C. Beaman 
united States Magistrate Judge 

Betty A. Griess 
Clerk of Court 

Gerald R. Mason, Esquire 
Pinedale, Wyoming 

Timothy C. Day, Esquire 
Jackson, wyoming 

said Gerald Mason and Timothy C. Day to serve a two-year term 

with eligibility two-year term. 

Dated this September, 2002. 

~~
 
Chief Judge 
District of Wyoming 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURr ,1,:::( il:1 :] 2CJ 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING U.S. Dis 'iT. :GTe 0URT 

IN THE MATrER OF: 

GUIDELINES AND PLAN FOR
 
ADMINISTERING NON-APPROPRIATED
 
FUNDS.
 

GENERAL ORDER REGARDING NON-APPROPRIATED
 

FUND ADMINISTRATION
 

The Judges of the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming adopt 

this Plan to establish guidelines and procedures for the administration and operation of 

a non-appropriated fund. The source for this Guideline and Plan is found in the guide 

to Judiciary Policies and Procedures, Vol. I-A, Chapter VII, Parts C and M and 

Appendix M, Revised December 1999. 

Funds to be administered in accordance with this Plan are: 

A. Attorneys admitted to the Bar of this Court under conditions prescribed for 

general admission under U.S.D.C.L.R. 83.12.2(a) shall be required to pay to the Clerk 

of Court an admission fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00). The sum of fifty dollars 

($50.00) will be deposited by the Clerk into the Treasury of the United States of 

America, and fifty dollars ($50.00) will be deposited in the District of Wyoming's non-

appropriated fund ("Fund"). 
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B. Attorneys seeking admission pro hac vice under the conditions prescribed in 

U.S.D.C.L.R. 83.12.2(b) shall be required to pay a fee of one hundred ($100.00) for 

each appearance in a matter before this Court. The entire fee of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) will be deposited into the Fund. 

C. Attorneys seeking admission pro hac vice in adversary cases pending before 

the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Wyoming under the conditions prescribed 

in U.S.D.C.L.R. 83.12.2(b) and L.B.R. 9010-1(C) shall be required to pay a fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) for each appearance in an adversary case before the 

Bankruptcy Court. The entire fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) will be paid to the 

District Court and deposited into the Fund. 

Administration of the Fund 

An Advisory Committee shall be appointed by the Court to advise the Court and 

the Funds Custodian on matters relating to the administration of the fund. 

A. Composition of the Advisory Committee: 

(1) An Active United States District Judge for the District of Wyoming; 

(2) The United States Bankruptcy Judge for the District of Wyoming; 

(3) A United States Magistrate Judge for the District of Wyoming; 

(4) The Clerk of the United States District Court for the District of 

Wyoming, who shall act as Secretary to the Advisory Committee; and 

(5) Two lawyer representatives, who are regularly admitted and licensed 

to practice before the Supreme Court of Wyoming and before the United States District 

Court for the District of Wyoming. 
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B. Duties and powers: 

(1) Oversees the activities of the Custodian of the fund; and 

(2) Exercise authority approving individual disbursement not exceeding 

five hundred dollars ($500.00), and the Chairperson shall have authority as to individual 

disbursements not exceeding two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). All expenditures in 

excess of five hundred ($500.00) may be authorized only by majority of the Advisory 

Committee. 

C. CustodianfTrustee: 

The Clerk of the District Court is appointed CustodianfTrustee of the Fund. In 

the event of absence, retirement or resignation of the Clerk, the Chief Deputy Clerk, or 

such other person as the Chief District Judge designates shall become the 

CustodianfTrustee. 

1. Responsibilities and Duties of the CustodianfTrustee: 

(a) Receive, safeguard, deposit, disburse and account for all 

funds, as prescribed in this Plan and in pertinent laws; 

(b) Secure a bond to be paid from assets of the fund if required by 

the Court; 

(c) Establish a checking and deposit account and an accounting 

system for the fund and maintain proper records of receipts and disbursements; 

(d) Ensure that financial statements and operating reports are 

prepared quarterly and sign the same, certifying that the statements and reports 

accurately represent the financial condition of the fund; 
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(e) Invest monies from the fund with approval of the Advisory 

Committee in accordance with this plan; 

(f) Sign checks drawn on the fund. The checks shall be 

countersigned by the Chief District Judge, or in the absence of the Chief District Judge, 

by the Vice-Chairperson of the Advisory Committee; 

(g) Act as Secretary to the Advisory Committee and keep records 

and minutes of committee meetings; 

(h) Perform such other duties as the Chief District Judge and the 

Advisory Committee may direct. 

C. Successor CustodianfTrustee: 

Upon appointment of a successor CustodianfTrustee, the outgoing 

CustodianfTrustee shall prepare and sign the following statements in conjunction with 

an exit audit or inspection conducted by an auditor or disinterested person as 

designated by the Court; 

(1) A statement of assets and liabilities; 

(2) A statement of operations or of receipts and disbursement covering 

the period since the last statement of operations and net worth, up to the date of 

transfer to the Successor CustodianfTrustee; 

(3) A statement of the balance in any fund accounts as of the date of 

transfer to the successor CustodianfTrustee. 

The Successor CustodianfTrustee should execute a receipt for all funds after 

being satisfied as to the accuracy of the statements and records provided by the 

4 



outgoing Custodianffrustee. Acceptance may be conditioned upon audit and 

verification when the circumstances warrant. 

D. Audits and Inspections: 

(1) Audits. 

Funds are subject to audit by the Administrative Office of the 

United States Courts. The Court may appoint an outside auditor or disinterested 

person (who may be a government employee) to conduct such additional audits as the 

Court determines may be necessary. The written results of such audit should be 

provided to the Court and may be made available upon request to members of the bar 

of the Court. Reasonable compensation may be provided from fund assets if the 

auditor is not a government employee acting in an official capacity. 

2. Final Audit. 

A final audit should be performed prior to the dissolution of the 

fund and a written accounting rendered to the court and Advisory Committee. 

E. Protection of the Fund. 

All receipts should be deposited in federally insured banks or savings 

institutions, and, whenever practical and feasible, all substantial sums should be placed 

in interest bearing accounts, government securities, or money market funds invested in 

government obligations, at the direction of the court or Advisory Committee. Assets 

held by the custodian must be segregated from all other monies in the custody of the 

court, including other non-appropriated funds. 

5
 



F. General Principles and Guidelines for Expenditure of the Fund: 

(1) Funds are to be used for the benefit of the bench and bar in the 

administration of justice. Attorney admission fees collected by the court which are in 

excess of the amount prescribed by the Judicial Conference Schedule of Additional 

Fees constitute non-appropriated funds. Monies maintained in such funds should not 

be used for purposes which do not enure to the benefit of the members of the bench 

and bar in the administration of justice. Non-appropriated funds may not be used to 

supplement appropriated funds and may not be used to pay for materials or supplies 

available from statutory appropriations. Under no circumstances should such funds be 

used to supplement the salary of any court officer or employee. 

(2) Examples of proper use of non-appropriated fund: 

(a) Attorney admission proceedings (including expenses of 

admissions, committees and admissions ceremonies); 

(b) Attorney discipline proceedings (including expenses of 

investigating counsel for disciplinary enforcement, travel expenses and witness fees in 

disciplinary proceedings); 

(c) Periodicals and publications for court libraries for which 

appropriated funds are not available; 

(d) Anatomical charts and stands for courtroom use; 

(e) Computerization of library catalog; 

6 



(f) Lawyer lounge facilities; 

(g) Surety bond for the custodian of the fund (bond may only 

cover monies in the fund); 

(h) Fees for services rendered by outside auditors in auditing the 

fund; 

(i) Reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses necessarily 

incurred by court-appointed attorneys representing indigents in civil cases not covered 

by the Criminal Justice Act. Reimbursements will be limited to no more than $5"6 D 

per case at the discretion of the Advisory Committee upon recommendation of the trial 

judge and will be payable at the conclusion of the case; 

U) Expenses for the training of court personnel, including CJA 

Panel members, for which appropriated funds are not available, including attending 

conferences and seminars. 

Dissolution of the Fund 

The Court may dissolve the non-appropriated fund or any portion thereof, which 

has been created by this General Order. The Custodian shall ensure that all 

outstanding obligations are liquidated prior to dissolution of the fund, including any 

expenses resulting from the required final audit. Effort should be made to dispose of 

the assets of the fund in ways which fulfill the purposes of the fund as set forth herein. 

7
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Effective Date 

This Plan shall become effective on ~ /.7 O('aJ~ 
Dated this 2-~of August, 2002. 

~-, 
WILLIAM F. DOWNES 
CHIEF JUDGE 

' - -!t 1J1!fn,::;7
':;; 4-­~,~ l-t'J-t,.c<- /1, ~~ 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
t ... ro, I' < ~ 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOM:rN(}J uJ~ 3 Ffl 2 27 

AMENDED GENERAL ORDER AMENDING COLLATERAL FrKri:sCHEDULE 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to amend Collateral Fee Schedule by 

amending Section IV, Assimilated State Laws, and being fully advised in the premises, it is 

ORDERED that the Collateral Fine Schedule, which is available at the United States 

District Court for the District of Wyoming, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: 

SECTION IV ASSIMILATED STATE LAWS 

A. TRAFFIC, DRIVERS LICENSE, REGISTRATION AND LICENSING OFFENSE 

(3). Offenses Where Collateral May be Forfeited 

In those instances when an accused violator wishes to plead guilty and he so indicates the 

same on the violation notice, he may forfeit collateral in the amount applicable to the offense 

charged. The law enforcement officer under any circumstances may require the violator to 

deposit the collateral in the U.S. mail in the presence ofsaid officer. 

This District adopts and incorporates by reference the current Wyoming Supreme Court 

Order adopting the Revised Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules promulgated by the court. 

This District also adopts and incorporates by reference any orders by the Wyoming Supreme 

Court subsequently revising the State of Wyoming Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedules. 

DATED trus~Of#, 2000. 

HON. WILLIAM F. DOWNES, CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

botkins
Typewritten Text
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APRiL TERM, A.D. 1997 

1.'4 I r-::::. ::"l,;;·.-,i::5,l!:: ':CURT 
STATe: CF ·v.... yC:-~:l.\G 

Fil2:D 

JUN 2 7.1997 

In the Matter of Adopting the ) JUDY ?AC:-l.E,CO, CL2:=tK 
, .. , . ' Revised Unifonn Bail Schedule ) I ('1'gt:.-!' I 11..-.'. r f .... \.(''.,.... 

by DEPUTY 

ORDER ADOPTING THE REVISED UNIFORM BAIL AND 

FORFEITURE SCHEDULES 


The Court rea::ived recommendations from the Bail Schedule Study Committee that the 
Uniform Bail and Forfeirure Schedules be revised as shown in the attached schedules. The Court has 
fully considered those recommendations and fmds that the attached revised Uniform Bail and Forfeiture 
Schedules should be adopted; it is therefore, 

ORDERED that the Uniform Bail and Forfeirure Schedules, as attached, shall be, and hereby 
are, adopted and shall become effective July 1, 1997; and it is 

FURTHER ORDERED that copies of this Order and the Uniform Bail and Forfeiture 
Schedules be distributed to all coumy coum and justice of the peace courtS, as well as to all interested 
law enforcement departments of the state and county. 

DATED this 1.1!!daY of June, 1997. 

.... 




APPENDIX I 

APPENDIX TO RULE 3.1, Wyo. R. Cr. P. 


UNIFORM BAIL A.ND FORFEITURE SCHEDULES 


U<.evisea july i, 1997) 

F or the sake of uniformity throughout the state, the follo'Wing schedules have been established bv the 
Wyoming Supreme Court and shall be used in all county courts and justice of the peace courts. I • 

Unless a specific bail amount appears in the body of this schedule, the amount ofbail is (including 520 court 
costs): 

A =$ 35.00 
B =$ 50.00 
C =$100.00 
D =$200.00 
E =$400.00 

A person to whom a citation has issued must appear in court on the day and at the time specified in the 
citation unless the citing officer checks the box "MAY FORFEIT BOND IN LIEU OF APPEARANCE" on the 
citation. 

lfthe "MAY FORFEIT BOND IN LIEU OF APPEARANCE" box is checked, the person cited must appear 
• on the day and at the time specified on the citation or may post bond at or prior to the court date and forfeit the same 
• in lieu of appearance. 

Any offense NOT listed requires the party to appear, subject to local requirements, so long as fully consistent 
with the schedule. 

Follo'Wing are the misdemeanor offenses for which bond may be posted and forfeited: 

Seat belt reduction-Wyo. Stat. 31-5-1402( e) provides that"All citations for violations of the 
motor vehicle laws of this state shall contain a notation by the issuing officer indicating whether the 
licensee complied with thiS3~cticd." (Viz, had seat belt fastened or was exempt from the 
T"pnl1irPment.) "Comoliance with this section shall entitle a licensee to a five dollar ($5.00) reduction 
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RULE 

II 9-2-1016(j) Unauthorized use of state vehicles B 

I 


24-1-109 Failu.re to observe sigr.s and closed C 
markers 

24-1-110(a) Exhibition ofacceleration B 

Drag racing--two (2) or more cars C 

31-2-402(d) Snowmobile registration B 

31-2-405 Snowmobile registration decal-failure A 
to display 

31-4-101(a)(i) Car registration required B 

Expired temporary license pennits as B 
defined in 31-2-211(c) 

31-4-101(a)(ii) Failure to display license plates as B 
required by 31-2-205 

Plates for nonresident as required by 3 1­ B 

t 
2-201(a)(iii) on becoming resident and 
31-2-201 (a)(iv)(A) upon becoming 
employed in Wyoming 

31-4-101(a)(iii) Operation ofvehicle with altered, B 
mutilated or obscured license plates 

Alteration or mutilation of license plates 31-4-101(b) B 

3 1-4-10 1 (d) Transfer interest without certificate B 

31-4-103 Compulsory auto insurance E 
(MUST APPEAR ifaccident 
crash/collision has occurred) 

Compulsory auto insurance-2nd or (rvtUST APPEAR) 
subsequent offense 

1-4-103 

FOR INFORMATION: 

31-5-1201 
 PENALTY SECTION FOR UNIFORl\1 ACT REGULATING 

TRAFFIC (31-5-101 THROUGH 31-5-1214 EXCEPT AS 
_~,....--._-__ ..... _ ............. "II!'~-~, 


V 1 .t1.~.K VY l.:)t.. r KU \' J.J.Jt..J.J) 

B 
-

Willful refusal to obey officer 31-5-104 

BMotorcycle operation 131-5-115IiII 

http:Failu.re


-I CO~E 1- s-T-:-~-u-'~-E-I--l"v-I-I~"""T-IO-N'"""'!""I-D-E-SCRlPT-.--I0-N------r"i\-----;-----BAlL-----

""- .....~--

31-5-115(0) Motorcycle operation by minor without B 
helmet 

31-5-116 Obstructing driver's view B 

131-5-117 IPutting glass on highway B 

131-5-119 I Clinging to a vehicle on highway B 

31-5-120 Driving on sidewalks B 

31-5-121 Opening and closing vehicle door B 

31-5-122 Riding in house trailers B 

31-5-201 Driving on right side of roadway, B 
exceptions 

31-5-203 Overtaking on the left B 

131-5-204 I Passing when free from traffic B 

31-5-205 No passing on crest of hill or near B 
intersection 

31-5-206 When overtaking on right is permitted B 

31-5-207 No-passing-zones-­ B 
hillcrest-other traffic present B 
hillcrest-nighttime B 

31-5-208 One-way traffic signal violation B 

31-5-209 Two-and three-lane traffic B 

131-5-210 Follo\\<mg too closely B 

31-5-211 Driving over, across or within median B 

31-5-212 Controlled access road B 

31-5-213 Restricting use of controlled access B 

31-5-214 Turning at intersection B 

31-5-215 No U-Turn on curve or crest B 
1,.. 

131-5-216 Starting parked vehicle B 

31-5-217 Turning requires signals I B 

31-5-218 Signal may be by ha1'1d c,.. ~lght B 

~l_'i_??n Rig:ht-of-wav entering: intersection I B 
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,/,rC-O-D-£--,---ST-A-T-U-TB----~I-VI-OLAT-I-O-N-.~I-D-E-S-CRWT----I-O-N--------~' 

RULE 
BAlL 

I I 31-5-"" 1 I I Turning left at intersection , -­ B 

31-5-222(b) Stop sign B 

I ~ 1-~-""''''(C\ I Yield sign Bwi'" "'" ___ } 

31-5-223 I Yield when entering from private road B 

31-5-224 Right-of-way for emergency vehicles B 

31-5-226 I IBacking B 

31-5-227 Driving through defiles. canyon, or B 
mountain roads 

31-5-228 I Loads on vehicles B 

31-5-230 Coasting prohibited B 

31-5-231 I Following fire engine prohibited B 

31-5-232 I Driving over fire hose T"'I 
0 

I 31-5-301(a) Speed too fast for conditions B 

31-5-301(b)(i) Exceeding 20 mph in school zone plus A 

• $2.00 per mph over 20 mph 

III I 21 - $37.00 

22 - $39.00 

I 23 - $41.00 

I I 24 ­ $43.00 

25 - $45.00 

($50.00 & $20.00 court cost & $4.00 
per mph) 

I 26 - $74.00 

27 ­
I 

$78.00 

I 28 - $82.00 

I 29 ­ $86.00 
I 



- - - --
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~iC-O-D-E-----s-T-A-T-U-TIV----~IV-I-OLAT-I-O-N-r/D-E-S-Oll--PT--IO-N---------- -----r------ - ---------­

I SA a 
RULE 

~ 

S106.001 1 1 34 ­

35 ­ $110.001 

36 ­ S114.00 

37 ­ S118.00 

38 ­ S122.00 

I 39 ­ $126.00 

40 ­ S130.00 

41 ­ S134.00 

42 ­ $l38.00I 

143 - S142.00I1 

44 ­ $146.00 

145 & over $220.00 & Must Appear 1 

3 1-5-30 1 (b)(ii) Exceedmg 30 mph in urban districts A 
plus S2.00 per mph over 30 mph I 

31 ­ $37.00 

32 ­ $39.00I 

... ..,
.J.J ­ $41.00I 

34 ­ $43.00 

35 ­ S45.00 

($50.00 & S20.00 court costs & $4.00 
per mph) 

I 36 ­ $74.00 

S78.0037 ­

$82.00 

39 ­

38 - 1.. 

$86.00I 

$90.00 

41 ­

40 ­

$94.00 

S102.00 
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~----r-----------~-- ---,-------------------,~~----~-----------------
CODE STATUTEf IVIOLATION I DESCRIPTION BAIL

I RULE 
I~--;----~I- -1 - ~-----~ 

43 $102.00 
II i I I 

44 ­ $106.001II 

! 45 ­ Sl10.00 

1 

46 ­ $114.00 

47 ­ $118.00 

48 ­ $122.00I 
49 $126.00 

1 ­

50 ­ $130.00 

51 ­ $134.00I 
$138.00 

53 ­

52 ­

$142.00 

54 ­ $146.00I 
$150.00 

56 & over 

55 ­

$220.00 & Must Appear 

31-5-301 (b )(iii) Exceeding 75mph on interstate highways-"cars"=passenger vehicles 
and light trucks (Penalty 31-5-1201(d)) 

"Trucks"=Trucks in excess of28,000 lbs. Unladen weight--exceeding 
75 mph--same as cars, plus $100.00. (Penalty 31-18-704) 

(No court costs 76-79 mph) Trucks 

76 ­

Cars 

$105.00$5.00 

$110.00 

$115.00 

$10.0077 ­

$15.00 

$120.00 

78 ­

$20.00 

(includes $20.00 court costs for speeds 80 and above) 

$70.00 

79 ­

$170.0080 ­I 

$175.00$75.0081 ­

$80.00 $180.0082 ­ I 

$85.00 :185.0083 - I I 
• ""1"'\1"'\ 1"'\1"'\ 1'\1'\I I ""1 nn. 
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DESCRIPTION'cODE STATUTEI BAIL 

RULE 

Cars 

IVIOL. _iON 

Trucks, I 
 I 
85 ­ 595.00 S195.00 

86 ­ 5100.00 S200.00 

87 ­ Sl10.00 S210.00I I 

88 ­ S120.00 S220.00 

89 - 100 S200.00 S300.00 

101 & above S220.00 S320.00 
& & 

must appear must appear 

31-5-301(b)(iv) Exceeding 65 mph on primary and secondary highways-­
"Cars"=passenger vehicles and light trucks (Penalty 31-5-1201(d) 

"Trucks" - Trucks in excess of 28.000 1bs. unladen weight--exceeding 
, 

65 mph -- same as cars, plus 5100.00. (Penalty 31-18-704) 


(No court costs 66-69 mph) 


66 ­ S5.00 S105.00 

67 ­ S10.00 $110.00,.. 

S15.00 S115.00 

69 ­

68 ­

S20.00 S120.00 

For speeds in excess of 69 mph, the bail shall be S25.00 plus S3.00 for 
every mile in excess of 69 mph, plus 520.00 court costs: 

70 ­ S48.00 S148.00 

71 ­ S51.00 S151.00 

72 ­ S54.00 $154.00 

73 ­ S57.00 S157.00 

74 ­ S60.00 S160.00 

75 ­ S63.00 S163.00 

566.00 S166.00 

77 ­

76 ­

569.00 5169.00 

5172.01)572.0078 ­ I 
79 - I 575.00 I.. 5175.00 



-, -

CODe: STATUTE! BAILIV10L.~TION IDESCRIPTION 

RULE 

Cars TrucksI I 
I I

i 80 ­ 578.00 S i 78.00I I 
81 ­ $81.00 $181.00I I 
82 ­ $84.00 $184.00I 

83 ­ $87.00 $187.00 

84 ­ $90.00 I $190.00I 

85 ­ $93.00 I $193.00I 
86 ­ $96.00 $196.00I I 
87 - I $99.00 $199.00I I 

I 88 ­ $102.00 $202.00 

$105.00 $205.00189 ­I 
$108.00 $208.0090 ­I I 
$111.00 $211.0091 ­ I 

$114.00 $214.0092 ­I 
$117.00 $217.0093 ­I I 
$120.00 $220.0094 ­

$123.00 $223.0095 ­

$226.00$126.0096 ­I 
$229.00$129.0097 ­I 

$232.00$132.0098 ­

$235.00$135.0099 ­I I 

$238.00$138.00100 ­

$320.00$220.00101 & above 
&& 

must appe2.must appear 

SuperintendentS speed zones I 31-5-301(c) I 
I 
 $35.00
11 - 5 m.p.h. 

I 
$50.006 - 9 m.p.h. 

I I 
, 

-



· 
CODE STATUTE! VIOLn.fION DESCRIPTION BAIL 

RULE 

10 - 16 m.p.h. S50.00 & $20.00 courts costs & $2.00 per mile over 

I posted speed 

I 10 - $90.00 

I 11 - $92.00 

12 - $94.00 

13 - $96.00 

14 - $98.00 

I 15 - $100.00 

16 - $102.00 

17 - 24 m.p.h. $50.00 & S20.00 court costs S4.00 per m.p.h. over 
posted speed up to $200.00 

I 17 - $138.00 

I 18 - $142.00 

19 - $146.00 

20 - $150.00, 
21 - $154.00 

22 - $158.00 

23 - $162.00 

24 - $166.00 

25 and over m.p.h $220.00 
& must appear 

31-5-304 Driving too slowly-minimum speed B 

31-5-305 Special speeds--bridges B 

31-5-402 Obedience to traffic-control device B 

31-5-403 Traffic-control signals B 

31-5-404 Pedestrian-control signals B 

\31-5-405 Flashing signals B 

131-5-406 I IDisplay of unauthorized signs B 

.L 131-5-501 I IUnlawful parking in restricted areas B 



,--. 
----r-------------------~.~,----_.--------------------

STATUTE! I VIOLAnON I DESCRIPTION BAIL 
RULE 

-- --- - -- -.-~----.------.---.-.-

31-5-504 Prohibited parking spaces B 

31-5-505 Parking on highway B 

31-5-506 I Stop--emerging from alley B 

31-5-507 Meeting or passing stopped school bus' C 
(2nd offense within one year is a high 
misdemeanor) 

I Leaving car unattended I B31-5-509 

Railroad crossing signal and sight 31-5-510 B 

S top at railroad crossing 31-5-511 B 

Parking in cities and on highways31-5-512 B 

Traffic control for pedestrian 31-5-601 B 

Pedestrian right-of-way in crosswalks 31-5-602 B 

Jaywalking B31-5-603 

Pedestrian to use sidewalks or left side B 
ofhighway 

31-5-605 

Hitchhiking B31-5-606 

Pedestrian--under influence B31-5-612 

B 
vehicle laws 

I Bicyclists subject to applicable motor31-5-702 

B 
passengers 
Bicyclists must ride on seat and no 31-5-703 

B 
designated paths 
Bicyclists riding on roadway and 31-5-704 

BBicyclists able to keep one hand on bar31-5-705 

BNighttime use, equipment and brakes 31-5-706 

BSnowmobile on highways 31-5-801 

BOperating vehicles with improper 
equipment 

31-5-901 

BWhen headlamps required 31-5-910 

BHeadlights (911, 912); taillights (913); II ~::~:~~~ thru I r~fl~ctors (914): stoDliQhts and tum 

I 

It 



- .... 

I- I j , 
CODE 

I 
STATUTE! IVIOLATION DESCRIPTION BAlL 

RULE 
, 

lights (915) ; clearance lights (916); B 
~ color and mounti.T1g of clearance lights 

and reflectors (917); lamps, etc. on 
projecting loads (919); lights for parked 
vehicles (920); spot lights (922); 
multiple beams (924); single beam 
(925); lights for operating 20 mph 
(926); number of driving lights (927); 
restriction on lights, color flashing 
emergency, police (928); fann 
equipment lights (921) 

31-5-950 thru Brakes B 
31-5-951 

31-5-952 thru Horns (952); mufflers (953); mirrors B 
31-5-955 (954); windshield wipers (955) 

31-5-956 Tires, chains B 

31-5-957 thru Flares (957); warning devices on B 
31-5-958 disabled vehicles (958) 

131-5-961 Television receivers B 

It 31-5-962 S un screening devices B 

31-5-970 Unsafe vehicles C 

31-5-1102 Damage to attended vehicle or property D 

31-5-1104 Colliding with unattended vehicle. duty C 

31-5-1105 Failure to report over $500.00 property D 
damage or injury 

31-5-1106 Written reports required; reports by B 
garage operator of vehicles struck by 
bullets 

31-5-1202 Aiding and abetting the commission of Same as Principal's Offens 
any of the above offenses 

31-5-1203 Owner prolllbited from permitting B 
operation of vehicles contrary to law 

31-5-1206 Failure to appear (F.T.A.) when original D 
offense was nru a "MUST APPEAR" 

131-5-1303 Child safety restraint system A- ,..... .. -"\.. 'I "". /'1 ,'\. 



CODE STATUTE! 
RULE 

131-5-1303 

31-7-106 

31-7-116 

31-7-117 

31-7-119(d) 

...... - ...... "'" 
~l-I-L).) 

31-7-l34(a) 

31-7-135 

31-12-101 

VI01...n.TION DESCRIPTION 

Chlld safety restraint system 2nd 
offense 

Driver's license 

Carrying and exhibiting license 

Restricted license 

False application for new license 

Tr_l_ ....... ...c:.~l ........ ..., _1:1: ..... '""- ... 0"). 


v .Lu ..... rY J,\"U u..l\ooo U.I.. .L.Lw""'",~_ 

Operating under suspended or revoked 
license 

Suspended license 2nd or subsequent 

Permitting unlicensed person to operate 

Lugs and cleats 

BAlL 

C 

B 

B 

B 

C 

T"'I...., 

E 

E (Must appear) 

B 

B 

The following uniform schedule for deposits for appearances on 
commercial vehicle violations are established by court rule or by 
statutory authority. (Costs included.) 

Registration and licensing commercial 
vehicles 

3l-18-201(b) 

31-18-201(g) 

31-18-201 (k) 

31-18-201(m) 

31-18-201 (y) 

31-4-101(c) 

31-7-137(c) 

31-7-301 

Registration and licensing rental vehicle 

Display registration 

Intrastate registration operation 

Expired temporary registration 

False statement on application 

Failure to apply for duplicate license 

Failure to notify DOT of conviction 

~ 1.7_~n.d. Commercial drivers license 

B 

B 

B 

B 

B 

B 

B 

D 

C 



I 

,..,.­
r-----r-----------~-- ----~----------------~~----~--------------__ __ ICODE ST:;;:::E1 IVIOLATION' DESCRIPTION BAlL 

~I- 31-18-701 & FOR INFORMATION: 
31-18-704 [PENALTY SECTIONS FOR 31-18-101 through 606] 

31-18-203 Mobile machinery--no operation BI 
31-18-303 PSC Rule 28, Code of Federal 

Regulation (CFR), Title 49-­

Hazardous materials­ $320.00 
pans CFR 171-174.840 and 
177-1 79.5 00-18 

Motor carrier safety regulations­ $150.00 
CFR parts 390, 391,392,393,395,396 
and 397, including liquor in cab: 
$150.00 per out-of-service violation (up 
to $750.00); 

$50.00 per violation for all other $50.00 
violations which are not out-of-service 
criteria (up to $500.00) 

Except the following four (4) offenses, $220.00 
CFR 396.9c (2), CFR 397.5, CFR 397.7 
and CFR397.13 

31-1S-209(d) No bill of lading for common carrier B 

31-1S-210(c) No bill oflading to operate as contract B 
carner 

31-1S-211(b) No bilI of lading to act as interstate B 
carrier 

No PSC permit or certificate 31-18-301(b) BI 

Failure to stop at port of entry31-1S-301(c) 

No display of name of motor carrier B31-1S-304(a) 

No one trip permit B31-1S-403(a) 

BNo permit for towing vehicles I 31-1S-403(b) 
10.0 

BNo one trip permit motion picture 31-1S-403(e) 
industry 

31-18-404 Misuse of dealer's plates (See 31-1S­ B 
I 701 for Penalties) 

• ":' 1 1 Q>1 {),,{,h'l I I Mmnr carrier must keen record B 

C 

http:CFR397.13
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31-18-603 I Loads on vehicle B 

31-18-605( a)(I) Failure to activate flashers B 

31-18-605(a)(ii) I Failure to stop 15-50' from rail B 

31-18-605( a)(iii) Failure to look/listen at railroad crossing B 

31-18-605(a)(iv) I Shifted gears crossing tracks B 

31-18-605(a)(v) Failure to cancel flashers B 

i 31-18-606 Metal tire/contact with highway B 

31-18-703 
I 

Failure to obey signs/commercial C 
vehicle 

31-18-704 Commercial vehicle enhanced speeding C 
fine. See chart at 31-5-301(b)(iii) and 
31-5-301(b)(iv). 

31-18-705 Speed or acceleration contest- C 
commercial vehicles 

31-18-805 FOR INFOR..I\1ATION: 
[PENALTY SECTION FOR 31-18-801 through 804] 

t 31-18-802 Weight violations (penalty 31-18-805( e)) 

0-4,000 $45.00 

I 4,001 - 6,000 $70.00 

I 6,001 - 8,000 $120.00 

8,001 - 10,000 $170.00 

10,001 - 12,000 $220.00 

12,001 - 14,000 $270.00 

14,001 - 16,000 $320.00 

I 16,001 - 18,000 $420.00 

I 18,001 - 20,000 $520.00 

Over - 20,000 $770.00 

31-18-802(a) Width, height, length of vehicle-­
Daylight violations C 
Nighu:me ;;iolations D 

.

• 



CODE STATUTE! 
RULE 

BAlLIDESCRll'TIONV1(",_.'l.TION 

31-18-803 T ransponing and towing other vehicies B 

31-18-804 Oversize and overweight permits Same bond as 802(a) 

Oversize--towing disabled vehicles B 

6-3-204 Littering D 

35-10-101 Disposal of dead animals, etc. c 
35-10-104 Failure of owner to remove dead animal c 
35-10-401 Obstructing highway and pollution c 

101 23-2-202 9th Degree Fishing without license by a person 14 S100.00 
year and older 

102 23-2-202 9th Degree Fishing without license by a person S50.00 
under 14 years 

103 23-3-201 9th Degree Fishing with more than rods or poles S50.00 

104 23-3-201 9th Degree Fishing with more than 3 hooks/lines S50.00 

23-3-201 9th Degree Illegal set lines S50.00 

23-3-201 8th Degree Talee, wound or destroy any fish with a S200.00 
firearm 

107 23-3-201 9th Degree Snagging fish where not specifically S100.00 
authorized 

108 23-3-202 11th Degree Use of illegal bait for fishing-live bait S100.00 

109 23-3-202 11th Degree Use of illegal bait for fishing-com S100.00 

110 23-3-202 11th Degree Releasing live bait fish without S100.00 
authorization 

III 23-3-202 11th Degree Fish live bait that is not proper type or S100.00 
ongm 

112 13-3-402 9th Degree Possess live bait fish without receipt or S100.00 
permit 

113 23-3-402 9th Degree Over limit of game fish S100.00 
Plus S10 per fish 



I""""'"' 

STATUTE!ICODE IVIOLATION IDESCRIPTION BAlL
RULE 

114 23-3-402 9th Degree Take fish in violation of size or slot S100.00I 
 limits 

115 23-3-303 9th Degree Waste or abandon game fish S100.00 

116 23-3-402 9th Degree Fishing before or after hours S100.00 

117 23-3-402 9th Degree Fishing in closed waters S100.00 

118 23-3-201 9th Degree Unattended fishing pole or rod S50.00 

119 I 23-3-402 9th Degree Fish adjoining state without reciprocal S100.00 
stamp 

120 23-3-204 1st Degree 'Takel destroy fish-poison, electricity, S400.00 
chemical, explosives 

121 23-3-205 11th Degree Ship or transpon game fish without S100.00 
license or tag 

122 23-3-403 5th Degree False oath to procure fishing license S200.00 

123 23-4-101 9th Degree Plant/release fish or eggs without S200.00 
authorization 

23-4-104 9th Degree Intent removal/destruction ofhatchery S400.00I~ 124 
fish-value less than S5.00 

125 23-4-104 Felony Intent removal/destruction of hatchery Not Bondable 
fish-value S500.00 or more 

126 23-3-402 9th Degree Ice fishing with more than 6 lines in S50.00 
special regulation areas 

127 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to attach name to each ice fishing S50.00 
rod, tip-up or line 

23-3-402 9th Degree Ice fishing with more than one S50.00 
hooklline per rod in special regulation 
area 

128 

S50.00 
300 yards 

9th Degree Ice fishing nonattendance-more than129 23-3-402 

S100.00 
cannot be determined 

9th Degree Possess fish when species or number 130 23-3-402 

S100.00Possess fish w/o head or tail attached 9th Degree 23-3-402131 

1"'7 S50.009th Degree Bait fish-no receipt/permit - ..­1.J_ 23-3-402 

• ........ 
 ""\..., ""I AI'\~ O .. h n .. o,o".... TTcp O"~".,p fich flf'-c::h ;:!~ hair S50.00 
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CODE STATUTE! I VIOLAfION DESCRIPTION BAIL
RULE 

134 23-3-402 9th Degree Seine or trap fish without a license S100.00 

135 123-3-402 9th Degree Use of an illegal seine or net I S50.00 

136 23-3-402 9th Degree Use of an illegal fish trap 
1 

550.00 

137 23-3-402 i 9th Degree Use of an illegal number of fish traps S50.00 

138 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to tag fish traps with name $50.00 

139 23-3-402 9th Degree Possess game fish taken in fish trap or $100.00 
seine 

140 23-2-206 9th Degree Take game fish w/spear gun while not S100.00 
submerged 

141 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation underwater fish regulations S50.00 

142 23-2-208 9th Degree Landowner fail provide wrinen S100.00 
statement for fish 

143 1 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal transportation of live fish or eggs S400.00 

144 23-3-402 9th Degree Illegal tagging or marking of fish S100.00 

145 23-3-402 9th Degree No owner's name on ice fishing shelter $50.00 

~ 146 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to remove ice fishing shelter I $200.00 

147 23-3-402 9th Degree Conduct fishing contest without prior S100.00 
approval 

148 123~3-306 4th Degree Illegal use of artificial light for fishing S100.00 

149 23-3-402 9th Degree Use natural bait in artificial bait area S100.00 

150 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of fishing regulations not S100.00 
listed elsewhere 

151 23-3-203 lOth Degree Place net, trotline. etc. across water S100.00 

201 23-3-104 9th Degree F ail to tag big or trophy game animal S100.00 

202 1 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to tag carcass in visible manner S100.00 

203 23-3-113 11th Degree Fail to wear fluorescent orange clothing S50.00 

204 23-3-402 9th Degree Hunt big or trophy game during closed $400.00 
season 

1 23-3-402 I 9th D~ Hunt big or trophy game in wrong area 
I 

S200.00205 1J__ 
""06 \23-3-402 9th Degree Take over limit big or trophy game I S400.00 ..­



'CODE STATUTE! 
RULE 

IVIOL_ ...10N DESCRIPTION BAlL 

; -
207 23-3-102 4th Degree ITake Big Hom Sheep without license $770.00 

:08 23-3-102 14th Degree ITake Mountain Goat without license $770.00 

Take Mountain Lion without license ~09 $770.00 

210 

23-3-102 14th Degree 

Take Grizzly Bear without license $770.00 

111 

23-3-102 14th Degree 

Take Elk without license $770.00 

212 

23-3-102 14th Degree 

Take Moose without license 4th Degree $770.00 

213 

23-3-102 

Take Dear without license $400.00 

214 

23-3-102 18th Degree 

Take Antelope without license $400.00 

215 

23-3-102 18th Degree 

Take Black Bear without license $400.00 

216 

23-3-102 18th Degree 

Illegally take Wild Bison Not Bondable 

217 

1st Degree 23-2-107 

Intent illegal take antleredlhomed big or Not Bondable 23-3-102(d)23-3-102 
trophy game 

Ship/transport w/out game tag within $100.0011th Degree 23-3-106218 
Wyoming 

Ship/transport game w/out game tag $100.0011th Degree 23-3-106219 

• outside Wyoming 

$200.00Illegal firearm for taking big or trophy lOth Degree 23-3-111220 
game 


Fail to retain evidence of sex. species, 
 $100.009th Degree 23-3-402221 
antlerlhom development on bi 

Applyirec-moose, sheep, within 5 years $400.0023-1-703 19th Degree 222 

Not Bondable Wanton destruction big or trophy game ..,.,'" 
 23-3-107 lIst Degree--.) 

$200.00Waste or abandon big game 9th Degree 

Fail to remove carcass within 48 hours 

23-3-303224 

$200.009th Degree 23-3-303225 

$200.00Abandon game meat at meat processor 

False oath to obtain antelope, deer, 

226 II", ., "'0".)-.)-.)-.) 19th Degree 

$400.005th Degree 23-3-403227 
black bear, mountain lion license, 

False oath to obtain elk, mountain goat, $770.005th Degree 23-3-403228 
sheep, moose or grizzly bear license 

Purchase more than authorized number 5i.00.009th Degree 23-3-402229 
of licenses 

~ 

http:5i.00.00
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I 
STATUTE! VIOLn..!.ION DESCRIPTION 

I 
BAlL 

RULE 

230 23-3-105 2nd Degree Landowner's coupons-false claim for $400.00, reimbursement 

231 23-3-105 9th Degree Hunter tum coupon into wrong $400.00 
, landowner 

"'''''j_J_ 23-3-105 9th Degree Hunter turning in coupon without $400.00 
harvesting an animal 

,., ...... 
_JJ 23-2-102 9th Degree Violation of age limit for big or trophy $100.00 

game license 

.234 23-3-402 9th Degree Take big game before or after legal $100.00 
hunting hours 

235 23-3-402 9th Degree Take trophy game before or after legal $100.00 
hunting hours 

236 23-3-402 9th Degree Take big or trophy game with 'WI'ong $200.00 
type of license 

237 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to report Grizzly Bear mortality Not Bondable 

238 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to register B lack Bear kill $100.00 

239 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to leave evidence of sex on bear $100.00 
~ pelt 

240 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to register Mountain Lion kill $100.00 

241 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to leave evidence of sex on S100.00 
Mountain Lion pelt 

242 23-3-117 3rd Degree Fail to register Bighorn Sheep $200.00 

243 23-3-306 4th Degree Take big/trophy game with or from $400.00 
vehicle 

244 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to take or release treed Lion $200.00 

245 23-2-107 9th Degree Violation of age restriction to take wild $100.00 
bison 

~46 23-1-703 9th Degree Apply/rec-Grizzly Bear, Mountain Goat $400.00 
1,.. more than once per lifetime 

247 23-2-109 9th Degree Multiple applications for limited $400.00 
licenses 

250 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of big and trophy regulations $400.00 
not listed elsewhere 
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123-2-407 23-2417 Outfitting without a license $500.00 

1302 23-2-407 . 23-2417 Professional guide without a license $500.00 

303 23-2-415 23-2417 Failure of a professional guide or $500.00 
outfitter to report a violation 

304 23-2401 23-2417 Non-resident hunting without guide in $100.00 

I 
wilderness 

1305 23-3403 5th Degree False oath to procure commercial $400.00 . 
license 

306 23-2-410 23-2417 Outfit without area authorization $100.00 

307 23-2-304 9th Degree Fur dealer operating without license $400.00 

308 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to keep fur dealer records $400.00 

309 1 23-3-401 9th Degree Taxidennist operating without license $400.00 

310 23-2-302 9th Degree Taxidermist-failure to game tag game $200.00 
specunens 

311 1 23-3-402 9th Degree Taxidermist-fail to keep records $400.00 

I 312 23-3-401 9th Degree Live bait dealer operating without $400.00 
license 

313 23-3-402 9th Degree Live bait dealer-fail to provide receipt '$50.00 

314 23-3-401 9th Degree Game bird fann operating without $400.00 
license 

315 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird fann-no certification of $400.00 
origin 

316 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird fann-no disease free $400.00 
certification 

317 23-3402 9th Degree Game bird fann-no notice of disease $400.00 
infection 

318 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird fann-fail to release minimum $200.00 
number of birds 1... 

319 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird farms-fail to keep/provide $400.00 
records 

320 1 23-3-402 9th Degree Game bird fann-fail to dispose of birds $400.00 

321 123-5-102 9th Degree Game bird fann-release game birds I S200.00 
~ 



I 
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1 23~3-+()1 19th Degree I ~ishing preserve operating without S400.00 
lIcense

I I 
..,., ... 
.J_.J 23-5-204 9th Degree Fish preserve-fail to provide proper S400.00 

receipt 

324 23-2-304 9th Degree Fur dealer removing mg, tanoo or mark S200.00 

325 23-3-402 9th Degree Failure to provide copy of fur dealer $100.00 
license by employee 

326 23-2-305 9th Degree Prop.lDomest. of furbearers without $100.00 
permit 

327 23-4-102I 9th Degree Fish hatchery-operating without lice $400.00 

328 23-4-102 9th Degree Fish hatchery-no inspect. prior to $400.00 
planting 

329 23-4-102 9th Degree Fish hatchery-fail to provide certificate $400.00 
of sale 

330 9th Degree Fish hatchery-ship fish/eggs without 23-4-102 $400.00 
interstate game tag 

23-3-402 9th Degree Commercial or scientific use of $400.00~331 
collection of wildlife without permit 

332 23-2-304 9th Degree Fur dealer-fail to keep records for $200.00 
cloven hoofed animal hides 

.., ....... 11th Degree Tannery-Delivery/receipt of game23-3-404 $200.00 
specimens without tag 

334 

.J.J.J 

9th Degree Fail to provide receipt for game birds $100.0023-5-107 
I 

9th Degree Take birds on bird farm out of season $100.00 

336 

23-5-108335 

$500.00 
professional guide/outfitter 

350 

Compensation ofperson not licensed a 23-2-41723-2-418 

$100.00 
listed elsewhere 

391 

Violation commercial regulations not 9th Degree 23-3-402 

$100.00 
regulations 

$100.00 

Violation state outfiner board rules and 23-2-41723-2-410(a)(ii) 

Violation of age requirements for 
guide's license 

393 123-2-412 1 23 -2-417 

23-2-41723-2-412392 

S100.00Outliner employment requirements for 
...._+'Otr"'~~_ .... "'J ""''1;Ao 
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23-2417 Fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining.39<+ I23-2416(a)O) SlOO.OO 

t outfitter/guide license 

395 I23-2-4 1 6(a)(ix) 23-2-417 Endangering health and safety of client $100.00 

23-2-416(a)(v:) 23-2417 Unethical conduct by outfiner or guide $100.00~ 

397 23-2416(a)(vi) 23-2-417 Substantial breach/contract by outfitter $100.00 

or guide 

398 23-2-416(a)(vii) 23-2-417 Violation of terms of license by outfitter $100.00 
or guide 

399 23-2-416( a)(viii) 23-2-417 Inhumane treannentlanimal by outfitter $100.00 
or guide 

I..,.....401 _.:)-.)-1 0'".:) 9th Degree Take game birds without license $100.00 

402 23-3-402 9th Degree . Take game birds during closed season $100.00 

403 23-3-402 9th Degree Take over .limit of game birds $100.00 
Plus $20.00 per bird 

404 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to retain evidence of sex or species $100.00 
on a game bird 

405 23-3-403 5th Degree False oath to procure game bird license $100.00 

406 23-3-303 9th Degree Waste or abandon edible portions of $100.00 -

game bird 

407 4th Degree 23-3-306 Take game bird with or from a motor $200.00 
vehicle 

408 9th Degree Fail to obtain waterfowl stamp priorto $100.00 
hunting 

409 

23-3-402 

11th Degree Destroy nest or eggs ofnonpredaceous $100.00 
bird 

410 

23-3-108(a) 

Illegal caliber/gauge or unplugged S50.00lOth Degree 23-3-110 
firearm for bird hunting 

411 S100.009th Degree Hunt birds before or after legal hours 23-3-402 
10. 

S100.00 
in restricted areas 

413 

9th Degree Use of non-toxic shot for waterfowl or23-3-402412 

S100.00 
birds 

9th Degree Violation of age limit to hunt game 23-2-102 

-

$100.00Fail to tag turkey9th Degree 23-3-104414 

~ 
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...415 .. 
~16 

..H7 

~50 

501 

502 

503 

504 

505 

506 

507 

I 508 

123-3-116 

23-3-116 

23-3-116 

23-3-402 

23-2-105 

23-3-402 

23-3-403 

23-3-402 

23-3-402 

23-3-402 

23-3-402 

23-3-402 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

5th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

IFail to notify and/or mark game birds 

F ail to provide disease free certification 

\ No permit for private source game birds 

Violation of game bird regulations not 
listed elsewhere 

Take/export falcon without license or 
pennit 

Take falcon during closed season or in 
wrong area 

False oath to procure falconry license 

Fail to comply with facility and 
equipment requirements 

Failure to mark raptors 

Illegal transfer of raptors 

Illegal sale of raptors 

Illegal possession of raptor parts 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

S400.00 

$100.00 

$400.00 

S100.00 

$200.00 

$400.00 

$400.00 

$400.00 

509 23-3-402 9th Degree Dlegal possession of raptor eggs S400.00 

510 23-3-402 9th Degree Carry firearm while hunting with raptor $100.00 

511 

512 

23-2-105 

23-3-402 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

Hunt falcon without a license 

Hunt for falcon during closed season 

S100.00 

$100.00 

513 23-3-101 2nd Degree Taking eagle prohibited Not Bondable 

514 23-3-108 1st Degree Destroy eagle eggs or nest S400.00 

515 

550 

601 

602 

16 USC 

23-3-402 

23-2-102 

23-3-402 

, . 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

9th Degree 

Violation of bald/golden eagle 
protection act 

Violation of falcon regulation not listed 
elsewhere 

Take small game without license-age 
limits 

Take over limit of small game 

Not Bondable 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 
Plus 520.00 per animal 

I 
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f 03 23-3-402 9th Degree Take small game or furbearer out of $100.00 
season 

604 23-3-103 9th Degree Take furbearer animal without a license $100.00 

605 1 23-2-303 . 11th Degree F ail to check traps within 72 hours $100.00 

606 123-2-303 11th Degree Failure to tag leghold traps 
1 $100.00 

607 23-3-304 3rd Degree Use game parts for bait $400.00 

608 23-3-304 3rd Degree Take game animal with pit, trap, etc. $400.00 

609 23-3-402 9th Degree Fail to tag Bobcat pelt $100.00 

610 1 23 -3-403 5th Degree False oath to procure small game license $200.00 

611 23-3-403 5th Degree False oath to procure trap, furbearer $200.00 
license 

612 123-2-303 9th Degree Trap without game warden I $100.00 

I authorization 

613 123-3-303 9th Degree Waste or abandon small game $100.00 

614 23-3-306 4th Degree Take small game with or from motor $200.00 

~ vehicle 

1650 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of small gameffurbearer $100.00 
regulations not listed elsewhere 

701 23-2-104 10th Degree Take game during special archery pre­ $100.00 
season without a license 

1702 23-2-104 10th Degree Archer with flreann during special pre­ $100.00 
season 

703 23-2-104 10th Degree Violation ofarchery equipment $100.00 
specifications 

750 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation of archery regulations not $100.00 
listed elsewhere 

801 23-6-205 Same as Accessory before/after the fact Same as principal 
principal (aid/abet) 

~ 

802 23-6-103 9th Degree Fail to appear on bondable offense $200.00 

803 23-6-103 9th Degree Fail to appear on must appear offense . Not Bondable 

804 23-3-305 .. I ith Degree Huntlshootlkill wildlife from highway $200.00 



. 

CODE DESCRIPTIONSTATUT£! IVIO.I.....ATION BAIL 

R'JLE 

23-3-305 7th Degree 5· Hunt, trap, fish on private land without $200.00 
pemllSSlOn 

23-3-305806 9th Degree Shooting fromlacross or along roadways $200.00 

807 23-3-305 9th Degree Shoot froml across enclosed lands $200.00 
without permission 

808 23-3-305 9th Degree Hunting on private land at night without $200.00 
permission 

23-3-306809 4th Degree Take wildlife with artificial light $500.00 

23-3-402 9th Degree 810 Possess protected species or any pan $100.00 
thereof 

23-3-402 9th Degree 811 Violations of nongame regulations $100.00 

23-6-110 Refer to 812 Refuse to produce/display license-no Refer to type 
type license see game type 

23-3-302 9th Degree Sale of game meat or game fish 813 $200.00 

9th Degree 23-3-301 Import/sell game animals/wildlife 814 $400.00 

23-2-306 9th Degree F ail to purchase conservation stamp 815 $50.00 

I.816" 9th Degree F ail to produce conservation stamp 23-2-306 $50.00 

9th Degree Fail to sign conservation stamp 23-3-402817 $50.00 

9th Degree 23-2-106 F ail to produce hunter safety card $50.00818 

9th Degree Fail to take hunter safety course 23-2-106 $50.00319 

9th Degree Transfer of license, stamp, tag, or $400.0023-3-402820 
coupon 

$50.0011th Degree Fail to stop at established check station 23-3-308821 

$50.00Landowner signature on license as proof 9th Degree 23-2-101822 
of permission 

$400.005th Degree False oath to procure game tag 23-3-403823 

$100.00Fail to obey regulatory sign on 23-3-402 9th Degree 824 1" 

department land 

Not Bondable 23-6-204(d) Take wildlife for competition 23-6-204825 

Not Bondable Lacy act violation 16 USC826 .. " 

Not Bondable R27 National Crime Information Center hit II. 
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~28 Assistance'to other law enforcement Not Bondable 
agencIes 

829 I u. S. Fish & Wildlife service violation Not Bondable 

830 23-6-204 , 9th Degree Take any wildlife not prescribed by act $200.00 
and no separate penalty 

831 23-3-112 1st Degree Possess/use of silencers or automatic $400.00 
weapons 

832 23-3-307 10th Degree Hunting while under influence of drugs $200.00 
or alcohol 

833 23-6-206(b) 9th Degree Hunt or fish or trap while under $400.00 
suspensIon 

834 23-3-405 7th Degree Interfere with the lawful taking of $200.00 
wildlife 

835 23-3-405 2nd Degree F ail to obey peace officer in reference $400.00 
to 23-3-405(a) 

836 23-3-405 23-3-405(d) OrgJassoc. counselor solicit violation $2,000.00 & 
of23-3-405 Must Appear 

1'837 23-3-109 9th Degree Use ofdog to hunt/run/harass big or $200.00 
trophy game 

839 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation concerning live wildlife or $200.00 
exotic animals, chapter 10 

340 16USC I Airborne Hunting Act Not Bondable 

841 23-3-115 9th Degree Damage-fail to notify killing bear, lion. $100.00 
bobcat 

842 23-3-204 1st Degree Allowing refuse or other substance to $400.00 
pass into public water 

843 23-3-402 9th Degree Take vvrong sex of animal $200.00 

850 23-3-402 9th Degree Violation ofcommission order not listed $400.00 
elsewhere 

'" 
901 41-13-102 I Operate unnumbered boat $50.00 

902 41-13-104 Fail to display identification number on $50.00 
boat 

1 
903 41-13-104 I~ail :~~?:oduce certificate ofnumber for $50.00 
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904 -... 1 41 - 13-104 Improper numbering on watercraft I $50.00 

~05 
I ... I _ 

I41-1-,-203 Lareiess operation of waIercrafi: ~1 f"\A f"\{\ 

.l 1. vu.uv 

906 41-13-204 Reckless operation of watercraft Not Bondable 

908 41-13-206 Operation of watercraft while under Not Bondable 
influence of alcohol or drugs 

909 41-13-210 Riding on bow or gunwales of S50.00 
watercraft 

910 41-13-211 Operate watercraft in restricted area $50.00 

911 41-13-208 Overloading watercraft S50.00; 

912 41-13-209 Operate overpowered watercraft S50.00 

913 41-13-212 Water-skiing violations $50.00 

914 41-13-213 Fail to provide life jackets S50.00 

915 41-13-213 F ail to provide fire extinguisher $50.00 

916 41-13-213 Operate boat at night without lights $50.00 

~917 41-13-209 No muffler or noise suppression devices $50.00 
on watercraft 

918 41-13-219 Operation of watercraft by underaged $50.00 
person 

919 35-'10-403 35-10-403 Watercraft for hire without personal S100.00 
floatation devices 

920 41-13-207 Operation of watercraft by person tinder Not Bondable 
disability 

921 41-13-213 No sound producing devices on S50.00 
watercraft 

922 41-13-218 Violation of watercraft numbering rules $50.00 

9"'''''---' 41-13-216 Operation of watercraft while privilege $100.00 

-\, 
to operate is denied 

1924 41-13-105 F ail to stop or render aid S100.00 

925 41-13-105 Failure of operator to report accident S100.00 
within 10 days 

I 

926 41-13-218 PerSonal watercraft-wake jumping S50.00 
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927 41-13-218 Personal watercraft-no kill switch $30.00 

8 < 41-13-218 Watercraft creating wake within 100 S50.00 
feet ofvessel 

940 41-13-218 Violation of watercraft regulations not $50.00 
elsewhere 

999 6-3-204 Littering (73999) $100.00 

6A. Bail ofC (SI00.00) may be forfeited for the following offenses: 

Predatory Animals 

11-6-210 Failure to pay predator animal control S100.00 
fee 

Livestock Board and State Veterinarian 

11-18-112 Refusal to provide assistance to Federal 
or State authorities 

$100.00 

Contagious and Infectious Diseases Among Livestock 

I 
11-19- WI 

11-19-102 

11-19-116 

Failure to comply with order of State 
Veterinarian; turning loose infected 
animal 

Duty of public to report diseases to 
S tate Veterinarian 

Disposal of swine, importation of swine 
with hog cholera 

$100.00 

S100.00 

$100.00 

Tuberculin Test of Dairy Cattle 

11-19-204 $100.00Tuberculosis test requirement for 
milking cows and exposed bulls 

11-19-210 SWO.OOVeterinarian's certificate/penni! to sell 
milk or cream 

11-19-213 S100.00Unsanitary diary barns or premisesI 1.< 

S100.00Interference/refusal to gather and test 11-19-215 
diary cattle 

Tuberculosis Modified Accredited Are:: 
-------~------------------------

11-19-304 IProhibition on importation of cattle S100.00 
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11-19-306 Violation of agency rules and 
1i regulations 

S100.00 


Brucellosis Test of Cattle 

I 

• 

11-19-501 

11-19-502 

11-19-503 

11-19-504 

11-19-505 

11-20-102 

11-20-110 

11-20-117 

11-20-118 

11-20-119 

11-20-120 

11-20-123 

Failure to tag, brand and dispose of 

Notice ofImportation 

Unloading sheep in transit 

Importing infected sheep 

Refusal to give information 

Owner liability, when arrest necessary, 
service of summons and complaint 

Branding and Ranging 

Stock Running at large to be branded 

Recorded brand; bill of sale; when title 
vests 

Identifying livestock with unrecorded 
duplicate brand 

Drover's stock to be kept separate 

Drover's stock, liability for injury to 
property 

Driving cattle from home range 

Nwnber ofbulls required on open range 

I 

S100.00 

$100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

$100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

S100.00 

11-19--1-01 
reactor cattle 

I 
S100.00i 

I 
Regulation and Inspection ofSheep 

Inspection for Brands and Ownership 

11-20-2.02 Duties ofboard; enforcement of 
provisions; rules and regulations 

$100.00 

11-20-204 Brand inspector not to inspect his own 
livestock 

S100.00 

11-20-205 

11-20-206 

Removal of estrays from county 

Failure to deliver and exhibit certificate 
of inspection 

S100.00 

S100.00 
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I 
11-20-209 I When inspection not required t'f'\ .. f\,... '"' .....,

J)J,vv.vv 

11-20-210 When inspection not required; certain S100.00 
importations; compliance with health 

, ! and quarantine regulations required 

I 
11-20-211 When inspection not required; S100.00 

contiguous range 

! 11-20-212 Intrastate accustomed range permits S100.00 

11-20-213 Inspection of sheep to be conducted in S100.00 
state 

11-20-214 Brand inspector may inspect at his S100.00 
discretion; voluntary inspections 

11-20-215 Shipment by railroad; written S100.00 
permission of inspe1:tor required before 
moving; issuance; contents; copy to 
filed with inspe1:tor 

11-20-216 Truck-fleet shipment permit S100.00 

11-20-217 Certificates and agreements in lieu of S100.00 

a inspection (G Form) 

11-20-218 Certificates and agreement in lieu of $100.00 
inspection; furnishing; numbering (G 
Form) 

11-20-219 Certificates and agreements in lieu of S100.00 
inspection, filing distribution and 
display (G Form) 

11-20-220 Diverted shipments S100.00 

11-20-221 Common carriers not to receive S100.00 
livestock for transponation without 
certificate 

11-20-222 Unbranded calves; inspection at request S100.00 
of stockman 

1.. 

11-20-223 Interstate accustomed range permit; S100.00 
rules and regulations 

11-20-224 Permanent brand inspe1:tion certificate S100.00 
(L Form) 
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11-20-225 Annual brand inspection certificate (H 
Form) 

11-20-226 Certificates to be signed and in 
possession (L and H Fonr...5) 

11-20-227 Fraudulent use of certificate and 
movement permit (L and H Forms) 

BAlL 

$100.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 

Transporting Animals and Poultry By Vehicle 

11-21-101 Written permission of owner required $100.00 
for transport by others 

11-21-102 Display of permit to peace officer; $100.00 
written statement in lieu of permit 

11-21-104 Prohibited acts (false statement, false or $100.00 
forged permit, refuse or neglect to 
exhibit) 

Livestock Markets 

11-22-102 Violation of agency rules and $100.00 
regulations 

I' 11-22-106 Market license; cancellation $100.00 

11-22-107 Bond Required $100.00 

11-22-108 Market license posting $100.00 

11-22-110 Sanitation; veterinarian supervision $100.00 
required 

11-22-111 Scales; inspection and testing $100.00 

11-22-112 Records of receipts and sales $100.00 

11-22-113 Inspection of livestock $100.00 

11-22-114 Removal of livestock from $100.00 
establishment 

11-22-115 Removal of veterinarian $100.00 

11-22-116 Warrant of title; disposition of proceeds $100.00 
from sale 

11-22-117 Dispersal sales at livestock markets; $100.00 
same requirements 

I 
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Hides and Carcasses 

I 11·23·101 Sale of carcass without inspection $100.00 

11-23-102 Only inspected livestock to be $100.00. 
slaughtered; record ofcattle slaughtered 

11-23-103 Purchase ofunstamped carcass $100.00 
prohibited 

11-23-104 Exhibition upon demand of hides or $100.00 
certificates ofbeef cattle 

11-23-106 Cold storage locker plant; stamp on tag; S100.00 
certificate in lieu of stamp; filing and 
inspection ofcertificate 

11-23-107 Killing ofhorses for meat; produce $100.00 
unmutilated hide or certificate of 
inspection 

11-23-108 Hide mutilation ofequine, bovine, S100.00 . . . 
caprro,~e,oVLne 

Purchases, Sales and Transportation; Brand Inspections 

11-23-202 


11-23-203 


11-23-204 


11-23-205 


11-23-206 


Hide buyer; bill of sale required; 
contents; copy to seller 

Hide buyer; record ofpurchases to be 
kept; contents 

Hide buyer; inspection for interstate 
cornrnerce;certidicate 

Carriers, prohibited from receiving 
uninspected hides 

Hide inspection for stock killed by 
transponation company 

$100.00 
.' 

S100.00 


S100.00 


$100.00 


S100.00 


Transportation of Carcasses to Rendering Plants 

11-23-301 Removal of carcasses intrastate S100.00 
1" 

11-23-302 Removal of carcasses interstate; S100.00 
inspection 

11-23-303 Hide inspection certificate $100.00 

11-23-304 I Inspection fee collection; disposition $100.00 
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Estrays
~• 
-

11-24-103 Taking up estrays S100.00 

11-24-105 

11-24-108 

Unclaimed horses 

Stock at large or picked up on public 
highways 

$100.00 

S100.00 

Swine, Goats or Elk Running at Large 

11-26-101 Swine, goats or elk. prohibited to run at 
large 

S100.00 

Feeding Untreated Garbage to Swine 

11-27-104 Feeding pennit required $100.00 

11-27-105 Violation ofagency rules and 
regulations 

$100.00 

11-27-106 Treatment of garbage before feeding $100.00 

Fences and Cattle Guards 

11-28-103 Construction of unlawful wire fence $100.00 

~ 11-28-104 

11-28-107 

Fences across roads 

Leaving open, destroying lawful fence 

$100.00 

$100.00 

Protection of Domestic Animals 

111-29-103 IImpounded animals to be fed $100.00 

Offenses Concerning Livestock and Other Animals 

11-30-106 Removing skins from carcasses $100.00 

11-30-109 Taking horses and equipment without 
consent ofowner 

S100.00 

11-30-110 Appropriation ofhorse or mule on open 
range without pennission 

S100.00 

11-30-112 Abuse or negligent treatment by bailee $100.00 

11-30-114 Tampering with or drugging of 
livestock prohibited 

$100.00 

Dogs and Cats 

11-31-104 Poisoning or killing with ground glass $100.00 
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t I I 
Animals Running at Large 

11-31-301 Animal running at large or has attacked 
a person 

S100.00 

Poultry 

11-32-102 Violation ofagency rules and 
regulations 

S100.00 

11-32-103 Labeling of shipments S100.00 

6B. Bail ofD ($200.00) may be forfeited for the following offenses: 

Contagious and Infectious Diseases Among Livestock 

11-19-111 Importation of livestock (Agency rules 
and regulations-Chapter 8-Governor's 
Import Proclamation) 

S200.00 

Inspection for Brands and Ownership 

~ 

11-20-203 

11-20-208 

Inspection of brands at time ofdelivery 
or removal from county; certificate 
required 

Furnishing false proof of ownership 

$200.00 

$200.00 

Livestock Markets 

111-22-104 IMarket license requirement $200.00 

Protection of Domestic: Animals 

11-29-106 Interference with Livestock Board 
Officer or Agent 

$200.00 

Offenses Concerning Livestock and Other Animals 

11-30-108 Desertion and abandonment of sheep by 
herder 

$200.00 

7A. Bail (includes costs) may be forfeited for the following offenses: (penalty 36-4-115) 

-

3 Abandoned propeny B 

4 Aircraft and powerless flight C 

6 Camping I B 

http:bJ.uu.uu
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7 Closures B 

. Domestic pets and livestock 9 A 

10 Fires B 

11(e) Hunting within 400 yds. C 

11(f) Use of firearms at state historic sites C 

Permits: special use 12 A 

13 Picnicking A 

14 Preservation ofpublic property C 

15 Public safe!}' C 

16 Sanitation C 

17 Solication A 

19(a) Vehicle (off roadway) C 

Vehicle (speed limit) 19(b) B 

Vehicle (campground) 19(e) A 

• . 
Water spons: designated beach areas 20 A 

21(d) Water spons: boating A 

21(f) Waterspons:boaring A 

22(a)(i) Cun Gowdy State Park A 

22(a)(ii) Cun Gowdy State Park A 

22(a)(iii) Cun Gowdy State Park B 

Cun Gowdy State Park A 

22(b)(i) 

22(a)(iv)(A) 

Hot Springs State Park A 

22(b)(ii) Hot Springs State Park A 

22(b)(iii) A 

22(b)(iv) 

Hot Springs State Park 

Hot Springs State Park A 

22(b)(v) A 

2'2{b)(vi) 

Hot Springs State Park 

Hot Springs Stare Park A 

22(b)(viii) AHot SOrinlZs State Park 
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22(b)(ix) 


22 (b)(x) 


22(b)(xi) 


22(b)(xii) 


22(c) 


22(d) 


2S 


"-', 

VIOLATION 

,/'\ 

DESCRIFl'ION· . .,.BAIL.. . ' ;;.,..... "." 

Hot SpringS State Park A 

~ot Springs State Park A 

Hot Springs State Park A 

Hot Springs State Park A 

E.K. Wilkins State Park A 

Sinks Canyon State Park A 

Trail use B 

The above revised bail deposit and forfeiture schedules shall become effective July 1, 1997. 
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT" 

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING 

AMENDED ORDER ESTABLISHING COLLATERAL FORFEITURE/APPEARANCE 
BOND FEE SCHEDULE FOR THE WIND RIVER INDIAN RESERVATION 

It appearing to the Court that it is necessary to establish a collateral forfeiture/appearance 

bond fee schedule for the Wind River Indian Reservation, and being fully advised in the 

premises, it is 

ORDERED that the following list comprises those statutes and regulations that shall be 

enforced by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on the Wind River Indian Reservation. Included herein 

is the applicable collateral forfeiture/appearance bond fee schedule for each offense listed, which 

shall be understood that if not governed by this schedule, the decision whether to (1) take an 

accused violator into custody; (2) allow hinv'her to forfeit collateral; or (3) to merely issue a 

warning shall be within the sound discretion of the law enforcement personnel. In addition, 

should a violator appear before a United States Magistrate Judge, said Magistrate Judge may 

impose a fme or imprisonment or both, up to the statutory maximum without regard to this 

schedule. 

Three types of offenses are listed throughout this schedule and the procedures which 

follow shall govern each: 

(1 ) Mandatory Appearance Where Bail is Reguired: 


Some of the offenses contained herein have been deemed by the United States District 




Court to require that an accused violator be detained and brought before an available United 

States Magistrate Judge. In the event a Magistrate Judge is not immediately available, and in the 

interest of preventing undue detention, an amount of bail has been established, which the accused 

violator may tender to the person authorized to accept bail for the Magistrate Judge. This bail is 

intended to insure the appearance of the violator at the time and place noted on the violation 

notice and is not forfeitable. If the violator is unable to make the required bail, he/she shall be 

placed in proper custody, and he/she shall remain in such custody until he/she makes bailor is 

released by the Magistrate Judge. 

Throughout the schedule these offenses are denoted by a required appearance and bail 

amount has been set. In each case where so indicated, the above procedure shall be followed. 

(2) Mandatory Appearance Where No Bail Is Required: 

In all cases where a mandatory appearance is required but no bail amount has been set, 

the violator may be allowed to go free, but he/she must be advised to appear on the date indicated 

on the violation notice, and under no circumstances may he/she forfeit collateraL 

(3) Offenses Where Collateral May Be Forfeited: 

In those instances where a collateral amount has been set and no mandatory appearance is 

required, the accused may be allowed to plead guilty without an appearance before the Magistrate 

Judge and forfeit the collateral amount applicable to the offense charged. The law enforcement 

officer under any circumstances may require the violator to deposit the collateral in the United 

States Mail in the presence of said officer. 



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that in the event an offense occurs to which no reference 

has been made in this Schedule, the law enforcement agency involved shall immediately contact 

the United States Attorney's Office in Cheyenne, Wyoming, at (307) 772-2124 or the United 

States Attorney's Office in Casper, Wyoming, at (307) 261-5434, for advice and consultation. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Local Rule 58.4, entitled "Petty Offense Forfeiture of 

Collateral in Lieu ofAppearance," of the United States District Court for the District of 

Wyoming shall be in effect as if fully set forth herein. 

DATEDthiS~o~ooo. 

4/H.~~_
CHIEF JUDGE 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 



SECTION X -- WIND RIVER INDIAN RESERVATION 

Violation occurring within lands administered by the Bureau ofIndian Affairs charged 
under cited sections ofTitle 25, Code of Federal Regulations. 

PART II LAW AND ORDER ON INDIAN RESERVATIONS 	 COLLATERAL FEE 

11.38 	 Assault. . • Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$200 bail 

11.39 Assault and battery. . . . . . . . . • . . Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$200 bail 

11.40 Carrying concealed weapon. . . . . . . . . Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$200 bail 

11.41 Abduction. . . . . $100.00 

11.42 Theft. . . Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$100.00 bail 

11.43 Embezzlement. . . . . . $100.00 

11.44 Fraud . . . . . . $100.00 

11.45 Forgery •. . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.46 Misbranding. . . . . . . . . 
 $50.00 

11.47 Receiving stolen property. . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.48 Extortion . . . . 
$100.00 

Disorderly conduct. . . . . $50.00 
11.49 



11.50 Reckless driving. . . . . . . . 

11.51 Malicious. 

11.52 Trespass. . 

11.53 Injury to public property . 

11.54 Maintaining public nuisance 

• 	 . . • • . . Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$150.00 bail 

$150.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 

11.55 Possess, sell trade, transport, or manufacture any beer, ale, 
wine, whiskey, or any article whatsoever which produces 
alcoholic intoxication. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. $100.00 

Driving while under the influence ................ . Mandatory 
Appearance or 
$350.00 

11.56 Cruelty to Animals. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00 

11.57 Game Violations. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00 

11.58 Gambling. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.59 Adultery. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.61 Illicit cohabitation. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.62 Prostitution. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.63 Giving venereal disease to another. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.64 Failure to support dependent person. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

11.65 Failure to send children to school. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00 

11.66 Contributing to the delinquency of a minor. . . . . . . . . .. $250.00 



11.67 Bribery. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. $100.00 

11.68 PeIjury ........................................ $100.00 

11.69 Make or cause to be made the unlawful arrest, detention or 
imprisonment or another ( false arrest) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. $100.00 

11.70 Resisting Lawful Arrest ........................... $250.00 

11.71 Interference with lawful function of officer (refusing to 
aid officer) ..................................... Mandatory 

Appearance or 
$150.00 bail 

11.72 Escape ........................................ $100.00 

11.73 Disobedience to Lawful Orders of Court .............. $100.00 

11.74 Violation of an Approved Tribal Ordinance. . . . . . . . . . .. $50.00 
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